Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

This guard will fit 20-28mm tyres.
Overall rating:
4.472 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
82 out of 89(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
71 Questions | 143 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisFromBexley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good looking and keep your feet dry

Posted29 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed these for my Boardman Team and although a little time comsuming to fit, they look good and work well. Needed to bend the front stay around the disc brake but this was not too difficult. Once fitted there was much less water sprayed up from the front wheel and keeps the back bag cleaner. Well worth fitting during the winter months
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
puffpanter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

practical quality

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Time consuming but not a hard fit on a boardman hybrid with discs.Rear rack lower spacers meant straight fit on rear and just one stay to bend on front to clear caliper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikeyBill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Good, rattle free, lightweight guards

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fitted these to my new Cannondale Synapse 8 Sora for winter riding protection. They are well made and strong, and quite easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CardiffGa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Would be great....

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: difficult sizing / fitting
These mud guards are great quality, lightweight and the have already saved my lower limbs from being pretty wet (when paired with overshoes).
I have a 2008 spec sirrus and this is the first set of full guards I have had. The bike is running with 700x28 gatorskins which should be fine. Front wheel is fine but the back is really awkward, particularly because of the clamp derailleur on the seat tube. The clearance is really squeezed here and it has an impact, the wheel can spin unobstructed 'without load' but when riding the bike the tyre rubs the guard. Might try to cut a piece out, very annoying though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1827cmf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Lightweight and great coverage

Posted21 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for my wife's Cannondale Synapse. They fit really well, lightweight and provide excellent protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alesupper
Country:United Kingdom

The Best

Posted08 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
SKS Chromoplastics are the best mudguards on the market in my opinion. I have put them on several bikes and never had an issue.
Another thing worth mentioning is that I have fitted these to two bikes (one hybrid and one CX) that have disc brakes. You have to bend the metal V-stays around the disc calipers but it's not hard to do. I just used a pair of pliers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kermit66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and sturdy

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: dont fit a giant anyroad
Great mudguards but I had to return them as they do not fit my Giant Anyroad. I have a pair on my Ridgeback and they have proved very effective and robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DH44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Tried and tested

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for a 60yr old bike I have re-built. Easy to fit and look fantastic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LairdLondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Sturdy and effective

Posted20 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Product is secure to frame and does not jiggle about as seen on other bicycles.
Light enough for the casual rider as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul55T
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
They keep spray under control and I don't get a muddy line down my back like I did without them. It took me a while to adjust them properly but they now fit well and don't rattle so it was worth the effort. If I have to replace them, in the future, I think it will be a lot easier having already done it once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trekky75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works a treat and looks good

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really impressed with these mud guards. Work as you would expect and keep spray down to a minimum. Evans priced matched with Wiggle and fitted them also. Great service from the cheltenham branch will be doing more shopping with these guys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Husky610
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and excellent at protecting the rider

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had Evans fit these to a new Croix to Fer I bought from them. They are of good quality and provide excellent protection from rain being sprayed up from the tyres. It is fairly easy to knock the guards so that they slightly rub on the tyres but it is also easy enough to get them back in line so that this is eliminated.
IMO these are good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
george66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Top knotch mudguards.

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A Top quality set of front and rear guards , good design with the benifit of plyable stays making fine adjustment easier , robust, light, no rattles a must for winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Obregon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fiddly to fit but worth the effort. Don't rattle.

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: poor instructions
Fiddly to fit and not helped by instructions which are very poor. Allow a couple of hours to fathom it all out, fit, cut stays and adjust. Spend the time and you can achieve a very neat, close fitting mudguard. Particularly pleased that they don't rattle over poor roads, - you won't notice they are there apart from not getting the back of your jersey dirty and keeping your butt dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sundayrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent quality mudguards

Posted21 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fitting time
these are top quality mudguards, well made and good quality fittings.
The only slight downside is that they take a while to fit if you have to cut
the stainless steel stays to size - took me just over an hour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivan07
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

look great at do a good job

Posted18 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for full lenth mudguards and these have been recommended and fitted by Evanscycles staff. They look great and do a good job of keepeng my feet and my back from muddy splashes as well as protecting essential parts of my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flatcap
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Fiddly to fit

Posted01 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: fiddly
My advice would be to ask the shop to fit them, but generally good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KalamityKen

Replacement Mudguards

Posted27 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought these to replace the previous SKS items which unexpectedly broke after some varied use on my Hybrid. Not the last word in the fashion stakes but do a good job of keeping mud & dirt away from components and the rider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NODO

extremely difficult to fit

Posted14 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: very difficult to fit
Well made with adequate fittings but took me over 2 hours to fit due to small complicated connections. impossible to force the connections to allow enough thread for the small nuts as fingers then in position where nut needed to be to thread. Extremely frustrating and surely unnecessary!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikesl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good mudguards

Posted28 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These fit my Pinnacle Dolomite 4 perfectly. They look and feel good quality. The black and stainless steel of the guards and stays actually enhance the appearance of the bike.
They also keep the rain water and muck off very well !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>