Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

This guard will fit 20-28mm tyres.
Overall rating:
4.377 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
63 out of 69(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
60 Questions | 124 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rakpa98
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Sks mudguard

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install and look great and durable........
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SiBorg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good quality mudgauards

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These are good quality mudguards and do an effective job in keeping road surface water off the lower cycle frame and also prevents a wet lower back and bottom and consequential dirt staining of clothes. They are a little tricky to fit and may require some trimming of the stays, so careful reading of the instructions is advised before commencing the fitting. Once fitted they look good and are fit for purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mecael
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Basic Mudguards - Do the job

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I mainly commute so there isn't much mud on the roads but it also hasn't rained much so I expect this to get worse.
Not the best looking but will do the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taffmister
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, but a bit fiddly to fit

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult to fit
Even though other reviews had stated easy to fit, it would have been better if two people fitted them. In the end it's just patience and 3 hands that are required. The product itself is fantastic, really lightweight and protects you and the bike from mud and excess water. They also look good on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zippyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good tyre coverage

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I got these fitted to my new bike and they have kept me dry ever since. I did have to trim the front guard a little as it was too wide for my liking and occasionally when cornering I have occasionally got my foot caught on the front guard but overall I am very happy with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Placidpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Perfect fit narrow profile mudguards

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, close fit
Great mudguards! The fit is nice and close to the tyre but easy to adjust for even clearance round the wheel. Twin stays mean they don't vibrate on rough roads and are a solid fixing. These replaced single stay mudguards that bounced around then broke in two after a couple of months. The new ones are a far superior design with great quality materials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LancashireSteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Excellent product

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have tried other brands but these are by far the most sturdy and keep you dry. They were also fitted free by my local store which was a great bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Nice looking and quite light

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
They look quite good though would benefit from an end cap on the front mudguard like their larger cousins enjoy. Aside from that they do a good job and look quite nice and are easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gingerbloke
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Keep my backside and your face clean.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Take a little while to set up, but now in place, rigid and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
staff2096
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent finished product. Fitting is difficult.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: tricky to fit
Fitting could be summarised by 'Keep calm and carry on'. SKS don't seem to have woken up to the fitting of AK brakes the standard these days rather than through bolt. On a close clearance like my Dave Yates - Audax bike with short reach AK brakes the front brake bridge has to go in front of the fork. So it needs careful bending to get maximum clearance but not foul the headset. Rear fitting is much much easier. The plastic stay clips are also hard to fit but neat when on and have more adjustment than it first appears. Make sure you have a good sharp saw blade handy to cut the stays to length.
End result is a nice rigid pair of mudguards no rattles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SammyM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

look good, but not a 5 minute job to fit

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Fitted these to my Sirrus comp, look great when eventually fitted , but really awkward job to get a good fit.
I was fortunate enough to have an angle grinder to cut the stays to length my hacksaw blades would not touch them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

This is a well engineered quality product

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought a set of SKS mudguards to spruce up my 30 year old Dawes Super Galaxy tourer in preparation for its retirement to southern Spain. The SKS come with quality stainless, fully adjustable, fittings that make for a perfect fit. My bike hasn't been so happy since I first rode it new, and now looks dazzling in the Spanish sun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Trixicle

alright but a bit annoying to fit right

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Takes a long time to fit right so they don't rub on the wheel. They need adjusting quite regularly. They do provide mud protection though and are a cheaper option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mickey99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Very pleased with my purchase

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Had to replace a broken rear mudguard. These were a perfect fit and easy to fit. The instructions were very clear and concise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easyrider64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fit for purpose.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Does exactly what it says on the tin, and is excellent value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Commuter10

Very effective

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These are sturdy and effective mudguards - very little spray back up from the road, even in very wet conditions. Well worth the investment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mule10UK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Does the job

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Had these fitted to a Pinnacle One and the the weather in the south east has tested them to the max recently. No spray whatsoever no matter how fast I go.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian262
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Well made, and they do just what they say they do

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: can be a little fiddly to fit
I bought these to go with a Specialized Hybrid running 700c * 28 tyres. The folks at Evans fitted them so I didn't have to worry about this myself - my previous experience is that fitting, whilst not technically difficult, can be fiddly, especially if you have a rack or disc brakes.
Once on they are lightweight and very effective on wet days at keeping road muck off of your back; away from the bottom bracket, hubs, gears etc.; and also away from people following you.
Strongly recommended for anyone doing regular wet weather riding/commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skinners
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very good

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good mudguards took quite a wile to fit but now they are on they will last for ages. Would recommend getting them fitted at the shop to save hassle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigSmokeCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what a mudguard should!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, works
I've tried a few mudguards in the past that were more for mountain biking and they just aren't as good at keeping you clean and dry on a commute as a full guard like this.
This particular one is light and very slim, it covers the wheel without adding to the bulk of the bike at all and I always arrive at work without a horrible brown streak up my back!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>