Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

SKS Mudguards - Wide Road

Overall rating:
4.185 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
74 out of 81(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
77 Questions | 142 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TerryM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

This product was has excellent qualities

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product has easy to follow instructions and the quality of the product good. However they were unsuitable for my type of road bike. On explaining this and showing a member of staff, they exchanged them for the SKS Race blades which are now fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, A good commuting mudguard. I've always used SKS and they have never failed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
johnbbbbbbbbbbb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great quality. Leave some time for fitting!

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great quality. Leave some time for fitting! ...or get the shop to do it if your not very handy with an allen key!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
milesandmiles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Best out there

Posted19 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Changed bike to a cyclo cross so needed these wider ones. Like the last (Feegled) ones these are just the job - stainless stays and fixings, do the job of keeping me clean on commute. The last ones had some damage but nothing a bit of gaffer tate couldn't fix. If you don't think about your mudguards they are just the job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
guveture
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Keeps me dry, but fitting is difficult

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I picked these amongst the few alternatives that are available at this size, and these were also recommended by my local store. They do a good job once fitted on the bike. However fitting is a real nightmare and I would recommend that you have it fitted by the store if you can. I had to remove the so-called "Secu-clips" as these got in the way of the quick-release levers of the tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steeble
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product once fitted

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Instructions for fitting arent the best but once they are on and properly adjusted they do their job well. Stays needed to be altered to fit around disc brakes but just needed a bit of precision bending.
I would recommend leaving the stays uncut unless you have a dremmel. Not the easiest things to cut with a hack saw and when I used a pipe cutter they were flared at the end so couldnt fit the plastic caps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bpme
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great Product

Posted08 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
These are great mudguards, they do a fantastic job of protecting you from the elements, but aren't the most stylish option - which is always difficult anyway!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thehoodedclaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very efficient guards

Posted04 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These were quite easily installed with the only slightly tricky bit being the measuring and cutting of the stays. Once on they are easily adjusted and provide effective protection from water and mud which will lead to reduced maintenance and associated costs in future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DAVE108
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

mudguards on CX

Posted11 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
fitted these to Cannondale CAADX 105 to keep some dirt off no real problems work great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MicMac

Work as they should

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
As with all mudguards they are a little tricky to fit first time, but once they're on they are really stable and make a big difference during winter commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keybo89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great lock!

Posted23 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Brilliant lock at a good price that comes with £800 pounds of insurance! Noisy if you fit it on the rack so I keep in my bag.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
drmysterous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Fiddly to Fit but great when fitted

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
It didn't have all the bolts of the correct sizes I needed and used some cable ties on the front but fitted to my Canondale CAADX. It was quite fiddly to fit, but they really work, no dirty marks up the back and dry feet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarvellousMarv
Country:United Kingdom

Good but...

Posted02 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: missing fitting bolts for front fork
They are well made, great quality, look good, easy to install.
I only have one nick. when installing the front mud guard. the guard comes with a fitting to secure it to the hole in the fork. but there is no bolt/screw. you have to find one and you have to try bodge it with a spare screw/bolt from your tool box.
if you are going to buy these. I'd recommend you buy them in store and try get them to install them for you. if your buying a bike and want guards as well. then get Evans to fit it all before you leave with bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBiscuits
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

sturdy and look great too

Posted01 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, sturdy
had these fitted in store with a new cyclocross bike - I was worried they would look a bit naff and spoil the look of the bike, but they look great. They have pretty solid stays on them and that keeps everything pretty sturdy. Glad I got them fitted in store. I hear it's a tricky job to do it yourself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

They work really well

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
These mudguards are very well made and they collect the spray that is thrown up from the tires without letting it wash out the sides and get blown onto your feet and shins so you can ride through deep puddles without getting wet feet. This is achieved by having a small lip on the inner edge that directs any excess water back towards the tire. Superb.
The instructions that come with them are badly translated and next to useless. So I went to you tube and watched the Evans video that has been posted there to show one how to fit them. The video was very poor indeed and entirely misleading. The mechanic on the video was talking and working at rocket speed as if he was in a terrible hurry or suffering from a hyperactive disorder. The real problem with the video was that the mechanic failed to mention that the mudguards will need to be fitted without the plastic end caps for the stays because the stays will be too long and they will need to be cut down. Once you have fitted the mudguards and got them perfectly lined up you will need to mark the stays and remove them one side at a time and cut them down with a hack saw and only then can you insert the plastic stay end caps and replace the stays. Do not insert the plastic end caps before this - because they are very hard to get off indeed. In the Evans mechanics dream world none of this is necessary but here in the real world if you follow his instructions you will end up in a very bad place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nrk2010
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: not a great fit
Not the best fit in the world but should do the job. Its not rained since having them fitted. Bounces of the tyre when on bumpy road but not caused any issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cupquack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Great product for mechanical disc brake bikes

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was recommended this by a cycling enthusiast friend as a great product for a bike with mechanical disc brakes.
They are rugged and really stay put over the wheels, no moving about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nawatt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Excellent mudguards with stylish looks

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The sks mudguards are excellent. They look good and are very easy to fit. They were delivered promptly and well packaged by Evans cycles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

hard work but worth the effort

Posted04 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
great quality and clever design but they require some tools and a methodological approach, and if that fails, there's always therapy. the fitting kit was lacking two items which required 2 visits to ever-helpful Evans staff at the Plymouth store. The rear guard went on much better with the bike upside down and the wheel out. The front guard needed spacing at the fork mounts (i used 3/16" tap washers) to get the stays around the caliper on the Boardman Team Hybrid. A great piece of advice was to use Typex to act as threadlock on the nuts and bolts.
Despite the time and effort taken, they work really well, look great and are very light.
Minimum tools are allen keys, 8 and 10mm spanners and a hacksaw........and a copy of Zen and the art of mudguard-fitting
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Wide Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Calvin
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

They do what you expect

Posted02 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good solid mudguards that fit well on my hybrid and do their job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>