Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

Overall rating:
4.13 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
62 out of 69(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
71 Questions | 135 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarvellousMarv
Country:United Kingdom

Good but...

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: missing fitting bolts for front fork
They are well made, great quality, look good, easy to install.
I only have one nick. when installing the front mud guard. the guard comes with a fitting to secure it to the hole in the fork. but there is no bolt/screw. you have to find one and you have to try bodge it with a spare screw/bolt from your tool box.
if you are going to buy these. I'd recommend you buy them in store and try get them to install them for you. if your buying a bike and want guards as well. then get Evans to fit it all before you leave with bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBiscuits
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

sturdy and look great too

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, sturdy
had these fitted in store with a new cyclocross bike - I was worried they would look a bit naff and spoil the look of the bike, but they look great. They have pretty solid stays on them and that keeps everything pretty sturdy. Glad I got them fitted in store. I hear it's a tricky job to do it yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

They work really well

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These mudguards are very well made and they collect the spray that is thrown up from the tires without letting it wash out the sides and get blown onto your feet and shins so you can ride through deep puddles without getting wet feet. This is achieved by having a small lip on the inner edge that directs any excess water back towards the tire. Superb.
The instructions that come with them are badly translated and next to useless. So I went to you tube and watched the Evans video that has been posted there to show one how to fit them. The video was very poor indeed and entirely misleading. The mechanic on the video was talking and working at rocket speed as if he was in a terrible hurry or suffering from a hyperactive disorder. The real problem with the video was that the mechanic failed to mention that the mudguards will need to be fitted without the plastic end caps for the stays because the stays will be too long and they will need to be cut down. Once you have fitted the mudguards and got them perfectly lined up you will need to mark the stays and remove them one side at a time and cut them down with a hack saw and only then can you insert the plastic stay end caps and replace the stays. Do not insert the plastic end caps before this - because they are very hard to get off indeed. In the Evans mechanics dream world none of this is necessary but here in the real world if you follow his instructions you will end up in a very bad place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nrk2010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not a great fit
Not the best fit in the world but should do the job. Its not rained since having them fitted. Bounces of the tyre when on bumpy road but not caused any issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cupquack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Great product for mechanical disc brake bikes

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was recommended this by a cycling enthusiast friend as a great product for a bike with mechanical disc brakes.
They are rugged and really stay put over the wheels, no moving about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nawatt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Excellent mudguards with stylish looks

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The sks mudguards are excellent. They look good and are very easy to fit. They were delivered promptly and well packaged by Evans cycles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

hard work but worth the effort

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
great quality and clever design but they require some tools and a methodological approach, and if that fails, there's always therapy. the fitting kit was lacking two items which required 2 visits to ever-helpful Evans staff at the Plymouth store. The rear guard went on much better with the bike upside down and the wheel out. The front guard needed spacing at the fork mounts (i used 3/16" tap washers) to get the stays around the caliper on the Boardman Team Hybrid. A great piece of advice was to use Typex to act as threadlock on the nuts and bolts.
Despite the time and effort taken, they work really well, look great and are very light.
Minimum tools are allen keys, 8 and 10mm spanners and a hacksaw........and a copy of Zen and the art of mudguard-fitting
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Calvin
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

They do what you expect

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good solid mudguards that fit well on my hybrid and do their job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OriginalPoster

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Got these in silver. Fit and look great on my Jamis Allegro Sport.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handsome42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

A little flimsy but do the job

PostedApril 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: flimsy
Lightweight and look good, these fit and suit my new cyclocross bike well. I haven't had the chance to get properly muddy in them but I haven't had mud and / or water all over me when cycling on my commutes to work.
Generally good for the money, though I would wish that they weren't quite so bendy when adjusting them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ianmac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great mudguards

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These were easy to fit and with the additional mud flap at the bottom of the front guard provide much better protection for my chain than the bike's original.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Liam79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

A nightmare to install - get the shop to do it.

PostedMarch 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, poor instructions, inadequate parts with product
These mud guards are great once they are on the bike but getting to that stage without experience, spare bolts, tools and a translation guide for the instruction manual is almost impossible.
They came with the bike and should have been put on prior to delivery. When they arrived I figured "How hard can it be." 4 hours later I had managed to get the rear mud guard put together and fixed to the back but the front mud guard simply did not fit the frame in any way.
A look at the how to guide on line and a visit to the store didn't assist and in the end I had to take the bike in the back of a mini down to Chiswick to have the store fit them. Not only did they have to cut and bend the spokes that came with the front mud guard to get it to fit but they also used bolts and nuts that did not come with the original product.
The rear mud guard although I fitted it myself was so tight on the gear mechanism that I couldn't shift the front gears into first.
The instructions for this product and the component parts that it comes with we're terrible.
Now that they are on and have been fitted by the staff who obviously do these every day they are fine and there have been no issues since..
If you buy them - Get the store to fit them.. Trust me!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Void
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Does what it says on the tin.

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Effective rain protection for regular but not mad keen cyclists. Happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Charlieboy1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

A good Combination with The Specialized Tricross

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive
Fitted Specialized Tricross Sport Disc C2 2014 Cyclocross Bike and keep most of the road muck of me, but as with all mud guards spoil the look!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ackie00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Keeps me dry

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
I've had this set of mudguards for a few weeks now, tested them in wet weather and they really seem to do the trick - haven't noticed any splashes from the front or back wheel.
The only minor drawback is that I have large feet, so rarely when turning, my foot may brush against the black plastic part on the front wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Etienne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

A good product but use threadlocker

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: needs threadlocker during assembly
I fitted these mudguards to my daughter's bike. A little fiddly to assemble but once you have put together one stay... The problem is that the stay fixings are prone to coming undone. Having quickly faced this issue after initial careful assembly, I was soon forced to purchase some further SKS fixings. Therefore I would strongly recommend applying a thread locker such as loctite during assembly. Other than that a good product that will fit most bicycles with only minor adjustments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greyseal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good Quality Item

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These were relatively easy to fit (bike has disc brakes.) Had to make a spacer on the front fitting to clear the caliper but other than that fitting was straight forward. Various length of bolts provided so should be able to fit most bikes..
Good quality and robust would recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
James000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: can't comment
Cons: don't fit
These were recommended for my Fuji 1.2 sportif and they don't fit due to cables going to the disc brakes. Exchanged for full size ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bugsterboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent mudguard well worth the money

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these to fit my cross bike which is now my commuting machine mixing road and off road riding. If you take care and time to fit them these mudguards will be hassle free for a LONG time. All stainless fittings so no rust, very rugged guards. Both the front and rear cover a large area of tyre so mud and water spray is kept to a minimum. What else can I say.. They work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Looks nice & works great

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Installation is a bit time-consuming, but once all the little bolts are finally fixed, it looks very good. I did put a bit of lock-tite on the various bolts as I think that you'll loose them if they happen to rattle loose....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>