Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Gold
Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
43 out of 46(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wibbler
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First line of defence

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
After having my GT Avalanche stolen and buying a new Specialized Hardrock Pro, I was determined to fully secure my pride and joy this time. A good U/D lock is the strongest method of securing your bike and so this time I decided to invest in a quality lock rather than save a few pounds and go for the cheaper option. Unfortunately, this is a lesson most (including myself) seem to learn the hard way. To those reading this, it really is worth investing in a quality lock, don’t become just another statistic. If you’re browsing on Evans’ website then you are likely more than just a casual rider and the value of your equipment will reflect that. For that reason alone I would recommend this lock to you.
As for the Kryptonite New York lock itself; this is about as secure as you can get your bike with one lock. It is very heavy and very thick so it will resist small to medium sized bolt croppers with ease. Only an angle grinder, bottle jack or enormous bolt croppers could break it and these aren’t feasible options for the vast majority of bicycle thieves. This excellent protection comes at the cost of weight and portability, but it’s a fair trade off.
The bracket supplied with the lock is very secure and mounts the frame of your bike easily. I don’t think that I will personally use this option but the mount is certainly better than similar offerings from other manufacturers that I have seen.
The lock is also very weather proof. It has a sliding plastic cover to prevent grime from entering the keyhole and the locking mechanism it extremely smooth. I certainly haven’t had any problems with the mechanism so far after a few weeks of rain and sub zero conditions.
The lock is a good size (not overly large and clumsy, nor too small for practical use) for transportation and securing your bike and has a frame friendly protective covering.
The lock comes with a lighted key (and some spares), which is a nice touch and is very useful.
Overall the New York lock is excellent and the only (minor) grievance that I have is that the key seems to be very fragile in the lock and after having read several reports of keys snapping in Kryptonite locks, I am extra cautious when locking/unlocking my bike.
I use this lock in conjunction with another (less robust) chain and the Kryptonite lock gives me extra peace of mind. Always use 2 good locks and when following this strategy, the Kryptonite New York will become the core piece of protection for your bicycle.
In contrast to what I said earlier, this lock can be had for cheaper elsewhere so it pays to search around. Have a look on eBay (if you don’t care about storing the receipt for insurance purposes) or use Evans’ price matcher.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nickname312839828970
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

Posted27 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, heavy
It hasn't been put to the test yet but this lock feels very sturdy and I can go about my day without being paranoid about the safety of my bike, its easy to use and would be easy to transport only I have an unusual bike which makes it hard to get the bracket on but for normal bikes Id say it would be very straight forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anfear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Delivery was bang on time. The lock is strong and looks the part. I used it to secure my mountain bike at a sports centre in what could be termed as a 'high crime' area. It's a tight fit and certainly would cause problems to anyone trying to insert a 'jack' or lever into the lock space.
The key operation is smooth allowing the 'lock bar' to drop away (make sure the bar is horizontal and not skewed when you remove it or it will jam). It is heavy, but not more than any other quality lock. So like I have said 'It's a nice piece of kit and definitely worth the money, after all £60 to guard £600 makes sense. Any one spending £10 to £20 is asking for trouble.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tsch
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

BEEFY

Posted17 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
No on's getting through this. It's a perfect size to get around a post, the rear wheel and the front if you take it off too.
I'm happy to leave my bike out on the street overnight with this thing holding it down. Yes, it's heavy, but that's pretty reassuring to be honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
robkav
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Worth the money

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Pricey, but you are paying for a brand that signals to thieves that it's just not worth their bother. Stores easily on the bike body. Quality is excellent and because this is likely to be a five to ten year lock, the cost per year is reasonable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mo77
Country:United Kingdom

Safe

Posted28 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
On the heavy side but you can't feel any safer! Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soundcheck

Really good

Posted27 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Seems to be very well made. Really pleased with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
roms
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feels strong

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Heavy, looks tough. Hopefully won't find out thief resistant it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laidbackrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool but Heavy

Posted10 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, one of the toughest d locks
Cons: Heavy
Cool but very heavy, approx 2 kg so beware.
I bought this lock as its one of the toughest D locks and is a good quality product, having used a Kryptonite Evolution 4 lock for many years without the lock seizing or any of the other problems that people report I trust the brand.
Using this lock alongside an Abus Steel O Flex 1000 cable lock gives a 4kg lock combo. This is manageable with the ebike but I use a lighter combo for push bikes.
No locking system is unbreakable but the combination of one of the toughest D locks and one of the toughest cable locks should (hopefully) encourage thieves to target another bike. The penalty is weight and cost.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Antigoni38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Not as safe as one might think

Posted18 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: not as safe
I bought this lock 8 months ago and did not bother registering it as I thought it was safe.
I suppose no lock can be 100% safe. My bicycle was stolen this weekend from High str Kensington. No signs of it or the lock.
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Solid so far!

Posted18 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality lock, yes its a little heavy but not surprisingly. Only used it for a couple of weeks so there's only so much one can say. I'm happy with it and reckon it's as good as you'll get at that price range. Saved a few quid as Evans price matched it too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tomca

Heavy and sturdy - a good deterrent.

Posted05 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
It's what it is - a high-security lock that saves your bike from thieves. It's a pain to carry it around though, so I'd recommend using it at home /office etc, sort of kept at one place instead of riding together with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robert123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Strong good quality but heavy

Posted01 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This product looks like it should make any thief think twice. It is heavy and I am not sure I would use the fitting to carry on the bike. I commute and carry the lock in my backpack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugsterboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very solid lock.

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This lock is heavy but I think that reflects it's strength. Is bit enough to fit round the seat tube, back wheel of my crosser and an immovable object. Hasn't let me down yet. Plenty of keys and a nice touch having the LED light on the main one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt78

Bomb proof lock

Posted20 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
As solid as they come but heavier than some other brands. Price match made this excellent value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chunkster

good solid quality

Posted14 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The lock sits well on the bike looks good and is a good solid build quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Law86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid Lock

Posted15 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great lock with one of the better frame clips I have seen. It is on the heavy side, which is to be expected for locks of this type. Overall build quality is top notch, with a great finish to boot.
The locking mechanism is also as solid as you could wish for, overall highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hr2005hr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent lock. Brilliant little light.

Posted21 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great lock as you would expect from Kryptonite
The blue light is great for finding the keyhole at night although it makes the key slightly bigger though. If that is a problem it also come with two smaller keys without the light - problem solved ( if there was one!)
I wouldn't buy anything other than Kryptonite locks.
Evans as always delivered quickly and price matched another site within 24 hrs.
I really can have no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Birley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Robust lock

Posted02 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I'm very pleased with this lock. On the plus side is that it is very strongly built, and has positive key action, with weather cover.
Like others I need to remind people that it weights about the same as Wales! But I knew this and it is worth while bearing in mind the level of security provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Solid piece of kit.

Posted02 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Reassuringly sturdy piece of kit. Looks the part. Evan's price matched making it good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>