Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(145 reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 145 reviews
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
140 out of 145Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
273 Questions | 357 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharine
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Markywg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Quality Bike Carrier

Posted03 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I looked at many other bike carriers to fit my estate car before choosing this one. The main criteria was quality and Saris produce high quality products. I have used their 'Spare wheel' bike carrier on my Jeep before so I already knew the Saris Bones had to be a good quality carrier.
Fitting was easy even though I needed some extra straps to fit the Saris correctly.
Off with my family for a bike ride this afternoon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BxuC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not so satisfied

Posted02 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, hangers are chunky
The main reason why I bought this is that it looks very nice and the concept is novel. It can be dismantled easily for safe storage in the garage. The material is sturdy to carry 3 bikes and secure them in place. the only downside I can see is that the hangers are too chunky that I have difficulty mounting my full suspension bike, which forced me to buy the saris bike beam. Further it is very difficulty to mount kids' bike due to the chunkiness of the hangers. A 16" bike has to be stowed in my car boot rather than on the rack for it is very difficult to mount it on the chunky hangers. I might try it again next time.
The difficulty in mounting the bikes made me wish I should have not bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jim846
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made, clever design but tricky to put on mini

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: fiddly
I needed a rack to fit a mini cooper and had previously used towbar mounted racks on other cars. I found it fairly fiddly to fix to the mini, the straps seem to get in the way a little. Overall though it seems to do the job, sitting fairly snugly on the boot and not swaying or creaking while I drive. A better solution than getting a towbar fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richardh99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

Posted25 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Used this to take three bikes on holiday on a maestro hatchback( old style body). Quite snug with three adult bikes but took the seats off two bikes to make fitting in easier , no need to do that with just two on board. Very secure and solid. Folds away well for easy storage. I'd recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DanM1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Best Rear Bike Holder Out There!!

Posted20 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have owned various rear mounted bike racks in the past and can say that this is the best one I have owned yet. The first time setting it up can take a bit of time but once its set up to the shape of the car then removing and fitting in future is easy and quick (this was fitted onto a VW Scirocco GTS). The rack feels very solid and there is no movement of the bike whilst in transit (I had to use a bungee cord to make sure the front wheel of the bike doesnt move but this is because my bike has 29" wheels, a normal 26" wheel would probably be ok without). One of the only issues I have is that, although the plastic coated metal clips that hook onto the car are good and solid I believe that the dumbell style connecters would be better and give less chance of marking the car over a long journey). All in all pleased with my purchase and with the help provided in the Castleford Xscape brach of evans
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
essan
It was bought:Online

Nice bike rack

Posted10 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Practical, good quality, so far I´m very pleased with the purchase.
Have only used it with only one bike yet but seems sturdy enough to hold three bikes. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
FM74
It was bought:Hendon

Not for Volvo XC90

Posted04 July 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Bought this reading the reviews. Checked website which said that it required extra pads for Volvo XC90. Got those, but the carrier doesn't feel secure, hence not used it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clairef89
It was bought:Online

Works well with Ford Fiesta (2010).

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Have been using this with my 2010 Ford Fiesta for a few months now and have been very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeeDesigned
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

bike rack is very sturdy, its held a heavy bike

Posted22 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have two bikes but i thought let me buy a three bike rack. its very easy to use and it stayed on my car with no damage to my car.
im going to attempt to put three bikes on there soon, but i am confident it will do that job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Al84s
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best bike rack

Posted14 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Awesome bike rack, easy to use and fit. Looks great in orange too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
georginacycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brentford

Saris Bones

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This was the only rear bike rack in stock that could to fit our BMW 525 except one much more expensive. Its a clever design and much sturdier than a previous rack we used on our old jeep. Once set up its easy to fit. Theres only a couple of points:
1) it could do with some protectors on the clips to prevent scratching the car. We added some generic ones from a pound shop that you use for furniture legs etc.
2) If you have a ladies bike you will need an extra fitting.
We tried putting mine on without and failed miserably.
Otherwise a great design and comfortably can drive down the motorway with peace of mind
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bigfalki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

The product broke on first outing!

Posted04 June 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Fitted this to my A6 for first time last week, drove 90 mile and found one of the lugs for the straps had sheared off. Very dissappointing and a real hassle to get back home! Waiting to get chance to return it. A lot of money for poor performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
j4mes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Very good for "standard" frames

Posted03 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this on a recommendation from a friend, as a rack that fits over boot spoilers, and it does on comfortably my WRX (I’ve even seen one fitted to an STI, but it had to go through the wing, rather than over it).
Overall, I’m pleased with the Saris Bones 3. It looks good and holds bikes securely. My only issues with it came when trying to mount my mountain bike (Specialized Camber FSR), and my wife’s MTB (Specialized Jynx). The “arms” of the rack are quite thick and they have, what can only be described as, lumps on the underside that mount the seatpost straps. These lumps make it very difficult to mount bikes that don’t have the classic “standard” frame triangle shape. I managed to find a position for my MTB on the furthest out bike mount of the three, but it took a lot of fiddling. The same goes for my wife’s bike, hers only fits on the middle mount. Road bikes are no problem as they have nice large triangles with straight tubes. Both my road bikes fit on any of the mount positions.
So in summary. Great bike rack, but give it a try with your bike(s) before buying, if possible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JustThatGuyDan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Fits the car? Will it fit the bike?

Posted02 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive, cannot fit some full sus bikes, arms wobbled with bikes on
Basically, I got this to be able to take me and 2 friends in my car to the downhill trails. One of my friends has this bike rack and it fits their bike (Giant Glory 2014) really well. I get it, and my bike barely gets on to the second mount, and that is with a lot of effort. The problem is, my bike (Specialized Status 2 2014) has a horizontal shock (rear sus) with a coil, and cannot fit over the anti-sway mounts unless i hold the bike vertical. Before you buy, make sure not only does the rack fit your car, that it will also fit your bike!
Also, the arms that the bikes sit on were quite wobbly even after I tightened the hand screws. and that was moving it lightly by pushing it, not even driving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bigjacques1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

quality not as expected for price

Posted07 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor quality
Product looks good and easy to set up but when bikes loaded seems to be flimsy and doesnt look like bikes are safe.paid £120 for carrier as bought two bikes at the time and was the only carrier avaiable .could possibly have got better carrier for price if I was not as desparate
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Much more solid than cheaper ones

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Having recently got a saloon which is a brand new model I struggled to find a brand of bike carrier that could verify it would fit my car. Eventually I decided to pay a lot of money for the only one that could say for sure it would fit, so ordered a Thule 991 2-bike carrier. When calling Evans customer service to double-check it would be in the store for me to collect, they informed there was a delay in getting the carrier to the store. I then discussed the situation with the customer service rep who then went away to research the issue - impressively they called both Volkswagen and Saris to get confirmation that the Saris 2 or 3-bike carrier should fit my car. I then amended my order and saved over £100 in doing so for the Saris Bones 3-bike carrier. Great service and the people at Evans I spoke to were excellent to deal with despite a few hiccups.
As for the carrier itself, I used it straight away for a family holiday and it was much better than the previous one I had which was one of the cheap aluminium ones from Halfords. The arms are solid and the rubber ends are well designed to go against the bodywork of the car, making it feel very solid & the bikes seem stable. Only thing that slightly worries me is the fact that the straps required to attach it to the boot have metal clips at the end and I'm not 100% sure they won't mark my car's bodywork at some point. Hopefully I'm wrong though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Will60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Easy to instal and felt very secure on the back of our Audi A5 convertible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt1448
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong secure and easy to use

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I've been impressed with this bike rack. It fitted first time and easily to my Nissan Qashqai but looks flexible enough to fit most types or car. I'd recommend as the bikes were held securely and safely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wayne17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is well made, tough and easy to use

Posted30 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Does the job perfectly.
Some bike racks are of weak construction and poor materials. A poor quality rack may end with your bike falling off your vehicle or even damaging your vehicle.
The Saris "does exactly what it says on the tin"
No complaints at all, delighted with the product, strong, sturdy and looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>