Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for USE SX Suspension Seat Post

USE SX Suspension Seat Post

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Review 1 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grantdavies1975
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Bought this product for my wife. She is delighted with it. Makes long rides much more comfortable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
morrisminor60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fit and forget

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
this is ideal for my wifes more upright riding position with straight handlebars. combined with a brookes titanium saddle its the rolls royce in comfort. even helps prevent snake bite punctures
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mprof
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Commuters will like it

PostedJune 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
I am regularly biking 5 km back and forth to work with an old aluminium front suspended mountain bike; all those potholes in the concrete road were pretty much annoying and the SX post did succeed in taking off some pressure especially for small-medium holes. The large ones are still to be managed with caution.
I recommend using it together with a rigid saddle: it is much more effective than on a comfy one.
A bit heavy but not a problem on a commuting bike.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loren
Country:South Africa
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedMay 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This seatpost is great. After a few rides on a duel suspension that taught me a few lessons I decided to return to my trusty Hardtail. After fitting the seat post (very easy to fit) I noticed a remarkable difference. What I found it doing was absorbing shock from corrugations and potholes in the road and also removing vibrations radiating up through the post.
I was a little concerned when it came to hill climbing and the bobbing effect it might have, HOWEVER after many kilometers of hills I found my concerns to be invalid. No bobbing and therefore no loss of excess energy.
The suspension is fully adjustable and easy to adjust the look is good and modern. A vey good product.
Thank you USE, I plan to recommend this product to all my other hardtail friends and riders.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TommyDLB
from Leighton Buzzard
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality product

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this as a replacement for a seatpost I had used heavily for 9 years. This seatpost is great. The look is good, the suspension is fully adjustable and easy to adjust. A vey good product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bobcat
from Derbyshire
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Your bum will thank you

PostedAugust 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I have just fitted this to my hybrid. I have not used one before so can't comment on how it compares with other makes. I have seen them cheaper but this one fitted my bike without shims and seemed to have a good reputation on various review sites I looked at.
It seems expensive for what it is but then again it is a satisfyingly well engineered and well made item so it probably counts as good value. Most importantly it works. At first I wasn't sure because it does not add an obvious softness to the ride, like a rear suspension. However I can make it move up and down detectably if I bounce up and down on the saddle. What it does do, quietly in the background, is absorb shock fom ruts and potholes in the road and also take out a lot of the high frequency vibration and harshness over poor road surfaces. If you don't notice it so much during a ride you certainly notice the difference when you get off after a few miles. A very welcome improvement to overall comfort on a hardtail bike, now all I need is something similar for the handlebar stem.
The seat clamp is a novel design that I found works well and was easy to set up. I found that it offered very little set back (or forward) potential and essentially centres the saddle over the post, possibly a deliberate design feature. It works well for me but may not for everyone.
Downsides are the weight, which is noticeable compared to a plain post but probably unimportant unless you are racing and the fact that the operation of the post means there is a minimum distance that the seat must ride above the top tube, you cannot set the seat down on the frame. All in all a good piece of kit or at least it works for me.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it says

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, not easy to fit a sadle to.
Cons: Heavy
I had one on my previous aluminum framed road bike, which turned it from torture to smooth comfort. I have one on my hard tail. My wife has one on her current touring bike, and her hard tail. Think of them more like fantastic damping and not limited suspension and they’re brillient. We’ve both tried other makes and USE seems to be the best.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USE SX Suspension Seat Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
subzero
from Aldershot
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Worth it?

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Don't be fooled its won't save you buttocks bashing when doing silly down hills, seems to highlight the fact that you are doing this silly things due to the rebound, also changes the seat angle some what
-23points
2of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.