Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

Overall rating:
4.184 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
78 out of 87Would you recommend this product to a friend?90%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
82 Questions | 147 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PianoAl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Nice sturdy mudguards

Posted22 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These mudguards seem sturdy and offer good spray protection. There is no reflector on the rear mudguards which could be a product improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
FitterG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fussy assembly - esp. for Ridgeback Element

Posted30 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fussy to assemble
I found the assembly very fussy with dozens of bits that need to be slotted together. I'm surprised SKS hasn't moved to some simpler fittings.
There were particular problems with the Ridgeback Element because the frame slots for the mudguard holder are at the wrong angle (so some bending needed) and the stays do not fit round the front disc brake without extra bolts/washers.
Good when finished but surely there are simpler ways of doing this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
howardb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

A good guard from mud

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
They do exactly what they're meant to. Literally cannot fault them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Karlski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Solid, easy to assemble mudguards

Posted25 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: won't fit all bikes
However, should note that the fittings / screws that come with the mudguards not long enough for the front wheel fitting of a HOY hybrid bike. Will need to source longer screws (or get it fitted in store!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Johny2dogs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Far too fiddly to put together.

Posted11 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult to fit
These mudguards undoubtedly work, and look good when assembled, but they take far too long and are way too fiddly to fit and I became totally exasperated with the process!
The short fittings attaching the mudguards to the mudguard spokes are too short and the thread too far inside the fixing nuts. Seems totally unnecessary to make it so difficult, an experienced home bike mechanic for over 25 years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

SKS Mudguards sleek good looking design

Posted02 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitted to my Fuji cross bike, they enhance the look of the bike, feel and functions - a great add-on and recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TerryM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

This product was has excellent qualities

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product has easy to follow instructions and the quality of the product good. However they were unsuitable for my type of road bike. On explaining this and showing a member of staff, they exchanged them for the SKS Race blades which are now fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, A good commuting mudguard. I've always used SKS and they have never failed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
johnbbbbbbbbbbb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great quality. Leave some time for fitting!

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great quality. Leave some time for fitting! ...or get the shop to do it if your not very handy with an allen key!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
milesandmiles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Best out there

Posted19 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Changed bike to a cyclo cross so needed these wider ones. Like the last (Feegled) ones these are just the job - stainless stays and fixings, do the job of keeping me clean on commute. The last ones had some damage but nothing a bit of gaffer tate couldn't fix. If you don't think about your mudguards they are just the job.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
guveture
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Keeps me dry, but fitting is difficult

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I picked these amongst the few alternatives that are available at this size, and these were also recommended by my local store. They do a good job once fitted on the bike. However fitting is a real nightmare and I would recommend that you have it fitted by the store if you can. I had to remove the so-called "Secu-clips" as these got in the way of the quick-release levers of the tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steeble
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product once fitted

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Instructions for fitting arent the best but once they are on and properly adjusted they do their job well. Stays needed to be altered to fit around disc brakes but just needed a bit of precision bending.
I would recommend leaving the stays uncut unless you have a dremmel. Not the easiest things to cut with a hack saw and when I used a pipe cutter they were flared at the end so couldnt fit the plastic caps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bpme
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great Product

Posted08 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
These are great mudguards, they do a fantastic job of protecting you from the elements, but aren't the most stylish option - which is always difficult anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thehoodedclaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very efficient guards

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These were quite easily installed with the only slightly tricky bit being the measuring and cutting of the stays. Once on they are easily adjusted and provide effective protection from water and mud which will lead to reduced maintenance and associated costs in future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAVE108
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

mudguards on CX

Posted11 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
fitted these to Cannondale CAADX 105 to keep some dirt off no real problems work great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MicMac

Work as they should

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
As with all mudguards they are a little tricky to fit first time, but once they're on they are really stable and make a big difference during winter commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keybo89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great lock!

Posted23 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Brilliant lock at a good price that comes with £800 pounds of insurance! Noisy if you fit it on the rack so I keep in my bag.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
drmysterous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Fiddly to Fit but great when fitted

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
It didn't have all the bolts of the correct sizes I needed and used some cable ties on the front but fitted to my Canondale CAADX. It was quite fiddly to fit, but they really work, no dirty marks up the back and dry feet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarvellousMarv
Country:United Kingdom

Good but...

Posted02 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: missing fitting bolts for front fork
They are well made, great quality, look good, easy to install.
I only have one nick. when installing the front mud guard. the guard comes with a fitting to secure it to the hole in the fork. but there is no bolt/screw. you have to find one and you have to try bodge it with a spare screw/bolt from your tool box.
if you are going to buy these. I'd recommend you buy them in store and try get them to install them for you. if your buying a bike and want guards as well. then get Evans to fit it all before you leave with bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBiscuits
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

sturdy and look great too

Posted01 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, sturdy
had these fitted in store with a new cyclocross bike - I was worried they would look a bit naff and spoil the look of the bike, but they look great. They have pretty solid stays on them and that keeps everything pretty sturdy. Glad I got them fitted in store. I hear it's a tricky job to do it yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>