Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals

Shimano M324 SPD Pedals

Overall rating:
4.616 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(125 reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 125 reviews
5 Stars
79
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
124 out of 125(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coxie1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Ideal for commuting

PostedMay 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
We now have two pairs of these in the family on our commuting bikes. Ideal for a quick swap of shoes from SPD's to normal outdoor wear. If out shopping I like to wear normal shoes for longer walks but my commute to work each day use SPD's.
Great idea for those days when normal pedals are required.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jimpop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Works OK , but veary heavy

PostedApril 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Lighter pedals available for the same price, but they do seem to be good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdf1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Works fine

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I don't have much experience of clipless pedals, previously used toe clips. These seem to clip in and out fairly easily, although one foot comes out easier than the other. I went for these because you can still use them with non SPD shoes if you use them upside down. Definitely need to practice before you hit heavy traffic.
Once you move to the SPD system you won't go back as it makes pedalling easier, specially going up hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simon123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy but heavy

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Very solid build, but on the heavy side. Quite comfortable flat side. Would recommend for a sporty hybrid bike, not necessary your road bike where you don't want to add unnecessary weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wobb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

First clipped in pedal

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Having just got back into cycling I decided to try a clipped in pedal. The Shimano M324 was a good first buy. It gave me the option to clip in or to use a flat pedal if I wasn't wearing my cycling shoes. It also gave me added security in that if I found clipping in awkward at first I could revert to flat.
If buying in shop the pedals come with multi directional cleats for ease of disconnecting. If you buy online the cleats are not included.
The pedals are as expected well made and good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
almayfield
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Ideal for occasional riders.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these as I didn't want to spend massive amounts of money and wanted a combination pedal. These fitted the bill nicely. Great value for money, really impressed so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sodit
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great in town

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, easy to use
First foray in to clip less pedals, had these for a couple of months and they are excellent, the multi direction cleat helped when I first got them. I was able to just pull in any direction and get my foot released when I forgot and went into panic mode but after a week it was natural to release with a slight turn of the heel. In town the flat side is good when confronted by the unexpected (people not looking where there walking driving etc.) Now looking for another pair for my mountain shed sorry bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlueGirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great for my daily commute and weekend rides

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've already got some of these pedals on my hybrid, and really like them. I bought them initially as a first intro into clipless pedals but have stuck with them as I like the flexibility of having a flat pedal too - handy if i'm just nipping to the shops in my trainers!
They're great for a beginner, as if you don't manage to click in straight away, you still have the flat as a back up - I've found this useful sometimes in heavy city centre traffic too.
The only down side is that as they are only single sided, you sometimes have to flip the pedal to engage the cleat. Not a big problem though.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ursus
Country:Iceland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great pedals

PostedMay 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My first set of clipless pedals. Great value. I love the fact you can hop on the bike and go to the local store without having to wear the cycling shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will25

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Veryy good product, adjustable spd clip perfect fOr commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sean79
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

great product for pro as well as casual cycling

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
great product for pro as well as casual cycling :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichieP
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Really pleased with these good all-rounders

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Have used similar one sided pedals before and have found these very good.
They provide a good stable footing yet allow a little bit of movement whilst clipped in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1988
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Good for touring and everyday

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, work well
Easy to set up, versatile. Multiple ways of getting your feet out makes them very handy for cycling with traffic.
The 'plain' side is great for hopping on your bike down to the shops, etc.
Selecting the side you want is something you get used to straightaway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sw72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for City Commute / Weekend Touring

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these as I have a city commute Mon-Fri and got fed up with the SPD's through the endless traffic lights etc. Now I have the best of both worlds and highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AggisV
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Flat on one side clip on the other

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I like the fact the these are dual side. I have never had SPD so having the option was good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ewski73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent option for Clipless commuting

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If, like me, you are new to Clipless riding and are looking for an entry level pedal which is ideal for the daily commute then you could do a lot worse than buy this product.
Easy to fit and ready to use straight from the box, they even come with a set of hard wearing metal spd cleats. These pedals have literally revolutionised my commute without my having to sacrifice weight, comfort or aesthetic. And the real bonus comes on a Saturday morning when I don't have to strap on my shoes to nip to the shop for a pint of milk.
Overall a very well made entry level product nicely weighted so you don't have to flip the pedal over in order to clip in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weds
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Versatile Pedals

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I wanted something I could use both with SPD shoes, and just normally. These work very well, easy to clip into, while not being particularily heavy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fortywatts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best of both worlds

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These pedals are ace!
I ride to work using the SPD side and to the shops etc using the normal side.
You could niggle that they're a bit heavier than lots of other pedals, but to be honest, if you're using these, you probably aren't going to ride the Tour De France on the bike they're on.
If your bike is your main mode of transport and you want to be able to swap between SPD shoes and normal shoes, get a pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
divebuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

I love these pedals

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am new to cycling and spinning so wanted something that I could use my new shoes on for both activities.
The sales person at Evens was great in explaining all the differences because it really is not clear understanding about the different cleats etc etc.
Anyway these are exactly the same pedals that are on the spinning bikes i use.
They are also great because if I want to use my bike with normal trainers then I have no issue because one side of the pedal is for normal shoes.
These are so easy to put on and use.
I would highly recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wheeliebin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for starters

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As a first time user of SPD pedals these were very easy to install on my mountain bike, I practice a couple of time on my turbo trainer without issues and my first ride went without a hitch. The flat side also offers a great option for commuting so all in all very happy with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>