Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz

Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz

Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
30 out of 30(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Review 1 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
caveman101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All you need

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
No need to mess around with different lubes; this works all year round in all conditions, including very muddy off-road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
urrel
from essex
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the only one

PostedApril 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: a bit messy
The only lube I have found that stay's on through wet and muddy enduro's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PlanetGoose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to apply

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Nice product. Trying to find a decent lube that mostly goes on the thing being lubed. This is easy to control and thick enough to cling to the chain without too must wastage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
islandgirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good quality from Evans

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to apply wet lube. Good size, bought as christmas present.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlapjackWheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Lovely stuff

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
As the sort of nerdy cyclist that gets excited about different types of lube, I recommend this one. Currently under test conditions on my commuting machine, my chain and drive chain have remained silky smooth and rust free, and significantly: grime free, throughout the worst of British weather and my slightly lackadaisical maintenance regime. It's good to have a reliable lube in winter conditions.
You don't need much either. The instructions say: apply generously then wipe off excess. Well, they would wouldn't they? It's quite satisfyingly viscous and you don't need to drown your bike in it; it's not cheap but should last a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scrambler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent stuff

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to use
Good all weather chain lube which is simple to apply with minimal wastage. A bottle lasts for ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dale80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Perfect

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this so I didn't have to spray oil all over the bike.
Easy to use and clean, would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
benston
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Lube For Long Wet Rides

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really pleased with this chain lube. Very sticky and lasts a long time on wet road rides. I don't use it in dry conditions as dust and grit would stick to it, making a very effective grinding paste! It's green in colour, making it easy to see where it has been applied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
graculas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

just the job

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
used this after cleaning the chain of all the old grime and grease. seems just the job to me, smooth ride, smooth gear changes. very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
James176
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

A good general purpose product

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I am not an expert cyclist but I do know that the chain needs to be kept lubricated! I hadn't got a clue which was the best so I asked a member of staff who took me through the various types of lubricant so I took his advice and bought this one. I found it easy to apply and I have noticed the difference when cycling by keeping the chain lubricated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steevo70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

No Mess

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to use product which cleaned and protected my chain properly. Has left it looking very shiny after it was rusty. Just apply a little and wipe off the excess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pulegium
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for muddy and wet roads

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I used a spray-on general purpose lube, and (I thought) it worked quite well - chain lasted for about a week without squeaking (~200km/week). Then I had to reapply it.
But with all the rain we had recently, I thought I'll give it a try and bought this one. What a difference it made! silent, not-a-squeak chain for two weeks (that's nearly 400km).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boogiebusby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

CROSS Country lube

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good product, and very reasonably priced, and I have used the product before and found it to be good qulaity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imkah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

All rounder lube

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Finish Line X Country lube is quite a thick, greenish liquid. It coats the chain well and adheres well to pivots.
It's thick consistency also allows you to be pretty targeted during application. A little really does go a long way.
No complaints about this lube. I'm around 60 miles cycled since the application and its still working well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
muddywire
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good lube for wet weather

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
fantastic lube, highly recommended especially in the wet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gibbo007
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says but also attracks the dirt

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cleaned my chain and then applied the lube and let it wick into the nooks and crannies. Did a 25 mile ride and noticed the chain was pretty well covered in muck but the lube appeared to still be doing its stuff. Went on another ride; a 100km Audax and the whole bike got covered in mud and crud. The chain needed a full clean again which I was hoping to avoid after applying the lube.
The lube works but it's a bit more sticky than I was expecting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sankari
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Efficient Lube

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great wet weather/winter lube when the weather turns bad. Works really well at stopping mud and dirt sticking to the chain as it isn't greasy. After a ride simple hose off the chain and wipe with a cloth to remove moisture and prevent rust and add a little more if necessary. Never had a rusty/seized/squeaky chain. Simple as that.
Just remember that excessive riding without routine chain maintenance will obviously need your chain to be totally cleaned using citrus degreaser before reapplying, otherwise your going to get increased chain wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spookywoodhero
from Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Cross Country Lube

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is the one for all weathers. And in this container the lube seems to last for ages. I put it on my chain after every ride, and sometimes before a ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJ69
from Hertfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

The Best Lube

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, actually lubes your drivetrain unlike some others, you can top up lube during a rideunlike waxes!
Cons: you need to keep your drivetrain clean.
I have used this lube since about 1999. I've used it for thousands upon thousands of miles of MTB and road riding in all conditions. Nothing else I have tried comes close to giving the duration and quality of lubrication. In the wet, it doesn't wash off easily and keeps things shifting well and chains rust-free. In the dry it works perfectly too. Of course, dusty, dry MTB trail riding will cause the chain to gain a coating of black dirt but as long as you wipe everything over and apply a little more lube after each dirty ride you'll have no trouble. I was briefly tempted by the dubious charms of dry wax lubes this summer but I do not believe that they work properly. If you ride hard or are a heavier rider, putting more pressure on components and lube, you need something with really powerful lubing qualities and CC is an example of a top quality liquid for the job..
To make the best use of Cross Country lube, just apply a single drop to each roller - sounds labourious but you can do three or four rollers in a second quite easily. DON'T just squirt it on like a wax lube. A single drop per roller is enough and will help to avoid dust pickup and dirt/lube accumulation on cassette and rings. Carry the bottle and a few scraps of rags with you on very wet, dusty or muddy rides so that you can wipe off some of the dirt if neccesary and apply a litle more lube.
Great value, works well, smells wonderful! Be prepared to clean your chain/components as neccesary - but I think that's a worthwhile trade-off against easy, clean dry lubes which may or may not actually be doing the job of lubrication properly. The molecules of this lube are designed to be able to still offer lubrication in extreme conditions and under very heavy loads.
PS: Also works wonders on cables and mech pivot points! Definitely the best winter lube of all and very useable in summer too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Finish Line Cross Country Lube 4oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freyr
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good lube, but very sticky

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
great lube for weather, personallyi would prefer to use a dry lube, but when winter comes, dry lubes just don't last, so this is a good alternative
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>