Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release

Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release

Overall rating:
4.72 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Review 1 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
geddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Do exactly what there menth to do.

Posted17 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought to replace my old pair which were very worn.great product that does what it's ment to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cfos118
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

breeze to fit

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
very easy to fit and no issues getting used to these cleats. i like the way it is multi-release although i usually click awy from my bike but have tried the other way, no issues.
good price and got 10% discount as i'm an LCC member.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natenja
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent cleats

Posted02 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, easy to use
I started road cycling recently and was worried about how I would cope with cleats. The Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release turn out to have been a excellent choice, I am cleating in and out comfortably.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Cleats

Posted15 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Simple, easy to fix/adjust, robust cleats.
excellent for MTB and commuting...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lodden
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Best

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The best thing is keeping spares, you never know when you need them at such a good service and price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
leslie
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good for beginners

Posted06 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
ok but can let your foot slip out easy for more solid connection go for the black ones
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plummers76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Perfect for newcomers to cleats

Posted27 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Ideal for new users of cleats - the multi directional release increases comfort levels (i.e. you don't feel like you're clicked in for good) when first using them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brendon80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

replacement cleats

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality gear as replacement for previous cleats (one which fell off)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JulianR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Avoids falling off!

Posted27 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to use
My pedals came with the other type of cleat (SH21 I think) and within 2 rides I had experienced a comedy (but painful) falling off as a result of a lack of ability to unclip myself from my pedals. Bought these cleats to fix the problem and instant success - I now don't think my bike is trying to kill me!! If you are a leisure/casual rider with SPD's (or riding with young children who stop frequently with no warning!), these are ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Riatsala
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Less risky

Posted21 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These multi-release cleats are handy also for use in town. You've got more opportunities to un-attach when the unexpected happens
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MilkeySUFC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Exactly what it says on the tin

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Possibly on the expensive side but fits the Northwave Celsius boots I bought perfectly. Previous pair of these cleats I bought for a pair of Specialized Sonoma shoes are still fairing well 2 years later.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
glasgowmoose
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

A good choice for those new to clipless pedals

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These cleats give a much easier release from the pedals than the SM-SH51 cleats, the latter offering sideways release only. While I can't say I've mastered all the promised ways to release the cleats from the pedals, they're definitely more forgiving that the SH51s so they seem ideal for new users of clipless pedals, or for those of us who have to endure stop-start riding in town with frequent clipping in and releasing.
Conversely, hardcore road riders will find that these release too easily and a more stable connection to the pedal is required for maximum power transfer.
Provided you aren't looking to be 'at one' with your pedals at all times, these provide much of the advantage of using clipless pedals with none of the fear of getting stuck to the pedals and falling over when stopping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alexis1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

Excellent

Posted03 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
They do exactly what they are meant to do. Great service from Evans and nothing was too much trouble. The cleats were delivered on time and with a couple of sesonal sweets. A nice surprise. They work well and had no trouble fitting them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheWho
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Posted12 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I'm a recent convert to SPDs and with these cleats I haven't fallen off once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mickys
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I like these,

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have been using these for a long time now, I know I should replace more often but you know how it is.
I like these as they let my foot have a little more play when clipped in, the float allows a subbtle change of position when you just need to figit!
Easy multi release so not having to twist only the one way, good for those quick outs.
very recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
erikthered
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do what they say on the pack

Posted25 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Nuff said. do what they say on the pack. now i am fed up because the review wants a lot written so I have to pad it out
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBadger
from Shrophire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to use

Posted05 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I'm using them on a road bike, easy to use. No issues clipping in or out. Also don't seem to have any problems with unwanted clip-outs either. Hardwearing too, compared to Look Keo's
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tavira16
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano SH55 SPD Cleats Multi Release

Posted18 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple to fit. Easy to use. Good quality.
Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ericthehalfbee
from Kent
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Confidence raiser

Posted16 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, easy to use
I bowed to peer pressure and bought cleats instead of the toe clips I was used to. Worried about the inevitable faceful of tarmac that I was convinced I would encounter, I bought these multi-release versions instead of the single release type. No problem whatsoever. Don't know what all the fuss was about. Should have done it years ago. No going back. If you're going into cleats for the first time, I definitely recommend these multi-release SPDs. Easy to clip in; easy to release.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheFatCommuter
from Crawley
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Its a cleat

Posted09 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Nice cleat with multi release. Easy to use for beginners (which I am) nice to know you can get your feet out when at the lights.. Note:- if buying the M520 pedals they come with some cleats! So these are spare for me for the time being.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>