Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain

Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain

Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Review 1 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yagil
from Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Chain, but a reusable link would help.

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, no reusable pin
I've been using the 7701 for quite a time before switching to KMC (X9L). Most of my family still use the 7701. The shifting is very good, and it's durable. No complaints here: this chain is rock solid and would do the job, as all Shimano chains do (essentially, they are the same, just different coatings; the 7701 has coating both inside and outside, so should shift slightly better than the rest and resist corrosion better, However, my experience was that the KMC X9L resists corrosion better and is lighter by some 40gm ).
Also, the 7701 comes with 116 links, which is a plus - some chains come with 112, and if you have extreme setup they may not be enough.
Unfortunately, the 7701 doesn't come with a reusable link like KMC and Wipperman do. the connecting pin is intended to be a single-use affair, and this is a significant minus.
Not only is the chain harder to fit than KMC's (it's easy to knock off the pin and then it's really hard to reconnect it), but if you want to take off the chain, clean it and return to the bike, or any other procedure - requiring chain removal - it's slower than the competition and requires a chain tool.
Therefore, while it's otherwise hard to fault this chain, I believe it should get 4 stars and not 5.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

smooth and quiet

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Not much more to say really...it's a chain, but a good one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
moins
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value upgrade

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
A good way to put a bit of Dura Ace on my bike (rest of groupset is 105) and cheap way to look after it. So far running lovely and smooth. Kept the factory lube on it after reading all the forums!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moosemotors
from UK
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality chain

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: more lubing needed
Good replacement chain but needs regular lubing, seems like more than previous chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RoadRunner68

XTR reliability

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very nice shifting chain. Grab one when they are on special.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sevenfour
from Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unchained melody

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Works decently. the package comes with a shimano link pin in the box (look for it carefully when it arrives). runs just fine on the bike too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GMcEwing
from South Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent 9 speed chain

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The 7701 seems to run much smoother than the lower specification 9 speed Shimano chains. Considering the number of moving parts on in the drive train and the number of moving parts on a chain, I will continue to invest in a high spec chain in as a strategy for improving drive train performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebear28
from edinburgh
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

xtr chain

PostedMay 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
best chain for 9spd there is, amazingly durable hasn't rusted (although at this price i clean it ever 5 rides). the coating on the chain is resistant to corrosion and wear. worth it in the long run for durability if you take care of it, doesn't rust as easily as one of my high end s-ram chains. def recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MattL
from Berkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

The best shifting

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, the best shifting
It might not last any longer than a standard HG93 or SRAM equivalent, but boy the shifting with this chain is superb. Makes a massive difference. Get Evans to price match - it should be about £22-£23
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tkaszuba
from Poland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Expensive but worth it

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
No chain suck so far, shifting has never been this smooth
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano 7701 Dura Ace/XTR Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coopstar
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Shimano 7700 Dura Ace/XTR Chain

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, precision gear changing
Cons: Expensive
Excellent chain ~ high quality offers precision gear changing and is worth the money if you get them to price match at £20.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.