Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Gold
Overall rating:
4.612 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
63 out of 67Would you recommend this product to a friend?94%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First line of defence

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
After having my GT Avalanche stolen and buying a new Specialized Hardrock Pro, I was determined to fully secure my pride and joy this time. A good U/D lock is the strongest method of securing your bike and so this time I decided to invest in a quality lock rather than save a few pounds and go for the cheaper option. Unfortunately, this is a lesson most (including myself) seem to learn the hard way. To those reading this, it really is worth investing in a quality lock, don’t become just another statistic. If you’re browsing on Evans’ website then you are likely more than just a casual rider and the value of your equipment will reflect that. For that reason alone I would recommend this lock to you.
As for the Kryptonite New York lock itself; this is about as secure as you can get your bike with one lock. It is very heavy and very thick so it will resist small to medium sized bolt croppers with ease. Only an angle grinder, bottle jack or enormous bolt croppers could break it and these aren’t feasible options for the vast majority of bicycle thieves. This excellent protection comes at the cost of weight and portability, but it’s a fair trade off.
The bracket supplied with the lock is very secure and mounts the frame of your bike easily. I don’t think that I will personally use this option but the mount is certainly better than similar offerings from other manufacturers that I have seen.
The lock is also very weather proof. It has a sliding plastic cover to prevent grime from entering the keyhole and the locking mechanism it extremely smooth. I certainly haven’t had any problems with the mechanism so far after a few weeks of rain and sub zero conditions.
The lock is a good size (not overly large and clumsy, nor too small for practical use) for transportation and securing your bike and has a frame friendly protective covering.
The lock comes with a lighted key (and some spares), which is a nice touch and is very useful.
Overall the New York lock is excellent and the only (minor) grievance that I have is that the key seems to be very fragile in the lock and after having read several reports of keys snapping in Kryptonite locks, I am extra cautious when locking/unlocking my bike.
I use this lock in conjunction with another (less robust) chain and the Kryptonite lock gives me extra peace of mind. Always use 2 good locks and when following this strategy, the Kryptonite New York will become the core piece of protection for your bicycle.
In contrast to what I said earlier, this lock can be had for cheaper elsewhere so it pays to search around. Have a look on eBay (if you don’t care about storing the receipt for insurance purposes) or use Evans’ price matcher.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Solid and secure

Posted04 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, heavyweight
A heavyweight lock which feels solid and worthy of its' gold rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

One of the Toughest Locks!

Posted25 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock feels bulletproof. Used right it's going to stop the thieves. I use this one on my top-spec race bike which is BikeRegistered too and feel safe in the knowledge that thieves will walk on by, rather than chance it on my ride.
It is heavy, but it needs to be so I view this as a necessary trade-off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

This lock inspires confidence.

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This lock inspires confidence. Having had a bicycle stolen it's an experience you don't want to repeat. This lock is highly secure and even acts as a deterrent against bike theft.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:West End

Very secure

Posted30 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, extremely secure
Cons: Heavy
Although heavy and not cheap, this lock is strong and the bracket fits in many places on the frame being a rubber strap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cambridge

Posted09 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A proper lock.
Fairly heavy, but then again I still have to see a lightweight lock that provides decent security.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

As good as it gets!

Posted03 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
No thieving undesirables have tried to steal my bike with this lock on it yet so I'm assuming that it is deterring them. Either that or I've been lucky none have been passing yet! Either way this lock is confidence inspiring due to its quality and weightyness; I use it in conjunction with a 7ft kryptoflex lock so my bike is as secure as possible... Fantastic advise from the lads at Evans Preston as usual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Heavy - of course - but solid

Posted21 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I try to carry this as little as possible - it's heavy but it's meant to be solid! I used to have a longer lock and if you are a front wheel remover this would be a bit short, however there's room to get a rack, frame, rear wheel in. Hard to know how good a lock is until it fails unfortunately but should last well with occasional lubricant on key entry points and hasps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I feel my bike is safe with this lock

Posted10 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I feel my bike is secure with this lock as this lock has the Gold rating from Sold Secure Rating and a video on youtube shows a guy with a chainsaw took him 3.5 minutes to break the lock.
The only thing I don't like is the writing on it wears off quickly, the key hole cover is poor design.
But they are both small things - Overall it is probably the best lock out there for it's price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Edinburgh

Posted28 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent bike for road and track use, smooth gear changing and perfect fit! Heavy when having to carry up stairs in student flat but other than that no faults! Fab colour too !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Super lock

Posted19 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
No real complaints with this it's very sturdy. As with all D-locks make sure it's big enough for the application you want to put it too-but not too big!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Arrived quickly and in great packaging.
Very strong lock, I like that it cannot be broken with large bolt cutters.
Great for insurance.
Best price in the the UK (new in box). I bought here online.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Heavy and secure.

Posted07 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, feels secure
Cons: Heavy
I had to buy this lock and loop (and new bike) after my previous bike was stolen, it had been secured with an earlier version of this lock and Kryptoflex loop, the thieving scumbags couldn't get through the lock or loop so hack sawed the bracket on the wall that everything was attached too.
My advice is attach your bike with this lock and a loop to something hacksaw/bolt cropper proof and your bike will be as secure as it's going to be.
The mail order service was perfect and I would certainly use it again to purchase something.
Highly recommended 10/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Fantastic product

Posted17 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great product - sturdy and striking so anyone who is going to try and steal your bike at least knows that its going to be a bit of effort!
Its quite heavy but that's kinda of the idea - worth shelling out for the gold standard of lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Quality lock

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Excellent quqlity lock with the advantage (if you ride a 'off the shelf' bike) of £1,200 theft insurance. Heavy of course, but should hopefully keep the pond scum off your ride. Remember to register your key numbers online, & they can supply replacements ( comes with 3 keys.) Staff at the Leicester branch helpful as always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Too big

Posted05 July 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
The lock is too big to sit neatly inside the frame of my bike and therefore has to sit on the side. Also, sometimes the clip works loose meaning you have to re-attach it to get the lock to close.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Don't know

This product is good quality

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought a Kryptonite bike lock, as everyone claims they are the best. I am more than happy with my purchase, firstly it was in the sale, but you can tell that the product is very good quality.
Secondly, the sales staff in Evans Cycles were very helpful and informative, and patient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Reassuringly heavy

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, heavy
Bike hasn't been stolen yet so I'm quite please with it.
It's a really sturdy lock. I leave it in Central London and have had a few bikes stolen so went with this option this time. So far, so good! (touch wood).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Guildford

Good lock

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Heavy duty lock. Looks and feels very secure. Good locking device and well designed. Just a top-class lock. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Small enough to carry, large enough to be useful

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Generally a useful size
- can lock frame to smallish street furniture
- I struggle to lock frame, wheel and street furniture/bike stand
- I use a kickstand on my bike which means it can lean away from whatever I lock it too. This extra distance isn't always accommodated by the lock
Not too heavy
- I carry it on the rear rack or in a pannier
- Wouldn't want it in a ruck sack on my back
The frame mount wasn't that useful as there is no space on my bike to accommodate it, since I have bottle cages within the diamond and a rear rack.
Sold Secure Gold
- Decent protection
- Fulfills my insurance policy requirements
I do intend to buy a cable to go with it.
Overall a good balance between strength/weight/heft/size/portability/usefullness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>