Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.534 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
129 out of 131Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
255 Questions | 336 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharine
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bigjacques1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

quality not as expected for price

Posted07 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor quality
Product looks good and easy to set up but when bikes loaded seems to be flimsy and doesnt look like bikes are safe.paid £120 for carrier as bought two bikes at the time and was the only carrier avaiable .could possibly have got better carrier for price if I was not as desparate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Much more solid than cheaper ones

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Having recently got a saloon which is a brand new model I struggled to find a brand of bike carrier that could verify it would fit my car. Eventually I decided to pay a lot of money for the only one that could say for sure it would fit, so ordered a Thule 991 2-bike carrier. When calling Evans customer service to double-check it would be in the store for me to collect, they informed there was a delay in getting the carrier to the store. I then discussed the situation with the customer service rep who then went away to research the issue - impressively they called both Volkswagen and Saris to get confirmation that the Saris 2 or 3-bike carrier should fit my car. I then amended my order and saved over £100 in doing so for the Saris Bones 3-bike carrier. Great service and the people at Evans I spoke to were excellent to deal with despite a few hiccups.
As for the carrier itself, I used it straight away for a family holiday and it was much better than the previous one I had which was one of the cheap aluminium ones from Halfords. The arms are solid and the rubber ends are well designed to go against the bodywork of the car, making it feel very solid & the bikes seem stable. Only thing that slightly worries me is the fact that the straps required to attach it to the boot have metal clips at the end and I'm not 100% sure they won't mark my car's bodywork at some point. Hopefully I'm wrong though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Easy to instal and felt very secure on the back of our Audi A5 convertible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt1448
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong secure and easy to use

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I've been impressed with this bike rack. It fitted first time and easily to my Nissan Qashqai but looks flexible enough to fit most types or car. I'd recommend as the bikes were held securely and safely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wayne17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is well made, tough and easy to use

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Does the job perfectly.
Some bike racks are of weak construction and poor materials. A poor quality rack may end with your bike falling off your vehicle or even damaging your vehicle.
The Saris "does exactly what it says on the tin"
No complaints at all, delighted with the product, strong, sturdy and looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
It was bought:Castleford

great item if a little expensive

Posted29 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Very easy to setup after the clear instructions.
Took me about 15 mins the first time and have now got it down to 10mins fitting 3 bikes.
Just make sure you adjust the straps after putting on each bike.
I can fit mine with the boot closed on a Vauxhall Insiginia hatchback.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MXM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Fine with 3 bikes

Posted28 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Worked with hatch huggers on my CR-V. You need to keep tightening the straps as you add the bikes. With a vertical tail gate I found the upper 2 contact points were a little loose if I didn't really tighten the straps after bikes loaded. No problem with 3 full size bikes. Not great for speed/ fuel economy on the moorway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeBuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not cheap, but very very good!

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, versatile, solid
Cons: Expensive
The Saris Bones 3 is one of those things that is well designed, relatively simple, and so it works very well indeed.
Read the instructions to understand the optimal angle of the "legs" & "arms", and all will be good.
I drive a large MPV (van) with a flat back, and I bought this rack because it seemed to be versatile in terms of the vehicles it would fit. It was rock solid carrying 2 bikes 200 miles each way the first time I used it - no concerns about it the bikes moving on the rack, or the rack bouncing, wobbling or loosening at all.
I did use some pipe-lagging to protect the bike frames from the straps.
The only criticism I have is that one of the ratchet straps doesn't work very well and is hard to do up and undo - a quality control issue somewhere. I'll pick this up with Evans to try and get a replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JK2015
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good product

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Takes a little effort to get used to plastic straps. After several uses I can get three bikes hooked up in approx 15 minutes. The rachets are not so impressive and i'm not so sure on security on longer trips - will wait and see?
Overall we are reasonably satisfied although a little over priced!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TimmyC72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to fit.... Feels sturdy

Posted17 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I spent 20 minutes fitting this to a Mitsubishi Outlander 2008. Instructions were very clear and fitting wasn't difficult. I've tried a single road bike in a test drive round the block and was very confident with the way the bike looked and felt. I did add one extra bungee strap to stop the front wheel flapping about/spinning.
I then tried 2x mountain bikes and whist it still felt solid, the top 2 feet of the rack were pulling away from the back windscreen. I probably need to try and pull the straps tighter. Note also that no bike racks are defined as compatible with the Mitsubishi outlander and the back windscreen is almost vertical.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MarkKC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
It was bought:Kingston

Very fiddly to install

Posted09 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: difficult to fit, unsecure
While the Bones 3 is well made, it's quite tricky to install onto a hatch back. There are 6 ties to click onto the hatchback and these must all be attached while the hatchback door is open. Firmly closing the hatchback door is quite difficult as it's hard to do with the rack attached, often resulting in a door open warning light and alarm (on our Golf the door-not-closed alarm went off every time we drove over a bump in the road despite the fact the door seems firmly closed). The rack is not secure and can easily be removed while left unattended by undoing the 6 ties.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rossioli
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great value for its cost

Posted06 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to set up. Lighter than average for 3 bikes.
Better quality material than cheaper ones.
I need 5 minutes to set up after my 3rd or 4th try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meachley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A good cycle rack

Posted23 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: needed to use alternative straps
I had previously had a 'basic' cycle rack and it was very high, making it very difficult to get the heavier bikes we have (mountain as opposed to road) on the carrier.
My older road bike was a smaller frame than my new one and this also made it very difficult to get it on the old rack.
This bike rack is lower, whilst not obscuring the number plate, and so it is much easier to get bikes on. It is also a bit narrower again making it easier.
I have only tried it with one bike so far so not sure how well three will fit on.
I have a large hatchback vehicle and it fitted well.
The cons are that it comes with metal 'hooks' on the straps. I had to substitute these with the previous 'toggle' ended straps, and although a good design, when you are setting up the positions, it would be more handy if the bars would 'ratchet' round, but as they don't you have to take all of them off and then position each one back on.
All round a much better bike rack though and the bike is not flying out from it like it did on the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jimmythefish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

good product.

Posted18 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I found this product very good, a well made pice of equipment but not as easy to install as stated a bit fiddly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart1414
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Wish I had had one of these years ago!

Posted12 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: Expensive
Having had a few awkward and flimsy bike racks in the past it was time for a new one.... A lot of investigating lead me to the Bones 3 but I never expected it to be this good.
I have quite simply never used such a brilliant bike rack before. My last one took nearly an hour to fit adjust and make stable.... the first time I used the Bones 3 it took just 15minutes. It's also lightweight, well built, sturdy, mounts easily to my Mini One and looks great. The bikes are held in place well and I simply can't be more happy. I was originally in two minds because of the price but now I think I've made a wonderful investment and would recommend this rack to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
omilomtb
It was bought:Sheffield

OK; but try it withyour bike on it before you buy

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: may not suit all frame shapes
The rack fits snugly and solidly onto my estate and gives plenty of space between the bile and car and looks great. However, I'd strongly recommend trying out taking your individual bike(s) on and off the rack a few times before deciding to purchase or not. I found that the geometry of my particular frame made it quite awkward to manouvre on and off
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBerSurrey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good product, but needs 'extras'

Posted12 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The Saris Bones is really easy to fit and use and looks good. I have tried it on several different cars and it has been fine on all of them. It feels pretty sturdy once it is attached to the vehicle and has performed fine on a range of journeys (motorways, A-roads etc.).
My only complaint about the product is that I have needed to buy a few extras to make it work, and these are fairly expensive. Full suspension bikes, ladies bikes and some kids bikes often need the optional bar that runs from the seatpost to handlebars to hold the bike on the rack. I have also had to buy 'hatch-huggers' to fit to my car.
With these extras it all works perfectly, it has just worked out more expensive than I was expecting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeroBidford
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and very practical

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
After reading lots of positive reviews regarding the quality of Saris items we chose this product. Even though the Saris website said it was suitable for a Mazda 3 I then found out that it wasn't if the car had a spoiler. So I then checked if it fitted a Skoda Octavia and according to their website it doesn't. We decided to try it anyway and found that it fitted perfectly. We had to open the boot to be able to fit the bottom straps but that was easy to do. The video on how to fit is great, much better than the instructions that come in the box. Take the time to watch it and it will only take a few minutes to fit. If you're unsure about this item fitting your car it's probably best to drive to the shop and try one out. We are delighted that we can keep it and make use of this great bike carrier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chuckster500
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

A STURDY PRODUCT, EASY ASSEMBLY

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The Bike Rack is solid in it's construction. Upon fitting for the first time I did find the instructions a little confusing but all the straps are clearly marked to where they should be attached and the legs and arms are all easily positioned. Once the carrier is fitted and the straps tightened bikes are easily hung and strapped on, however one problem the weight of the bikes has is to pull the top rubber feet away from the hatchback rear screen. Straps need to be retightened once bike weight is on in order to make sure the top feet reconnect with the rear hatch.
The only drawback for me is the lack of security of the carrier. I would like to have some way of locking it to the car so I don't have to take it off everytime. Overall this is great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>