Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Overall rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 31Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Review 1 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fred65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Typical Shimano quality

Posted26 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Not a lot to say about the gears. They were bought as a direct replacement for my MTB. They were easy to swap out with basic tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PH69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Excellent product

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted by Evans as part of a gear service. Great job and very helpful staff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pedroTS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good value, fast delivery. Replaced my 12/26 cassette with this product with no issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bagpuss51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Works exactly as it should

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Covered about 200 miles since it was fitted. i work my gears quite hard but have had no problems with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RBDXB
It was bought:Online

Good

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
To the point, no faffing around so I'm a happy customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luca05
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Perfect replacement at great value

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was undecided if to replace my road bike or to chance some of the components to the old one. I went for the latter and this new cassette worked brilliantly at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
rider87
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Solid 8-spd cassette

Posted25 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Perfect for all-weather commuter. Heavy-duty, entry-level cassette that does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Markl2c
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great 8 speed cassette

Posted07 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
My old chain and cassette were worn, replaced them both and it is like a new bike again, fast and responsive gear changes.
Easy to fit.
It may not be a light or refined as Ultegra, but for an 8 speed cassette on a road bike don't think you will find better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigDave2735
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Going the distance

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I opted for this cassette in a 11-28t config to replace a standard 12-25 which came with my winter training bike as alot of my riding is hilly (Holme Moss, Winnats Pass, Snake pass etc). Average distance per ride approx 65miles. 130+miles in and I've had no issues with it so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrdhf66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Qualit component at a good price.

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Quality cassette, fitted new cassette, new chain and cables, feels like a new bike, crisp clean gear changes, makes riding even more enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zebody
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Exactly as advertised

Posted11 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent quality kit prompt delivery.nice clean changes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclenuts
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good cassette with plenty of range

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Good quality cassette which seems to be robust and durable. I bought the 11-32 cassette which gets me up the steepest of hills easily giving me good cadence. A little heavier than my previous HG50 12-25 but superior by far due to the range it can give you and the quality of the shifting. Plus it looks great and is decent value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RJGlasgow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Like for like replacement

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Used this to replace the worn cassette on my old bike after the chain broke and needed replaced. Went on nice and easy and has given the old bike a new lease of life! Just like new and even got it on a price match so excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ridersufc
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value cassette

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Too early to know how reliable this will be but so far it has done the job admirably. The requirement to change the cassette came from recommendation by the Evans mechanic during a service . (great value and a good job done by the way)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
parso177
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great

Posted18 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This product works great for me and easy to install, just make sure you have the right tools
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruffo

good, couldn't fault it

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
got as replacement for 8-speed flat handler GIANT rapid. No complaints
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tashaes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great replacement cassette

Posted19 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Replaced my 13-26 cassette. No issues at all so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product, easy to fit

Posted18 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value for money and easy to fit if you have a chain whip and a cassette tool
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
daveeeed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted15 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Let's cut to the chase. It would seem that this level of componentry is all you really need. They all do the same job and the level of improvement gained from the relatively large costs of buying higher level groupsets is proportionally mismatched and tiny. In other words I believe that a low end cassette will offer nearly just as much usage as higher ones (if taken care of, ie pedalling style and regular servicing including proper lubrication). Higher groupsets offer tiny gains in weight reduction, whilst being quite expensive to replace. I can go faster than many amateur cyclists on my inexpensive bike with sora, on their ultra light carbons with high end groupsets. My idea is buy a light carbon bike with sora: you still get a lightweight bike overall but the components are inexpensive to replace. Then you don't get all worried about using the thing. Bikes are for using, and relatively 'low end' groupsets are pretty amazing anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mark67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GOOD QUAILTY

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
REQUIRED AS THE OLD ONE WAS FROM 2011,GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY REPLACEMENT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>