Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bike Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack

Tortec Tour Rack

Traditional design with modern features. Solid 8mm alloy rod construction. Integrated top plate acts as a mudguard. Offset stay supports panniers. Cateye LED mount. Stainless steel fittings.
Overall rating:
4.327 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
52 out of 55Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
90 Questions | 114 Answers
Customer reviews for Tortec Tour Rack
Review 1 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Lightweight and good value

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Does everything it says and worked well for me on a tour without adding too much weight to your bike.
The only downside was fitting it on the bike took a lot of bending around of the adjusting rods, which are necessary because they only make these racks one size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Excellent Product

Posted08 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Easy to Fit and works well.
Light weight and inexpensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Easy to fit

Posted01 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This rack is easy to fit and takes standard panniers easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Plymouth

Posted27 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Seems slightly heavy but I guess that's to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong tour rack

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I had a crash on the bike on offroad. The Tortec rack was undamaged.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Great rack - shame about the picture

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a great rack for commuting and longer distance rides with panniers. I have a disc bike and it fits on perfectly without any need for adjustment.
My only gripe is that this site, along with many others users an out of date picture. The rack hasn't had the light fitting on the back for several years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good quality and easy fitting

Posted10 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I bought two of these racks, 1 in silver for my bike and 1 in black for my wife's bike so that we could interchange panniers without needing to adjust the panniers each time. They support my Ortlieb City Roller panniers perfectly and double up as a handy mudguard. The only issue I had was fitting them at the rear axle to my bike - for some reason one bike had threaded holes to receive the machine screws whereas the other (also a Trek MTB) did'nt - this was fairly easily solved by using a bolt and nut rather than the threaded machine screws that came with the rack but it did have me hunting around in my toolbox! That being said this is more an issue with the bike than the luggage rack but check what fixings you need before starting!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good strong rack easy fitted

Posted31 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
I had heard that some racks were dificult to fit. Not this one. I found it very easy to fit and it came with extended bolts which allowed me to keep existing mudguard.It is both light and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

good product and service

Posted05 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good product. Very good help given at the Evans store in Bristol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Sturdy rack with light mount

Posted03 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality rack with space to fit LED light to the rear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

good

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: need to carry bungee cords
Excellent really lightweight rack . Would have liked some integral securing device ( spring clip) rather than having to always carry bungee cords - but you can't have everything.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Evans fitted to bike before picking up

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitted to daughters Pinnacle Lithium Two 2015 Women's Hybrid Bike great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Glasgow

Nice strong rack

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have fitted this rack to a 15" female ridgeback motion which works well, although I needed to get longer stays to attach rack to bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Spitalfields

Seems sturdy, hard to fit

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: wrong screws
Firstly, I'd just like to thank the staff at the Evans store in Spitalfields market as they fit my cycle rack for me which was really helpful. The rack seems sturdy and fits well now, but it actually came with the wrong screws, so the staff in the shop had to find some new ones. If I had taken this home without checking, I wouldn't have been able to fit it myself. It doesn't function that well as a mud guard either!
Anyway, thanks very much, Evans staff!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and sturdy

Posted25 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit to my Genesis CdA and panniers fitted with no problem. Sturdy enough for light touring, much better to have your impedimenta on the bike rather than on your back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Good basic rack.

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I can't say anything bad against this rack. It's cheaper than most and does the job. Takes Ortlieb panniers easily and feels sturdy and solid. Really easy to mount; I prefer the single-piece stainless steel fittings used on this rack to other more expensive (and less rigid) fittings.
Ultimately I did not keep this rack as it does not work perfectly with the Hamax Caress Rack Adapter. Due to the rack's welding, which is not in any way faulty, there is slightly too little room to comfortably fit the Hamax Rack Adapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Decent but racks not for me

Posted23 October 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, Uncomfortable
This rack is relatively cheap and felt lighter than most of the other low weight racks. After being dubious about bending a component of it during installation I had it up and running very easily. Good if combined with the cargo net from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Very sturdy and easy to fix

Posted13 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this product based upon another excellent review, it has lived up to expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Quality

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is used daily and feels solid no rattling with or without the pannier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tortec Tour Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great product at the right price!

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent, fitted my Ridgeback T1 straight off the packaging with all the fittings you'll need, recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>