Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

This guard will fit 20-28mm tyres.
Overall rating:
4.425 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
73 out of 80(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 136 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul55T
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
They keep spray under control and I don't get a muddy line down my back like I did without them. It took me a while to adjust them properly but they now fit well and don't rattle so it was worth the effort. If I have to replace them, in the future, I think it will be a lot easier having already done it once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trekky75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works a treat and looks good

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really impressed with these mud guards. Work as you would expect and keep spray down to a minimum. Evans priced matched with Wiggle and fitted them also. Great service from the cheltenham branch will be doing more shopping with these guys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Husky610
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and excellent at protecting the rider

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had Evans fit these to a new Croix to Fer I bought from them. They are of good quality and provide excellent protection from rain being sprayed up from the tyres. It is fairly easy to knock the guards so that they slightly rub on the tyres but it is also easy enough to get them back in line so that this is eliminated.
IMO these are good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
george66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Top knotch mudguards.

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A Top quality set of front and rear guards , good design with the benifit of plyable stays making fine adjustment easier , robust, light, no rattles a must for winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Obregon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fiddly to fit but worth the effort. Don't rattle.

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: poor instructions
Fiddly to fit and not helped by instructions which are very poor. Allow a couple of hours to fathom it all out, fit, cut stays and adjust. Spend the time and you can achieve a very neat, close fitting mudguard. Particularly pleased that they don't rattle over poor roads, - you won't notice they are there apart from not getting the back of your jersey dirty and keeping your butt dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sundayrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent quality mudguards

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fitting time
these are top quality mudguards, well made and good quality fittings.
The only slight downside is that they take a while to fit if you have to cut
the stainless steel stays to size - took me just over an hour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivan07
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

look great at do a good job

Posted18 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for full lenth mudguards and these have been recommended and fitted by Evanscycles staff. They look great and do a good job of keepeng my feet and my back from muddy splashes as well as protecting essential parts of my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flatcap
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Fiddly to fit

Posted01 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: fiddly
My advice would be to ask the shop to fit them, but generally good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KalamityKen

Replacement Mudguards

Posted27 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought these to replace the previous SKS items which unexpectedly broke after some varied use on my Hybrid. Not the last word in the fashion stakes but do a good job of keeping mud & dirt away from components and the rider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NODO

extremely difficult to fit

Posted14 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: very difficult to fit
Well made with adequate fittings but took me over 2 hours to fit due to small complicated connections. impossible to force the connections to allow enough thread for the small nuts as fingers then in position where nut needed to be to thread. Extremely frustrating and surely unnecessary!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikesl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good mudguards

Posted28 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These fit my Pinnacle Dolomite 4 perfectly. They look and feel good quality. The black and stainless steel of the guards and stays actually enhance the appearance of the bike.
They also keep the rain water and muck off very well !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rakpa98
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Sks mudguard

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install and look great and durable........
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SiBorg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good quality mudgauards

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These are good quality mudguards and do an effective job in keeping road surface water off the lower cycle frame and also prevents a wet lower back and bottom and consequential dirt staining of clothes. They are a little tricky to fit and may require some trimming of the stays, so careful reading of the instructions is advised before commencing the fitting. Once fitted they look good and are fit for purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mecael
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Basic Mudguards - Do the job

Posted27 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I mainly commute so there isn't much mud on the roads but it also hasn't rained much so I expect this to get worse.
Not the best looking but will do the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taffmister
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, but a bit fiddly to fit

Posted20 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult to fit
Even though other reviews had stated easy to fit, it would have been better if two people fitted them. In the end it's just patience and 3 hands that are required. The product itself is fantastic, really lightweight and protects you and the bike from mud and excess water. They also look good on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zippyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good tyre coverage

Posted25 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I got these fitted to my new bike and they have kept me dry ever since. I did have to trim the front guard a little as it was too wide for my liking and occasionally when cornering I have occasionally got my foot caught on the front guard but overall I am very happy with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Placidpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Perfect fit narrow profile mudguards

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, close fit
Great mudguards! The fit is nice and close to the tyre but easy to adjust for even clearance round the wheel. Twin stays mean they don't vibrate on rough roads and are a solid fixing. These replaced single stay mudguards that bounced around then broke in two after a couple of months. The new ones are a far superior design with great quality materials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LancashireSteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Excellent product

Posted12 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have tried other brands but these are by far the most sturdy and keep you dry. They were also fitted free by my local store which was a great bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Nice looking and quite light

Posted17 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
They look quite good though would benefit from an end cap on the front mudguard like their larger cousins enjoy. Aside from that they do a good job and look quite nice and are easy to fit.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gingerbloke
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Keep my backside and your face clean.

Posted27 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Take a little while to set up, but now in place, rigid and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>