Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chains or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain

Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain

Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waverider27

Fitted quickly, works well

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Old chain broke in Oxford Street and had this fitted at the nearest Evans. Labour charge felt a bit high but the chain price is good value for money and has been a smooth ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

Posted31 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this as a direct replacement for my aging (and stretched) chain. Haven't put it on yet, but looks good quality. I need to take a couple of links out:- note to self: check with manufacturer as to the number of links your bike takes before ordering! Not really a problem i'm told with the right kit, so off to the bike shop!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smarties
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth and quiet

Posted11 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Got this chain to replace my worn and rusty one.
First impressions were it significantly reduces the chain noise.
Shifting also improves.
Recommended to those looking for mid range upgrades !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tjuven77
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Buy it

Posted24 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It´s a great produkt.
I will buy this chain again!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pipoca
from Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best Purchase Ever

Posted21 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Product of excellent quality.
I recommend buying at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FELINE308
from LARNAKA
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
THE BEST CHAIN I EVER USED AND VERY EASY TO INSTALL
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spadger
from Near Geneva
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

So far so good

Posted28 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Only done a few hundred Kms so perhaps a bit early to tell but so far no problems.
Quiet in operation and easy to fit in conjunction with a SRAM 9 speed gold power link thingy (not included).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stranky

Very satisfied

Posted28 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Chain shifts smoothly and efficiently, easy to install and very reasonably priced. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
LambOfGod2242
from Cambridgeshire
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good chain but rusts easily

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Cons: rusts easily
I brought this chain to replace my old one which was getting on and didnt feel like it was doing the job anymore. It was very easy to install and came ready greased. Even so i sprayed the chain with teflon spray lube, as i have to keep my bike outdoors, and it can get very humid during the night, but small patches of the chain still seem to have rusted. Hopefully this will be able to be rubbed off, but i was still dissapointed with the outcome.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PO8man
from Hampshire
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Shimano HG73 Chain

Posted02 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Upgraded from HG53. Better gear shifting and more sensitive to adjustment. Good value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LIJ1
from Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good chain. Easy to work with. Excellent value if your on a budget
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cynical
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
  • Staff

Posted15 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
With the average weight of 304g (depending on length) this is one of the best value chains for your buck, tighter linking means long last-ability and good ware in those more challenging of conditions.
Great for any upgrade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano HG73 9 Speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cheewachai
from India
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

worth the upgrade

Posted10 December 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Upgraded my chain from HG53 chain. Shifting was noticeably smoother. Good
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.