Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
53 out of 60(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
59 Questions | 120 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handsome42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

A little flimsy but do the job

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: flimsy
Lightweight and look good, these fit and suit my new cyclocross bike well. I haven't had the chance to get properly muddy in them but I haven't had mud and / or water all over me when cycling on my commutes to work.
Generally good for the money, though I would wish that they weren't quite so bendy when adjusting them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ianmac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great mudguards

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These were easy to fit and with the additional mud flap at the bottom of the front guard provide much better protection for my chain than the bike's original.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Liam79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

A nightmare to install - get the shop to do it.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, poor instructions, inadequate parts with product
These mud guards are great once they are on the bike but getting to that stage without experience, spare bolts, tools and a translation guide for the instruction manual is almost impossible.
They came with the bike and should have been put on prior to delivery. When they arrived I figured "How hard can it be." 4 hours later I had managed to get the rear mud guard put together and fixed to the back but the front mud guard simply did not fit the frame in any way.
A look at the how to guide on line and a visit to the store didn't assist and in the end I had to take the bike in the back of a mini down to Chiswick to have the store fit them. Not only did they have to cut and bend the spokes that came with the front mud guard to get it to fit but they also used bolts and nuts that did not come with the original product.
The rear mud guard although I fitted it myself was so tight on the gear mechanism that I couldn't shift the front gears into first.
The instructions for this product and the component parts that it comes with we're terrible.
Now that they are on and have been fitted by the staff who obviously do these every day they are fine and there have been no issues since..
If you buy them - Get the store to fit them.. Trust me!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Void
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Does what it says on the tin.

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Effective rain protection for regular but not mad keen cyclists. Happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Charlieboy1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

A good Combination with The Specialized Tricross

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive
Fitted Specialized Tricross Sport Disc C2 2014 Cyclocross Bike and keep most of the road muck of me, but as with all mud guards spoil the look!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ackie00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Keeps me dry

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
I've had this set of mudguards for a few weeks now, tested them in wet weather and they really seem to do the trick - haven't noticed any splashes from the front or back wheel.
The only minor drawback is that I have large feet, so rarely when turning, my foot may brush against the black plastic part on the front wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Etienne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

A good product but use threadlocker

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: needs threadlocker during assembly
I fitted these mudguards to my daughter's bike. A little fiddly to assemble but once you have put together one stay... The problem is that the stay fixings are prone to coming undone. Having quickly faced this issue after initial careful assembly, I was soon forced to purchase some further SKS fixings. Therefore I would strongly recommend applying a thread locker such as loctite during assembly. Other than that a good product that will fit most bicycles with only minor adjustments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greyseal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good Quality Item

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These were relatively easy to fit (bike has disc brakes.) Had to make a spacer on the front fitting to clear the caliper but other than that fitting was straight forward. Various length of bolts provided so should be able to fit most bikes..
Good quality and robust would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
James000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: can't comment
Cons: don't fit
These were recommended for my Fuji 1.2 sportif and they don't fit due to cables going to the disc brakes. Exchanged for full size ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugsterboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent mudguard well worth the money

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these to fit my cross bike which is now my commuting machine mixing road and off road riding. If you take care and time to fit them these mudguards will be hassle free for a LONG time. All stainless fittings so no rust, very rugged guards. Both the front and rear cover a large area of tyre so mud and water spray is kept to a minimum. What else can I say.. They work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Looks nice & works great

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Installation is a bit time-consuming, but once all the little bolts are finally fixed, it looks very good. I did put a bit of lock-tite on the various bolts as I think that you'll loose them if they happen to rattle loose....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Angela60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Robust well made mudguards.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bit fiddly to fit but the instructions are clear and the end result is good. Relatively expensive but well made and provide good protection. Several sizes available - make sure you get the right one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NinjaCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good functional product, great splash protection.

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These mud guards give great all round protection from water splashing up from the road. Fit my bicycle really well and look great on it.
Well worth getting if you have to ride in all weathers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pde2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

perfect

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, last forever
great to have an old favourite to rely on. my old bikes still have their original guards on (esge back in the day) and still going strong after 30 years. now my girls are growing up they've got proper bikes and fitting the sks is almost like going back in time. the recommendation to cut the stays with a hacksaw is a bit ott (stainless steel?) I just left them full length with plenty of clearance (had to leave the front safety clips off tho)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
EddieM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do the job

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Mudguards may reduce the 'cool' appearance of your expensive road bike, or in my case cyclocross, but to maintain all year round commuter use, they are a godsend. They can also come off quickly enough when the weather improves. Not sure why they are more expensive in black!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woody29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good protection from the elements, tricky to fit

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These are great mudguards just a bit fiddly to fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paddy2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good protection but also light

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Comfortable
Great protection in even the wettest conditions, lightweight and easy to install. Can't fault them really
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aspirin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Do what they should but take a while to fit

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I set aside a whole morning to fit these and I'm glad I did. They are a bit fiddly to get central over the tyre and I used an angle grinder to shorten the stays. Once fitted they do exactly what they should do and protect your feet and front deraileur from road spray. Very pleased with them as they don't seem to rattle or create any additional noise. I have them fitted to my cyclocross bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TH1954
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted SKS's to my flat bar bike for the winter, they are a quality product and good value. pretty straight forward to fit some minor cutting of stays.
the nuts on the securing bolts for the stays are not locking nuts, i applied a small dab of super glue for security.
they have been well tested over the last couple of wet weeks, through foods today, they coped well and kept me dry and mud free, very secure and robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
cyclingisbest
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Time waister.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, bad instructions, too fiddly, bad design
Quick shipping - thank you, looks good, finally fits Ok.
However, i have many negatives about this product.
It took me nearly 3 1/2 hours to fit these, through all the fiddly small parts and poor instructions. The attachment of the metal skewers onto the mudguard was stupidly over complicated, and once you put them on, they would just come off again. I have finally managed to fit them on, let's hope that my faith will be restored in them after spending a high sum for a pair of plastic, ill designed drain pipes.
Although i never write negative reviews, this one had it for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>