Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Adventure MTB Set

SKS Adventure MTB Set

Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Review 1 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rama59

Posted17 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
the only trouble is with the fixing of rear mudguard. fixing on down tube is not tight enough so when hid hole it slips down and guard rubs on wheel. had to tie up with string
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
365Cyclist
from Berks
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solved a problem

Posted13 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, made of a nice soft really tough plastic
I agree with other reviewers, that 'one-size fits all' generally doesn't, but a long-term cyclist with some practicality might get over most incompatibilities with products with some compromises and a workshop. I fitted these to a new snowbike- a suspensionless mountain with very grizzly, studded tyres, creating almost zero clearance at both forks yet still managed to get the thing running without rubbing. The rear guard DOES look a bit bit weird, but all mountain bikes do, generally, anyway. Basically, the guards enable me to carve through appalling, freezing conditions without a wet bum, so that's a tenner well-spent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silversidies
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

Posted20 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These were easy to fit to one of my hybrids and very tricky for the other. I cover 24 miles commuting each day and these have kept the surface water off me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hiroshi
from Tokyo Japan
Age:35-44
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted01 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
It's an easy to Installation, have an effectm, and low price.
If the design is good, the rating would be excellent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
teah
from southwest
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

mudguards

Posted10 October 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, does not fit all bikes
Reasonable quality ,rear protects from most splashes but not all.
Front poor fittings for type of bike I have and cannot use. Check first if considering buying. Also attachment for front broke at first attempt to fit.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikeandhike
from Walsall
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Sturdy and effective

Posted04 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought to fit to Dawes Discovery 401 Hybrid. Delvered to me quickly and well packed. Items were easy to fit although I had to buy a shorter bolt from my LBS to achieve a neat fit on the front sprung forks. Highly recommend supplier and product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
monty88haynes
from london
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

cheap set

Posted01 March 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, poor mounting
bought this set hoping they would do the job. front guard mounting is adequate but would have benefited from some rubber washers to hold angle clip securely to frame. it kept sliding down no matter how tight i made it. a trip to hardware store for some rubber washers did the trick.
the back guard mounting is a bit hopeless. no adjustment for clearance from the tire and it is clipped to the frame with some flimsy rubber bands which snapped after a short time. it was left hanging by the bracket which left it scraping against the tire. had to use zip ties to resecure it. a decent set should not require improvise bits to keep the guards on the bike.
not worth the effort or the money.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeelK
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

easy and quick to

Posted01 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
fitter within minutes to my Dawes discovery 401. They were fitted to the frame mudguard mounting points, so was simply a case of screwing them in with the fittings provided.
perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
oldfox
from Tyneside
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
A very good buy. Easy to fit and they keep the winter muck off. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Red24
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Spend the money!

Posted01 February 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Poor quality, poor fit, poor supplied fixings
I wanted a consistent distance between the tire and the guards full length to decrease splashing and drag but with the fixings provided I couldn't achieve that. The ends of the guards were a good 6 inches from the tire so, apart from them looking ridiculous, the front guard allowed water/road scum to be thrown onto the crank and your feet constantly. The rear guard is fixed to the frame so far away from the back end it wobbled from side to side, exposing the wheel, and allowing alternate, left-right, back spray. To add insult to injury after 6 months of road riding I noticed the fixing eyelet on the rear guard had snapped, resulting on the guard simply resting on the back wheel, so I launched the entire set. A complete waste of money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spanner
from west yorkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

don't eat dirt

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
fitted these mudguards last winter and they do a great job, easy to fit and take off in the summer. Only problem on my bike is the amount of clearance on the front guard which has got full of leaves and mud on two occasions, but this could be just down to the lack of clearance on my fork.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Adventure MTB Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
blueskies
from City of London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Difficult to fit but does the job!

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Although these mudguards look easy to fit i had a bit of trouble fitting them to my GT Transeo 5.0 as they were a bit too wide - but after trimming them a bit they fitted quite nicely and do the job they're designed to to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.