Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.602 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
83 out of 83(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
181 Questions | 243 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharine
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jakeygb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Flexible, simple and stylish

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Used this on a Mini Cooper S and works really well. Very easy to setup and holds bikes really well providing a high degree of confidence.
Design looks cool compared to some of the more industrial models out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angelicasmelica
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy, and as sexy as a bike rack can look :)

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, attracts nerds, its yellow, makes my car look like a transformer
Easy to fit for the first time (5 mins), but the YouTube video is better than the instructions FYI, 2 min fitting afterwards. I have a Citroen C4 and can open my boot with the rack in situ.
Its been on my car for 3 weeks and is still completely firm & stable. I used the hatch huggers too, as I am naturally prone to disaster.
I will need a bike beam I think, as otherwise I have to mount my Bobbin Birdie upside down (on the car, not me personally, I find that draws stares, but its undeniably impressive).
It looks fantastic (I have yellow) and people are always admiring it (NERDS).
Go Team Saris. very pleased with this one.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Centremanager
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

It does everything it says in the description!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is probably the best cycle carrier I have ever had. I love the fact that it's very light to carry around but on the other hand strong enough to carry 3 bikes. It's also very easy to fit onto the car - so we can be up and running within a few minutes. In addition to that it looks good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mh1066
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:BMX
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Stylish, good quality and easy to fit and store

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy fit
Great product bought to fit new style BMW 1 series hatchback. Looks great in yellow. Highly adjustable so fits most hatches and saloon cars so future car change proof. Also folds back down easily to fit in original box and comes with position marker stickers to speed up subsequent fits. Easy to fit, first time took about 20-25 minutes, subsequent fits much quicker. Left no marks or scratches on the car after. Carried three bikes of different styles and sizes, BMX, 20" girls mountain bike and 16" boys mountain bike. Because of the sloping top tubes and short front triangles on the kids bikes they were fiddly to get on the carrier (took longer than fitting carrier to car itself) but they went on without the need for the false top tube attachment (extra). Carrier Straps are very secure but also used three extra bungees to keep wheels/handlebars straight. Also included in the offer were the Saris Protect O-Pads which fit around the frame tubes protecting the bikes from scratching each other so good to have.
Finally, as with all rear carriers be aware that the view through the rear view mirror is blocked once fitted and depending on the car and size of bike you may need a rear number plate/light board (didn't need for the 1series). Once fitted you can't open the boot and you can't leave the car unattended with bikes or just carrier fitted as would be easy to steal. Fuel consumption also suffered a bit on the motorway due to drag. Overall a quality product and cheaper than having roof bars and three bike carriers fitted or having a rear tow bar and carrier fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hammer14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Lightweight and easy to fit

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great easy to fit. Lightweight but very sturdy. Bikes fit on tightly and safely.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Molly1
It was bought:Online

Good lightweight bike rack

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
This bike rack is the first I ever used so I don't have much to base it on but it's very lightwight and carried my bike safely from A to B. The picture instructions aren't that useful so I found some videos online to help. It doesn't take long to assemble onto the car once you know how. It folds up well, takes up little room in the boot when not in use. I think this will be a good addition to our family once the weather gets better and we can get out more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sicros
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Simply the best!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to assemble
The design and bright colour caught my eye when I saw a Saris Bones 3 on another car, which prompted me to investigate and finally purchase one for myself.
It is so easy to assemble and stores away very neatly. Feels very secure, even with three large bikes on board. It has so many positions, it looks like it would adapt to most cars, including my BMW 1 series.
No more back strain lifting dirty bikes in and out of the car :)
Great price from Evans Cycles too!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nosila
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Versatile rack fits with small spoiler

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, fits spoiler, easy to remove/ put on
Cons: lack of security
I have always had metal bike racks such as the Thule Clip on and have generally left them on my car all the time. Unfortunately they don't fit the audi a3 sport as there is a small spoiler. I really struggled to find a rack that would but this is great. Fits easily and takes about 10mins to put on.
I'm still get used to relying on straps rather than metal but after a few journeys I haven't spotted any movement. My road bike and cycle cross fit comfortably, I do use bungy cords just to stop any movement but they aren't necessary.
Downfall is unlike meta,l the straps don't offer as much security and I'm uncomfortable leaving the empty rack on the car or the bike on the rack unattended- although I do lock the bike to the rack.
On the whole a good rack and I like the ease of putting it on and taking off so I don't have to leave rack on all the time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matty75
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish and functional

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this to take our bikes on a weekend away. Our car (BMW E46 sedan) has no roof racks or towbar. The Bones is easy to set up, sat very neatly on the back and solidly and safely held our bikes. Didn't cause any wear or damage to the car at the mounting points. Bonus to Evans for shipping this (free!) to Australia in only 4 days!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adrian101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Quick and easy, and packable

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Great for easy set up, and so light not even worried about just leaving it in the boot all the time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wrightyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good purchase

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought for holiday so I could take 2 bikes. Easy to fit, very solid on back of Audi A3. Did 300 miles and no issues. Great product and very happy with the purchase. Don't buy anything else, it's worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sarah70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Was surprised how simple the rack was attached to the car, did use the video online from Saris as the instructions in the box were not descriptive at all, pictures only. Rack seems sturdy enough, yet to be tested on a long journey but a great cost effective way of getting bikes from A to B great purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
John123456
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great product and very sturdy if a little pricey

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I have a BMW Z4 roadster 55 plate and I couldn't find a rack anywhere to fit my car. I tried the Saris Sentinel but didn't seem very strong so instead opted for the more robust Bones 3. Not only does it fit my car (!) but it is serving me well on the motorway as well as slower roads. Would recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markroadie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality product

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cannot fault the Saris Bones 3. Have used it 3 times now - short journey to the Manchester - Chester sportive in the spring, 2000 mile round trip to the south of France and another shortish trip to the Etape Mercia at the weekend. Faultless so far. Very secure. First fitting is a bit of a faff but once you have done it for the first time it is easy. Went all the way to and from SW France with two bikes on the back and after tightening the straps after the first hour (as per the instructions), the rack sat securely on the back of the car for the whole journey at French motorways speeds of 80 mph with out any sway or any starp loosening. Same on return journey. Like I say, faultless. All I would caution is that on my car (Renault Scenic) it obscures the number plate so you need a plate to hang on the bikes and you need to remove the wheels from adult bikes to avoid obscuring the lights. I don't bother taking the wheels off over here but did not want to risk a fine in France so I removed the wheels off my Orbea - put one in the boot on top of the packing and the other hung off the spare fixing on the rack. Worked fine. The Saris foam bloacks also work a treat - got mine free (might not be worth £12.99 though)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happyuser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Sheffield

Fantastic!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The Saris Bones 3 is easy to fit, easy to load, easy to store and perfect for a very small car!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slats

Very good

PostedJune 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very good rack very sturdy when on the car recently travelled 200k with two bike with no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carolineeee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Excellent product, easy to use and really stable.

PostedJune 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is an excellent rack. It is easy to fit and it was really stable driving over 200 miles with 3 adult bikes on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2cups
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good but concerned about security

PostedMay 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: security of bikes
Good service from Evans as always.
In short, if you only need to transport your bike for one day events then this rack is for you. If you’re looking to take it on camping / cycling holidays, then I’m not sure this is suitable.
The Saris Bones 3 (Red) really does look good. I've only used it on a sole journey attaching a single (road) bike, but there was no slip or slide, so I guess it passed the test!
Assembly took about 30 minutes (with useless instructions as is typical these days) although future assembly will now take 5 minutes.
The problem is .. this bike rack is only suitable for transporting your bikes from A to B. Security of your bikes and rack is non existent when parked up.
The rack and bikes could be very quickly removed from the car as the main unit is only attached to the car by straps, which could be very quickly cut.
I would not be confident of using this bike rack if I was looking to park my car anywhere for any length of time over 2 minutes (including service stations, town centres, forest car parks, etc).
I can’t comment on how other bike racks guarantee security of your bikes, however.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WiLLP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Light, flexible, easy to use

PostedMay 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Highly recommended - fits both my cars with minimal adjustment and packs down small. Adjustable arms mean that both childrens' and adult bikes can be carried together, and the rack doesn't have to be taken off to open the tailgate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>