Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack

Tortec Tour Rack

Traditional design with modern features. Solid 8mm alloy rod construction. Integrated top plate acts as a mudguard. Offset stay supports panniers. Cateye LED mount. Stainless steel fittings.
Overall rating:
4.361 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
58 out of 61Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
92 Questions | 116 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Good sturdy traditional rack for panniers

Posted23 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Mounted easily on my 1970's 531 frame (700c's & mudguards) good quality fitting kit with stainless machine screws and nylocs. If like me your frame does not have mounting points for a rack you need to purchase the P-clips separately. I have mounted some medium sized panniers and loaded quite heavily with shopping there have been no issues at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:East Dulwich

Overall pretty pleased

Posted11 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
No problems whatsoever. Evans guys fitted it for me which was excellent. The only issue with it is that it is a little bit on the heavy side. (Coming from someone who has to carry their bike up two flights of stairs every day).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Served its Purpose

Posted10 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Yes just what I needed, beats carrying a heavy backpack on your back for 22miles!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good solid rack

Posted05 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Once fitted, gives great luggage capability! Had to use P Clips to punt, but this turned out easy and solid!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Crouch End

Highly recommend, very useful

Posted27 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, durable
Already had one on my current bike which I use daily so purchased again. Fits the bike very well, and is easy to attatch various panniers. Not too heavy and very sturdy, even with heavy items.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

sturdy and strong

Posted18 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It took about ten minutes to fit because I had a helpful toddler in the room, would've been even quicker without the help. My bike (trek neko wsd) has disc brakes and this fitted no problem. There were washers in the pack but no mention of them in the instructions, I didn't fit them and the screwsdo rattle a lot until washers are in place. Instructions aren't great but it's not too complex a task that you really need them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Lightweight and good value

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Does everything it says and worked well for me on a tour without adding too much weight to your bike.
The only downside was fitting it on the bike took a lot of bending around of the adjusting rods, which are necessary because they only make these racks one size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent Product

Posted08 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Easy to Fit and works well.
Light weight and inexpensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy to fit

Posted01 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This rack is easy to fit and takes standard panniers easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Plymouth

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Seems slightly heavy but I guess that's to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong tour rack

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had a crash on the bike on offroad. The Tortec rack was undamaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Great rack - shame about the picture

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a great rack for commuting and longer distance rides with panniers. I have a disc bike and it fits on perfectly without any need for adjustment.
My only gripe is that this site, along with many others users an out of date picture. The rack hasn't had the light fitting on the back for several years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good quality and easy fitting

Posted10 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I bought two of these racks, 1 in silver for my bike and 1 in black for my wife's bike so that we could interchange panniers without needing to adjust the panniers each time. They support my Ortlieb City Roller panniers perfectly and double up as a handy mudguard. The only issue I had was fitting them at the rear axle to my bike - for some reason one bike had threaded holes to receive the machine screws whereas the other (also a Trek MTB) did'nt - this was fairly easily solved by using a bolt and nut rather than the threaded machine screws that came with the rack but it did have me hunting around in my toolbox! That being said this is more an issue with the bike than the luggage rack but check what fixings you need before starting!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good strong rack easy fitted

Posted31 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
I had heard that some racks were dificult to fit. Not this one. I found it very easy to fit and it came with extended bolts which allowed me to keep existing mudguard.It is both light and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

good product and service

Posted05 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good product. Very good help given at the Evans store in Bristol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Sturdy rack with light mount

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality rack with space to fit LED light to the rear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

good

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: need to carry bungee cords
Excellent really lightweight rack . Would have liked some integral securing device ( spring clip) rather than having to always carry bungee cords - but you can't have everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Evans fitted to bike before picking up

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitted to daughters Pinnacle Lithium Two 2015 Women's Hybrid Bike great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Nice strong rack

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have fitted this rack to a 15" female ridgeback motion which works well, although I needed to get longer stays to attach rack to bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Seems sturdy, hard to fit

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: wrong screws
Firstly, I'd just like to thank the staff at the Evans store in Spitalfields market as they fit my cycle rack for me which was really helpful. The rack seems sturdy and fits well now, but it actually came with the wrong screws, so the staff in the shop had to find some new ones. If I had taken this home without checking, I wouldn't have been able to fit it myself. It doesn't function that well as a mud guard either!
Anyway, thanks very much, Evans staff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>