Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.485 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(163 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 163 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
57
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
158 out of 163Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
295 Questions | 382 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

solid and durable

Posted01 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very well made and solid components, easily handles three bikes and feels secure on the car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Very easy to fit on any car

Posted18 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
A simple straight forward bike rack for a range of cars, easy to fit and holds bikes securely.
The only worry is whether the metal clips, that attach to the rear door, will over time chip/mark the paint work on the door edge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid (but heavy) product

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Very sturdy rack and stable when attached. Looks like the frame at least will last for years. First time set up is a bit awkward, but should adjust to suit almost any car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Passed endurance test

Posted14 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
First trip was M6 up north in heavy wind with two road bikes.
No problem at all.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

A must have!

Posted18 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is a great bike rack, and was just what I was looking for, as more of my friends wanted to come biking with me so I needed the space inside the car. It can adapt to fit a number of different car body shapes, and compaired to other racks fits in only a few minutes, and takes 3 bikes no problem. Be sure to check your wheels are out of the way of the exhaust, the heat can mess with the wheels. Prompt delivery was a plus too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

for a Novice, not a bad product

Posted12 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, gives confidence
So I'm a novice. I've never carried bikes on the back of my car (MY2009 Mazda 3 Hatch) lifting them with my hands (2 adult bikes) the whole proposition scared me, and there seems like a zillion products on the market from £50 to £500; so which do you buy. well, it was in the price range and I saw one on the back of a booted saloon car the other month. I asked a couple of people at work, and the seemed to think it was a well made, sturdy but simple enough product. I have to agree
I like the fact that there is 'more to it' than just a couple of bits of pole, it's robust, it's a simple 3 leg design and it did the job very well. I just need to overcome my own fears!!!
I would recommend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Bahrain
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best car stand for any car

Posted23 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It is simple and good quality.
My car has wing in the back.
Saris was the best solution.
Thank you..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted18 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Bought this to fit a BMW 1 series and it works perfectly. Easy to fit and folds up easily for storage.
It may be obvious but I would always recommend tightening all straps before and after putting the bikes on as there can be a little movement and it brings the rack away from the back window slightly. Once tightened again it stays in place well.
Took it on the motorway and it retained it's position well.
For female bikes you will also need to buy a bike beam.
It would also be worth getting some additional padding (I used pipe lagging) to stop bikes hitting each other when moving. I placed it round the frame where it looked like they might touch and it was fine.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Posted13 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Secures bikes very well. Easy to place bikes on racks.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very easy to use, sturdy design for 3 bikes.

Posted22 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Simple and sturdy design, easy to install to car and to fix 3 bikes on. None of that rickety deck chair type shennanigans you get with other bike carriers. Not that much more expensive when bought at sale price. I was going to get tow bar bike carrier but, this is much more cost effective .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Exactly what we were after

Posted18 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
The rack is slightly awkward to fit at first but once all the legs are in the right position it can be left that way and very easily fitted in future. Have only used it with 2 bikes so far but very happy, straps fit nice and tight and bikes were very secure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Easiest bike rack i have ever used.

Posted16 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Really simple to set-up. Very sturdy when loaded up and driving. Excellent all-round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rattle free rack...

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is by far the best rear mounting bike rack I've owned. It holds bikes securely and once set up is easy to mount and take off.
The construction is rock solid & it fits securely on different styles of vehicle - great solution for hatchbacks / saloons without roof mounting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Excellent

Posted12 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
I have a 2008 BMW X3, and do not believe this product was listed as compatible with my car, however informal advice suggested that it would probably work just fine, but ensure you install it correctly. I have travelled from Cheshire to the Lake District on several occasions (2-3 adult mountain bikes) and it has been great. Fastens nice and tight, easy to install, easy to take off and would highly recommend as I did not want the inconvenience of a tow bar extension which would extend the length of my car considerably. When 3 adult bikes were on it, the upper pads would bump against the back wind screen due to the weight but at no point was I concerned. Overall, practical, easy to use, sturdy, compact and ready to rock and roll in minutes. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Worth the money

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I wasn't sure that this bike carrier could be worth twice the price of the basic types available. I don't plan to use it very often, but I didn't want anything too complicated to fit or that would damage my car.
I have a flat back people carrier type car, and the bottom legs sit on the car bumper to support the weight. The arms sit on the window and are really just for balance. With 3 bikes attached the carrier felt secure and there was no noticeable movement on the motorway in the rain.
The 6 clips which fit around the car boot are covered in rubber and haven't caused any marks or damage, and they look like they will last for years. They are marked so you know which to fit where on the car and there are also stickers to identify the arms and legs of the carrier.
I found it easy to fit (with help from Evans staff the first time) and it folds down to a reasonably compact size for storage between use. It's light as it's made of plastic, but feels very strong.
Overall I am very pleased with this carrier and I think it was worth the extra.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Bones 3 bike rack

Posted30 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
First bike rack I have used. Only used for one bike, but used middle clamps as inner ones put peddles to close to bodywork could have re angled the rack but could not be bothered as rack was really fermly attached. Could open boot if required with rack on but not close it properly as the legs rest on bumper and could not shut boot harder to close, unless you lossen bottom straps first. Large rubber feet are great as they do not mark the bodywork, but you must have a clean car first. Could not get straps between boot and bodywork as my car has very small gaps, unless the boot was open, then the straps kept falling out as I closed the boot , so a bit of insulation tape to hold them in place helped . Would recommend as looks much better than anything else out there and should last forever
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Good quality product. Does what it says on the tin

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
A little fiddly to put together initially but once it is set up for your car it is straight forward to put on. Clips and clamps seem good quality. Hasn't marked my car yet but if you are worried you could use small pads to protect the car. I have a mkiv golf hatchback (no spoiler) and it works well. Disassembles down small for easy storage . not cheap but you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Found one that fits!

Posted09 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
We spend a while looking for a bike rack to fit an Audi A3 Cabriolet, and finally found this one! It fits very well, although you need to use the 'dumbbell' straps with the boot lid, as opposed to the supplied straps. It's very sturdy and secure.
The only improvement would be the ability to lock it to the car.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Quality Bike Carrier

Posted03 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I looked at many other bike carriers to fit my estate car before choosing this one. The main criteria was quality and Saris produce high quality products. I have used their 'Spare wheel' bike carrier on my Jeep before so I already knew the Saris Bones had to be a good quality carrier.
Fitting was easy even though I needed some extra straps to fit the Saris correctly.
Off with my family for a bike ride this afternoon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>