Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

This guard will fit 20-28mm tyres.
Overall rating:
4.365 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
57 out of 63(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LancashireSteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Excellent product

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have tried other brands but these are by far the most sturdy and keep you dry. They were also fitted free by my local store which was a great bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Nice looking and quite light

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
They look quite good though would benefit from an end cap on the front mudguard like their larger cousins enjoy. Aside from that they do a good job and look quite nice and are easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gingerbloke
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Keep my backside and your face clean.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Take a little while to set up, but now in place, rigid and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
staff2096
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent finished product. Fitting is difficult.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: tricky to fit
Fitting could be summarised by 'Keep calm and carry on'. SKS don't seem to have woken up to the fitting of AK brakes the standard these days rather than through bolt. On a close clearance like my Dave Yates - Audax bike with short reach AK brakes the front brake bridge has to go in front of the fork. So it needs careful bending to get maximum clearance but not foul the headset. Rear fitting is much much easier. The plastic stay clips are also hard to fit but neat when on and have more adjustment than it first appears. Make sure you have a good sharp saw blade handy to cut the stays to length.
End result is a nice rigid pair of mudguards no rattles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SammyM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

look good, but not a 5 minute job to fit

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Fitted these to my Sirrus comp, look great when eventually fitted , but really awkward job to get a good fit.
I was fortunate enough to have an angle grinder to cut the stays to length my hacksaw blades would not touch them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

This is a well engineered quality product

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought a set of SKS mudguards to spruce up my 30 year old Dawes Super Galaxy tourer in preparation for its retirement to southern Spain. The SKS come with quality stainless, fully adjustable, fittings that make for a perfect fit. My bike hasn't been so happy since I first rode it new, and now looks dazzling in the Spanish sun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Trixicle

alright but a bit annoying to fit right

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Takes a long time to fit right so they don't rub on the wheel. They need adjusting quite regularly. They do provide mud protection though and are a cheaper option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mickey99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Very pleased with my purchase

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Had to replace a broken rear mudguard. These were a perfect fit and easy to fit. The instructions were very clear and concise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easyrider64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fit for purpose.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Does exactly what it says on the tin, and is excellent value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Commuter10

Very effective

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
These are sturdy and effective mudguards - very little spray back up from the road, even in very wet conditions. Well worth the investment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mule10UK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Does the job

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Had these fitted to a Pinnacle One and the the weather in the south east has tested them to the max recently. No spray whatsoever no matter how fast I go.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian262
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Well made, and they do just what they say they do

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: can be a little fiddly to fit
I bought these to go with a Specialized Hybrid running 700c * 28 tyres. The folks at Evans fitted them so I didn't have to worry about this myself - my previous experience is that fitting, whilst not technically difficult, can be fiddly, especially if you have a rack or disc brakes.
Once on they are lightweight and very effective on wet days at keeping road muck off of your back; away from the bottom bracket, hubs, gears etc.; and also away from people following you.
Strongly recommended for anyone doing regular wet weather riding/commuting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skinners
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Very good

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good mudguards took quite a wile to fit but now they are on they will last for ages. Would recommend getting them fitted at the shop to save hassle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigSmokeCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what a mudguard should!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, works
I've tried a few mudguards in the past that were more for mountain biking and they just aren't as good at keeping you clean and dry on a commute as a full guard like this.
This particular one is light and very slim, it covers the wheel without adding to the bulk of the bike at all and I always arrive at work without a horrible brown streak up my back!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
grump95
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Absolute pain to fit !

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: pain to fit, improvements make fitting more difficult
Have used SKS previously (ESGE) good quality and relatively easy to fit,however the 'improved' caps for metal stays means you have to cut prior to fitting whereas in the past you could fit - adjust then cut precisely to size in situ - fit plastic caps then jobs a good un .
Unable to fit front hanger c/o recessed brake bolt (common an most modern bikes ) if you move to front of fork bridge hanger rubs on lower headset race .I object to cutting down or filing something I paid £34 for at risk of still needing to return .Also annoyed cheaper in sale only days after purchasing at full price!
Shame c/o overall still seem good quality and would look quite sleek on bike (for a mudguard!)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
randomNickname

Not suitable for my road bike

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Spent a long time trying to fit this to my Specialized Allez (2013), it's missing the attachment points for the front guard and one for the rear leaving the rear guard loose. I've since brought some Road Racer Mudguards which were simple to install and fit the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fentiger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall very pleased

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought these as I wanted mudguards which fitted properly and did not make any noise from rubbing, rattling etc.
Took over an hour to fit, and important to measure twice, cut once! very pleased with final result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yeulers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Complete protection and very light

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Would recommend to protect you and your bike! Easy to fit and do not really notice they are on until it rains when you stay so much drier in town than with clip on guards or no protection at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Millsy1980
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Great winter mudguards for a road bike

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Great mudguards for a road bike capable of taking 23cc or 25cc tyres
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
timadgie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

nice fit

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
bit fiddiley to get a good fit but take your time and you will not get wet with these. great kit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>