Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Gold
Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
35 out of 36(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wibbler
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First line of defence

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
After having my GT Avalanche stolen and buying a new Specialized Hardrock Pro, I was determined to fully secure my pride and joy this time. A good U/D lock is the strongest method of securing your bike and so this time I decided to invest in a quality lock rather than save a few pounds and go for the cheaper option. Unfortunately, this is a lesson most (including myself) seem to learn the hard way. To those reading this, it really is worth investing in a quality lock, don’t become just another statistic. If you’re browsing on Evans’ website then you are likely more than just a casual rider and the value of your equipment will reflect that. For that reason alone I would recommend this lock to you.
As for the Kryptonite New York lock itself; this is about as secure as you can get your bike with one lock. It is very heavy and very thick so it will resist small to medium sized bolt croppers with ease. Only an angle grinder, bottle jack or enormous bolt croppers could break it and these aren’t feasible options for the vast majority of bicycle thieves. This excellent protection comes at the cost of weight and portability, but it’s a fair trade off.
The bracket supplied with the lock is very secure and mounts the frame of your bike easily. I don’t think that I will personally use this option but the mount is certainly better than similar offerings from other manufacturers that I have seen.
The lock is also very weather proof. It has a sliding plastic cover to prevent grime from entering the keyhole and the locking mechanism it extremely smooth. I certainly haven’t had any problems with the mechanism so far after a few weeks of rain and sub zero conditions.
The lock is a good size (not overly large and clumsy, nor too small for practical use) for transportation and securing your bike and has a frame friendly protective covering.
The lock comes with a lighted key (and some spares), which is a nice touch and is very useful.
Overall the New York lock is excellent and the only (minor) grievance that I have is that the key seems to be very fragile in the lock and after having read several reports of keys snapping in Kryptonite locks, I am extra cautious when locking/unlocking my bike.
I use this lock in conjunction with another (less robust) chain and the Kryptonite lock gives me extra peace of mind. Always use 2 good locks and when following this strategy, the Kryptonite New York will become the core piece of protection for your bicycle.
In contrast to what I said earlier, this lock can be had for cheaper elsewhere so it pays to search around. Have a look on eBay (if you don’t care about storing the receipt for insurance purposes) or use Evans’ price matcher.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tomca

Heavy and sturdy - a good deterrent.

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
It's what it is - a high-security lock that saves your bike from thieves. It's a pain to carry it around though, so I'd recommend using it at home /office etc, sort of kept at one place instead of riding together with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robert123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Strong good quality but heavy

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This product looks like it should make any thief think twice. It is heavy and I am not sure I would use the fitting to carry on the bike. I commute and carry the lock in my backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugsterboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very solid lock.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This lock is heavy but I think that reflects it's strength. Is bit enough to fit round the seat tube, back wheel of my crosser and an immovable object. Hasn't let me down yet. Plenty of keys and a nice touch having the LED light on the main one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt78

Bomb proof lock

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
As solid as they come but heavier than some other brands. Price match made this excellent value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chunkster

good solid quality

PostedApril 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The lock sits well on the bike looks good and is a good solid build quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Law86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid Lock

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great lock with one of the better frame clips I have seen. It is on the heavy side, which is to be expected for locks of this type. Overall build quality is top notch, with a great finish to boot.
The locking mechanism is also as solid as you could wish for, overall highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hr2005hr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent lock. Brilliant little light.

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great lock as you would expect from Kryptonite
The blue light is great for finding the keyhole at night although it makes the key slightly bigger though. If that is a problem it also come with two smaller keys without the light - problem solved ( if there was one!)
I wouldn't buy anything other than Kryptonite locks.
Evans as always delivered quickly and price matched another site within 24 hrs.
I really can have no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Birley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Robust lock

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I'm very pleased with this lock. On the plus side is that it is very strongly built, and has positive key action, with weather cover.
Like others I need to remind people that it weights about the same as Wales! But I knew this and it is worth while bearing in mind the level of security provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Solid piece of kit.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Reassuringly sturdy piece of kit. Looks the part. Evan's price matched making it good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ant88

Great lock, get what you pay for,

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
In my opinion you do get what you pay for here. It's a little expensive, but its well made, has some nice features, comes with a 1000 pound guarantee, is insurance approved and although its a little heavy, if you commute with a bag full of clothes etc, adding in this doesn't make too much difference (for me anyway). Worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
agentGinger

Heavy but solid

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I've only had this lock for 2 weeks, and it's not been tested by a thief, thankfully, but it certainly looks like enough of a deterrent to make a potential thief think twice about the bother of trying to remove it.
I've no doubt it could be broken with sufficient tools, but it would be noisy and messy.
One thing i'd not anticipated was that the size of it means if I want to mount the bracket to my frame, I can't also have a bottle rack on the frame, as the lock takes up almost all of the internal "triangle" of the frame.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Springbok12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

excellent lock

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock is great and I doubt any person intent on stealing your bike will try when they see this lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nika176
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This product is the best

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I'm very happy with this locker. This product has high level of protection. It is a excellent product for good money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KeyKeeper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Solid lock

PostedApril 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock is very robust and will be a great deterrent to any thief who does not have the luxury of being able to get out an angle grinder to cut it off !
As a result it is very heavy and my one criticism is that the mechanism for fixing it to the bike when riding, whilst very simple to set up was just not practical for my bike (Scott sub30) as I couldn't fit it to my frame so I now have to carry it in a ruck sack which with the weight is not ideal or I simply loop it round the handlebar column which means it rattles with any bump in the road.
All in all as both a deterrent and as a physical hurdle to stealing your bike it is a great lock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rolando80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great lock - dodgy mount bracket

PostedApril 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great lock, but the mount bracket isn't really strong enough for it.
Based on experience, I'd recomment mounting the bracket on the cross bar rather than on the vertical to minimise torque on the plastic mount attachments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Singha

BIt confused, definitely don't feel safe

PostedApril 3, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just locked my Trek up outside a Police Station using this lock and a Kryptonite cable lock. I came back an hour later to find that someone had almost succeeded in breaking the lock. One side had been pried off completely and the cable had gone.
Neither the rubber coating on the lock, nor the bike frame were dented, so it doesn't look like it was prised. Very lucky to still have a bike. Won't be trusting it to (Only) this lock in the future.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lzshf3
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Big bad lock

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Price matched this with a competitor and got it for 50% less than retail price. It's a really heavy lock, gold rated and proving to be a decent deterrent......I've still got all my bikes so far. I use this and a kryptonite mini so anyone trying to steal my bike will need at least 5 minutes.
This is not a lock you want to be carrying with you all the time.
Collect in-store option is brilliant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BMX8888

i would really recommend this lock

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I would recommend this lock because you can rely on the lock to keep your bike secure i bought this lock a week after my bike got stolen the lock i had was a chain "DONT BUY CHAINS THEY ARE USELESS"
The only bad thing that i would say is that it is quite heavy for a lock but not that heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CR64
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough solid lock

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not much to say about this. It's a tough, solid lock. No one's tried to break/pick it since I've had it so can't testify as to how well it would stand up to a determined thief but I think the brand's reputation has a deterrent value.
Reassuringly heavy. Comes with a frame mount which I haven't used. Three keys including one with a light. Useful if you are fumbling in the dark.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>