Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for MKS Sylvan Pedals

MKS Sylvan Pedals

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Review 1 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jimboboy
from Jersey
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A class act

PostedJune 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Despite all the hype I've never made the transition to clipless pedals so when it came to pedals for a new Colnago Arte last year I chose these after reading other reviews. I have not been disappointed. They are beautifully made, friction free and very easy to flip. I have just bought a second pair for my new Van Nic Yukon and they look great.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pilko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good classic looking pedal

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Nice pedal with good classic looks. The quality is very good and the bearings seem smooth and firm.Easy to fit toestraps to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crgtmp
Country:Romania
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Looks great on my old swiss Cilo, good quality, noise free when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mefastidias
Country:Spain
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very comfortable pedals and looks great on my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ctophdrog

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm restoring a 1970's Raleigh Magnum and I was looking for a classically styled pedal, the MKS Sylvan is perfect for this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ray5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

These are fantastic pedals

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These are fantastic pedals very well put together, i use them with MKS half clips, i bought them after reading all the revues and was not dissapointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chris66
from Philippines
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One of the best classic toe clip pedals around

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These pedals are a copy of the Campagnolo pedals which were popular in the 1960's and 70's. Some road bike riders who are often not serious racers and just enjoy the sport are not comfortable with cleats and have their reflexes built around toe clips. These MKS pedals look the business, have smooth bearings and live up to the reputation of the pedal from which they drew their design. I used a Genetic toe clip with a Christophe strap and that gave me an efficient and easy to use pedal. If you grew up with cleats then it is not for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
windsurfers
from Sussex
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

MKS Sylvan Pedals

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: don't take your foot off
Brilliant service from Evans, arrived next morning .Pedals look great, well made,only problem is when your foot comes off the pedal it turns upside down and then you have to try and get the pedal up the right way, bit difficult when your riding along, I will try and weight one side of the pedal so it turns the correct side up. If I had known this I would have gone for something else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
StueyH
from East Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pedals

PostedOctober 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent apart from you need to keep turning them over when you get on. Would look at other pedals.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stranger
from Kharkov, Ukraine
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Greatest vintage look pedals. Ever.

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, perfect for toeclips
Cons: none
good built, japan-made replica of old school campangolo road pedals, shiny metal (no plastic parts), working smoothly, great look, fair price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bianchistiessex
from Essex
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Very happy.

PostedApril 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Smooth & efficient pedal with one small iritation!! Why is the pedal always upside down after taking your foot off?
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ralph
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Comfortable pedals

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no reflectors fitted
Easy to fit. Good quality. Suitable for broad feet.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Garebo
from North Gloucestershire
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

MKS Sylvan Pedals

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, long lasting
Cons: none really
I am now due to buy another set of these pedals after riding for thousands of miles on the same type and make of pedal. I have found them to be very reliable and free running. The only criticisum that I can make is that the metal where my cleats sit has worn away to such an extent that my foot now slips forward on the pedal. However, considering the number of miles travelled they are exceptional value for the demand placed on them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaydub

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A genuine quality product looks good and functions well - a rarity!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brunodacruz
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great replica of Campagnolo Strada

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these pedals to my vintage road bike restoration for 3 reasons:
1. It's very hard to find a mint Campagnolo Strada pedals by a reasonable price.
2. These are reliable replicas from the Campys. No question!
3. For this price, with so much quality, I think they are a trully bargain!
So, why not to give 5 stars?... Because they're not Campys?... Who cares? These ones look and ride as well as the original ones!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashlar
from Portland
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Super Pedals

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
New Sylvan’s were fitted to the bike together with a set of MKS half clips in about ten minutes and off down the road. The pedals felt right, preformed well and look even better in the flesh than on the web site, a quality produce well worth the price paid.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bianchiboy3939
from East London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Absolutely perfect

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect, particularly with Toe clips due to perfect width and easy to mount traffic mid-pedal with the hold on the foot, Look fantastic, feel fantastic and extremely cheap for what they are.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HalcyonDays
from Sussex
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Worthy Replacement

PostedApril 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these to replace my Sylvan touring pedals of 35 years after the axle spindle sheered, and fancied a change of style. Just the ticket: stylish, lightweight and easy to use. And match very well into my Dawes Sonoran hybrid's silver frame. Haven't been much distance yet so can't comment on comfort over a day's cycling but can't see any reason they should not last another comfortable 35 years.
To answer Mekon, the pedals are designed to take toe clips and a strap and there is a kick-spur you use to bring them up the right way - easy!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mekon
from West London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Bah!

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable, poorly designed
I love everything about these Japanese built pedals other than they are effectively one-sided which means that on one side you are only really pushing on the pedal spindle which is uncomfortable at best and really annoying! The additional moan is that, due to the top-heavy design of the pedal, this is the default position for the pedal and it is the devil's own job to get them round the correct way whilst you're moving - and stationary come to that! Unless I'm missing something really basic, this is a great shame as they're well made, and sturdy.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for MKS Sylvan Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snortiblog
from Heathrow
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good pedals

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought these for commuting as I find clip-ins difficult to use in traffic. Fitted easily, work work. Good basic pedal
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.