Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer

Tacx Flow Ergotrainer

Overall rating:
4.652 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Review 1 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mikeeee
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedJune 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great product. Looked at buying a turbo & started by looking at the cheaper ones. Decided to spend a bit more and glad I did. Easy to set up, great for road bike & mountain bike. Missus and daughter on it more than me but will come into its own once the winter months are here. One thing to watch - the plug is european so you'll need an adapter !
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
McGuiver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent trainer

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Thoroughly well-built turbo trainer offering excellent resistance. Instructions are a bit village but anyone with half a brain can work out what you're meant to do. Very sturdy build quality and no rocking and rolling. Managed to sweat out a hog roast in 5 minutes on this badboy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BMCJedd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Worth every penny.

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Fantastic trainer with great features and very easy to put together. Dealt with the Hendon branch and was very happy with the service provided.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speldnan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Brilliant product!

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This trainer is a good quality product which gives you a genuine cycling experience. It is easy to set up and looks attractive. It is fairly expensive though unless you get it on offer which is what we did.The only slight downside is that if you are using it with a mountain bike you do really need to buy a trainer tyre and inner tube which does add to the expense. Without this the tyre makes a very loud noise when you ride the bike and also would wear the tread down on it.
Once this is all set up it is brilliant for indoor training and so much better than an exercise bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flipside
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best turbo trainer and upgradable!

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Sturdy, easy to set up and can be upgraded to race stages of the Tour de France or other races via pc or laptop.
Used for triathlon training and immediately improved my 21.5km route by 1.5 minutes. Tacx are always high quality but tend to be expensive, however, you get you pay for and at Evan's prices I can't complain!
P.S. Buy a sweat net! You will sweat when powering on the ergo trainer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Issy

Husband likes it

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: feels like cycling
I took the risk and bought him an ergotrainer for his birthday. He seems really pleased with it. It took a while to set up but apparently it all works fine now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JMBig
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Found it quick and straightforward to set up.
Strong build and holds the bike well.
It is heavy but this does aid stability not so great for storing away after training.
Using the computer is quite complicated but needs more time dedicated to understand it and get the most out of it.
More than I had initially planned on spending but pleased i wnet for this model over the cheaper options.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave67

An excellent trainer

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Its a great trainer, simple to assemble and use.
I am an intermediate cyclist doing about 50 miles a week and I have bought it to cover those dark winter mornings.
I find the basic power setting 2 out of 9 to be comparible with the road so plenty of scope for power training.
The stand is sturdy and easily storable.
If this is within your budget then buy it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoyDH
from Cyprus
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, comfortable to use
Cons: installation instructions
Pros:- Excellent quality product. Good value for money. Very comfortable to use.
Cons. Slightly difficult instructions to understand, but only took 1 hour to erect and have the bike mounted on the unit.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ding
from kent
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

tacx flow

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
delivered on time and easy to set up.
much more resistance than my old turbo and a more honest wattage reading than the bikes at my gym.
have been able to do some proper watt bassed interval training and have improved my ten mile tt as result.
very happy with this turbo.
but intervals still horrible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SandroC
from Johannesburg
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great trainer

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brilliant trainer! I was sceptical on whether i needed all the extra functions or not - definitely worth it. The power sensor, cadence, heart rate etc all great as you can now see your progress. Not difficult at all to set up, and the display is more user friendly than my heart rate watch!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Monkeyboy216

Good trainer, aweful instructions

PostedJune 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: instructions
once assembled was very good, extremely difficult to understand the instructions, probably because they were'nt written in English first, some of it appears lost in translation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Norfolk
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

here comes more hard work

PostedJune 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Lifes just got harder. Taxc Flow Ergotrainer has it all! Well put together and the finish is spot on. It has everthing to start the winter training, cadence, wattage, speed the works on the digital readout. Everthing is adjustable from the handlebars and it is very quite. If you want to make things even more interesting you can purchase the add on to connect to your computer and ride famous rides or race against your mates online.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Devbrix
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good trainer indeed

PostedJune 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this after looking at reviews and assessing the competition and its a good choice. The set up was fairly straight forward although the instructions aren't great - failry intuitive readout screen. Now paired it up with a polar heart rate monitor and mounted my iphone to keep myself entertained and putting in the miles.
Good stuff
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hillbill775
from Northumberland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good features for price

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I wanted a trainer that measured watts and cadence - this was one of the few that does. Also, got a good price with Evan's price match.
Easy enough to assemble. Comes with its own skewer and mount for the front wheel. Can accomodate 26" or 700C wheels - but you have to bolt on an extra bracket (comes in the box) to change to 26".
Display unit doesn't fit on my road bike bars - the built in rubber straps are too short - easy to get around with some mini DIY clamps or rubber bands, etc. - this could have been designed much better.
The frame on the unit will flex a bit when pedalling hard, not a big issue but there may be more solid feeling turbo trainers out there.
TACX website also has some good support with training tips and different types of workouts. Looking forward to upgrading to virtual reality - see if I can get the kids on it instead of Nintendos.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeisureRider
from Northumberland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great buy!

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great trainer, will certainly keep you fit through the winter! A bit tricky to set up, however, once done - it's great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
supersix1
from essex
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

tacx flow ergo trainer - a must have!

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
the tacx flow attracted me as it offered capabilities and feedback that other trainers in this price range do not come close to. The power meter is accurate, and is for me the best guide to how hard I am training - it is often tempting to stay in when the weather is so so as the feedback compared to my garmin is more comprehensive. It is extremely quiet and unobtrusive and fits away in a corner when not in use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ianfeltf3
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best option for scottish winter

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
We would all rather be out on the open road going up and down hills but After a severe winter the trainer has proved invaluable to keep up the base fitness. It shows power, HR, speed, distance, time as well as averages and maximums. The ability to do workouts guided by your power output is excellent and interval training is easier on the trainer (don’t have to watch for cars) just head down and pedal. The trainer itself is heavy and feels solid which gives you confidence to get out of the saddle. Would recommend to anyone wanting to keep a good level of fitness through winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ratty
from norfolk
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Up and training

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
After months of wishing, i finally purchased the Tacx Flow and am so pleased i did - at last i can pedal away in the garage even if its pelting it down outside - and having broken my collar bone recently, its a superb method of re-gaining fitness whilst its still not advisable to brave the wet roads! I agree with other reviews that it is a little fiddly to assemble at first but with a little help i'm up and running. The ride is smooth and everything i hoped the trainer would be. There is an added bonus that you can readily measure speed, heart rate etc on the electronic display giving the ride somewhat more meaning than just pedaling away in oblivion and makes it easy to compare fitness and progress to rides on the road. It is fairly heavy - but then its sturdy and it needs to be. It is no heavier than i expected. I did find it a stretch to fit the computer to the oversize handlebars but with grit and determination i can just stretch the attachments far enough - one time application is of course sufficient however i choose to remove the computer screen each time to prevent it condensation forming inside it whilst outside in the cold. Overall a superb buy and throughly recommended
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tacx Flow Ergotrainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJM04
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent Trainer

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Build instructions a bit confusing but once up and running provides an excellent training tool. Smooth with a wide range on settings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>