Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function

Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function

Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Review 1 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
TrailBlazer01
Country:South Africa
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful piece of kit...

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: limited tools
Bought this to leave in the workshop, just as well as the limited amount of Allan keys miss one vital size for undoing the brake pads of my Avid Elixirs. I have a full set of T-bar keys for that and other jobs but this is handy as a multi-tool around the garage. It also has an adapter for tightening pedals on the cranks which some smaller tools leave off.
Only carry in your Camelbak if you have space and Shimano brakes!
Reasonable quality, bit lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Basic but handy

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Basic tool with most popular keys and screwdriver heads. Handy for simple adjustments but you aren't going to be stripping a bike with it! I thought it would be a bit smaller and lighter but still handy enough to stick on your bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AFlanderas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Solid design

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A fairly basic, but well designed multi-tool. Allen and torx heads are available for all the commonly used sizes on bike fiitings. Compact design means it is good for just chucking in the bottom of your pack and leaving there to always have tools in a bind.
The one potential downside I can see is regarding the largest allen head. This is included as a shim which can slide up the 5mm allen key and clip on the top to make it larger. The worry, is that it seems over time this clip will wear down with frequent use, making the chances of losing the 8mm head somewhat higher.
I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a lightweight, basic multitool, unless they frequently need to use an 8mm allen key.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
unclegeorge
Woking, Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about unclegeorge is loaded.
Additional information about unclegeorge could not be loaded.
Careful traveller!
Posted September 12, 2014
Gatwick airport staff were not impressed that I had chucked it in the bottom of my pack. Possibly dismantling aircraft? Took it off me anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martin1964
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all round device

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good quality, essential piece of kit. Easy to use and covers a multitude of tasks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EvilCat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Straightforward multi-tool

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good value and a slightly longer body means better leverage. Comes with a small key to tighten the tool body when/if required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
palerider73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Handy and useful to carry around

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Only just bought this but it seems absolutely fine so far. Getting a new bike and knew I'd want a couple of decent accessories to carry around with me on the go for eventualities.
It's got a Phillips head screwdriver and a range of different sized Allen keys, and it's very good construction with each tool easy to take out and use. It's made short work of the couple of accessories I wanted to screw onto my bike and feels like it will do most light maintenance tasks I might want, but I wouldn't want (or expect) to have to take a bike apart with it or anything.
Also the perfect size to carry around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Apollo11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pocket toolkit

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good selection of popular size tools in a convenient package. Quite lightweight and compact. Not suitable for getting into tight spaces, but that's the same with any multi-tool of this type.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
James39
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little tool

PostedApril 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This tool covers the basic needs on the road and should be able to get you back on the road in no time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roddy1965
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very handy tool to carry

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The tool is really handy to carry everywhere, particularly when I am out on my mountain bike although it is just as good for road bike trips.
It has everything you need to get you out of difficult situations and make sure your ride is not ended by a mechanical emergency.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trekie62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and compact

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Perfect for putting in rear pocket of jersey, contains most of the tools to get you out of trouble. Well made.
service and delivery were faultless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rush
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert

solid and robust, yet handy and light.

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
got this a few weeks ago to keep with me at all times - just in case - and I must say, it really is a good all-around tool. the thing is solidly built and all the tools sit tight in the casing, so there is no rattling and no hex keys flopping around as you are fastening a screw. all in all a very reasonably priced piece of essential equipment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
davebb

Fine for what it is

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
As a basic multi-tool this is fine. It fits perfectly in a saddle bag. It is lightweight. All the tools are fine. It's not exactly world shattering, but it's fine for basic use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nazimuss
Country:Azerbaijan
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good functionality, it is worth the money paid for

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality from a reputable manufacturer. I use it for 3 weeks and fully satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MelbGirl
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very clever design

PostedMay 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This is a really well designed and well made tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
roughrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Neat, light - covers basic needs

PostedMay 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Meets expectations - not gimmicky just the basic essentials in a compact package. OK no tyre levers or torque keys or slot head screwdriver - but mostly I don't need them on the road. Looks well made and includes removable Allen key to adjust tightness of tool rotation so they don't slop around after regular use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
momac71
from uk
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I Purchased the muti tool because of its compact size, and is an ideal multi tool to carry whilst out on long rides and weigh's next to nothing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
NavyJas

Basic but good

PostedMay 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Basic tool but well made, feels like good quality. Useful set of tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
botty
from Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Much better than paying for delivery

PostedMay 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I was ordering a lock, which came up €6 short of the delivery price. I decided I would get one of these tools to help install the lock holder, instead of paying for delivery.
It turns out that it was an odd decision on my part as, much to my surprise, my bike does not contain a single allen headed bolt on it.
Since this discovery, I have re-purposed my Topeak 10 function multitool as a sort of bottle-opening-paper-weight which, if nothing else, means that it could be referred to as a "12 function" multitool without the ASA getting involved. In retrospect, I wish I had bought the park tool bottle opener instead, as it would have also satisfied my desire for free shipping, open beer bottles and flighty paper control but without being burdened by the 10 superfluous functions that only act as a constant reminder of my mechanical ineptitude.
In short, it is a poor tool for a bike with no allen bolts, but a perfectly adequate bottle opener and an admirable paper weight. Four Stars
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
roughrider
Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about roughrider is loaded.
Additional information about roughrider could not be loaded.
Handy tip - thanks
Posted April 16, 2012
good to see someone with a sense of humour entering reviews - nice one!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
m8skl
from Essex
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Has what I need.

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
This tool is small enough to fit in my miniature saddle bag, with a spare tube, CO2 and my keys. Though after a few rides in not ideal conditions, i.e. rain. The tool developed some surface rust. This has wiped off easily but i hope this isn't things to come. Could probably solve this by remembering to make sure its dry and lubricated. Has all the bits i need for adjusting my saddle and handlebars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak X-Tool Multi Tool 10 Function
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chmpnz
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good buy

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Not as many bells and whistles as its more expensive siblings but great value and rock solid construction. Good for peace of mind when in the saddlebag and won't let you down when it has to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>