Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed

Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Review 1 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoDJez22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product from Shimano

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
My old Deore cassette, chain and outer 2 chainrings were worn to death so I replaced with the budget 9 speed set up from Shimano.
The guys at the bike shop couldn't get the cassette off, so with the use of my dads bench vice, a chain whip and a Park Tools cassette tool (the Shinamo one I have isn't as good, strangely) it came off easy.
I cant understand why anyone would use anything other than Shimano for their drivetrain as it shifts effortlessly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rich64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this online and arranged to collect from my local store, who were to fit it to my bike. The product arrived quickly and the sevice from Evans was as good as ever. Very happy with the cassette and Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kingston
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality and reasonably priced

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Solid shifting performance, low wear rate and good value for money. A good choice when saving every last gram isn't essential.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vanessa10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

recommended

PostedJune 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Sound and reasonably priced. Fitted at Evans, Brighton, and all working smoothly. Thankyou
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sp3mh

Good for Dawes Super Galaxy

PostedApril 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I have this on my Dawes Super Galaxy 2011, and so far so good. I bought this one as a spare so haven't used it yet.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dsweeney
from Bournemouth
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Cassette

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a great cassette from shimano, i had done a 1000 miles on my original HG50 and the only reason i had to get a new one was that i had to get a new chain and the old cassette would not except it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicmac303
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sound

PostedApril 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Solid, reasonable weight, works properly, why pay more?
Ensure you install the lock-ring REALLY TIGHT so that the smaller cogs are the correct spacing from each other. Once you do that the gear changes are smooth. Not bad at all.
Have used it with Deore, SLX and XT rear derailleurs and they all work fine.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Stephen
from Leeds
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Good bit of kit actually.

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I ordered this cassette to go with my 9spd Tiagra, which unfortunately wasn't compatible, as this is more of a mountain bike cassette.
However, I have an identical cassette on my commuting bike, which after a few months, still rides like a dream.
It is perfect for most amateur cyclists, as it covers a wide range of gear ratios, meaning you will make it up even the most challenging of hills!
Even for the more experienced cyclist it offers a wide range of usable gears.
However, it is heavy.. If you don't mind putting weight on your bike it is perfect.
Just check compatibility.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG50 Cassette 11-32 9 Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
miro
from woking
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

replaced like for like

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
It lasted fair 5000 miles, would more, if I had changed the chain more often and if I had use all rings equally...
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.