Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Powergrips Pedal Straps

Powergrips Pedal Straps

Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
42 out of 42Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Review 1 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Recommended

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Was fairly easy to fit, and works well.
I've managed to shave a bit of time off my commute thanks to these (after I got used to them!) and I can wear my normal trainers as opposed to cycling specific ones, so what's not to like?
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good straps!

Posted22 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These straps do what they say on the tin. They feel very sturdy. They are designed to loop over the pedal at an angle, which makes stepping in and out of the strap much easier.
I have recently changed to fixed and wasn't keen on spending money on new clip-pedals and new shoes. These starps are the next best thing and I'm feeling good on the bike!
Some other reviews say they are tricky to fit but I had no problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:West End

Posted26 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I bought these after I had a fall caused by my foot slipping off my pedal.
These are great for providing a secure way to keep your feet attached to your pedals without needing to make the jump to clip-ins - some of the advantages being that you can use your own shoes and that it's very easy to take your feet out easily.
It does take a little practice to be able put your second foot in while riding, but it's not too difficult and you'll get used to it after a few rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Strong straps, however they aren't groundbreaking

Posted03 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
There are other straps on the market which I feel are better suited for a firmer grip, which is partially due to the design. The diagonal strap system is not superior to either clips or over the foot straps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Portugal
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One year of daily usage - extremelly satisfied

Posted20 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I have been using the Power Grips pedal straps for almost a year: daily commuting, some touring and weekend rides.
This responds exactly to what I was looking for: improve pedal efficiency, with any shoe and very easy to use.
It's one of those buys that you are so satisfied and meets your needs so perfect, that you just stop looking and enjoy the solution!
I order it online from Evans Cycles and received them in Portugal in a matter of days, as promised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:London Bridge

Powergrip Pedal Straps

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I find these much easier to use and would not contemplate cleats however I have developed a knee problem which may be as a result of using these straps. This is still to be determined. I noticed a huge improvement in my cycling from using these straps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Easy to fit

Posted27 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, easy to fit
As a confirmed cycle maintenance novice (and hopeless DIYer) I was surprised at how easy the Power Grips were to fit - about 10 mins perhaps. Once fitted v comfortable and effective. Happy to recommend - only reason for 4 stars is that I've nothing to compare against.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great alternative to clipless pedals

Posted29 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
As above!
Great alternative - especially for those who cycle on busy roads. Foot fits secure into the strap and allows more efficient cycling but also allow you to come free of the pedals quickly should you need to. Surprised many other outlets don't sell these.
Not too fiddly to fit either...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good alternative to clipless

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Actually it was quite fiddley to install, and I only found out afterwards there is an XL (strap) version which I would have been better of buying. At the end of the day, utilises the power of the up-stroke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good straps

Posted14 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought these for two reasons; To reduce weight as I bought them with some new pedals, and to be easier and more efficient than the standard straps that come with most bikes.
They do the job on both counts. Can be used with any footwear, and feel like they make my daily commute faster and more efficient.
The only slight negative is the price, for a set of straps they seem to be on the steep side, but having said that do the job very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

great toe general purpose toe clips

Posted21 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
hi, I have always wanted some of these, as I like to use toe straps, but a lot of them need proper cycling shoes with them. I fancied power grips as they looked like they would work with any shoes, and therefore work well for casual trips as well as 'proper cycling'. I have not been disappointed, they are exactly as I had hoped, love them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good straps, be careful with the screws

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: extra screws needed
I feel like this should come with extra screws as I have already lost a few on the road, i have used some of my screws to repair that but be careful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great if you've got pedals to fit

Posted12 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
My original pedals didn't have the necessary wholes in the back - they were the cheap originals any way, so I got some MKS Lite Hybrid Pedals, which are good by themselves and great with the Power Straps.
The Straps are really easy to use and, once adjusted, your feet feel secure without being squashed, a big improvement over basic toe straps.
Probably best to use the same shoes when riding each time as they are not easy to adjust 'on the fly' if one set of shoes is wider or has a thicker sole than another.
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good alternative to spd's

Posted08 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
my 3rd set used them about 10 years ago i cant use spd's as cant wear the shoes or toe clips due to them going over toes as i have problem with foot, i am size 9 and they are almost on the largest setting if bigger would recommend the large straps
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good introduction

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I am new to cycling and hadn't got as far as reviewing shoes and pedals, so bought these for the interim to get used to having my feet secured to the pedals whilst I looked at the many options on clip pedals and shoes. Fitted easily, instructions were clear and have found them very usefull in improving my riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

More comfortable than toe clips/straps

Posted15 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: can scrape ground when cornering
I decided to try these powergrips after reading about them online. I have put them on our tandem, although I ride with SPD's on my solo I have found that on a tandem a quick release of the foot is essential so I have ridden with toe clips and straps for years. Recently I have had some foot discomfort from the straps but so far with powergrips that discomfort has gone. So I find them really quite good and for me a more comfortable experience than toe clips/straps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
excellent product. they work very well for adventure racing, touring etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, easy to fit

Posted26 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very lightweight, easy to fit. Easy to use, recommended these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and easy to use

Posted24 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These grips are quite easy to fit, very easy to use and keep your feet in contact with the pedals which is all you want! I got them at a reduced price but even at full price they would be worth the money. They are of high quality leather and metal construction and therefore should last for a good while.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Wales
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Long distance cyclist

Posted08 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I suffer from an ankle cartilage problem in one foot and found this product gave me complete confidence in safety and comfort for long distance unsupported cycle challenges. Having recently completed end to end cycle of Ireland, UK and New Zealand plus many hundreds of miles training I would highly recommend powergrips pedal straps. I have now ordered a new set for my next long distance cycle challenge - end to end of Argentina knowing that I can rely on this product to last more than the distance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>