Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano HG93 Chain

Shimano HG93 Chain

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG93 Chain
Review 1 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Charliemcr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

reliable

PostedApril 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
having had my last chain snap twice on me when taking the lad out for a recent ride, I wanted something that'd last the distance. early days yet as I've only had it for a couple of weeks, but this feels like a confident purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winza84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great chain

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The standard chain on my Allez snapped, spoke to the sales dept at Evans and they advised on the amount to spend on a decent replacement. I found this which they even price matched and it's been brilliant. Gear changes feel a lot smoother and the ride in general feels better and less clunky.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monty71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Chain

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Changing drivetrain and went for this chain based on other reviews. Only time will tell but so far so good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobrakes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth running,easily fitted

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The Shimano HG93 chain was a great purchase. It's increased the performance of my bike and makes gear changing much smoother and more responsive. It was also easy to fit. Good price and good quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great chain, does what it say's on the tin. Evans cycles did what they said would on there website by giving a price match if the product was found cheaper anywhere else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sar02
from Scotland
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value, Good quality

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Chain arrived quickly and it was clear that it was of the usual high Shimano quality. Design of connector pin was also excellent and leads to easy installation.
Had it out a couple of times in the wet and it always cleans up nicely, the silver finish helping to prevent rusting.
Overall a good quality replacement chain for a Shimano groupset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrYellow

Great chain

PostedApril 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
As always with shimano chains a great product. Would suggest using with KMC chain connector to facilitate easy removal for cleaning rather than the shimano pins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlyingLizard
from Lizard
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Improved shifting...

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I replaced the chain that was fitted to my Globe Pro following a disastrous break which took my rear mech and hanger with it. I am using the chain with a Deore XT rear mech and cannot believe the improvement in shifting it has made. Make sure you are using a good quality chain tool when fitting as I have over pushed the pin in the past using a poor quality tool, this causes an outburst of malcontent language!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zgip40
from Croydon
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

nice &easy

PostedApril 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
not to much very cheap, but the best for me, for streets and marathons
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG93 Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cynical
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
  • Staff

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good value, Good quality
This chain comes in at 305g fully linked, very hard wearing and good overall quality, lasts a long time and a noticeable difference in gear changing.
Recommend for any replacement or upgrade.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.