Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Frame Protection or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard

Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard

Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Review 1 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HenryB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great product

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great product, easy to fit, works a treat, no more rattle from the chain... Standard fits the seat stay and jumbo the chain stay on my Cube Sting 29er MTB...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrusaderRob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality item

Posted02 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
seems well made and it looks nice.A little bit of a tight fit on my frame
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
carlos73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Valuable protection.

Posted10 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
My old bike had scuff marks wear I had been clipping the frame as pedalling. I never noticed this and was surprised to see the paint had worn away and the frame started to rust.
I bought one of for my new bike and fitted it in minutes, no more problem.
It looks unobtrusive and is very good value considering the protection it gives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HardTrail
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

Posted29 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
great product to reduce chain slaps. Fit to wife's bike and now she runs in stealth mode :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vansman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Does what it says on the tin.

Posted22 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
These things are great,use them on all my bikes. They do what they say and protect your chainstay that simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DANGLO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good protection

Posted07 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Just a basic velcro held fabric that does what it says on the tin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
howie8202
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Practical

Posted03 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: wrong size
Drove to manchester to get some mountain bike stuff, asked for a chain stay protector, didn't have the size I wanted, so very nice assistant called Em asked the right questions, however it came through the post this morning, they have charged me for a large and sent a medium !! Fits and it's on.....leave it at that
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BigBlueSky
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too small

Posted12 March 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is too small for a Giant Trance - check the sizes carefully as it will not work if too small
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jdb500
from UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great protection

Posted25 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
As always with Lizard Skin products, it does what it says! This guard fits snugly around the chainstay on my Specialized Sectuer Sport giving protection to the frame from those times when the chain pops off.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gaz6287
from guildford
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted08 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: hard to fit
lizard skin looks good and stops that annoying chain rattleing when doing heavy mtb. only problem is that it is a little tricky to fit because it is so tight. But once on its on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JasonC
from Derbyshire
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted20 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: hard to pick the correct size
The LizardSkin looks great and works very well to protect your frame from the chain, however, the standard size was very tight on my Kona Blast and hurt my fingers getting it on!
It would be a good idea if the diameter of the bar it covers was stated to help in deciding what size to get.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FastmanRob
from Nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product but watch the sizing!

Posted07 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Purchased mine for my Specialized Hardrock due to the noise the chain made when riding through rough sections. Completely cured the noise and looks great so 100% happy and a small price to pay.
Just watch the sizing.
Standard is only for cromo/steal chainstays, if you have alloy frame then you will require the jumbo with super jumbo for large alloy frames.
Also, make sure you fit it as tight as you can so it stays put and doesn't get too much dirt trapped within.
Hope this helps with your purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclingchuck
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

Posted06 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
You can't go wrong with one of these. I would recommend the larger size for MTB ideally though. I have these on several of my bikes. Keeps the chainstay in perfect condition and easy to remove for cleaning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
nealli
from Horsham
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

standard???? lizard skin

Posted16 January 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: "standard" is annoying/useless item
Standard is ridiculously tight and jumbo not much better but good product but why so mean with the neoprene ?? Will try "super jumbo " next as a pound more is cheaper than the hour with the shrink after having fitted one !!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gecko1977
from west yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great purchase

Posted25 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
i have puchased this guard standard and it fits fine the tube is about 70mm around i dont think it would fit much bigger i would go up to next size but great product and look good too
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suze
from Solihull
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Lizard Skin guard - excellen

Posted09 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A very good and easy to fit skin guard. Usual Evans service! Make sure you get one that is big enough, the first one that I bought was too small (Evans changed it no problem at all) but just a nuisance to have to sort that out. I would def recommend getting one to protect your bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gary447
from North Wales
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Kizard Skin Chainstay Protector

Posted02 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This protector fitted my Claude Butler chain stay which was an awkward shape - it stretches well and does what it says on the packet! - I also took advice from previous reviews and applied some lightweight black cable ties just to prevent any 'slippage'.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yourmancman
from Manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Strong good looking piece

Posted05 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good quality
Excellent product but check your frame size first. Bought it for my Road Bike but needed largest size and bought wrong one. Never mind - it's now on my hybrid and looks the part......
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cazza52
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good Choice

Posted04 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Easy to fit , does the job, and looks good. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Standard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigAlv
from Lancs
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted01 April 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Looks sweet on the bike and protects your frame as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.