Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 112 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
101 out of 112Would you recommend this product to a friend?90%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
100 Questions | 176 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fiddly fitting mudguards

Posted18 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: difficult to fit
I have no experience using mudguards before, so the caveat to this review is that these are the first I have tried to fit.
I found them quite fiddly to fit and frustrating in that the length of frame could not be altered to the eyelet.
I had to get out a hacksaw and manually adjust (read cut) the length to fit them to the Norco Search I was putting them on.
Now that they are fitted, they work fine, though I have not had any really bad wet weather to seriously test them on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Work well, not too easy to fit

Posted07 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
They do work well when on, however the instructions are terrible and they are a bit fiddly to fit on my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great mudguards

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very good quality mudguards, looks great on the bike and they feel very sturdy and most importantly keep me dry and keep my bike clean. I have fitted these in around 30 minutes but I had to buy a longer bolt for the front mudguard as my bike has disk brakes.
The instructions could be better and they should include longer bolt for disk brakes, other than I'm very happy with my purchase and I would recommend these mudguards to any one who after a quality sturdy mudguards.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Great, but a bit of a fiddle!

Posted02 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: can be a fiddle to fit
Finally fed up with getting covered in muck on my commutes, so bought these for my Sirrus Comp hybrid. They were a bit of a fiddle to fit as I have an oversized FACT fork, but a bit of adjustment and repositioning later, they work a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was bought:Online

Hard work putting on a bike with disc brakes

Posted06 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not easy to fit
I have a Specialize Vita Sports Disc and this would only fit on with a bit of modding. So if you want something that just fits on then look somewhere else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Top quality mudguards

Posted04 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As usual, they were a bit of mission to fit, but I've done it several times previously and it's worth it when they're finally on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

fit well, very happy with them so far

Posted03 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Fitted in store onto Pinacle bike, good fit & very happy with them so far
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good all rounder

Posted28 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Nice, lightweight full mudguard which nicely match my Pinnacle Arkose 4. Evil to fit, so glad the guys at the Castleford branch did this for me gratis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
neat qulity mudguards fitted by evans staff for me when i collected the bike.i would recommend them to be fitted by evans ,it can be a pain doing it yourself
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leicester

Good looking mudguards

Posted26 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Was somewhat hesitant to buy mudguards as I didn't want anything bulky or too noticeable. These mudguards are exactly what I wanted. They are lightweight and look great on my bike - they complement my bike. Not yet used them in wet weather though so can't comment on how well they do what they are supposed to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted14 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Nobody likes mudguards, but they keep you dry during winter and reduce the need for servicing. These proved difficult to fix, (I have disk breaks and the stays needed amending); but staff at my local store included installation for free during my first tune up. The bike is noticeably heavier, but I feel better prepared for winter. They look good - or as good as can be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid and durable

Posted05 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult to setup. need wire cutters.
Fantastic lightweight mudguards. Really happy with these, worth the money and makes and instant difference in the recent rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Robust but fiddly to fit

Posted28 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
I got this set primarily for the rear mudguard. The set comes with all the necessary screws and fittings. However, you may need to cut the struts to size and bend the ends to fit your bike frame better like I did.
It's a fairly fiddly process, so be prepared to spend at least an hour if you want a decent result. Because it is very thin plastic coated aluminium until fixed in place the guards are prone to flexing.
I haven't used the front guard. Instead I have fitted a beavertail because my bike has a Suntour Suspension fork with no eyelets for the metal struts.
The guard works well and prevents mud flicking up from the wheel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Patience needed but worth the effort

Posted27 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: some trial and error during fitment
It's best to set aside half a day and carry out the installation methodically. Bike upside-down, both wheels off. It can be a finicky job so keep a level head and take your time!
The fitting instructions are quite basic and I found myself referring to an Evans Cycles YouTube video as I went along. There are more fittings included than you actually need; that said, as an absolute necessity your bike needs mounting holes on the saddle-stay crosstube, at the bottom of the seat tube and at the top of the front fork. Along with the stay mount holes at either end of the frame, these should all be pretty standard.
It's easier if you mount the stay caps beforehand. The stays must be inserted into these via small holed bolts, which can be difficult to hold in position until loosely secured (at first) with the proper nuts. Once you're happy that the bike wheels turn freely with a roughly equal gap each side, tighten them up. The main fender frame mounts also have some up-and-down adjustment.
I'd recently replaced my 700 x 40 tyres with some 700 x 35s and my previous P50 SKS mudguards suddenly looked a tad too big, so I swapped them for P45s. As before, I found the rear fender to be a good fit with only minor tweaking needed to the stay screws to get it to sit symmetrically. It comes with a rear reflector.
Once again, however, the front one caused problems. Once in situ, the foremost edge fouled the tyre quite considerably. The easiest way to fix this was to re-use my original P50 stays, from which I'd hacksawed approximately 3 cm off the ends and this gave a much better fit.
They do look smart once installed and do exactly what they're designed for. A worthwhile purchase if you're prepared for a bit of trial and error during fitment.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for the commute

Posted21 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Had there fitted on my new Nova Sport, as the bike is going to be used all weathers for the commute. Shop fitted the stays around the disc brakes, and looking good. Now the rain is hammering the streets in Edinburgh, they are doing the job very well too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great mudguard and sturdy too

Posted18 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
mudguard is easy to fit looks good as well does not interfere with the disc brakes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Works well, does what is meant to

Posted16 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, effective
I used these on my cyclocross in the outer hebrides. They worked well.
Evans fitted them for me free of charge. Good service, good price. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

perfect fit

Posted14 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The gaurds compliment my new hoy cycle. Early days yet, but they
seem robust, and very stylish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Slick Look

Posted09 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Looks good on the bike, durable and easy to fix on the bike. Easy to adjust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Does what it says on the tin...

Posted07 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Mudguards - seem to be well made. Bit fiddly to fit on my bike as space was tight and screw holes not where they are normally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>