Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Book : Haynes The Bike Book

Book : Haynes The Bike Book

Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Review 1 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vijinho
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great read, not too long, great photographs

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Got this to help me understand the details of my bikes a bit better and also to work out how to fix them up and maintain them better. The books is up-to-date (2013) and has many photographs and is written in a formal style which assumes no prior knowledge of the reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cjavet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Instructive manual

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This book is a very useful guide to cycle maintenance. It uses simple descriptions and good illustrations to make most bike servicing tasks able to be carried out by anyone with basic manual skills. All you need then is a decent tool kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seanboy

great first book!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
this is a great book for someone like me who is just starting to learn about bikes,nice simple instuctions,and lots of good pictures!!,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigBadTrevsy
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty good, but would benefit from more images

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: sometimes lacks detail
If, like me, you've used Haynes manuals for working on a car then you'll find this is pretty similar.
On the negative side, this is a guide to the maintenance of most bikes, not to a specific model (as is the case for cars) so often the part shown in the book will bear little resemblance to the part on your bike.
On the plus side, the photos are far better than in the car manuals (many of which are tiny and unintelligible).
There's a lot of information to help with the vast majority of bike maintenance work but there is a point in some activities when you think "what do they mean by that" or "which bit are they referring to" or "which way up should that go". At times like these you can infer from some of the images, but often a key picture of a crucial stage is missing. This is especially true for more complex jobs.
So whilst this guide has helped enormously with changing sprockets, cables, hubs etc, I usually find myself heading online to find a more detailed video on YouTube to plug the information gap. This is partly due to the diversity of bike parts available.
I also strongly advise taking a sequence of decent photos from different angles of anything you're about to work on, so that you can refer to those when you put everything back together.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Corredor
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good reference maintenance book

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Very complete information and detailed pictures, only bad thing i can think of is that it has very little info on fixed gear and track bikes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JudeB
from Newcastle
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does what is says on the cover,,,,

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Helpful advice for the "I don't know" brigade....easy to follow.. very helpful...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brovie
from Perth, Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great book, could use a refresh though

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is an excellent book, it has helped me no end with servicing and cleaning my bike. Could use a little refresh is the only reason it got 4 stars and not 5. Excellent content though. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mizz

Essential Repairs

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a perfect guide to tinkering with your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FarFlungHeel
from Tokyo
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular

Nice primer

PostedJune 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've always been mechanically inept but mechanically determined - this book is useful for walking one through things. I supplement the book with training videos I find on the web (someone should make a unified book-web product). Having a written explanation and visual demonstration is great for pounding in and retaining the information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samad
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

The Bike Book

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This book has turned out to be a real good buy, clearly put together and easy to understand explanations but the thing I was most impressed with was the customer service from EVANS the book was delivered with 72 hours, what more could you ask; if you are considering it go for it you won't be sorry. Samad,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
phdavy
from Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great maintenance guide

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is an Excellent maintenance guide even if you are used to working on your bike
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pratty
from SW London
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Clear and concise guide to bike maintainence - as good as the Haynes books I remember for my Austin A40, Morris 1000, Triumph Herald and Mini !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
road
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

D I Y

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Is clearly written in most places. However, sometimes the terms are not explained and the glossary is not exhaustive. I think it is a guide to the very early stages of bike maintenance but its no substitute for the advice of an expert.
It has been updated well. It is a hardback so it lasts in greasy workshop conditions.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBen
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
  • Staff

Superb book

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, clear, well set out
This book is a brilliant guide to improving your knowledge or reminding you of how to perform a particular service on a bike. Good step-by-step instructions, supported by clear, helpful coloured diagrams help the aspiring mechanic come out in you. Haynes are one of the best at making this kind of book and it is one of their best. Contents is split up well in order to keep things clear and simple for even novices to the bike maintenance game and it covers bikes of all levels and specifications. A great book and a must have for the aspiring mechanic!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Book : Haynes The Bike Book
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gazelle

Gazelle

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good illustrations for all bike types. A must have for amateur diy bike mechanics.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Robbo21
England
 
Please wait while more information about Robbo21 is loaded.
Additional information about Robbo21 could not be loaded.
Fantastic!
Posted December 30, 2010
Great book for beginners and experts alike. Good pictures and illustrations for every single type of bike. Highly Recommended
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)