Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
119 out of 119Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
245 Questions | 323 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharine
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meachley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A good cycle rack

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: needed to use alternative straps
I had previously had a 'basic' cycle rack and it was very high, making it very difficult to get the heavier bikes we have (mountain as opposed to road) on the carrier.
My older road bike was a smaller frame than my new one and this also made it very difficult to get it on the old rack.
This bike rack is lower, whilst not obscuring the number plate, and so it is much easier to get bikes on. It is also a bit narrower again making it easier.
I have only tried it with one bike so far so not sure how well three will fit on.
I have a large hatchback vehicle and it fitted well.
The cons are that it comes with metal 'hooks' on the straps. I had to substitute these with the previous 'toggle' ended straps, and although a good design, when you are setting up the positions, it would be more handy if the bars would 'ratchet' round, but as they don't you have to take all of them off and then position each one back on.
All round a much better bike rack though and the bike is not flying out from it like it did on the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jimmythefish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

good product.

Posted18 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I found this product very good, a well made pice of equipment but not as easy to install as stated a bit fiddly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart1414
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Wish I had had one of these years ago!

Posted12 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: Expensive
Having had a few awkward and flimsy bike racks in the past it was time for a new one.... A lot of investigating lead me to the Bones 3 but I never expected it to be this good.
I have quite simply never used such a brilliant bike rack before. My last one took nearly an hour to fit adjust and make stable.... the first time I used the Bones 3 it took just 15minutes. It's also lightweight, well built, sturdy, mounts easily to my Mini One and looks great. The bikes are held in place well and I simply can't be more happy. I was originally in two minds because of the price but now I think I've made a wonderful investment and would recommend this rack to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
omilomtb
It was bought:Sheffield

OK; but try it withyour bike on it before you buy

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: may not suit all frame shapes
The rack fits snugly and solidly onto my estate and gives plenty of space between the bile and car and looks great. However, I'd strongly recommend trying out taking your individual bike(s) on and off the rack a few times before deciding to purchase or not. I found that the geometry of my particular frame made it quite awkward to manouvre on and off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBerSurrey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good product, but needs 'extras'

Posted12 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The Saris Bones is really easy to fit and use and looks good. I have tried it on several different cars and it has been fine on all of them. It feels pretty sturdy once it is attached to the vehicle and has performed fine on a range of journeys (motorways, A-roads etc.).
My only complaint about the product is that I have needed to buy a few extras to make it work, and these are fairly expensive. Full suspension bikes, ladies bikes and some kids bikes often need the optional bar that runs from the seatpost to handlebars to hold the bike on the rack. I have also had to buy 'hatch-huggers' to fit to my car.
With these extras it all works perfectly, it has just worked out more expensive than I was expecting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeroBidford
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and very practical

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
After reading lots of positive reviews regarding the quality of Saris items we chose this product. Even though the Saris website said it was suitable for a Mazda 3 I then found out that it wasn't if the car had a spoiler. So I then checked if it fitted a Skoda Octavia and according to their website it doesn't. We decided to try it anyway and found that it fitted perfectly. We had to open the boot to be able to fit the bottom straps but that was easy to do. The video on how to fit is great, much better than the instructions that come in the box. Take the time to watch it and it will only take a few minutes to fit. If you're unsure about this item fitting your car it's probably best to drive to the shop and try one out. We are delighted that we can keep it and make use of this great bike carrier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chuckster500
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

A STURDY PRODUCT, EASY ASSEMBLY

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The Bike Rack is solid in it's construction. Upon fitting for the first time I did find the instructions a little confusing but all the straps are clearly marked to where they should be attached and the legs and arms are all easily positioned. Once the carrier is fitted and the straps tightened bikes are easily hung and strapped on, however one problem the weight of the bikes has is to pull the top rubber feet away from the hatchback rear screen. Straps need to be retightened once bike weight is on in order to make sure the top feet reconnect with the rear hatch.
The only drawback for me is the lack of security of the carrier. I would like to have some way of locking it to the car so I don't have to take it off everytime. Overall this is great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
unbound
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice!

Posted03 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have only used the rack once so far but it performed very well. A bit of knocking first off but after tightening the straps that stopped. I would suggest a cable tie or something to hole the front wheel and handlebars in place
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
APAP

easy to set up but hard to fix to my car

Posted03 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
I drive a convertible and had been looking for a bike rack that was suitable for my car for ages. I was really excited when I found this product and read the reviews.
The first time I used it took me a couple of (but only a couple of minutes) to set it up. It then took me about 20 minutes to try and fix the straps to my car. Fortunately I only needed to use it to take my bike in to Evans to get a puncture repaired and so only drove 1.5 miles. The bike was hanging precariously off the back of the car and I was really worried that the bike would fall off and I would damage my car and/or bike.
When I went to collect my bike I got one of the Evans staff to help me fix the rack to the car and she fixed it securely (she attached the bottom straps to the underneath of the bumper rather than the bottom of the boot). I felt very confident about using the rack and fitting it myself in future.
The next time I needed to use the rack I tried to fit it how I'd been shown but again I realyl struggled and had to pull over after about 1 mile because the rack was hanging off the back of the car. I have not managed to get it to sit securely whenever I fit it. I realise this is my fault because the lady in Evans managed to fit it securely but I have no idea what I am doing wrong.
I love the idea of being able to put a bike on the back of my car but I just wish I was actually able to do it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikerackuser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike rack super secure

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits comfortably onto back of my hatchback bikes sit securely and no wobbles! Plenty space for all bikes and built in tie downs hold bikes and wheels fast. Great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PDCymru
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent bike rack

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to assemble and use. Sits really well on VW Bug (new model) and holds bike(s) very securely with minimal motion movement. Would recommend - easiest and lightest bike rack ever used (have had several).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pete52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

great robust rack

Posted01 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: does not fit all mountain bikes.
Great rack but no good for some mountain bikes as they will not fit on as the gaps in the frame are not big enough .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
charliewhite

Amazing

Posted14 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks great, easy to assemble and sturdy. Value for money
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
augustusgloop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

I knew it would be good....but not that good!

Posted30 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My first outing with this was to the south of france. you need to secure the front wheel as that will wobble. a bit of bungee and the ends of the mounting cord did the trick. i know the reviews i read said how great this was but i really couldn't believe how secure the bike was.
next outing will be with 2 bikes but i'm confident that all will be fine.
can be a bit fiddly getting all the cords around the boot ends (passat estate) but you soon develop a knack
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trud
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent bike rack

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and looks good - product was quickly dispatched
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PDF66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

strong product

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Bit tricky to get bikes on.
29 inch wheels drop down in line with exhaust,, have twin exhausts either side on A4 so HAVE to take a wheel off.
Very secure. Does mark paint a bit under the legs.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tagfinch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good Product

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I think the product is very good, sturdy and fairly easy to set up.
The instructions are not great - best thing to do is go onto the Saris website and look at their you tube instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KezPlymouth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

Vary sturdy and easy to set up

Posted20 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, very sturdy
This isn't a cheap bike rack but I can honestly say that its worth the money. It was easy to set up, only taking about 10 minutes and feels very secure on the car once I tweaked it to get the best fit. I didn't find the instructions very clear but managed to set it up without any stress.
I mainly use it to carry 2 bikes and they don't more during transit at all which means that I don't worry about scratches on the car.
I really like that the straps are all marked so you know which ones go where and you don't have to spend ages trying to figure it out
Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrumbraeBigC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Seruiously brilliant.

Posted18 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've got a Toyota Yaris with no intention of towing anything so a tow bar carrier is out and roof bar systems are hellishly expensive. This is by far the best compromise for the price. I found it easy to set up and my bike ( I have so far only carried one) was placed on it easily and securely. I am bowled over by the simple cleverness and impressed with the quality of construction. You won't regret buying this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>