Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack

Tortec Tour Rack

Traditional design with modern features. Solid 8mm alloy rod construction. Integrated top plate acts as a mudguard. Offset stay supports panniers. Cateye LED mount. Stainless steel fittings.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
37 out of 40(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
84 Questions | 107 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
btcjoyce
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Good basic rack.

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I can't say anything bad against this rack. It's cheaper than most and does the job. Takes Ortlieb panniers easily and feels sturdy and solid. Really easy to mount; I prefer the single-piece stainless steel fittings used on this rack to other more expensive (and less rigid) fittings.
Ultimately I did not keep this rack as it does not work perfectly with the Hamax Caress Rack Adapter. Due to the rack's welding, which is not in any way faulty, there is slightly too little room to comfortably fit the Hamax Rack Adapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Keybo89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Decent but racks not for me

Posted23 October 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Uncomfortable
This rack is relatively cheap and felt lighter than most of the other low weight racks. After being dubious about bending a component of it during installation I had it up and running very easily. Good if combined with the cargo net from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linz70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Very sturdy and easy to fix

Posted13 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this product based upon another excellent review, it has lived up to expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Torb42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Quality

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is used daily and feels solid no rattling with or without the pannier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
marpick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great product at the right price!

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent, fitted my Ridgeback T1 straight off the packaging with all the fittings you'll need, recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ppateyferg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Sturdy and light

Posted24 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great basic rack for any bike. Had mine fitted by the Evans team at Bristol and it carries my Ortlieb panniers with no issues. Mostly use my bike for commuting and it is perfect for this. Max weight is 25kg so you might want something a little sturdier for touring.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom68
Country:United Kingdom

Excellent and easy to fit.

Posted27 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, robust
I found this rack very easy to fit and robust. It's good quality and the delivery was quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
naanw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Clapham

Good product, not too heavy

Posted22 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
The rack is good, I had it fitted really quickly in an Evans store. I was worried that it might make my bike really heavy but it doesn't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJW2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Posted08 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good lightweight rack. Use it with my Ortlieb roller top panniers on my Specialized hybrid bike. Works well and no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fishy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted27 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not enough thought about rear light fixing
Does the job, easy to fit but if short legged it does sit up against seat post making a rear light difficult to see(blocks it out).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SueL7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Just what I needed!

Posted24 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
A robust pannier rack, simple to attach, and at a very reasonable price. And, true to form, the service at Evans was great, thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marko979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Does the job

Posted01 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
This fits to my bike and carries my bag just fine.
I prefer to ride without it when I can, but it doesn't do any harm. Also works a little bit as a mud-guard.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Rack

Posted10 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a nice looking and well-made rack which is pretty straighforward to attach to a bike. It comes with all the necessary fastens - which by the way are corrosion resistant Stainless Steel - to fix to the frame. If you've just bought a new bike, my advice would be not to hesitate buying a rack to go with it, as in my opinion, a bike without a rack is bit like a car without a boot ... and like the boot of a car, you may not always have cause to use it, but when you want to or need to, you can. I personally believe that there's not a lot to choose between the various racks available, so it's just a matter of choosing one that you like the look of, and which maybe suits your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maya
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Simple to fit, looks good and works.

Posted28 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This was very easy to fit and appears reasonably sturdy. It looks fine and my panniers fit it easily and are held well from the tires and my peddling feet. Can't ask for a lot more from a simple bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LivManchester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Very sturdy & great value!

Posted03 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This pannier rack is serving me well so far! I have not yet purchased a proper bike bag but I have been attaching my heavy rucksack with elastic and it is working very well, hardly feels as though I have anything on the back.
Great value being the cheapest one available and I got it in a nice silver chrome colour which compliments my new bike wonderfully!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kikiboy
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was searching for good valued rack for my cycle.
Easy to install and solid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tintin67

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great piece of kit added to my bike and now makes it so much easier to ride to the station without bags on my shoulder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kathryn37

A good rack - but needed to buy a separate part

Posted18 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This rack is good - sturdy in design and fairly easy to fit to your bike. I didn't realise that my bike didn't have the holes for this to screw into, so I ended up having to buy a separate part to fit around my seat post. Have used it twice now for a 6 mile commute to work - has held up two fairly heavy panniers so am impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lizzy155
from Chatham Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted20 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Purchased to go on my Trek dual sport. Easy to fit and does the job. Looks okay on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GaryM
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product / quality / price

Posted11 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good product / quality / price. Bought one for my-self then one for my Wife. Unfortunately the arm fittings were not long enough for my Wife's cycle so needed to purchase addtional [longer] fittings from local cycle store. Hence 4 stars. Other-wise easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>