Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats

Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats

Overall rating:
4.651 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
43 out of 43(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Review 1 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MagicOne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good, positive engagement and disengagement

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I started off using the SH56 back in the day, but progressed to these and have never looked back.
Cleats and pedal choices are very subjective, and I have tried many different combinations but these have always worked best for me when covering fast & technical cross country single track.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pawlmi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Shimano cleats, the best there are for MTB

Posted25 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Easy to fit to shoes, 10 mins max, easy to clip in and out of - everything you'd expect from Shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gazman568
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Posted11 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, easy to fit and adjust.
Cleats are very easy and straight forward to fit and adjust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iRideRacer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

You'll need to replace worn cleats eventually

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Despite being more resistant to wear than other cleat/pedal systems, after 2 years of heavy commuting abuse I replaced my cleats. Now I get the performance I remember from when they were new. Always use a genuine shimano product for best results.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tony888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Can't Beat the Original!

Posted21 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Robust and long lasting cleats from Shimano. I've cycled across Spain, round London with the original SH51 set which I bought a couple of years ago but obtained these for spares. Haven't needed them yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spotfizz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Good product work great

Posted16 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Expensive but work great buying shimano aways works out best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaulJ44
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Quality SPD Cleats

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Shimano quality, easily fitted to Specialized MTB shoes, however, Evans Cycles also stock 'Shimano OE SH51 SPD Cleats', which are exactly the same apart from the packaging, and significantly cheaper, wish I knew that at the time!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy cleats

Posted09 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit, easy to use on the trails for clipping in and out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GazzaPlazza
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the packet

Posted16 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Great item, bit pricey for what they are though. Essential though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
puggy0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product

Posted19 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
As described a great product , was looking for new cleats and these are the best price around
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
adlanie

great cleats!

Posted12 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
easy to snap on, after few times it smooth like butter on toast!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3Banana

Well made, easy to fit

Posted08 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
exactly what I needed for new shoes, good adjustment , durability when walking on concrete/tarmac unknown yet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ripper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Bought by mistake

Posted12 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought these cleats because I stupidly thought that the pedals I bought would not come with cleats (they did) However still a good price, so when they are worn out I will have a new set to replace them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
matt95959

Ideal

Posted25 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Perfect replacement for your SPD shoes. Easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebaler
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As you would expect from Shimano

Posted23 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
They were easy to fit and adjust. Good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great product, does the job!

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Can't say much more really about a cleat, easy to fit & robust. Bought these & MTB shoes online & collected in store, customer service was excellent.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Single Release Cleat fit Most Shimano MTB SPD

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: single release safe to bunny hop
Cons: Expensive
Not much to say, but these are a useful upgrade to the included multi-direction cleats that are included with the pedals, if you want to bunny hop, or pull upwards hard with quads on hills; confident you'll remain clipped up.
All the Shimano MTB SPD pedals I have, accept this cleat; it's just annoying that safe riding, requires a wearing part that's expensive for what it is - two shaped pieces of metal, with 2 hex bolts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MattManager2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No issues at all

Posted10 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Works perfectly very happy with the product. Easy to attach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeB65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product

Posted17 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
First time I've used cleats. They work very well giving secure engagement even at the minimum tension on the pedals that I'm currently using until I become accustomed to having my feet "clipped in". I've always been satisfied with Shimano products so I have no doubt that these will continue to perform well for some time to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano SH51 SPD Cleats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spinner53

good value, does the job, easy to fit

Posted07 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
good value, does the job, easy to fit, arrived quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>