Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

Overall rating:
4.163 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
82 out of 92Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
86 Questions | 152 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

not that easy to fit

Posted29 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
took long time to put on, had to bye an hack saw to cut the stays to right lengths, a bit fiddly to put on, but look good and work well in the wet..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Practical, as slim as they have to be and do the j

Posted24 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
SKS Mudguards have been fitted to my hybrid Dawes bike, although we'd all prefer to not have mudguards but being practical these work well, do the job, look good, so all in all a good investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

sturdy mudguards

Posted13 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
sturdy mudguards that are not your usual flimsy ones!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Difficult to fit

Posted01 August 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: hard to fit
You need a fair amount of tooling and know how to fit these. Not least the ability to hacksaw the fitting brackets. Maybe all mudgaurds are like this, I don't know but this fitting process means these are still lying on the shed floor and not on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Leicester

Posted30 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Great fit and protection. look really smart. don't clatter. lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Nice sturdy mudguards

Posted22 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
These mudguards seem sturdy and offer good spray protection. There is no reflector on the rear mudguards which could be a product improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fussy assembly - esp. for Ridgeback Element

Posted30 May 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fussy to assemble
I found the assembly very fussy with dozens of bits that need to be slotted together. I'm surprised SKS hasn't moved to some simpler fittings.
There were particular problems with the Ridgeback Element because the frame slots for the mudguard holder are at the wrong angle (so some bending needed) and the stays do not fit round the front disc brake without extra bolts/washers.
Good when finished but surely there are simpler ways of doing this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

A good guard from mud

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
They do exactly what they're meant to. Literally cannot fault them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Solid, easy to assemble mudguards

Posted25 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: won't fit all bikes
However, should note that the fittings / screws that come with the mudguards not long enough for the front wheel fitting of a HOY hybrid bike. Will need to source longer screws (or get it fitted in store!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Far too fiddly to put together.

Posted11 April 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult to fit
These mudguards undoubtedly work, and look good when assembled, but they take far too long and are way too fiddly to fit and I became totally exasperated with the process!
The short fittings attaching the mudguards to the mudguard spokes are too short and the thread too far inside the fixing nuts. Seems totally unnecessary to make it so difficult, an experienced home bike mechanic for over 25 years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

SKS Mudguards sleek good looking design

Posted02 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Fitted to my Fuji cross bike, they enhance the look of the bike, feel and functions - a great add-on and recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

This product was has excellent qualities

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product has easy to follow instructions and the quality of the product good. However they were unsuitable for my type of road bike. On explaining this and showing a member of staff, they exchanged them for the SKS Race blades which are now fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, A good commuting mudguard. I've always used SKS and they have never failed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great quality. Leave some time for fitting!

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great quality. Leave some time for fitting! ...or get the shop to do it if your not very handy with an allen key!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Best out there

Posted19 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Changed bike to a cyclo cross so needed these wider ones. Like the last (Feegled) ones these are just the job - stainless stays and fixings, do the job of keeping me clean on commute. The last ones had some damage but nothing a bit of gaffer tate couldn't fix. If you don't think about your mudguards they are just the job.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Keeps me dry, but fitting is difficult

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I picked these amongst the few alternatives that are available at this size, and these were also recommended by my local store. They do a good job once fitted on the bike. However fitting is a real nightmare and I would recommend that you have it fitted by the store if you can. I had to remove the so-called "Secu-clips" as these got in the way of the quick-release levers of the tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product once fitted

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Instructions for fitting arent the best but once they are on and properly adjusted they do their job well. Stays needed to be altered to fit around disc brakes but just needed a bit of precision bending.
I would recommend leaving the stays uncut unless you have a dremmel. Not the easiest things to cut with a hack saw and when I used a pipe cutter they were flared at the end so couldnt fit the plastic caps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great Product

Posted08 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
These are great mudguards, they do a fantastic job of protecting you from the elements, but aren't the most stylish option - which is always difficult anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very efficient guards

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These were quite easily installed with the only slightly tricky bit being the measuring and cutting of the stays. Once on they are easily adjusted and provide effective protection from water and mud which will lead to reduced maintenance and associated costs in future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

mudguards on CX

Posted11 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
fitted these to Cannondale CAADX 105 to keep some dirt off no real problems work great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>