Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX

Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX

Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Review 1 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JamieM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Simple but too heavy

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
There are no mounting points on my bike for a normal pannier rack, I normally use:
"Tubus Adapter Set For QR-Axle Mounting" http://www.evanscycles.com/products/tubus/adapter-set-for-quick-release-axle-mounting-ec007989
"Topeak Super Tourist DX Bike Rack"
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/topeak/super-tourist-dx-bike-rack-ec033798
"FWE Quick Release Seat Clamp"
http://www.evanscycles.com/products/fwe/quick-release-seat-clamp-ec051363
Which is all a bit of a pain to put on and take off.
The beam rack is simplicity itself to install but the overall weight is much greater than the normal pannier rack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJcyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Strong and robust rack

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought for some cycle touring on a road bike. Felt very secure and easy to adjust. Works well with the Topeak pannier range. I would thoroughly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DB02
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great product easy to take on and off

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, quik to fit / remove
Cons: limited load capicity
I wanted a rack to cope with my daily ride to work, but something that was easy to remove for off road use. This does exactly that - the QR system takes seconds to attach and seems to hold in place well, provided that it is not overloaded. I also added a set of side frames so that I could use a MTX EXP trunk bag - so have a first rate system for daily use. If it was to be used for bigger or heavy loads then a fixed rack would be required but for me perfect
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SeanH2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Nice idea but limited load capacity.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: weak side rails
The bike I bought did not have the fittings for a 'proper' rack and I wasn't prepared to change the bike spec just to find one that did. So I bought this Beamrack from Topeak. I also bought the "Dual side frame MTX" that enabled this to carrier panniers. On the first outing I hung a single standard hook-on pannier on the side (not one of the special bags from Topeak) - but it was well within the 9kg capacity listed as the limit on this rack - indeed it was probably only 3-4 kg.
Well, it felt decidedly delicate - lots of flapping about and about a mile into my ride the side bar of the rack broke, and the side frame and pannier went into my wheels slightly bending a few spokes! And I was riding as gingerly as possible! While the rack may be capable of taking 9kg, you have to load this weight on the top of the rack, and not hang it from the side.
On returning it Evans they were great - they replaced the rack without question, and refunded the Dual Side Frame.
Conclusion: Use it with a special Topeak slide-on Trunk bag - and don't put much weight in it and you'll be ok. Don't even think of hanging anything substantial from the side!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ANIM
Nottingham
 
Please wait while more information about ANIM is loaded.
Additional information about ANIM could not be loaded.
Well made and lightweight rack
Posted November 2, 2014
I bought the rack to use with my Brompton folding bike. The quick release clamp works well and any rack bag can be used on the beam rack. Initial use suggests that the rack is well made and should be useful for many years of occasional use. Time will tell in one or five years as to whether the rack was good value.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeTheTv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Ideal for bikes without pannier mounts

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I recently bought a new carbon framed hybrid bike to commute to work. Being carbon framed it lacks the usual pannier rack mount points of the alloy framed bikes, however I needed some way to carry lunch and cloths to and from work (I did not like the idea of a ruck sack on my back as I sweat a lot when cycling). My previous bike had a seat post mounted pannier rack which doubled up as a D loop bike lock, so I was on the hunt for something similar.
I failed to find such a lock-come-pannier rack so went into Evans to see what they had as finding a usable solution was the final go-no-go for the carbon bike purchase. While there I was pointed towards the Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack (E type for medium frames). The rack looked sturdy and well made and had a neat quick release for a Topeak bag. As it happens I did not buy the Topeak bag as it was very expensive and in my opinion not as good as the FWE Top Rack Pack I bought instead.
Fitting the rack on my bike was simple. All you need to do is see which combination of rubber packers to use for your seat post diameter. It is worth noting that although my frame is carbon the seat post is alloy and so there is no issue clamping this rack to the post. I would not personally recommend using this with a carbon post as the clamping method is inevitably going to squeeze the tube with most force applied to the front and back, which may cause it to crush in the long run.
In use the rack is excellent. It seems light but strong, easily supporting the FWE Top Rack Pack bag I bought. The FWE bag does not feature the quick release slider which the rack uses, but this is not a problem as the Velcro straps it does have fit easily around the Topeak rack which is wide enough to secure the bag without wobbling. The rack also has a luggage strap but I have not tried that yet.
The rack features a reflector at the back which can be removed and replaced for a bike light clip, which is what I have done for my Smart Lunar R2 rear light. This is much more secure than the loops which most bags tend to have.
If I had to find any cons, and this is being a little picky and probably not really the racks fault, but I do notice that when my bag is loaded up and so relatively heavy, you can feel a little resonance through the bike when going over rough roads, presumably as the rack and bag vibrate up and down, their momentum being enough to affect the otherwise light frame of the bike. This only occurs on one short stretch of road and for the vast majority of my journey I would not even know the rack and bag was there.
Definitely recommended for frames without pannier mounts, though I would not necessarily recommend buying the matching Topeak bag.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
edbv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

V type for 57cm frame

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Initially bought the E/medium type, but it was too high above the wheel, the V type works much better.
I'm really impressed with this bit of kit, I have a road bike and didn't want to mess about with a custom solution for panniers because the bike doesn't have the eyelets. I also wanted something I could take off easily as I don't want it on there all the time.
I bought it for a round to Amsterdam with the 16.6 litre Topeak pannier bag and it worked very well indeed. I was cautious with the weight limit and in my opinion worked better than what the other lads had on their bikes which looked a bit cumbersome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runnerbean16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Very fast-release rack

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this because I have a lightweight steel Audax roadbike and occasionally I need to carry a bit of kit. When I don't want the kit, I just want to be able to remove the rack quickly so that I can use the bike for winter/training rides. The rack is not completely lightweight, but it's not heavy either... It clamps onto the seatpost with a secure lever and can be removed in seconds... No screwdriver needed!! I did some research before buying this, and I looked at it in the shop. It does seem to be the best model. Vaude do a lightweight seatpost rack with a Klikfix fitting which is much lighter and comes with a bespoke pannier, but the fitting has to stay on the bike (on the seatpost). With the Topeak Beam Rack everything comes off the bike; so you can fit your tiny seat-pannier or light back on easily. I also like the rubber bungee straps that you can tuck things under if you need to if you don't actually want to carry a pannier. It's fairly versatile. It holds on firm and doesn't vibrate.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nomadman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, with reservations..

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a well made, sturdy beam rack with secure seat post attachment. MyTopeak MTX DX Trunkbag attaches and removes quickly, easily and securely to it.
The rubber luggage retention cables supplied look sleek but are useless. Any kind of buckle, strap, belt or shoelace would be an improvement. I got a pair of simple elastic bungees with hooks on the ends, which fit over the edge rails of the beam rack from side to side. Far better, simpler and more secure.
I removed the reflector provided and upgraded to the Redlite Aura rear light which is designed to fit. Unfortunately (and stupidly) the far superior Topeak Redlite Mega rear light DOESN'T fit.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FloRida
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Sturdy and easy to use

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, strong and sturdy. Does exactly what I wanted it to do. Well made and easy to fit and use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tom046
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

great quality item

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having had a fully fitted topeak pannier system on a previous bike I was a little sceptical as to how solid this would be. Any fears were forgotten when fitted as the product is extremely good quality and very solid and secure.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RAC123

Easy to fit

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: no option when buying the bag
Simple to use......has to be purchased if buying a Topeak Bag
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shoshi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Very good rack

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is a very good rack, solid, easy too mount, and nicely styled. I've used it on my MTB and road bike to carry a weekend bag and have been very happy with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mahseer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

East to fit, easier to use. Recommended.

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Well made and I have two different Topeak bags to use giving me flexibilty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
50mileman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid piece of kit

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I got the V-type (the one with the bend downwars) for my 54cm top tube road bike (went into a real brick-and-mortar shop to check the fit). Stable and strong construction. As usual from Topeak, a solid piece of kit.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pde1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to take on & off , a simple matter clamping on then quick release to take off. Bought because was sick & tired of getting sweaty back from rucksack when treking. Use mine on a large fuji slm 30, have the v one for large bikes fits excelllant
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ricwood
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and simple to use.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product to turn your mountain bike into part time tourer. Very easy to fit and clamps remarkably well.
Will need side pieces or to rig something up if using panniers otherwise will swing about.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hitchinboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good product, but you do need the add ons , i have the Topeak bag with side pockets so have had to order the side frames
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MJCDEV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Quality

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having had this type of rack on my wife's bike for a few years felt it was time to get one myself along with an MTX trunk bag. Very useful, click system works perfectly and provides useful mud guard effect.
I didn't use the quick release connector as I wanted a permanent fit and just replaced the cam with a stainless bolt, this is very secure with no movement even with 3kg of chain and padlock in the MTX bag.
Bike is a Specialized XC Pro, large, so the V style works fine with plenty of tyre clearance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vijay354
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

great product

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
very sturdy and excellent quality.. works very well with the to peak mtx bag i bought to go with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Quick Release Beam Rack MTX
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stevie44
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent piece of kit

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Light weight, easy to fit and remove if required and the attachment mechanism works a treat. What's not to like?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>