Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Books or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance

Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance

Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Review 1 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Borderer
from Wales
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent repair manual

Posted03 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: comprehensive
Cons: no photographs
This book provides in-depth coverage of virtually all road cycle repair and maintenance procedures and is very-well written. However, do not expect colour photographs (the line drawings are excellent) nor any coverage of disc brakes, which may feature in the next edition. Aside from holding your hand through various bike repair procedures the book also contains a wealth of background information and advice, especially on cyclocross bikes, which are rarely dealt with elsewhere.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comprehensive, Detailed Bible

Posted21 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
If you want to learn everything there is to know about road bikes, this is written in a personal and intricate, detailed way, strangely using hand-drawn illustrations rather than photographs. It's an entertaining and informative read, offering much more detail than the Haynes book although they are best bought together as companion books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuperMally
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted12 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Without having had much cause to use the book yet, it seems to be a very thorough text book to care and repair for a bike. The book contains help, advice, and how-to descriptions for different brands and styles of mechanisms which makes it relevant to many different individually built bikes.
Finally, the pictures and diagrams look fantastic and are easy to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
helpoaj
Country:Sweden
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Up-to-date, thorough

Posted04 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Seems to include everything, even the Avid BB7 disc brakes on my new Arkose Three (have never had discs so advice is invaluable).
Together with the descriptions in Tour (the world´s best cycling magazine, according to me; auf Deutsch) I should be well equipped now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedBitShane
Country:United Kingdom

A great guide for novice (and pro!) mechanics!

Posted16 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to follow, good tips
This book is fantastic. Presented in an easy-to-digest format, pretty handy for someone who doesn't find they can just pick a book up, I seemed to always find myself reading some little quick tip here and there, applying it and giving the bike a whirl.
The exploded diagrams of each part are pretty handy; helps you source components to say, repair a rear derailleur in stead of buying the whole thing or maybe fitting a new crank, adjusting and servicing it over the life-span of the component.
Lennard Zinn really does know his stuff, and this guide covers SRAM, Shimano and Campagnolo groupsets. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
marig
Country:Estonia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A must have for bike owners

Posted13 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, clearly written
The book is very handy and gives clear instructions. Everything is well explained and pictures are very helpful as well.
The books is easy to read and so far I've been able to get my questions answered. It's a great reference book for a bike owner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckboon
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good book!

Posted16 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
A very detailed book on road bike maintenance. Lots of diagrams, etc. Easy to follow the guide as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joppa
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Genius

Posted19 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This book is probably one the best purchases I have made. It has everything in it you need to know about maintaining your bike and some very useful tips, some of which I was surprised to find worked very well.
The instructions are laid out in simple terms which are easy to follow and there are some very useful diagrams. Leonard Zinn is clearly very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
Although I am still not confident about re-dishing a wheel I must have saved a fortune by carrying out various tasks myself instead of taking to a shop.
It is written in American English but there are explanations of what certain things are in British English, most of these are fairly obvious but its a nice touch I think!
If you are keen to get your hands dirty and want to get to know your bike but aren't too confident about it, I would definitely recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Berke
from Istanbul - Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

Posted09 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Includes everything you may need to know about a road bike maintenance and repairing. Also very easy to find the issues that you are looking for. Great book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Book : Zinn Art Of Road Maintenance
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Snoosh
from Dumfries
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

First class source of reference

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to read and highly informative. Any time I've needed to refer to the guide the advice given has been helpful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.