Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack

Carrying three bikes on the car has never been so stylish, the Bones has become a legendary cycle carrier, where its function is as well engineered as its form. Easy to install, easy to use, and most importantly takes care of both the car and the bikes during transport. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.627 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 110 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
110 out of 110(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
221 Questions | 300 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Review 1 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
katharine
from Oxfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This bike rack is great, it took about 30 mins to assemble first time, and now about 10 mins to fit to the car. It holds the bikes well away from the paintwork, not like one i borrowed previously.. it is very stable and firm, so the bikes don't move much, even on the motorway.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikerackuser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike rack super secure

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits comfortably onto back of my hatchback bikes sit securely and no wobbles! Plenty space for all bikes and built in tie downs hold bikes and wheels fast. Great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PDCymru
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Excellent bike rack

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to assemble and use. Sits really well on VW Bug (new model) and holds bike(s) very securely with minimal motion movement. Would recommend - easiest and lightest bike rack ever used (have had several).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pete52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

great robust rack

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: does not fit all mountain bikes.
Great rack but no good for some mountain bikes as they will not fit on as the gaps in the frame are not big enough .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Amazing

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks great, easy to assemble and sturdy. Value for money
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
augustusgloop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

I knew it would be good....but not that good!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My first outing with this was to the south of france. you need to secure the front wheel as that will wobble. a bit of bungee and the ends of the mounting cord did the trick. i know the reviews i read said how great this was but i really couldn't believe how secure the bike was.
next outing will be with 2 bikes but i'm confident that all will be fine.
can be a bit fiddly getting all the cords around the boot ends (passat estate) but you soon develop a knack
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trud
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent bike rack

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Easy to fit and looks good - product was quickly dispatched
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PDF66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

strong product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Bit tricky to get bikes on.
29 inch wheels drop down in line with exhaust,, have twin exhausts either side on A4 so HAVE to take a wheel off.
Very secure. Does mark paint a bit under the legs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tagfinch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good Product

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I think the product is very good, sturdy and fairly easy to set up.
The instructions are not great - best thing to do is go onto the Saris website and look at their you tube instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KezPlymouth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

Vary sturdy and easy to set up

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, very sturdy
This isn't a cheap bike rack but I can honestly say that its worth the money. It was easy to set up, only taking about 10 minutes and feels very secure on the car once I tweaked it to get the best fit. I didn't find the instructions very clear but managed to set it up without any stress.
I mainly use it to carry 2 bikes and they don't more during transit at all which means that I don't worry about scratches on the car.
I really like that the straps are all marked so you know which ones go where and you don't have to spend ages trying to figure it out
Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrumbraeBigC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Seruiously brilliant.

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I've got a Toyota Yaris with no intention of towing anything so a tow bar carrier is out and roof bar systems are hellishly expensive. This is by far the best compromise for the price. I found it easy to set up and my bike ( I have so far only carried one) was placed on it easily and securely. I am bowled over by the simple cleverness and impressed with the quality of construction. You won't regret buying this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KDK1975
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Sturdy piece of kit, easy to take on and off

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike rack is very easy to take on and off the car once you have done it the first time (even the first time only took about 15 mins). It feels very secure and it doesn't bounce around with the weight of 3 bikes which was a problem with my old one.
Another plus point is that you can minimise the rack and stick it in the boot if you want to. I am much more confident about taking my bikes on the journey to France next week with this rack - not sure I would have gone through with it with my old one!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canberracyclist

Wonderful product

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Well built and very sturdy. Held onto my bike on the highway at speeds of 120kmph with no issues while driving from Canberra to Brisbane.
Its hefty on the price tag but you wont be dissapointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ACR14

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great bike rack, very easy to fit and pack away. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PM74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Excellent quality but a bit fiddly to set up

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: fiddly
Overall does a great job... once you've got it fitted. Took a while to make sure the arms were in the right place and had to keep taking them off each time I wanted to re-allign them.
Wish I had a garage so I could just leave the rack set up for our car and not have to pack it away...
Most importantly, though, once on and tensioned, it is a very sturdy bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lynnsuze
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Maidstone

excellent product

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Purchased this bike carrier and it is the best thing we have brought for our cycling needs. It easily carries 2 bikes, have yet to put 3 on it, but I see no reason why it would not carry them with ease. I would suggest that a set of three ties would assist, as you do need to stabilize the handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very easy to fit solid build for longevity and resin build to minimise marks on your vehicle. Keeps bike secure and away from vehicle paint work. Excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJ19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good piece of kit

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Was very easy to use and fits all 3 different types of cars my household. Straps hang around a bit, just need to tidy them up and you may need a bungee strap once all bikes are on to secure slightly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sproggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Easy

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Looking for a 3 bike cycle rack to fit my car, an Audi A3 or maybe friends cars too I wanted something that was easy to fold away, wouldn't rust, light to carry about, would be kind to car paintwork and will hold bikes securely.
Saris Bones does all this and looks pretty good too, holds on tight to the car boot and does not move, it's easy to adjust for use on other cars and I'm yet to find a fault with it.
Having previously owned the usual steel framed racks with foam padding, bones feel built to last and will not rust and deteriorate like previous racks have.
My only concern is the locking screws which I worry will break or get lost, neither has happened yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Bones 3 Bike Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J77SFB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedJune 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fits great on BMW X3 with hatch huggers. Stable will above 75 mph with two bikes. No problems. Would be better if it came with paint protection strips as had to purchase elsewhere.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>