Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for MKS GR-9 Pedals

MKS GR-9 Pedals

Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Review 1 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
JohnnyE
Country:France
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pedals, ridiculous dustcaps

PostedJune 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: stupid dustcaps
The pedals are mostly fine, with toeclips or even without them in trainers. Only mostly, though, as after a couple of rides they still didn't rotate smoothly, feeling gritty, so I put more grease in the outer ballraces. The plastic dust caps turn out to be hard to remove. The makers' website says use a sharp implement and take care not to damage yourself or the pedal. What do they think will be small enough to fit into a slot 2mm wide and 1.5 mm deep, yet strong enough to get the cap off? One cap ended up broken and one pedal scratched. Why on earth not provide larger slots or design them to unscrew?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tonyatcleeve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value basic pedal

PostedJune 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
These are just great bog standard platform pedals that we use on our tandem. We replaced our previous pair after 15 years due to pedal click but given the price i think that is ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pruberry
from Milton Keynes
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very nice pedals, quite thin (by design) which can be an issue if you have wide feet.
These pedals are pretty much useless without toe clips.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tomrob
from Arnside, Cumbria
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really comfortable, even with soft soled shoes! plus they look great with toe clips and straps. No problems at all getting into them quickly either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
melburnrider
from melbourne australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

product is great, delivery time not so good

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These pedals were a replacement on my Surly Steamroller fixie. I previously had MKS Sylvan track pedals which, in hindsight, weren't that great.
The Sylvans are better suited to the velodrome, but if you, like me, ride around town then these are a much better option.
They are super comfortable with a wider platform. I actually feel like I have more power to drive down on.
You can also still use toe clips and straps to keep it in line with the retro fixie "look".
Highly recommended.
As for delivery times from Evan Cycles.. well, 3.5 weeks is not acceptable. Being from Australia you expect a certain amount of delay - but having ordered from a host of UK bike stores I have to admit that Evans was by far the longest. Too long I'm afraid.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaddyBear
from Lincoln
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Basic Pedal Power!

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Light weight and do the job.
Excellent grip in all weathers.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
masterworks
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Robust and basic

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pretty sturdy and minimalistic pedal, I have been useing these on my fixed cummute for the past 8 months.
Simple pedal with no whistles or bells but formed from a single lump of alloy so no issues with nuts and screws working loose or corroding. They do become a little slippery when wet with work shoes so toe straps and clips are a must.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MKS GR-9 Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
otto
from helsinki
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

basic pedals

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
gr-9's work well as long as your sneakers have a stiff sole. i have them on my summer commuter and i have also tried them for some longer rides. if you have a very large shoe size, they might be uncomfortable. my shoes are 9 1/2 and they are fine for me.
a minus side is that they are a tad expensive.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.