Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock

Sold Secure Rating: Gold
Overall rating:
4.564 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
51 out of 55Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First line of defence

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
After having my GT Avalanche stolen and buying a new Specialized Hardrock Pro, I was determined to fully secure my pride and joy this time. A good U/D lock is the strongest method of securing your bike and so this time I decided to invest in a quality lock rather than save a few pounds and go for the cheaper option. Unfortunately, this is a lesson most (including myself) seem to learn the hard way. To those reading this, it really is worth investing in a quality lock, don’t become just another statistic. If you’re browsing on Evans’ website then you are likely more than just a casual rider and the value of your equipment will reflect that. For that reason alone I would recommend this lock to you.
As for the Kryptonite New York lock itself; this is about as secure as you can get your bike with one lock. It is very heavy and very thick so it will resist small to medium sized bolt croppers with ease. Only an angle grinder, bottle jack or enormous bolt croppers could break it and these aren’t feasible options for the vast majority of bicycle thieves. This excellent protection comes at the cost of weight and portability, but it’s a fair trade off.
The bracket supplied with the lock is very secure and mounts the frame of your bike easily. I don’t think that I will personally use this option but the mount is certainly better than similar offerings from other manufacturers that I have seen.
The lock is also very weather proof. It has a sliding plastic cover to prevent grime from entering the keyhole and the locking mechanism it extremely smooth. I certainly haven’t had any problems with the mechanism so far after a few weeks of rain and sub zero conditions.
The lock is a good size (not overly large and clumsy, nor too small for practical use) for transportation and securing your bike and has a frame friendly protective covering.
The lock comes with a lighted key (and some spares), which is a nice touch and is very useful.
Overall the New York lock is excellent and the only (minor) grievance that I have is that the key seems to be very fragile in the lock and after having read several reports of keys snapping in Kryptonite locks, I am extra cautious when locking/unlocking my bike.
I use this lock in conjunction with another (less robust) chain and the Kryptonite lock gives me extra peace of mind. Always use 2 good locks and when following this strategy, the Kryptonite New York will become the core piece of protection for your bicycle.
In contrast to what I said earlier, this lock can be had for cheaper elsewhere so it pays to search around. Have a look on eBay (if you don’t care about storing the receipt for insurance purposes) or use Evans’ price matcher.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Fantastic product

Posted17 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great product - sturdy and striking so anyone who is going to try and steal your bike at least knows that its going to be a bit of effort!
Its quite heavy but that's kinda of the idea - worth shelling out for the gold standard of lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Quality lock

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Excellent quqlity lock with the advantage (if you ride a 'off the shelf' bike) of £1,200 theft insurance. Heavy of course, but should hopefully keep the pond scum off your ride. Remember to register your key numbers online, & they can supply replacements ( comes with 3 keys.) Staff at the Leicester branch helpful as always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Too big

Posted05 July 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy
The lock is too big to sit neatly inside the frame of my bike and therefore has to sit on the side. Also, sometimes the clip works loose meaning you have to re-attach it to get the lock to close.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Don't know

This product is good quality

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought a Kryptonite bike lock, as everyone claims they are the best. I am more than happy with my purchase, firstly it was in the sale, but you can tell that the product is very good quality.
Secondly, the sales staff in Evans Cycles were very helpful and informative, and patient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Reassuringly heavy

Posted28 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, heavy
Bike hasn't been stolen yet so I'm quite please with it.
It's a really sturdy lock. I leave it in Central London and have had a few bikes stolen so went with this option this time. So far, so good! (touch wood).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Guildford

Good lock

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Heavy duty lock. Looks and feels very secure. Good locking device and well designed. Just a top-class lock. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Small enough to carry, large enough to be useful

Posted06 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Generally a useful size
- can lock frame to smallish street furniture
- I struggle to lock frame, wheel and street furniture/bike stand
- I use a kickstand on my bike which means it can lean away from whatever I lock it too. This extra distance isn't always accommodated by the lock
Not too heavy
- I carry it on the rear rack or in a pannier
- Wouldn't want it in a ruck sack on my back
The frame mount wasn't that useful as there is no space on my bike to accommodate it, since I have bottle cages within the diamond and a rear rack.
Sold Secure Gold
- Decent protection
- Fulfills my insurance policy requirements
I do intend to buy a cable to go with it.
Overall a good balance between strength/weight/heft/size/portability/usefullness
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Solid and reliable lock

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Only negative is the bike bracket as it's not the best, but this is a common grumble from owners of this lock
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Really secure

Posted12 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Brilliant top of the range lock that feels really strong. It feels well made with a sort of rubbery texture. Comes with 3 different keys, 1 which has a mini light so you can see the lock at night.
Has not been stolen yet!
I use this as my primary lock around the frame, then use secondary lock which secures the front wheel. The secondary lock is mounted to my bike seat so that is easy on and off, the kryponite lock is stored in my rucksack which has enough space so isnt too much of an issue, however it is obviously weighted so keep in mind.
Use quick release skewers to prevent wheels from being quickly taken.
This primary lock is Gold rated for a reason and will put thiefs off hopefully!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good

Posted27 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, heavy
It hasn't been put to the test yet but this lock feels very sturdy and I can go about my day without being paranoid about the safety of my bike, its easy to use and would be easy to transport only I have an unusual bike which makes it hard to get the bracket on but for normal bikes Id say it would be very straight forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Delivery was bang on time. The lock is strong and looks the part. I used it to secure my mountain bike at a sports centre in what could be termed as a 'high crime' area. It's a tight fit and certainly would cause problems to anyone trying to insert a 'jack' or lever into the lock space.
The key operation is smooth allowing the 'lock bar' to drop away (make sure the bar is horizontal and not skewed when you remove it or it will jam). It is heavy, but not more than any other quality lock. So like I have said 'It's a nice piece of kit and definitely worth the money, after all £60 to guard £600 makes sense. Any one spending £10 to £20 is asking for trouble.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

BEEFY

Posted17 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
No on's getting through this. It's a perfect size to get around a post, the rear wheel and the front if you take it off too.
I'm happy to leave my bike out on the street overnight with this thing holding it down. Yes, it's heavy, but that's pretty reassuring to be honest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Worth the money

Posted13 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Pricey, but you are paying for a brand that signals to thieves that it's just not worth their bother. Stores easily on the bike body. Quality is excellent and because this is likely to be a five to ten year lock, the cost per year is reasonable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Safe

Posted28 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
On the heavy side but you can't feel any safer! Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good

Posted27 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Seems to be very well made. Really pleased with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feels strong

Posted16 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Heavy, looks tough. Hopefully won't find out thief resistant it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool but Heavy

Posted10 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, one of the toughest d locks
Cons: Heavy
Cool but very heavy, approx 2 kg so beware.
I bought this lock as its one of the toughest D locks and is a good quality product, having used a Kryptonite Evolution 4 lock for many years without the lock seizing or any of the other problems that people report I trust the brand.
Using this lock alongside an Abus Steel O Flex 1000 cable lock gives a 4kg lock combo. This is manageable with the ebike but I use a lighter combo for push bikes.
No locking system is unbreakable but the combination of one of the toughest D locks and one of the toughest cable locks should (hopefully) encourage thieves to target another bike. The penalty is weight and cost.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Not as safe as one might think

Posted18 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: not as safe
I bought this lock 8 months ago and did not bother registering it as I thought it was safe.
I suppose no lock can be 100% safe. My bicycle was stolen this weekend from High str Kensington. No signs of it or the lock.
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite New York 3000 Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Solid so far!

Posted18 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality lock, yes its a little heavy but not surprisingly. Only used it for a couple of weeks so there's only so much one can say. I'm happy with it and reckon it's as good as you'll get at that price range. Saved a few quid as Evans price matched it too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>