Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet

Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet

Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
44 out of 46(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Review 1 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Robj57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Replacement magnet, but not for MTBs

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this as a replacement for a lost magnet on my 29er hard tail.
The magnet itself is quite small and my cadence/speed senser had trouble picking it up.
I think the problem is that the distance between the chainstay and the spokes on a mountain bike is too large.
The magnet would be ideal for a road bike, but not for a mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jame5cycle5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It does what it's meant to do!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had to replace my old magnet as it had rusted away on the surface. I looked around and found this well priced replacement. Once I had set it up, my computer was working perfectly again.
Great price, reliable product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bill69
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works with Bontrager Trip 5w.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This magnet works with my Bontrager Trip 5w, Simple to fit as well, I'm sorry I didn't purchase a spare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lordy210
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

It does what you expect

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
It does what you expect it to cheap and effective compared to paying for a more expensive alternative
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mellatron
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Replacment

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Brought the CatEye Magnet to replace a broken plastic clip on one from my Bontrager Trip 4w wireless speedo. Works great and is much more secure on the spoke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Qhyn
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It works

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
With two sockets both for flat and round spokes and it not being as bulky as some of the other wheelmagnets out there, its a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jimbo123

Works as expected

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The magnet does a good job staying in place on the spoke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cavetroll
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

It's a magnet

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Exactly that. It's a magnet and it works. I bought this as it was the thinest one in the shop. Works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cacu
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it is supposed to

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to use. Once on place you can just forget it & ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichieRocket
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best general rear wheel magnet on the market

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This magnet is simple to install and never slips once installed - now all my wheels have their own magnet - no more swapping from one wheel to another
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlanMc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this magnet to replace a stock one with a computer which didn't lock onto the spokes great , this one is superb way better at locking and a much more powerful magnet .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

Excellent product and good price with fast deliver

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This replaced the magnet on my Boss Bike computer, owing to the original magnet losing it's sstrength over a number of years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheLewisMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Powerful wheel magnet that actually works

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this magnet to fit with a Bontrager Speedtrap sensor, based on advice given in reviews of the sensor.
True enough, the plastic-covered Bontrager magnet supplied with the sensor, although lighter and neater looking than the Cateye, was not powerful enough to activate it, whereas the Cateye is (the sensor is mounted flush in the fork so there is a reasonable distance to the wheel spokes).
It also fits well on aero forks, though when tightening it scrapes off some paint, which is why I have not given it 5 stars. (Could maybe do with a thin rubber protector backing the magnet.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stevo987
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

High quality replacement magnet .

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent replacement magnet for your cycle trip computer . No need to buy and set up a complete kit just attach to spokes and your good to go .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wibblywobbly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit powerful magnet

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Used this to replace a cheap magnet that did not work too well, more powerful and fits tightly onto a spoke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Precious1

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It's a great magnet that does everything it should do, ie help he cateye to work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimmyS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stays put!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this after losing the rubbish one that came with my cycling computer. The tread feels secure and after a couple of long rides its not moved and kept track of my rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eyes
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the job

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This magnet is strong and secures perfectly to the spoke. It's rock solid!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckboon
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedJune 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is for my spare wheel which have flat spokes. I have no trouble mounting the magnet, and does its job.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beenie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wheel Magnet

PostedJune 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does exactly what its supposed to bought it to for my second (Road wheels) for my MTB works perfectly!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>