Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Seatposts or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)

USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)

Overall rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
21 out of 22Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Review 1 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Excellent product and service

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Speedy delivery from Evans and product fit perfectly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Did the job

Posted03 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Allowed me to fit a 27.2 mm seat post into a frame with 31.6 mm hole.
Did exactly what it is supposed to do.
100% satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Does what it says on the tin.

Posted09 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Exactly what I needed - slips into the seat tube of my frame and lets me use a smaller diameter dropper post that i got for a bargain price. Nice tight fit and clamps up fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It does what it's meant to.

Posted18 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, unnoticeable
I must admit that I was expecting a piece of aluminium and I received plastic.
That said, it works. I can now use my ancient campagnolo aero seat pin and leather saddle on both my bikes.
As they are the same geometry it takes less than a minute to swap my favourite saddle over complete with 35 year old seat pin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very nice product !

Posted05 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good plastic
what can i say about a shim!
it is beautiul, the black color is just perfect, the length of it, the box,
oh.. oh... everything is like i dreamed about!
i want to marry this shim! :P
anyway it is fine and i just save @@$ of money to fit a 27.2 seatpost on my 18mm stupid size colnago c40 !!! (28mm seatposts are 90 -100 euros price range)
so yes this is good , very good...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Posted17 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great product, able to use my carbon seatpost 27.2mm on my carbon bike 31.6mm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as intended

Posted25 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Nifty little product for a smaller seat tube. It is rather discreet too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent.

Posted07 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Perfect fit, easy installation, no slipping, ideal piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Does the job well.

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
What can you say about a seatpost shim!? Light, easy to fit, does the job well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it's a shim

Posted26 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I needed a shim
I got a shim
I am very happy I can
now ride my bike
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted24 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Nice quality shim and does the job perfect. I would have marked this as five star but a little expensive given it's made of plastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

Posted29 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
essential equipment to ensure your replacement seat post fits your frame perfectly. just slip the shim into the frame & insert the new seat post & tighten up-- very simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great material

Posted23 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
this shim are made in great material. i used alloy shim before and they scratched my frame and seatpost. this plastic shim won't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted22 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Well made , lightweight , a good solution to a problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what it says on the tin

Posted14 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, don't have a sloppy seatpost
Light, well made, and enables a 27.2mm seatpost to fit into a 28.4mm hole with ease. Not much else to say really.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

Posted23 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Extremely light, slides well, chamfer shape provides increased height and resistance, as well as a more integrated look with the overall frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

shim

Posted19 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
perfect when changing a bike and the new bike has a larger stem diameter so you can still use your old saddle post, or joplin in my case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Florida
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Perfect Fit

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
USE Shim bought to go from an odd size seat tube to allow me to replace my old ALU seat tube with a new carbon tube....shim was top quality and fit beautifully. I was concerned about getting this arrangement to work, but I encountered no problems. Good stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
from Wokingham
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does the job but cheaper alternatives

Posted01 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this as Evans were out-of-stock of the Post Moderne metal shim which is half the price of this USE shim. Yes it does the job, but I think it is overpriced for a piece of plastic tubing. Prior to fitting it, I was using a cut piece of metal tubing that performed the same job at zero cost. I would recommend the cheaper Post Moderne item over USE shims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Highlands of Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it should.

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a lot cheaper than buying a new seatpost for every new frame and a lot easier than storing a load of old posts.
I like the fact that this is 'thermoplastic' as I have used it for a titanium post in an aluminium frame so I do not have to worry about the differrent materials reacting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>