Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.61 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
95 out of 95(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
207 Questions | 283 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharine
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very easy to fit solid build for longevity and resin build to minimise marks on your vehicle. Keeps bike secure and away from vehicle paint work. Excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJ19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good piece of kit

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Was very easy to use and fits all 3 different types of cars my household. Straps hang around a bit, just need to tidy them up and you may need a bungee strap once all bikes are on to secure slightly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sproggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Easy

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looking for a 3 bike cycle rack to fit my car, an Audi A3 or maybe friends cars too I wanted something that was easy to fold away, wouldn't rust, light to carry about, would be kind to car paintwork and will hold bikes securely.
Saris Bones does all this and looks pretty good too, holds on tight to the car boot and does not move, it's easy to adjust for use on other cars and I'm yet to find a fault with it.
Having previously owned the usual steel framed racks with foam padding, bones feel built to last and will not rust and deteriorate like previous racks have.
My only concern is the locking screws which I worry will break or get lost, neither has happened yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J77SFB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fits great on BMW X3 with hatch huggers. Stable will above 75 mph with two bikes. No problems. Would be better if it came with paint protection strips as had to purchase elsewhere.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Diesel78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: pedals can scratch paint
The Saris Bones 3 is great really easy to use and set up its on and off the car within 10 mins.
It looks great too very stylish!!
The only issue ive had is with my pedals on the bike nearest the car i had to secure them so that they wouldnt rub on the paintwork solved with a cable tie though!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MOL3Y
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Excellent rack

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, very easy fit
Bought very last minute on Friday from the Kingston store for a weekend in Oxford driving from London with 2 bikes.
Worked perfectly, very quick to install after throwing the "instructions" in the bin. Probably took 30 minutes from opening the box to having the bikes securely fitted to the rack.
Due to the size of my bike (huge) and strange top tube on my wife's Hardrock, we have to miss the middle mount and have them on the first and last mount. With a fiddle with bars on my wife's bike I probably could have fitted it on the second mount.
Could do with a number board on the V40 but a quick art session with a big black maker and some stickers did the job for this trip. Might get a board for the next trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deidre1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

the best bike rack I've tried

PostedJune 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
this bike rack is relatively easy to fit, and once the bikes are on, it feels really secure
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
acciaio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Very impressed

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I wasn't a great fan of rear carriers, but we bought this because we had to take a roof box on holiday. Normally, we carry the bikes on Thule roof carriers.
So far been used on a Skoda Yeti to Applecross and back (12-13 hours each way), carrying two adult road bikes and a Luath 26.
The usual limitation of rear carriers that you can't access the boot.
Easy to set up, takes a wide range of bike types/sizes, stable.
When putting the bikes on a bit of jiggling is needed to make sure there's nothing touching, especially rear mech/front axle, but there's plenty of scope for adjustment.
The straps/clips needed a little tightening a few times on the journey, but no big deal.
I used short straps to secure the bars to stop the front wheels moving.
When you're done, it folds down surprisingly small for storage.
Oh, and finally, it makes a useful stand for the bikes when camping.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Infinity

Great product

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike rack a few weeks ago and used it loads, it's really easy to use and has a great system for adjusting the arms and straps. My mate has since bought one on my recommendation!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tigerfeet

Easy to use, funky design

PostedMay 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This bike rack is very easy to use. It took about 10 minutes to set it up for the first time on my car (skoda superb) and then takes about two minutes to put it on and off each time.
The only drawback, but I think this occurs with every bike rack, is that if you want to mount it high enough to avoid covering the numberplate and rear lights, then it takes quite a lot of effort to reach up and put the bike on the rack.
I like a good choice of colours though it's very easy to secure your bike onto the rack. It feels very secure as you're driving along.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mp1978
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent build and very sturdy, easy to adjust,.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great product, easy to setup and adjust to fit onto the back of the car. Bikes felt secure and straps are easy to use (if a little too stiff to bend through and around the bike frame).
Definitely recommend this carrier, looks great as well compared to a bit of metal tubing used on other carriers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy1111
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Easy to use

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought this having looked at other cheaper models elsewhere. Really happy with this - sturdy, accommodated my kids bikes easily and was very quick to put on or off. You cannot access your boot as the feet rest on the bumper of my saloon but if you dont need access that it fine.
Also it folds away perfectly so uses hardly any room for storage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jakeygb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Flexible, simple and stylish

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Used this on a Mini Cooper S and works really well. Very easy to setup and holds bikes really well providing a high degree of confidence.
Design looks cool compared to some of the more industrial models out there.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angelicasmelica
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy, and as sexy as a bike rack can look :)

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, attracts nerds, its yellow, makes my car look like a transformer
Easy to fit for the first time (5 mins), but the YouTube video is better than the instructions FYI, 2 min fitting afterwards. I have a Citroen C4 and can open my boot with the rack in situ.
Its been on my car for 3 weeks and is still completely firm & stable. I used the hatch huggers too, as I am naturally prone to disaster.
I will need a bike beam I think, as otherwise I have to mount my Bobbin Birdie upside down (on the car, not me personally, I find that draws stares, but its undeniably impressive).
It looks fantastic (I have yellow) and people are always admiring it (NERDS).
Go Team Saris. very pleased with this one.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Centremanager
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

It does everything it says in the description!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is probably the best cycle carrier I have ever had. I love the fact that it's very light to carry around but on the other hand strong enough to carry 3 bikes. It's also very easy to fit onto the car - so we can be up and running within a few minutes. In addition to that it looks good!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mh1066
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:BMX
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Stylish, good quality and easy to fit and store

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy fit
Great product bought to fit new style BMW 1 series hatchback. Looks great in yellow. Highly adjustable so fits most hatches and saloon cars so future car change proof. Also folds back down easily to fit in original box and comes with position marker stickers to speed up subsequent fits. Easy to fit, first time took about 20-25 minutes, subsequent fits much quicker. Left no marks or scratches on the car after. Carried three bikes of different styles and sizes, BMX, 20" girls mountain bike and 16" boys mountain bike. Because of the sloping top tubes and short front triangles on the kids bikes they were fiddly to get on the carrier (took longer than fitting carrier to car itself) but they went on without the need for the false top tube attachment (extra). Carrier Straps are very secure but also used three extra bungees to keep wheels/handlebars straight. Also included in the offer were the Saris Protect O-Pads which fit around the frame tubes protecting the bikes from scratching each other so good to have.
Finally, as with all rear carriers be aware that the view through the rear view mirror is blocked once fitted and depending on the car and size of bike you may need a rear number plate/light board (didn't need for the 1series). Once fitted you can't open the boot and you can't leave the car unattended with bikes or just carrier fitted as would be easy to steal. Fuel consumption also suffered a bit on the motorway due to drag. Overall a quality product and cheaper than having roof bars and three bike carriers fitted or having a rear tow bar and carrier fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hammer14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Lightweight and easy to fit

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great easy to fit. Lightweight but very sturdy. Bikes fit on tightly and safely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Molly1
It was bought:Online

Good lightweight bike rack

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
This bike rack is the first I ever used so I don't have much to base it on but it's very lightwight and carried my bike safely from A to B. The picture instructions aren't that useful so I found some videos online to help. It doesn't take long to assemble onto the car once you know how. It folds up well, takes up little room in the boot when not in use. I think this will be a good addition to our family once the weather gets better and we can get out more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sicros
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Simply the best!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to assemble
The design and bright colour caught my eye when I saw a Saris Bones 3 on another car, which prompted me to investigate and finally purchase one for myself.
It is so easy to assemble and stores away very neatly. Feels very secure, even with three large bikes on board. It has so many positions, it looks like it would adapt to most cars, including my BMW 1 series.
No more back strain lifting dirty bikes in and out of the car :)
Great price from Evans Cycles too!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>