Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
36 out of 36Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Review 1 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and does the job extremely well.

Posted22 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, easy fitting
Almost a single unit, which makes fitting a doddle. Seems good quality and provides a good ratio of gears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted17 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good replacement had to wait for a week before I could pick this up from the store
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

The right gearing for all conditions

Posted16 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The cassette which is standard on my bike was a 12-25, which for me gave a top gear too high to use and left slightly bigger gaps in the range I used most of the time; this 13-23 solves both issues, allowing me to keep a steady cadence regardless of the conditions. A noticeable improvement for my requirements for minimal cost. It's well worth thinking about the gears you find most useful, and changing your rear cluster to suit your needs. And you can easily have different clusters to suit different conditions, or to adapt to increasing – or decreasing – fitness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Larger Lower Gears With Shimano Enduring Quality

Posted07 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I use these on my touring bike, they last about 12,000 miles I think. The range is wider than the usual 11-24 teeth (which I have used), and the extra teeth are not only better for me on the hills (I am old), but easier gear changing because I now have to less triple-clanger shifting. So, better for touring, for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Budget cassette that does the job.

Posted15 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Replacement due to natural wear, chain first but as per usual cassette also required replacement. No problems with adjustment. or fitting chain slip is now sorted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Typical Shimano quality

Posted26 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Not a lot to say about the gears. They were bought as a direct replacement for my MTB. They were easy to swap out with basic tools.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Excellent product

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted by Evans as part of a gear service. Great job and very helpful staff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good value, fast delivery. Replaced my 12/26 cassette with this product with no issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Works exactly as it should

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Covered about 200 miles since it was fitted. i work my gears quite hard but have had no problems with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Good

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
To the point, no faffing around so I'm a happy customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Perfect replacement at great value

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was undecided if to replace my road bike or to chance some of the components to the old one. I went for the latter and this new cassette worked brilliantly at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Solid 8-spd cassette

Posted25 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Perfect for all-weather commuter. Heavy-duty, entry-level cassette that does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great 8 speed cassette

Posted07 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
My old chain and cassette were worn, replaced them both and it is like a new bike again, fast and responsive gear changes.
Easy to fit.
It may not be a light or refined as Ultegra, but for an 8 speed cassette on a road bike don't think you will find better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Going the distance

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I opted for this cassette in a 11-28t config to replace a standard 12-25 which came with my winter training bike as alot of my riding is hilly (Holme Moss, Winnats Pass, Snake pass etc). Average distance per ride approx 65miles. 130+miles in and I've had no issues with it so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Qualit component at a good price.

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Quality cassette, fitted new cassette, new chain and cables, feels like a new bike, crisp clean gear changes, makes riding even more enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Exactly as advertised

Posted11 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent quality kit prompt delivery.nice clean changes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good cassette with plenty of range

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Good quality cassette which seems to be robust and durable. I bought the 11-32 cassette which gets me up the steepest of hills easily giving me good cadence. A little heavier than my previous HG50 12-25 but superior by far due to the range it can give you and the quality of the shifting. Plus it looks great and is decent value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Like for like replacement

Posted30 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Used this to replace the worn cassette on my old bike after the chain broke and needed replaced. Went on nice and easy and has given the old bike a new lease of life! Just like new and even got it on a price match so excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value cassette

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Too early to know how reliable this will be but so far it has done the job admirably. The requirement to change the cassette came from recommendation by the Evans mechanic during a service . (great value and a good job done by the way)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 8 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great

Posted18 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This product works great for me and easy to install, just make sure you have the right tools
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>