Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute

Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute

This small chain tool goes anywhere and performs like a workshop quality tool, The fine thread, special v shaped handle and super strong replaceable pin makes chain removal and installation a breeze. The CT-5 works on any chain and has an additional shelf for loosening stiff links.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 34(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Review 1 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nut1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, small
Small enough to carry in saddle bag and used to fit a shimano tiagra chain - removing old one, links from new one, and new chain fitted in about. 15 minutes. Excellent park tool product as usual. Will carry it with me after the experience of chain failure some distance from home. I'm interested to see if the consequence of 10 speed cassettes and narrow chains is increased fragility- never had a chain link fail on my 8 cassette alloy bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilko27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Does exactly what is says on the tin!

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this to replace a cheapy which broke whilst splitting a chain. Strong and robust and does the job well - perfect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well

PostedMay 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have used this on two different 1/8 chains and it has worked perfectly. Plus it is handy that it is so small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crossley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great tool

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, simple to use
Simply brilliant, easy to use, feels strong, super fine thread means popping a new rivet in to the chain fitswith the required precision
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andy113
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small size but extremely strong

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, small-size good for travelling tool kit
Pushes out the most stubborn of link pins, the leverage from the winding handle is impressive. Ergonomic also as nothing digs into your hands. Reassuring that a new pin can be purchased if required for a few £s .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarkN38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nicely made but size is a compromise.

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
As you'd expect from park tools this is a very well made piece of kit. I particularly like the replaceable pin. I'm replacing my old chain tools because the pin had splayed slightly at the end and was damaging the chain.
The size does reduce the leverage you get and the small bar concentrates the pressure on your fingers. With a pair of gloves it's fine and this is sold as a compact unit, i.e. for taking with you on rides. Park do a workshop alternative which I imagine addresses these issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chooseyourown
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Not used yet

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
nice and space efficient in a small saddle pack, not in a hurry either always remember a spare link in your rides .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small and light enough to carry in your kit

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Small and light enough to carry in your kit. It's very easy to use and robust, good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueBed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Excellent quality

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This would be my time using a chain tool so I was a bit skeptical about its size, but I trust Park Tool and this did not disappoint. It's easy to use and despite how compact it is, still makes an easy job of removing a chain. I actually consider it a benefit how compact this is making it easy to transport.
The tool is well made with good tolerances, meaning operation is smooth and robust. I would definitely recommend this to the home mechanic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bozza909

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Worked as it should, well made. Did the job with the cost comparable to other shops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JackTBK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and sturdy

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A good little piece of kit. Its very reasonable for its price and very easy to use. Its not exactly rocket science, but I was impressed to discover that the CT-5 works on any width of chain.
The pin that pushes out the chain bolt is pretty fixed and doesnt slip around like it may on other models. Probably not the best tool if your a fill time mechanic, but very decent for the yearly clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oliver98
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small and good quality

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This small chain tool is very good value for money, and is very easy to use. I would recommend ordering one even if you dont plan to use it as it is a very handy little thing to have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclegeek
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

A bit pricey, but worth it

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, durable, easy to use
Cons: Expensive
The mechanism on this chain tool is incredibly smooth - more so than my previous chain tool. The quality of the tool is great, and the vice-like handle makes operating the toll easy from any angle. It 's small and light enough to carry about with you, but it is quite expensive compared to other chain tools. That being said, I can't fault this tool for anything else it does, so it's probably worth the extra.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Juicer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the saddle pouch

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
If you want to hit the road with the minimal amount of tools, you could arguably do without this bit of kit but when you're 30 miles out with still another 30 to go, how confident are you that you won't be caught out with a chain breakage?
The size and weight of this little device makes this a no brainer. Compact and simple to use, although the handle is a little short but it doesn't stop you from using it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timof3
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and easy to use

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
It does the job, nice to know the pin can be replaced, as well. Link loosening feature also useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nigel42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, precise little tool.

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Accurate and easy to use, given the compact size and low weight.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
moins
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tough tool for the size

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This can do the job. Small chain tools can be weak or fiddly. This one doesn't feel like it will break and although it needs a bit of effort to crack a pin it has enough leverage. And it's small enough to carry on a long tour.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
boogiebusby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Neat little product

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good value product, neat and lightweight to carry but robust enough for the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THMETFC
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use

PostedApril 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to use and solidly built.
A must for your tool kit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Park CT5 Compact Chain Brute
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisParaAce

Compact and high quality

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This is a great product. Its not only compact but great quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>