Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Topeak Bar End n Mirror

Topeak Bar End n Mirror

Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Review 1 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bwanajaime
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Compact, stylish and functional

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Having already bought a product that purported to be 'universal fit ' and wasn't these mirrors actually were. You have to cut the end of your grip to get them on but they are very easy to fit (you just need an allen key).
They have a clever system for adjusting the mirror angle on the vertical plane (5 settings) but you'll need to fit them on the bars at the at the right angle first to ensure you get a clear view of the road. They fold away neatly and, when out, don't look as clumsy and large as other bar end mirrors.
Although the mirror face is relatively small, it still allows you to see traffic beside and behind you before you perform the lifesaver look. A great product with an ingenious design.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marrs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good construction, small mirror gives limited view

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The idea sounds fantastic, right? A discreet rear-view mirror for the city which can be tucked away on quieter roads and trails. However, execution is only a partial success.
The size of bar ends means there is only ever going to be a small mirror housed within. Because of this, your body will often obscure the view behind you so you have to re-adjust your position. You can end up spending a few seconds doing this, a few seconds not looking where you're going!
They are well made, although as others have said the mirror needs some persuading to pop out. Personally, I'm happy with the end bars but the mirrors are a gimmick I rarely use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
AndH
from Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavy, tricky and cold metal

PostedOctober 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
The very first impression when opening the box was that these bars are heavy, probably about half a kilogram. Then, using them in the winter will not be ideal as they are pure cold metal. Last, the mirrors give a poor rear sight. It is hard to get the mirrors out, to get them in the right angle and position, and it is even impossible if you have the bars mounted in the specific angle that I prefer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
menegazzo
from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall good, need some improvements.

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Very good quality. The only thing i noticed is that is very hard to open the mirrors without touching the glass. I had to do some sanding to make opening easier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BrownRhino
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bit of a novelty

PostedApril 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, don't really do the job you're buying them for.
I thought these were a great idea and immediately bought a pair. However, they don't really work that good.
I've tried to position them but I still don't get to see oncoming traffic when the mirror's extended. Unfortunately, you need to be in your proper cycling position to get them right which means you're on the road. It might need some trial and error to get the position right so maybe it's me but they seem a novelty.
As bar ends, they're very comfortable but at this price just to use them as that is a waste of money.
Some more tinkering is in order.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
willx2
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

reasonable bar end, average mirror

PostedApril 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: poor view in mirror
Have been using these for a couple of weeks now. Easy to install, well constructed, fairly reasonable bar ends. Sadly the mirrors are a bit of a gimmick. Despite a fair amount of adjustment, it's difficult (on my setup) to get anything better than a glimpse of what is behind you.
The mirrors can be tweaked but ultimately they can only be adjusted in 2 planes, so if your handlebars are angled in a certain way, the view is poor.
Nice idea though
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Furball
from Rochdale
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got these to aid in the weakness in my neck (Unable to turn too much) The mirrors appear small at first, but once you have the correct angles, you can see everything you need to. The bar ends themselves are comfortable and robust. Make sure you check your blind spots though. Cant find anything wrong with these.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beresford174a
from Birmingham
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Commuter Product

PostedJuly 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent product. The mirrors have added a new safety dimension to my cycle to work. No more looking over my shoulder...then returning to the front to find I'm half way across the road! Would heartily recommend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Bar End n Mirror
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doctor
from Bridtol
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

dual function end bars

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, safety essential
A must have for commuters.
A pair of mirrors to help you to keep an eye on the traffic behind you on the road.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.