Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Frame Protection or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo

Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo

Overall rating:
4.346 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Review 1 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ginge1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good product , needed to be stretched to fit nicely. But looks ok and does the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LGmotorcycles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

i will use lizard skins again and again!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, fits easily
Cons: Expensive
i will use lizard skins again and again! - i use them on forks, frames and chain stays!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
slim45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

lizard :)

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
nice simple bit of kit, fits the giant trance frame ok. easy fitment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunn
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It was bit of a gamble but this size fits perfectly to a Spezialiced Crux. This is THE stainstay guard. I have used Lizard Skins since the 90's in my steel bikes and the stainstay guards are still like new.
I only wish that Evans would have other colors to choose from than black but I guess that they follow in the footsteps of good ol' Henry Ford.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
John56
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and does the job

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have a Lizard Skin on each of my bikes. They are a good idea and help to protect the bike from chain clanging when riding off road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Benlechef
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what its meant to do, didnt have too many issues fitting as described elsewhere, just a bit of patience and brute force required!
Cheap and cheerful
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aston5901
from Wolverhampton
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice bit of kit

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Stops chain slapping noise and protects paint work!
Looks good and is sooooo simple to fit in minutes!
Good buy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Benhinio
from Bury
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Having eventually got the right size (my fault each time !!) the Chainstay works a treat ! Evans were as super efficient as ever in their handling of my enquiries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fender
from Suffolk
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent protection

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Straight forward to fit and offers excellent protection for the mountain bike frame. Fully recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
vlado051
from Croatia, coast
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Very simple to use, sometimes tricky to install depend of bar diam.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moisey
from Angus
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Couldn't be better

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Well I bought this for my partners bike and after a couple of minutes looking at sizes was pointed to the jumbo, I had looked at these in alpine bikes but didn't really want her advertising such an over priced shop! The product itself is good, enough stretch to wrap around a trek chainstay, good backing material to prevent slippage and plenty of good strong Velcro on the back. I recently bought a specialized chainstay guard which I feel is a little better than this one in that it feels a bit thicker. After 6 weeks or hard riding through all sorts of terrain this is still putting up with punishment looking as new as the day it arrived, can gladly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveTo
from Redhill
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excelent

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Used this on my carbon Road bike size is great and works well. Better tanany sticky cain Gards as gelding by Velcro
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sammyoflondon
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tight? yes indeed!

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: hard to fit
As is becoming the trend, sizing is a key issue with these chainstay guards. Having spent a good amount of time reading other reviews about how tight fitting they are and checking the dimensions, I was fairly confident the the Jumbo size would fit the chainstay on my alloy frame. When I picked it from Evans and got home, wow, the earlier reviews did not lie, these are truly a tight tight fit! After a good 10 minutes giving my best effort, I finally got it secure and whilst the velcro is not aligned, it does feel like it will stay in place. So far the guard has done its job, no more chipped paint and it's no longer covered in grease.
Remember, sizing is important! please get that right! While I have an oversized frame, I don't think my chainstay is particularly big, so I do suggest buying both the jumbo and super jumbo (or looking at them in store side by side) to decide which will fit better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
skinnyman
from Lancaster
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It does the job

PostedJune 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Pro; I was suprised to see how many chain marks there were on it just after a couple of days use. These marks would have been on the frame otherwise.
Con; I have a road bike, bought the large size and it was still a tight fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stumpy97
from huddersfield
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality item

PostedApril 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
quality item and decent value. would just add that anyone buying this item should take care to buy the right size.. even though i bought a jumbo its a bit tight but thats my fault for not measuring properly first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hotnajers
from Hyde
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Protector

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: tight fit
Nothing less than jumbo size for an mtb and even then they are a tight fit . I recommend this as I dont think theres many more out there unless you make your own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Thistle4Koru
from NZ
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lizard skin

PostedDecember 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: hard to fit
Wasn't sure which one to get. I have a Giant Talon (Aus not UK Talon - its a different bike) MTB and the jumbo just fitted.
It was hard to fit, but looks good (or lame depending in your pov).
I have not noticed a big change in the amount of chain slap noise I get, so there you go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Subone
from Dorset
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great accessorie

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I've been using these Lizard Skins for years now and have always sworn by them, very simple idea and easy to install (sizing can be an issue though as the fit is very tight), keeps your bike protected from chain marks and scratches.
I recently took one off of my old bike that had been on for years and the frame looked liked new underneath.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
smithosaurus
from oxfordshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
fits fine on my Felt, bought a black one thanks to review info. despite my best/worst cycling it hasnt come loose at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lizard Skins Chainstay Guard Jumbo
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suze
from Solihull
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good bike protection

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fits a treat. Good product and hopefully will save any damage to my bike. Make sure you buy big enough as I bought the Jumbo and it is only just bike enough for my Trek 7.5 wsd.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>