Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cycle Computers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet

Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet

Overall rating:
4.685 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
52 out of 54Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Review 1 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

It worked, it's cheap.

Posted23 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: poor longevity
It works, it's cheap but it certainly won't last forever. I know it will ping off at some time and I'll have to buy another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Posted03 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent product will buy another for my spare bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Easy to attach, quality product

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Can be used for different brands of speed sensor and fits onto spokes easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent replacement part

Posted10 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very cheap and easy to install. After intensive riding in both dry and wet conditions this magnet is still tightly secured to the spoke of my wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little product.

Posted02 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Works perfectly, replaced a Garmin Edge Magnet which broke off, this seems a lot stronger and is a lot cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement

Posted26 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Always ensure the wheel magnet is secure. Miles of vibration can losen it and then you need to get a replacement.
I would recommend buy one as a spare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Magnet does the job

Posted30 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought to put on my spare wheel so Garmin works with both turbo training wheel and road wheel. Does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

good product for spare wheels

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
this is the second cateye wheel magnet i've bought, all to work on a gamin speed/cadence sensor on spare wheels. The cateye is not quite as small the garmin equivalent but it does the job just as well. It's also a lot cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Replacement magnet, but not for MTBs

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this as a replacement for a lost magnet on my 29er hard tail.
The magnet itself is quite small and my cadence/speed senser had trouble picking it up.
I think the problem is that the distance between the chainstay and the spokes on a mountain bike is too large.
The magnet would be ideal for a road bike, but not for a mountain bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It does what it's meant to do!

Posted06 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had to replace my old magnet as it had rusted away on the surface. I looked around and found this well priced replacement. Once I had set it up, my computer was working perfectly again.
Great price, reliable product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works with Bontrager Trip 5w.

Posted20 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This magnet works with my Bontrager Trip 5w, Simple to fit as well, I'm sorry I didn't purchase a spare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

It does what you expect

Posted27 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
It does what you expect it to cheap and effective compared to paying for a more expensive alternative
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Replacment

Posted26 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Brought the CatEye Magnet to replace a broken plastic clip on one from my Bontrager Trip 4w wireless speedo. Works great and is much more secure on the spoke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It works

Posted01 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
With two sockets both for flat and round spokes and it not being as bulky as some of the other wheelmagnets out there, its a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as expected

Posted24 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
The magnet does a good job staying in place on the spoke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

It's a magnet

Posted12 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Exactly that. It's a magnet and it works. I bought this as it was the thinest one in the shop. Works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what it is supposed to

Posted05 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to use. Once on place you can just forget it & ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best general rear wheel magnet on the market

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This magnet is simple to install and never slips once installed - now all my wheels have their own magnet - no more swapping from one wheel to another
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet

Posted30 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this magnet to replace a stock one with a computer which didn't lock onto the spokes great , this one is superb way better at locking and a much more powerful magnet .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye Universal Wheel Magnet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and good price with fast deliver

Posted04 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This replaced the magnet on my Boss Bike computer, owing to the original magnet losing it's sstrength over a number of years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>