Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack

Tortec Tour Rack

Traditional design with modern features. Solid 8mm alloy rod construction. Integrated top plate acts as a mudguard. Offset stay supports panniers. Cateye LED mount. Stainless steel fittings.
Overall rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
36 out of 38(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
73 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linz70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Very sturdy and easy to fix

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this product based upon another excellent review, it has lived up to expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Torb42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Quality

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is used daily and feels solid no rattling with or without the pannier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
marpick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great product at the right price!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent, fitted my Ridgeback T1 straight off the packaging with all the fittings you'll need, recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ppateyferg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

Sturdy and light

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great basic rack for any bike. Had mine fitted by the Evans team at Bristol and it carries my Ortlieb panniers with no issues. Mostly use my bike for commuting and it is perfect for this. Max weight is 25kg so you might want something a little sturdier for touring.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom68
Country:United Kingdom

Excellent and easy to fit.

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, robust
I found this rack very easy to fit and robust. It's good quality and the delivery was quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
naanw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Clapham

Good product, not too heavy

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
The rack is good, I had it fitted really quickly in an Evans store. I was worried that it might make my bike really heavy but it doesn't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJW2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good lightweight rack. Use it with my Ortlieb roller top panniers on my Specialized hybrid bike. Works well and no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fishy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not enough thought about rear light fixing
Does the job, easy to fit but if short legged it does sit up against seat post making a rear light difficult to see(blocks it out).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SueL7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Just what I needed!

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: none
A robust pannier rack, simple to attach, and at a very reasonable price. And, true to form, the service at Evans was great, thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marko979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Does the job

PostedMay 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
This fits to my bike and carries my bag just fine.
I prefer to ride without it when I can, but it doesn't do any harm. Also works a little bit as a mud-guard.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lee123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Rack

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a nice looking and well-made rack which is pretty straighforward to attach to a bike. It comes with all the necessary fastens - which by the way are corrosion resistant Stainless Steel - to fix to the frame. If you've just bought a new bike, my advice would be not to hesitate buying a rack to go with it, as in my opinion, a bike without a rack is bit like a car without a boot ... and like the boot of a car, you may not always have cause to use it, but when you want to or need to, you can. I personally believe that there's not a lot to choose between the various racks available, so it's just a matter of choosing one that you like the look of, and which maybe suits your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maya
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Simple to fit, looks good and works.

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This was very easy to fit and appears reasonably sturdy. It looks fine and my panniers fit it easily and are held well from the tires and my peddling feet. Can't ask for a lot more from a simple bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LivManchester
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Very sturdy & great value!

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This pannier rack is serving me well so far! I have not yet purchased a proper bike bag but I have been attaching my heavy rucksack with elastic and it is working very well, hardly feels as though I have anything on the back.
Great value being the cheapest one available and I got it in a nice silver chrome colour which compliments my new bike wonderfully!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kikiboy
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was searching for good valued rack for my cycle.
Easy to install and solid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tintin67

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great piece of kit added to my bike and now makes it so much easier to ride to the station without bags on my shoulder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kathryn37

A good rack - but needed to buy a separate part

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This rack is good - sturdy in design and fairly easy to fit to your bike. I didn't realise that my bike didn't have the holes for this to screw into, so I ended up having to buy a separate part to fit around my seat post. Have used it twice now for a 6 mile commute to work - has held up two fairly heavy panniers so am impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lizzy155
from Chatham Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Purchased to go on my Trek dual sport. Easy to fit and does the job. Looks okay on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GaryM
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product / quality / price

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good product / quality / price. Bought one for my-self then one for my Wife. Unfortunately the arm fittings were not long enough for my Wife's cycle so needed to purchase addtional [longer] fittings from local cycle store. Hence 4 stars. Other-wise easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Galeforce
from Channel Islands
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this for my Specialized Vita Sport. Good solid rack, simple fittings - even I was able to fit it to my bike without any male assistance (!) and I am useless with nuts & bolts. You have to bend the stainless steel attachments, which is easy once you know you ahve to do it. It looks like it will do the job well for years of daily commuting & holidays. Tip: to stop all the fixings loosening & falling out you can glue them in.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sabian92
from Runcorn
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good rack, poor fitting

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Bought this with some Altura panniers. I'd never owned either before, and as I'm riding to college, a bag was too heavy for me. I've got a Carrera Virtuoso and this rack DOESN'T FIT. The adjuster bars need to be bent, and on one side the brake cable is completely in the way.
Good rack spoiled by a strange mounting system.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>