Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals

Shimano M324 SPD Pedals

Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 131 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
130 out of 131(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
26 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coxie1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Ideal for commuting

PostedMay 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
We now have two pairs of these in the family on our commuting bikes. Ideal for a quick swap of shoes from SPD's to normal outdoor wear. If out shopping I like to wear normal shoes for longer walks but my commute to work each day use SPD's.
Great idea for those days when normal pedals are required.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob1845
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Inexpensive and versatile

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I like the look of these as it means I can swap between regular and riding shoes. The only downside I would say is that when you are not wearing riding shoes, the weight of the clamp turn the pedal and so more often than not you end up stepping on the clamp and not the flat side. Other than this, its a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Richie65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Slightly expensive but being new to cleats thought these would be a good purchase with the clips on one side and regular pedal on other. So far so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OllyP92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for a commuter

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought these as I commute and I wanted a pedal that I could use cleats with and also as a regular pedal which is useful just incase you miss the clip. Also a good pedal for people just starting to just cycling cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
deadone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reliable Pedals

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
got these to replace my m540's and glad i did.
simple to use and work very well.
mine came with the Shimano SH56 SPD Cleats Multi Release which was nice so now i have a spare set of cleats as already have these.
tension adjustment was simple and works.
i also found that when using the Shimano XC61 MTB Shoe i can use both sides, as the cleats on the shoes dont stick out as much.
great for commuting and at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WiseOne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for beginners like me

PostedApril 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value for money, they feel like good quality and reassuringly don't spin around too freely which avoids some accidental flipping of sides.
Good combi pedals for beginner as it's good to have the option to not use cycle trainers if you're just making a quick commute or run to the shops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JESARR22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Best of both

PostedApril 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Commuting to work whilst being a bike enthusiast on the weekend, these pedals allow the best of both worlds without having to constantly change pedals everytime.
From the start, when I was just getting used to them I found them inconvenient as I would find myself on most occasions pedalling on the wrong side (clip side), when wearing ordinary footwear.
However, you get used to it after a week or two of riding and you find techniques to allow for a smoother transition.
On the first trial run on a weekend, I must say I did get my left cleat stuck in the pedal which made for an embarassing hop back home. The simple solution was just to turn the screw on the pedal which loosened the tension - my left cleat is always looser than my right cleat as I always put my left leg down at the lights when commuting.
I hope you find this read useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jimpop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Works OK , but veary heavy

PostedApril 20, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Lighter pedals available for the same price, but they do seem to be good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdf1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Works fine

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I don't have much experience of clipless pedals, previously used toe clips. These seem to clip in and out fairly easily, although one foot comes out easier than the other. I went for these because you can still use them with non SPD shoes if you use them upside down. Definitely need to practice before you hit heavy traffic.
Once you move to the SPD system you won't go back as it makes pedalling easier, specially going up hills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Simon123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy but heavy

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Very solid build, but on the heavy side. Quite comfortable flat side. Would recommend for a sporty hybrid bike, not necessary your road bike where you don't want to add unnecessary weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wobb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

First clipped in pedal

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Having just got back into cycling I decided to try a clipped in pedal. The Shimano M324 was a good first buy. It gave me the option to clip in or to use a flat pedal if I wasn't wearing my cycling shoes. It also gave me added security in that if I found clipping in awkward at first I could revert to flat.
If buying in shop the pedals come with multi directional cleats for ease of disconnecting. If you buy online the cleats are not included.
The pedals are as expected well made and good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
almayfield
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Ideal for occasional riders.

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these as I didn't want to spend massive amounts of money and wanted a combination pedal. These fitted the bill nicely. Great value for money, really impressed so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sodit
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great in town

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, easy to use
First foray in to clip less pedals, had these for a couple of months and they are excellent, the multi direction cleat helped when I first got them. I was able to just pull in any direction and get my foot released when I forgot and went into panic mode but after a week it was natural to release with a slight turn of the heel. In town the flat side is good when confronted by the unexpected (people not looking where there walking driving etc.) Now looking for another pair for my mountain shed sorry bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlueGirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great for my daily commute and weekend rides

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've already got some of these pedals on my hybrid, and really like them. I bought them initially as a first intro into clipless pedals but have stuck with them as I like the flexibility of having a flat pedal too - handy if i'm just nipping to the shops in my trainers!
They're great for a beginner, as if you don't manage to click in straight away, you still have the flat as a back up - I've found this useful sometimes in heavy city centre traffic too.
The only down side is that as they are only single sided, you sometimes have to flip the pedal to engage the cleat. Not a big problem though.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ursus
Country:Iceland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Great pedals

PostedMay 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My first set of clipless pedals. Great value. I love the fact you can hop on the bike and go to the local store without having to wear the cycling shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will25

PostedMay 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Veryy good product, adjustable spd clip perfect fOr commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sean79
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

great product for pro as well as casual cycling

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
great product for pro as well as casual cycling :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichieP
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Really pleased with these good all-rounders

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Have used similar one sided pedals before and have found these very good.
They provide a good stable footing yet allow a little bit of movement whilst clipped in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1988
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Good for touring and everyday

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, work well
Easy to set up, versatile. Multiple ways of getting your feet out makes them very handy for cycling with traffic.
The 'plain' side is great for hopping on your bike down to the shops, etc.
Selecting the side you want is something you get used to straightaway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M324 SPD Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sw72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for City Commute / Weekend Touring

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these as I have a city commute Mon-Fri and got fed up with the SPD's through the endless traffic lights etc. Now I have the best of both worlds and highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>