Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)

USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)

Overall rating:
4.471 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Review 1 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simple37
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great product, able to use my carbon seatpost 27.2mm on my carbon bike 31.6mm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jtkirky
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as intended

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Nifty little product for a smaller seat tube. It is rather discreet too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Herbie9
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent.

PostedMay 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Perfect fit, easy installation, no slipping, ideal piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BikeyPete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Does the job well.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
What can you say about a seatpost shim!? Light, easy to fit, does the job well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave2126899
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it's a shim

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I needed a shim
I got a shim
I am very happy I can
now ride my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
plfrost
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Nice quality shim and does the job perfect. I would have marked this as five star but a little expensive given it's made of plastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigernie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
essential equipment to ensure your replacement seat post fits your frame perfectly. just slip the shim into the frame & insert the new seat post & tighten up-- very simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
windsurferjames
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great material

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
this shim are made in great material. i used alloy shim before and they scratched my frame and seatpost. this plastic shim won't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ob1kob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Well made , lightweight , a good solution to a problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nnnr

Does exactly what it says on the tin

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, don't have a sloppy seatpost
Light, well made, and enables a 27.2mm seatpost to fit into a 28.4mm hole with ease. Not much else to say really.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
numen
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Extremely light, slides well, chamfer shape provides increased height and resistance, as well as a more integrated look with the overall frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chriscyp
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

shim

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
perfect when changing a bike and the new bike has a larger stem diameter so you can still use your old saddle post, or joplin in my case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paleryder
from Florida
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Perfect Fit

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
USE Shim bought to go from an odd size seat tube to allow me to replace my old ALU seat tube with a new carbon tube....shim was top quality and fit beautifully. I was concerned about getting this arrangement to work, but I encountered no problems. Good stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
wsurf
from Wokingham
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does the job but cheaper alternatives

PostedJune 1, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this as Evans were out-of-stock of the Post Moderne metal shim which is half the price of this USE shim. Yes it does the job, but I think it is overpriced for a piece of plastic tubing. Prior to fitting it, I was using a cut piece of metal tubing that performed the same job at zero cost. I would recommend the cheaper Post Moderne item over USE shims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HighlandP
from Highlands of Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it should.

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a lot cheaper than buying a new seatpost for every new frame and a lot easier than storing a load of old posts.
I like the fact that this is 'thermoplastic' as I have used it for a titanium post in an aluminium frame so I do not have to worry about the differrent materials reacting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jonathan666x
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
works wel,l no problems fitting to bike seat post is held in tight. lots of different shims for all frame good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ptitlucp

Perfect solution

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought for a old MTB frame convert to commuter bike ... fitted perfectly. Cheap easy solution!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.