Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.493 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(138 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 138 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
135 out of 138Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
261 Questions | 344 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharine
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clairef89
It was bought:Online

Works well with Ford Fiesta (2010).

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Have been using this with my 2010 Ford Fiesta for a few months now and have been very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeeDesigned
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

bike rack is very sturdy, its held a heavy bike

Posted22 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have two bikes but i thought let me buy a three bike rack. its very easy to use and it stayed on my car with no damage to my car.
im going to attempt to put three bikes on there soon, but i am confident it will do that job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Al84s
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best bike rack

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Awesome bike rack, easy to use and fit. Looks great in orange too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
georginacycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brentford

Saris Bones

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This was the only rear bike rack in stock that could to fit our BMW 525 except one much more expensive. Its a clever design and much sturdier than a previous rack we used on our old jeep. Once set up its easy to fit. Theres only a couple of points:
1) it could do with some protectors on the clips to prevent scratching the car. We added some generic ones from a pound shop that you use for furniture legs etc.
2) If you have a ladies bike you will need an extra fitting.
We tried putting mine on without and failed miserably.
Otherwise a great design and comfortably can drive down the motorway with peace of mind
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bigfalki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

The product broke on first outing!

Posted04 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Fitted this to my A6 for first time last week, drove 90 mile and found one of the lugs for the straps had sheared off. Very dissappointing and a real hassle to get back home! Waiting to get chance to return it. A lot of money for poor performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
j4mes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Very good for "standard" frames

Posted03 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this on a recommendation from a friend, as a rack that fits over boot spoilers, and it does on comfortably my WRX (I’ve even seen one fitted to an STI, but it had to go through the wing, rather than over it).
Overall, I’m pleased with the Saris Bones 3. It looks good and holds bikes securely. My only issues with it came when trying to mount my mountain bike (Specialized Camber FSR), and my wife’s MTB (Specialized Jynx). The “arms” of the rack are quite thick and they have, what can only be described as, lumps on the underside that mount the seatpost straps. These lumps make it very difficult to mount bikes that don’t have the classic “standard” frame triangle shape. I managed to find a position for my MTB on the furthest out bike mount of the three, but it took a lot of fiddling. The same goes for my wife’s bike, hers only fits on the middle mount. Road bikes are no problem as they have nice large triangles with straight tubes. Both my road bikes fit on any of the mount positions.
So in summary. Great bike rack, but give it a try with your bike(s) before buying, if possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JustThatGuyDan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Fits the car? Will it fit the bike?

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive, cannot fit some full sus bikes, arms wobbled with bikes on
Basically, I got this to be able to take me and 2 friends in my car to the downhill trails. One of my friends has this bike rack and it fits their bike (Giant Glory 2014) really well. I get it, and my bike barely gets on to the second mount, and that is with a lot of effort. The problem is, my bike (Specialized Status 2 2014) has a horizontal shock (rear sus) with a coil, and cannot fit over the anti-sway mounts unless i hold the bike vertical. Before you buy, make sure not only does the rack fit your car, that it will also fit your bike!
Also, the arms that the bikes sit on were quite wobbly even after I tightened the hand screws. and that was moving it lightly by pushing it, not even driving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bigjacques1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

quality not as expected for price

Posted07 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor quality
Product looks good and easy to set up but when bikes loaded seems to be flimsy and doesnt look like bikes are safe.paid £120 for carrier as bought two bikes at the time and was the only carrier avaiable .could possibly have got better carrier for price if I was not as desparate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Much more solid than cheaper ones

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Having recently got a saloon which is a brand new model I struggled to find a brand of bike carrier that could verify it would fit my car. Eventually I decided to pay a lot of money for the only one that could say for sure it would fit, so ordered a Thule 991 2-bike carrier. When calling Evans customer service to double-check it would be in the store for me to collect, they informed there was a delay in getting the carrier to the store. I then discussed the situation with the customer service rep who then went away to research the issue - impressively they called both Volkswagen and Saris to get confirmation that the Saris 2 or 3-bike carrier should fit my car. I then amended my order and saved over £100 in doing so for the Saris Bones 3-bike carrier. Great service and the people at Evans I spoke to were excellent to deal with despite a few hiccups.
As for the carrier itself, I used it straight away for a family holiday and it was much better than the previous one I had which was one of the cheap aluminium ones from Halfords. The arms are solid and the rubber ends are well designed to go against the bodywork of the car, making it feel very solid & the bikes seem stable. Only thing that slightly worries me is the fact that the straps required to attach it to the boot have metal clips at the end and I'm not 100% sure they won't mark my car's bodywork at some point. Hopefully I'm wrong though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Easy to instal and felt very secure on the back of our Audi A5 convertible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt1448
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong secure and easy to use

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I've been impressed with this bike rack. It fitted first time and easily to my Nissan Qashqai but looks flexible enough to fit most types or car. I'd recommend as the bikes were held securely and safely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wayne17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is well made, tough and easy to use

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Does the job perfectly.
Some bike racks are of weak construction and poor materials. A poor quality rack may end with your bike falling off your vehicle or even damaging your vehicle.
The Saris "does exactly what it says on the tin"
No complaints at all, delighted with the product, strong, sturdy and looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
It was bought:Castleford

great item if a little expensive

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Very easy to setup after the clear instructions.
Took me about 15 mins the first time and have now got it down to 10mins fitting 3 bikes.
Just make sure you adjust the straps after putting on each bike.
I can fit mine with the boot closed on a Vauxhall Insiginia hatchback.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MXM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Fine with 3 bikes

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Worked with hatch huggers on my CR-V. You need to keep tightening the straps as you add the bikes. With a vertical tail gate I found the upper 2 contact points were a little loose if I didn't really tighten the straps after bikes loaded. No problem with 3 full size bikes. Not great for speed/ fuel economy on the moorway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeBuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not cheap, but very very good!

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, versatile, solid
Cons: Expensive
The Saris Bones 3 is one of those things that is well designed, relatively simple, and so it works very well indeed.
Read the instructions to understand the optimal angle of the "legs" & "arms", and all will be good.
I drive a large MPV (van) with a flat back, and I bought this rack because it seemed to be versatile in terms of the vehicles it would fit. It was rock solid carrying 2 bikes 200 miles each way the first time I used it - no concerns about it the bikes moving on the rack, or the rack bouncing, wobbling or loosening at all.
I did use some pipe-lagging to protect the bike frames from the straps.
The only criticism I have is that one of the ratchet straps doesn't work very well and is hard to do up and undo - a quality control issue somewhere. I'll pick this up with Evans to try and get a replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JK2015
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good product

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Takes a little effort to get used to plastic straps. After several uses I can get three bikes hooked up in approx 15 minutes. The rachets are not so impressive and i'm not so sure on security on longer trips - will wait and see?
Overall we are reasonably satisfied although a little over priced!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TimmyC72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to fit.... Feels sturdy

Posted17 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I spent 20 minutes fitting this to a Mitsubishi Outlander 2008. Instructions were very clear and fitting wasn't difficult. I've tried a single road bike in a test drive round the block and was very confident with the way the bike looked and felt. I did add one extra bungee strap to stop the front wheel flapping about/spinning.
I then tried 2x mountain bikes and whist it still felt solid, the top 2 feet of the rack were pulling away from the back windscreen. I probably need to try and pull the straps tighter. Note also that no bike racks are defined as compatible with the Mitsubishi outlander and the back windscreen is almost vertical.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MarkKC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
It was bought:Kingston

Very fiddly to install

Posted09 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: difficult to fit, unsecure
While the Bones 3 is well made, it's quite tricky to install onto a hatch back. There are 6 ties to click onto the hatchback and these must all be attached while the hatchback door is open. Firmly closing the hatchback door is quite difficult as it's hard to do with the rack attached, often resulting in a door open warning light and alarm (on our Golf the door-not-closed alarm went off every time we drove over a bump in the road despite the fact the door seems firmly closed). The rack is not secure and can easily be removed while left unattended by undoing the 6 ties.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rossioli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great value for its cost

Posted06 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to set up. Lighter than average for 3 bikes.
Better quality material than cheaper ones.
I need 5 minutes to set up after my 3rd or 4th try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>