Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker

Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker

Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Review 1 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clem1
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excelent chain checker

Posted10 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Allow you to see exactly how much your chain has worn so it's easier to prepare to replace it compared to the "fit/don't fit" simpiler models.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swisskiwi
Country:New Zealand
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great but expensive

Posted01 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
great Quality tool,
but it s pricy,
recommend to check chain so you dont bugger your sprockets,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sisavedbygrace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Accurate

Posted24 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
great way to accurately measure your chain to help keep your bike in top condition
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Russ695
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent & easy to use

Posted31 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Really nice quality all metal tool. Very easy to check your chain in a few seconds. Well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkN38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beatifully made; perfectly functional

Posted15 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
As you'd expect from Park Tools this is a really well made item and performs it's job with ease. It might be a bit overkill compared to the "go no-go" checkers but it does give you an indication of current wear which the simpler ones don't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antsa
Country:Finland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted22 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Good, easy and comfortable use. I can recommed. Very good Parktool quality. Also Campagnolo 11-speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FlatWideWheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does a great job

Posted14 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Probably a bit over the top as chain checkers go but a very handy tool that instantly tells you the wear state of your chain and if it needs replacement. Great little handy tool for less than the cost of a chain
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cidermart
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tool, but frighteningly expensive

Posted25 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive, needs a pin protector
This is an excellent tool for quickly checking/monitoring chain wear. It is however frighteningly expensive and could do with being in some sort of tin or tube to protect the protruding pins on the rear. That said this does take any uncertainty out of chain checking with the easy to read gauge. As others have said there are far cheaper alternatives to this so it just boils down to personal choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Usual Park quality, but ridiculously expensive.

Posted06 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I guess any bike owner who owns a chain wear checker is usually the kind of rider like me who does all their own servicing and maintenance and can (just about) justify the silly price of the CC2. I bought mine using the Evans price match to get a significant discount, as the tool was one of the only ones I could find that lets you monitor the chain's gradual wear towards replacement. But if you simply want to know if it's time for your bike to go back to Evans for a service, there are much cheaper tools out there. If your bike is dealer serviced every winter then you don't need to go to the expense of a tool like this, as the service includes a chain wear check to protect your drivetrain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Seano
from Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 July 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, small size
Cons: Expensive
Typical Park Tools quality but at a Park Tools price. Fortunately, Evans was the best for value yet again.
Honestly, this is a great tool to have in the box but it is unnecessary when compared to the more simple chain checkers out there - even Park's own version. Its only advantage over the simple single plate checkers is its relatively small size - it doesn't take up much room in the tool box.
Lovely to own but looks don't always equal value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vitaly
from Uppsala
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Irreplacable tool!

Posted14 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Despite its high price, compared to other products of similar function, this one is worth every currency unit. Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker feels solid and high quality product that will allow you to replace the chain well in time, saving your money for a new cassette.
Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skicoach
from France
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good Tool

Posted10 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good. Removes the uncertainty and very simple rapid and clean to use. Glad I bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cuffy007
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Chain checker

Posted22 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A must have for every cyclist/home mechanic. Good quality bit of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acycling
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Well made but expensive

Posted16 December 2009
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A very well constructed tool, but quality comes at a a price! £24.99 in this case. Quite expensive compared to other chain checkers out there. Although I appreciate Park Tool quality for a tool like this which is not generally used as often as other tools I would only recommend it to those who aren't on a budget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Park CC2 Chain Wear Checker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hedgie
from Aberdeenshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

really good chain checker

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Its a great wee device. Easy to use and very well built. Nice to see when my chain needs replaced...and not the whole drive train. Well worth the money. cheers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.