Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Review 1 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ridersufc
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value cassette

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Too early to know how reliable this will be but so far it has done the job admirably. The requirement to change the cassette came from recommendation by the Evans mechanic during a service . (great value and a good job done by the way)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
parso177
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This product works great for me and easy to install, just make sure you have the right tools
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruffo

good, couldn't fault it

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
got as replacement for 8-speed flat handler GIANT rapid. No complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tashaes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great replacement cassette

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Replaced my 13-26 cassette. No issues at all so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product, easy to fit

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value for money and easy to fit if you have a chain whip and a cassette tool
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
daveeeed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Let's cut to the chase. It would seem that this level of componentry is all you really need. They all do the same job and the level of improvement gained from the relatively large costs of buying higher level groupsets is proportionally mismatched and tiny. In other words I believe that a low end cassette will offer nearly just as much usage as higher ones (if taken care of, ie pedalling style and regular servicing including proper lubrication). Higher groupsets offer tiny gains in weight reduction, whilst being quite expensive to replace. I can go faster than many amateur cyclists on my inexpensive bike with sora, on their ultra light carbons with high end groupsets. My idea is buy a light carbon bike with sora: you still get a lightweight bike overall but the components are inexpensive to replace. Then you don't get all worried about using the thing. Bikes are for using, and relatively 'low end' groupsets are pretty amazing anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GOOD QUAILTY

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
REQUIRED AS THE OLD ONE WAS FROM 2011,GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY REPLACEMENT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuart1975
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does exactly what it should

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
easy to fit and good value
does what it sayd on the tin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scoutteddy

God durubillity for the price

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Compared to the more expensive variants, this one functions well and have a reasonable price tag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godric80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Commuting

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to fit. The range could have been a bit wider, however as I was only after a 8 Shimano 8 speed this all I could find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shawnus

Does what you want

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Replacement cassette after mine was a little worn. It works fine, not much weight different between this and the original on my specialized.
No complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woody86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Le-jog capable

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I changed my chain and cassette just before I embarked on a 10 day lands end john o'groats. I didn't actually pick out this cassette, I just took the recommendation of the mechanic, so it was quite a shock at my first climb to discover I'd gone from 11-28 to 11-23. After the initial shock, I actually preferred the step up toward the higher gearing as it meant hills were over a lot quicker. If I'm honest I would have preferred a 10 at the top end as I felt I was losing out to some of the other guys just on gearing, but can't really fault the cassette for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pete2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
if you want a upgrade this gives you slieghtly higher ratio
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ainsbar
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent replacement part, for my worn cassette

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very pleased with item. Easy to fit with the tool I bought with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paahto

Good standard casette

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is a standard 8-speed cassette. No frills but no drawbacks. Runs smooth as you like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
moofy
from Newcastle upon tyne
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great equipment

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I am really pleased with my cassette and had it fitted at my local bike shop. Good quality and no problems at all with compatibility with my gear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
georgieporgie
from Morley, Leeds, West Yorkshire
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Good with small faults

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This cassette is excellent on slow and fast rides. It has small faults but they are easily avoided. It is sometimes slow to change gear generally down the cogs (up gears). That can be avoided by just putting on somr lube. EASY PEASY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KDunc
from Devon
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Cassette replacement

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Simple replacement on old bike! Part a smidge heavier than original but no adjustment required. Straight forward really, shifting as good as ever.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.