Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Frame Protection or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack

Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack

Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Review 1 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Robj57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good protection for frame

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is a no brainer if you want to protect your shiny frame.
Easy to apply, but be warned, even the full pack option is only going to protect about 50% of your frame so pick where you're going to apply it wisely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
charl
Country:South Africa
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Like how it look on the bike
Very Durable
Easy to get off and re apply
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gav1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more frame paint chips and so easy to apply

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to apply
The first stone chip or scuff on a new frame brings tears to your eyes. Bike shield is a transparent thin rubbery adhesive sheet that is pre-cut to apply to vulnerable bits of the frame such as chain stay, down tube and where there's cable rub. The instructions sound fussy but on a new frame the preparation is unnecessary and I just peeled back the backing tape and stuck it on. Simplicity itself. Would do this to any new frame - for £25 it's a no brainer.
Worth getting the crank shield too, to stop scuffing.
Plastic crank end bootie protectors for new cranks good idea too.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JezLeSinge
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hope this works

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought thus to protect my bike over winter use I added it a few weeks ago and can say I'm pleased it isn't obvious to the casual observer and was quick and easy to fit
I'm hoping it protects the most vulnerable bits from stones and salt and rust If it does then I think it's great value but only time will tell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LGmotorcycles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

bike sheild fits well

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
bike sheild fits well - it cuts easy, folds easy, and sticks well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BJPP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great fram protection product.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Minimal cutting required and easy application ensuring a new-ish frame when it comes to the time of selling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SE44

PostedApril 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Very easy to apply and provides great protection without adding too much weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
rjhayter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Not as simple as you'd think

PostedMarch 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive, fiddly
The "full pack" comes with loads of variously-sized protective stickers for just about any part of the bike frame you'd be worried about. The plastic is thick and appears to be durable – only time will tell. While the small stickers go on easily, the largest – particularly huge one designed for under the down tube – is extremely difficult to get on your bike without at least a few small air bubbles and fingerprints. It's only a cosmetic problem really... But if you're shelling out £25 on frame protection stickers, you care about the look of your bike! To be fair, it's not just a problem with this product, but I have found tape that comes on a roll to be little easier to apply. Wear gloves and take it slow...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
icalagmoirog
Country:Singapore

nice!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: none
i've used this on my 3 mountain bike frames and will use another one on my upcoming road bike. it really is useful in protecting scratches or even nicks due to it's thickness. it stands up to its claim of "doesn't" yellow or stain. for Medium to Large frame though 1 full pack may not be enough if you're covering the full down tube and top tube surface. Good value for the money compared to the more expensive brand! i commend that delivery was fast too..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
postiepaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product, dreadful instructions and quantity

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to apply
Cons: Expensive, not enough
I was surprised when I opened the packet containing the "full pack"of bike shield protective patches.
Surprised by the small quantity of product in a pack described as a full pack.I purchased the product to protect my new carbon fibre bike and I know the frame is quite thick by nature but the product was only capable of protecting a small area of the frame.
Saying this, what was there was really easy to apply and I am sure it will do a great job of protecting the parts I did manage to cover as the product is nice and thick and self healing.
The instructions however were next to useless as not only is the print so small as to require a magnifying glass to read the illustrations are indecipherable.I actually logged onto you tube to follow application of similar products before attempting to use this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BusterGonad
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

wipe your frame with isopropyl alcohol first!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
A great idea for my protecting my new bike frame! Love that it is clear and doesn’t have branding (like the Lizard Skins).
Ive only be using these for about 3 weeks but so far so good.
Theres one point that I want to stress to anyone about to use these:
Definitely make sure that you wipe your frame down with isopropyl alcohol (or something similar) before you apply! I had to buy a second chainstay guard as I thought rubbing with a polishing cloth would be fine for my fresh out of the box frame but within a week the sticker was peeling at the edges (and I hadn’t even put wheels on her yet!). Second time round I prepped first by cleaning with alcohol and the adhesive has held fast and true.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimmyN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shield Full Pack

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Got this on both of my bikes, MTB and Road, worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spikey
from South West London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well, but expensive

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, self-healing
Cons: Expensive, not enough
Have no doubt, this is great stuff and will keep you frame in top condition. It also helps keep it clean as mud slide off it easily. But it's pricey. Instead of giving you a load of (often useless) pre-cut shapes, they should just give you the complete sheet and let you cut your own shapes with scissors. I mean, if it's really that expensive to produce, why waste 25% in off-cuts? Still, recommend you buy this until worthwhile, cheaper competition arrives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RENNY
from Milan, Italy
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Detailed instruction is necessary

PostedJune 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: need detailed instruction
I`ve got it for my newly purchased bike. It works good to protect it from dirt and chain locks.
But honestly, I don`t know whether I put exactly where things are supposed to be at because there was no detailed instruction which of it goes where.
And you must have liitle bit of DIY skills in order to complete the job well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yang
from singapore
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

works like it should be

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
bought this to protect my new giant road bike..
evans delivered this promptly and the item arrived in pristine condition, good service from evans as usual. the bike shield works really good and keeps scratches and dents (caused by gravels sands etc) off the downtube.
one thing to note is that upon putting this on, try not to pull out and adjust, so get it right the first time. pulling it out will sort of elongate the sticker..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JasonC
from Derbyshire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This stuff is great for protecting your frame from stone chips, grazes etc. It goes on easy and is pretty much invisible if applied properly.
The pieces to stick on come pre-cut and not all of the pieces fitted my bike so I ended up making my own size pieces using scissors, this worked well however and I've got protection in all the places where I think it is needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snoopy104
from Shropshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great and as described

PostedMay 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to install
I bought this product to protect a Cannondale RZ120 with a Large frame. There was enough in the pack to cover most of the underside of the down tube, below the bottom bracket nd the back of the seat tube, the chainstay and all of the usual cable rub areas. I really can't believe how easy it was to install and I was half expecting to make a mess of it and have to bin it all. I used Meths to clean the areas I was applying the shield to and had no problems, I didn't bother measuring and applied it by eye. It sticks well, but is also easy to pull off and readjust if need be and easily moulds around complex curves. I have no doubt that it will save me from getting stone chips in critical places. Very good product. Would buy again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sabahan
from Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Frame Protector

PostedApril 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Excellent product to protect frame and areas that need protection especially carbon frames. However on the expensive side as one full pack is not sufficient to cover one bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LB1993
from cannock chase
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

takes a while but worth it

PostedApril 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
ok so this product arrives at my door and first impressions were i could of done with a bit more material , it took a while to fit mainly because of my frame shape and i did end up with a few glue marks and bubbles which did not disapear for a few weeks but now it is on i can truely say it was worth the money , time and effort as it looks great and well stops those stone chips on my shiney new frame
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra UK Bike Shield Full Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FNorbert

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Sticks very well, hardly visible when on the frame. Pretty easy to use on straight tubes, I've had difficulties on the bends. Looks thick enough to cope with impacts, but time will tell!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>