Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard

SKS X Blade Road Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Review 1 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Garv
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Mudguard

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very happy with this. Good price, easy to fit. Click & Collect made it easy to pick it up from my local store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Climbingnepal99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Easy fit and good tyre coverage

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
I wanted a set of mudguards for my specialized tricross. I bought some race blades but they would not fit the forks well enough to prevent slipping onto the tyres over rough(ish) ground. These are dead easy to fit; you adjust the tension of the strap to the stem and away you go. Tyre coverage is good and you can tune the angle to get good coverage but also prevent contact to the frame. They do however look a bit bulky for a road size tyre so not everyone would be happy i.e. they do look more suitable for a 26" or a 29er but they do the job and will be excellent through the winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tomlebl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is an excellent rear mudguard for hybrid or 29er. Easy to fit, remove or adjust. No tools required. It holds in place and looks great on my Whyte Coniston.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Max10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly what I needed

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I needed a mud guard that I could switch easily between my hybrid and mountain bikes. The quick release allows this. At the same time, it's quite a sturdy fix and it doesn't fall off.
Besides, it is multi-articulated, which means I can adjust the angle and height.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stet

Perfect for the task

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product, well manufactured, ideal for 29ers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stumpy3496
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does just what you need on a 29er!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: will eventually mark your beautiful seat post
I used to use an SKS X-tra Dry MTB rear Mudguard but found it too short for my 29er, meaning a still got a muddy back, this new one is perfect.
Quick n easy fitting on initial set up, with a neat system to lock the nylon strap to the length you need by installing a small screw (screw missing with mine, but I wasn't bothered) if you choose to use it, not essential.
Once set up (5 mins max), removal and refitting is done in seconds and I have yet to make it shift without actually applying pleasure to it, and that's riding a hard tail over rocky roots terrain with a mix of jumps and knocks...
The 'anti theft device' is that you remove it and take it with you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
AndrewG
from Norfolk
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too wide for a road bike

PostedDecember 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
When I received this I thought that Evans had sent me the incorrect mudguard. It is quite wide and would easily look in place on my mountain bike. It fits my scott road bike but is far too wide and does not look good fitted. I decided to keep it anyway as a spare for the MB and actually visit my local bike shop to purchase a nice, neat slimline mudguard
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
duncanmcleod
from manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

SKS X Blade Road Mudguard

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Purchased this along with the 700c Shockblade. Easy to fit and adjust. Has 2 adjustment points (allen key head) and can be angled to suit.
Strap wraps round seat post and can then be locked in place. For additional security once you have it fitted, run a couple of cable ties round the release handle. Reduces the chances of it being nabbed!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave071
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as advertised

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Mudguard works well on my Whyte Stirling easy to install and keep water of my back too!! Looks good on as well so good addition to my bike well worth purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from North East
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit to my Specialized Crosstrail and does a good job of keeping the crud away, especially for a removeable mudguard.
Teamed it up with the SKS Shock Blade 700C Front Mudguard and they look good as a set.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yang
from singapore
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works, but slightly overpriced

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
once this product arrives, i set it up on my bike immediately.
the cool feature is that it doesnt require any tool to put the mudguard on after u have tweaked around the angle and stuff.
and for the tweaking around, there are 2 pivots, which gives plentiful of allowance for adjusting the mudguard to your desired setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thorpie
from South Yorkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality guard, does the job.

PostedJune 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality rear guard, as expected from SKS. Useful double adjustment to get the best coverage over the rear wheel and can literally whip it on and off in seconds!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aerelon
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good

PostedMay 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The mudguard fits my hybrid cross trail well (wheels 700 cc), although I think it could be just a touch longer to catch more road spray. Haven't tested it out fully as there hasn't been much rain lately (not a bad thing!!) so can't comment on this too much at the moment. Still, the mudguard fits very easy and can also be removed easily. Good quality and recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Romkrist
from Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is the only working solution for clip-on rear mudguard! Two adjustable joints make it possible to fit on any kind of frame. The gum-parts at both ends make them more flexible, and it doesn't vibrate like all other no-good-plastic-flaps. The "anti-theft" means you can screw the quick-clip shut if necessary.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
geosweetnam
from Surrey
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good product

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
An excellent, practical piece of kit. Very easy to fit and it look good. Its a bit on the pricey side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS X Blade Road Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bolo
from Southampton
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

X Blade Road Mudguard

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Easily adjustable mudguard fast and easy mounting. Very steady fix to your seat pipe. Easy to clean and durable product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.