Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
43 out of 43Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Review 1 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Quality item

Posted23 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I got this for a spare wheel for the turbo so I have the same as on my road wheel. Easy to fit quality shimano product as always not a lot more to say really.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted11 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Not only pleased with the product, but also the advice i was given by one of your technicians
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Basic Shimano 8 Spd Cassett

Posted08 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Does the job.
Overpriced (like all cycling parts) for what it is.
Easy to fit yourself, if you have the tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Very good product. Very good price

Posted26 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
As the summary suggests, product and price all very good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The usual good fit and finish as you might expect.

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This cluster gives a good range on my triple ring setup, with 1:1 as bottom ratio. As long as you have the Shimano tool to remove and tighten the unit, you'll have no problems getting it fitted to your hub.
As a straight replacement, you won't need to adjust your rear mechanism at all.
Lasts pretty well, given the commute I do (4,000m/year). Probably good for about 5,000m give or take.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and solid

Posted08 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As expected a sound quality product from Shimano.
Need the right tool to remove the nut which holds the old one on then just slip it off and slip this one on, tighten the nut and away you go. Seems to work just fine and no derailleur adjustment needed from my old Shimmy HG50 with slighty different gear ratios.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Commute cassette

Posted05 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Ideal flat commute cassette,close ratios
Good value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and does the job extremely well.

Posted22 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, easy fitting
Almost a single unit, which makes fitting a doddle. Seems good quality and provides a good ratio of gears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good replacement had to wait for a week before I could pick this up from the store
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

The right gearing for all conditions

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The cassette which is standard on my bike was a 12-25, which for me gave a top gear too high to use and left slightly bigger gaps in the range I used most of the time; this 13-23 solves both issues, allowing me to keep a steady cadence regardless of the conditions. A noticeable improvement for my requirements for minimal cost. It's well worth thinking about the gears you find most useful, and changing your rear cluster to suit your needs. And you can easily have different clusters to suit different conditions, or to adapt to increasing – or decreasing – fitness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Larger Lower Gears With Shimano Enduring Quality

Posted07 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use these on my touring bike, they last about 12,000 miles I think. The range is wider than the usual 11-24 teeth (which I have used), and the extra teeth are not only better for me on the hills (I am old), but easier gear changing because I now have to less triple-clanger shifting. So, better for touring, for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Budget cassette that does the job.

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Replacement due to natural wear, chain first but as per usual cassette also required replacement. No problems with adjustment. or fitting chain slip is now sorted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Typical Shimano quality

Posted26 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Not a lot to say about the gears. They were bought as a direct replacement for my MTB. They were easy to swap out with basic tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Excellent product

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted by Evans as part of a gear service. Great job and very helpful staff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good value, fast delivery. Replaced my 12/26 cassette with this product with no issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Works exactly as it should

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Covered about 200 miles since it was fitted. i work my gears quite hard but have had no problems with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Good

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
To the point, no faffing around so I'm a happy customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Perfect replacement at great value

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was undecided if to replace my road bike or to chance some of the components to the old one. I went for the latter and this new cassette worked brilliantly at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Solid 8-spd cassette

Posted25 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Perfect for all-weather commuter. Heavy-duty, entry-level cassette that does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great 8 speed cassette

Posted07 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
My old chain and cassette were worn, replaced them both and it is like a new bike again, fast and responsive gear changes.
Easy to fit.
It may not be a light or refined as Ultegra, but for an 8 speed cassette on a road bike don't think you will find better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>