Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pumps or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Smarthead Gauge

Topeak Smarthead Gauge

Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Review 1 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
munchi30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this after reading a review, very light and easy to use, seams very accurate, comes in handy for checking car tyres as well, recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ashbyrich
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tyre Pressure Gauge

Posted07 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does the job - well designed and not too pricy either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevbar

Posted26 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Love this gauge! Very quick to use and great for catching pressure loss before a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Money well spent!

Posted17 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My trackpump is of good quality, but it's pressure gauge takes an educated guess at best. This thing gives me an accurate reading on a clear screen, with a helpful beep to tell me when it's worked. Last year I set all my pressures on the track pump, so assume I was 15-20% out all season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gtmicka
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Sure your pump probably has a gauge but this works better. Best feature Is the 'tuning' mode where you check pressure and if it is too high you can let a bit of air out with press of a button and get a real time reading of the new pressure.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FrankW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use.

Posted22 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
An easy to use gauge. The movable head is very helpful. It is a bit expensive, but worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bluepiglet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Easy to use

Posted04 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The current model (D2) is slightly different to the one pictured. It has a rotating head making it easy to view the screen irrespective of the orientation of the wheel/valve.
Like all pumps and gauges there is a slight loss of air when attaching and detaching, but once you have the knack, it's minimal. The deflate button is handy - overinflate with the pump then adjust the pressure down to the required level.
Fits Presta and Schrader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Guzzibear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product

Posted01 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Well built product which performs well and was accurate when compared to a quality car guage. The instruction leaflet could be improved if each language was kept in its own section, but I am being pedantic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Muddyjuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good once I got it working

Posted03 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I struggled to get it working when I received it, but this was down to poor contact with the battery. Once I bent the contact a little it worked perfectly. The user guide is poor, but operation is quite straight forward; you slide the lever to change between presta and schrader (this is a good feature which makes it very easy to change between valve types) turn on the device and press it onto the valve to get a reading. It works really well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
kbzoo
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted05 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Used it to check the gauges of my floor pump. Fitting the gauge on the valve can be tricky. Angle needs to be right otherwise it ends up bleeding air and registering a lower than actual pressure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MC0102
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Must have tool

Posted25 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
This is a must in your tool kit!!!
Easy to use in the workshop or on the trail.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
peach76
from Brighton
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy and accurate.

Posted10 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I didn't realise how underpressure my road tyres were until using this gauge. I did find however that the power kept going, but all that was happening was the battery was losing contact with the metal contacts. I bent the contacts slightly and now it's fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Motomuppet

Gauge broke on my pump...seemed like an easy fix

Posted28 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to use, seems pretty accurate...better than a pump guage from my experience. Good bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GARDIM
from HERAKLEIO - CRETA
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

VERY GOOD

Posted05 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very clever designed and practical tool. You can view the air in your tires very easy and with only one move. It is very small and lightweight and you can carry it in your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bicyclebob

Bicyclebob

Posted21 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is the second Topeak gauge I have bought and I have found them very reliable, accurate and useful not just for bicycle tyres but also cars etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slipstreamer
from London West
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Takes some mastering...

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: fiddly to hold initially
I'vre read ealswhere that you have to watch where your fingers are when taking a reading as it's very easy to hit the off button. I found this to be the case but soon mastered the grip. It works a dream with shrader valves and is very accurate - good for the car. For presta valves it is critical to press on cleanly - if you press on at an angle the gauge can get stuck, causing loss of air, when you pull it off. Done properly the guage comes off a presta valve cleanly with little air loss. So I can't give 5 stars, but it is certainly worth 4 because it is much more accurate than analogue gauges, which is why you buy this intrument in the first place.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Smarthead Gauge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MudPlugger
from Surrey Hills
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good but easy to hit buttons in removing from valv

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: ease of use
A quality product. Only trouble is fitting and removing the unit from the valve and the ease of hitting the buttons inadvertantly. It's also, at least initially, difficult to fit and remove from the valve due to the tightness of the rubber insert. Other than that it's good and accurate, and light.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.