Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Seatposts or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)

USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)

Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 20Would you recommend this product to a friend?95%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Review 1 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Does what it says on the tin.

Posted09 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Exactly what I needed - slips into the seat tube of my frame and lets me use a smaller diameter dropper post that i got for a bargain price. Nice tight fit and clamps up fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It does what it's meant to.

Posted18 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, unnoticeable
I must admit that I was expecting a piece of aluminium and I received plastic.
That said, it works. I can now use my ancient campagnolo aero seat pin and leather saddle on both my bikes.
As they are the same geometry it takes less than a minute to swap my favourite saddle over complete with 35 year old seat pin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very nice product !

Posted05 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good plastic
what can i say about a shim!
it is beautiul, the black color is just perfect, the length of it, the box,
oh.. oh... everything is like i dreamed about!
i want to marry this shim! :P
anyway it is fine and i just save @@$ of money to fit a 27.2 seatpost on my 18mm stupid size colnago c40 !!! (28mm seatposts are 90 -100 euros price range)
so yes this is good , very good...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Posted17 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great product, able to use my carbon seatpost 27.2mm on my carbon bike 31.6mm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as intended

Posted25 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Nifty little product for a smaller seat tube. It is rather discreet too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent.

Posted07 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Perfect fit, easy installation, no slipping, ideal piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Does the job well.

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
What can you say about a seatpost shim!? Light, easy to fit, does the job well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it's a shim

Posted26 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I needed a shim
I got a shim
I am very happy I can
now ride my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted24 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Nice quality shim and does the job perfect. I would have marked this as five star but a little expensive given it's made of plastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

Posted29 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
essential equipment to ensure your replacement seat post fits your frame perfectly. just slip the shim into the frame & insert the new seat post & tighten up-- very simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great material

Posted23 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
this shim are made in great material. i used alloy shim before and they scratched my frame and seatpost. this plastic shim won't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted22 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Well made , lightweight , a good solution to a problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what it says on the tin

Posted14 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, don't have a sloppy seatpost
Light, well made, and enables a 27.2mm seatpost to fit into a 28.4mm hole with ease. Not much else to say really.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

Posted23 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Extremely light, slides well, chamfer shape provides increased height and resistance, as well as a more integrated look with the overall frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

shim

Posted19 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
perfect when changing a bike and the new bike has a larger stem diameter so you can still use your old saddle post, or joplin in my case.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Florida
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Perfect Fit

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
USE Shim bought to go from an odd size seat tube to allow me to replace my old ALU seat tube with a new carbon tube....shim was top quality and fit beautifully. I was concerned about getting this arrangement to work, but I encountered no problems. Good stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
from Wokingham
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does the job but cheaper alternatives

Posted01 June 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this as Evans were out-of-stock of the Post Moderne metal shim which is half the price of this USE shim. Yes it does the job, but I think it is overpriced for a piece of plastic tubing. Prior to fitting it, I was using a cut piece of metal tubing that performed the same job at zero cost. I would recommend the cheaper Post Moderne item over USE shims.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Highlands of Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it should.

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a lot cheaper than buying a new seatpost for every new frame and a lot easier than storing a load of old posts.
I like the fact that this is 'thermoplastic' as I have used it for a titanium post in an aluminium frame so I do not have to worry about the differrent materials reacting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Posted11 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
works wel,l no problems fitting to bike seat post is held in tight. lots of different shims for all frame good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for USE Shims (For 27.2mm SX Posts)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect solution

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought for a old MTB frame convert to commuter bike ... fitted perfectly. Cheap easy solution!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.