Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump

Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Review 1 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jkendrick
from Birmingham
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pump!!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I wasn't too sure about this product but didn't want to go riding until I had one. I got the size off the topeak website.
The pump mounts on the underside of the top tube by use of a velcro strap, despite what the Q+A section says for this product. At first, I thought the pump was too big too fit, however the handle can be pushed in to fit and then there is a switch to fix it in position for pumping.
There is a dust cap to keep dirt out.
The pump works really well, gets tires up to pressure quickly and easily (for my Presta race bike tires).
The pump works for both presta and schrader valves. To switch which valves it works with, you unscrew the top of the cap and switch a couple of bits round (I think this is quite a common way of doing things). I've found to change them easier, if you unscrew the top, then put your finger over the hole then pump it partly. If you cover the hole up, the pressure will build up behind the parts that come out and they'll fall out easily. You'll know what I mean when you get one.
Which leads me back to the point of this, if you need a portable pump, get this one. It's great, and good value. The only improvement I would want is the addition of a pressure gauge. The only reason you wouldn't want this pump is if you wanted a pressure gauge or if you wanted a pocket one, but then you'd take years to pump a tire up.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NickFleet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good replacement for my old Zefal pump

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This pump fits neatly in the frame in front of the down tube, where my old Zefal pump fitted. It works well in pumping, though I find it a bit fiddly getting it attached to the valve. A good pump, I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timadgie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

does whats its should do

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
does whats its should do. get my tires rock solid :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Broadsmiles
Country:United Kingdom

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
If you're touring you can't be caught miles from anywhere without a decent pump. This fits the bill. I have wasted too much money on cheap ones in the past
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pav8484
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great little pump

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Wonderful piece of kit.
Great to attach to your bike in case you need it, inflates quickly with minimal effort.
if you don't have a foot pump, large handle pump or it's just not convenient, you want this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ern75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
this is my 2nd topeak road master blaster pump..serves me well during my long rides and fits nicely on my bike frame even without straps. works well overall! highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Excellent piece of kit

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Although a large pump... fits inside my rucksack it is well worth the extra bulk and weight. Inflates quickly and has two settings. Very good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Havelock12
from Dublin, Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy pump for fast high pressure

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this pump looking for a pump that would be lightweight and small, yet deliver high pressure. It does the job well and feels quite durable. It fits nicely under the crossbar and against the post of my bike, but you may want to be absolutely sure of your frame size and whether it'll interfere with brake/gear cables if you're planning on strapping it to the frame.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
McTimoney
from Peterborough
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good piece of kit

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, does what it's supposed to
Full-size pump that slots in under your cross-bar. Very easy and quick to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doug2011
from derbyshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

topeak road master blaster pump

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
excellent product fits all valves this was necessary for us as we have two bikes with presta valves and two with schrader vales so the one pump does all. locks onto the valve has rubber grip section and is spring loade for easy fastening to frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MBC9

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Good quality product that is light and does what it says on the tin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BrownRhino
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pump but awful to fit to your frame.

PostedApril 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Yep. this will inflate your tyre in no time. However, it's designed to clip into your bike frame which won't suit a lot of bikes. You'll also have to make sure you get the right size pump as it comes in various sizes depending on your frame size which is just a little too much faffing about.
If you're gonna carry it in your bag or keep it at home then it's a great buy but if, as most people will want, you need something to just keep attached to the bike then this may not be for you.
I have mine attached to the top of my downtube and have to use cable ties making it look a little cluttered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sssss

PostedApril 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: valve interchangeability
I chose this because it looked very good value. I am pleased with my choice. It is well made and the long barrel provides plenty of compression. Fixing the air outlet to thetube valve is a little tricky. Changing between presta and shraeder fittings is very troublesome, so much so that I would suggest a separate pump.
Good quality.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iwood265
from Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak - top pump

PostedMarch 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
In today's modern minimalist world, it is still good to see that you can still buy a full size frame fitting bike pump. This pump knocks spots off of lesser mini pumps, by achieving maximum pressure with minimal effort. This pump is functional, comes in a range of sizes to fit most if not all frame sizes and at a price that won't break the bank. The build quality is good and it doesn't look out of place on whatever bike you ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PunctureAlley
from Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a blast

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good lightweight pump that gets you up to a decent psi without all the huffing and puffing that mini pumps demand. Only downside is that it's best suited to frames with standard shape tubes. It fits my winter bike fine because the tubes are tarditional shape. But it won't fit my summer bike with flared tubes. But I hope not to puncture in the summer!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikee
from Cumbria
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Topeak Pump

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great pump - blows tyres up hard, without you really realising it's done it!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyClappy

Great product, low price

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this as a 2nd pump to go on my Winter Bike and didn't want another mini pump as they take an age to get up to decent pressure. This product is great for the money. Lightweight and strong. Fits snugly to my top tube but has velcro strap just in case. Easily gets up to pressure without the Arnie veins popping out. Just make sure you get the correct size to fit your frame.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Road Master Blaster Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
N4PALM
from Bristol
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A Proper Pump

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, efficient
Cons: bulky
Mini pumps are great if you want something to stash in your pocket or hide away next to a bottle holder in the vain hope it wont spoil the lines of your lightweight racer. When it really counts you want a pump you can rely on.
The Topeak Road Master Blaster is a modern take on the classic frame pump. A proper pump you can count on in times of need. After years of struggling with mini pumps with poor brakects that inevitably break, with mini pumps that struggle to get to pressure. I bought this Topeak frame fit pump on an impulse and have never regretted it for a second. Ok its bulky but I really dont notice it under the top tube of my bike. If anything it compliments the look of the bike. A few swift thrusts and this pump gets a tyre up to pressure without breaking a sweat.
Even the pros take frame pumps when out on a training ride, if its good enough for them its good enough for anyone. If you want something to stash in your backpack just in case then stick with your minipump. When you get sick of being let down on the roadside, get this.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.