Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Super Chain Tool

Topeak Super Chain Tool

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
43 out of 44Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Excellent and compact tool

Posted01 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, compact
I needed this on a 100 mile canal path journey. It was an excellent piece of kit - compact, light, sturdy. Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
It was bought:Online

Very high quality tool

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is an extremely high quality item. I own a few (okay, 6) bikes and I would be happy using this every time a chain needed replacement (6-8 times a year) without worry of ever wearing it out. There's space in the tool for 2 spare pins in case the chain broke out on the road.
Price matched, so even cheaper than normal too :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Superb tool. Perfect for the job.

Posted03 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I've struggled with chain tools in the past, but with this I found it truly easy. Everything you need to do the job, compressed into a tiny package, easy to stash in a jersey pocket or will take up minimal space in a saddlebag.
There's one thing I've discovered, that isn't mentioned anywhere: Once you've inserted a new pin into a chain, you have to break of the end of the pin; pliers are recommended. On this tool, the hole at the end of the handle is the perfect size for that pin and gives you excellent leverage to snap off the guiding end of the pin. Ingenious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small & compact, but still pretty easy to use

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This is good chain tool and easy to use, for its size.
Nice and compact, feels solid and well made
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact & light, a great little tool.

Posted30 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, compact
Needing to replace a broken chain, but requiring the appropriate tool, I chose this one after reading a number of positive reviews, and I haven't been disappointed. The job of replacing the chain was quickly and easily accomplished, aided by the built-in wire accessory which holds the chain links whilst inserting the new pin to form the continuous chain.
The tool is small enough to be carried with others for emergency use, and I thoroughly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tim

Posted25 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Easy to use, with a handy pin to grip the chain
Small and compact
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
looks to small to do the job, but this is a quality bit of kit a must have .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

This product was simple, light and very effective.

Posted13 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This product was simple, light and very effective. I would recommend it definitely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Handy tool

Posted03 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good tool well made all clicks together good leverage with Allen key handle aswell just make sure you got spare links to replace broken one doh lol
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

My first choice, and chosen again.

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This was the first chain splitter I owned when I got into MTBs. When I was given a multitool with a splitter, I gave this to a friend.
Now that I'm preparing to get into road bikes, I realised the need for a more compact tool, so I had no hesitation in getting another one of these - job done.
Small, easy to use, and reasonably priced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant product.

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fantastic chain tool, can't go wrong for the price. It's small which makes it great when on the move, as well as being fairly light but very robust. Simple, good quality product for a simple job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Neat and well thought out little tool

Posted19 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good little tool this. I like the included chain keep-togethererer thing.
Thinking outside the box!
Good tools and decent price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is definately worth looking at!

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A good value chain tool that has a compact design and is very efficient at replacing and removing links.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Perfect!

Posted27 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed a replacement so I opted for this version of the tool. Compact and light as well as high quality. Perfect for the pack/pocket/toolbox. Love the inclusion of the wire-strop (a 3rd hand) that takes up the chain whilst you use the tool. Very well thought out piece of kit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's relatively cheap and easy to use.

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It's relatively cheap and easy to use, and it is small enough to keep.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Topeak Super Chain Tool

Posted27 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great chain tool with chain hook saves teh chain sliping back and saves time, first rate product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Excellent chain tool

Posted20 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Ingenious design, light weight, fits into my minimalist back pocket toolset! After a broken chain on the road, I do like to carry one of these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Perfect for a saddle bag

Posted11 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I've yet to use this in anger, but this is a compact tool that even includes the wire for holding the chain in place (rather then needing an extra pair of hands)
It appears very good quality too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44

Light, quality insurance

Posted25 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Never needed to use it in anger ... so far ... but given the light weight and size of the product it is no hardship to have it with me and the high quality gives me a lot of confidence that I'd get home if the disaster happened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Super Chain Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

Posted06 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I can not praise Topeak products enough. The Super Chain Tool is another quality product. Small, light and strong. Price gives excellent value for money. Fits in my Rocket Ratchet pouch perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>