Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Powergrips Pedal Straps

Powergrips Pedal Straps

Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
35 out of 35(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Review 1 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sirrusy
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Recommended

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Was fairly easy to fit, and works well.
I've managed to shave a bit of time off my commute thanks to these (after I got used to them!) and I can wear my normal trainers as opposed to cycling specific ones, so what's not to like?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freeo

Good straps!

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These straps do what they say on the tin. They feel very sturdy. They are designed to loop over the pedal at an angle, which makes stepping in and out of the strap much easier.
I have recently changed to fixed and wasn't keen on spending money on new clip-pedals and new shoes. These starps are the next best thing and I'm feeling good on the bike!
Some other reviews say they are tricky to fit but I had no problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mark202
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good straps

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought these for two reasons; To reduce weight as I bought them with some new pedals, and to be easier and more efficient than the standard straps that come with most bikes.
They do the job on both counts. Can be used with any footwear, and feel like they make my daily commute faster and more efficient.
The only slight negative is the price, for a set of straps they seem to be on the steep side, but having said that do the job very well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicky99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

great toe general purpose toe clips

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
hi, I have always wanted some of these, as I like to use toe straps, but a lot of them need proper cycling shoes with them. I fancied power grips as they looked like they would work with any shoes, and therefore work well for casual trips as well as 'proper cycling'. I have not been disappointed, they are exactly as I had hoped, love them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
asselinpaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good straps, be careful with the screws

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: extra screws needed
I feel like this should come with extra screws as I have already lost a few on the road, i have used some of my screws to repair that but be careful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MulberryMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great if you've got pedals to fit

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
My original pedals didn't have the necessary wholes in the back - they were the cheap originals any way, so I got some MKS Lite Hybrid Pedals, which are good by themselves and great with the Power Straps.
The Straps are really easy to use and, once adjusted, your feet feel secure without being squashed, a big improvement over basic toe straps.
Probably best to use the same shoes when riding each time as they are not easy to adjust 'on the fly' if one set of shoes is wider or has a thicker sole than another.
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
phi1

good alternative to spd's

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
my 3rd set used them about 10 years ago i cant use spd's as cant wear the shoes or toe clips due to them going over toes as i have problem with foot, i am size 9 and they are almost on the largest setting if bigger would recommend the large straps
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Porpoise
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good introduction

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I am new to cycling and hadn't got as far as reviewing shoes and pedals, so bought these for the interim to get used to having my feet secured to the pedals whilst I looked at the many options on clip pedals and shoes. Fitted easily, instructions were clear and have found them very usefull in improving my riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tonyatcleeve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

More comfortable than toe clips/straps

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: can scrape ground when cornering
I decided to try these powergrips after reading about them online. I have put them on our tandem, although I ride with SPD's on my solo I have found that on a tandem a quick release of the foot is essential so I have ridden with toe clips and straps for years. Recently I have had some foot discomfort from the straps but so far with powergrips that discomfort has gone. So I find them really quite good and for me a more comfortable experience than toe clips/straps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harvey20
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
excellent product. they work very well for adventure racing, touring etc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
beapabacor
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight, easy to fit

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Very lightweight, easy to fit. Easy to use, recommended these
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thehoodedclaw
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Effective and easy to use

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These grips are quite easy to fit, very easy to use and keep your feet in contact with the pedals which is all you want! I got them at a reduced price but even at full price they would be worth the money. They are of high quality leather and metal construction and therefore should last for a good while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dafydd59
from Wales
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Long distance cyclist

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I suffer from an ankle cartilage problem in one foot and found this product gave me complete confidence in safety and comfort for long distance unsupported cycle challenges. Having recently completed end to end cycle of Ireland, UK and New Zealand plus many hundreds of miles training I would highly recommend powergrips pedal straps. I have now ordered a new set for my next long distance cycle challenge - end to end of Argentina knowing that I can rely on this product to last more than the distance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AdventureBen
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They just work.

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have been using the daftly named clipless pedals for several years, however I have had loads of problems wiht my knees I figured it might be because my shoes were badly adjusted and not giving my knees enough room to move about (I have deformed knees).
Bought these after readign somewhere that after a whiel they jsut work and you forget you have them. This is true once youget used to putting your feet into them.
Releasing your shoes isn;t as easy as with SPD pedals but i've not fallen off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scottcr1
from North of Copenhagen
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product - easy to fit

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, easy to fit
I have problems with my left foot - an old running injury - which means that I am unable to use the click-pedals. It is very easy to fit and it is close to be as good as the clicks.
Futhermore I feel more secure riding when it is raining because it is so easy to get your foot out of the strip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KarlGW
from Leicestershire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Power Grips

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This is the second pair I've bought - this one for a second bike. As I see it these have all (or most) of the advantages of clip-in pedals (which I refuse to call 'clip-less' - damned silly name for a product with clips!) without the need to wear funny shoes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Arvid
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Buy

PostedMay 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
So, I bought a fixed gear bike, which was the first time I ever rode with clips. I did however never quite like the feeling, so I decided to try out the Powergrips - and so far they feel great!
Easy to kick into, and easy to get out. Still needs some getting used to, but I think that this may be a great compromise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
coffindodger
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I like them better than clips, but the fitting instructions could be be better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kostis
from Athens,Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Large shoe sizes will greatly benefit too

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
It's difficult to find cycling shoes for my foot size (13 UK - about 49 EU), so I decided to get these pedal straps as an alternative solution. And they work perfectly! The shoe locks firmly and tight with the pedal and can be released quickly if needed by moving your ankle. You have great control of your ride even at high pedalling rate - comfortable for road bikes with aerobars and long distances too. During riding, minor adjustments on the shoe location relative to the pedal are easy and quick. I assembled it in 15 min. Needs some practice though getting the shoes in when you begin cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powergrips Pedal Straps
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spoonman
from Cornwall
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Better by design

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Some reviews mention that the straps are a bit tricky to attach but balancing that against the continual fiddling about with my old plastic clips there's simply no competition.
Once they're on and adjusted you're away with a comfortable yet tight fitting attachment that holds your foot exactly where you want it.
I've used clips for years but these feel and perform far better than I'd expected or hoped.
Believe the hype and buy with confidence.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>