Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

This guard will fit 20-28mm tyres.
Overall rating:
4.442 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
87 out of 95Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
85 Questions | 157 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great guard

Posted09 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Quality doesn't get better than this for the price. A good fit and easy to adjust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Strong well-made mudguards

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
These mud guards are easy to fit with a good set of fixings to enable fitting to various bike designs. They seem strong and are easily adjusted to neatly fit the bike, and work well once fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nothing new about these, just refined.

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Nice bits, like the quick release for the front mudguard, ought to be mandatory.
Plastic bridge for the rear mudguard a bit bulky with clearance problems, which was overcome when reverted to the traditional and brittle steel one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Did not fit a mudguard enabled bike

Posted04 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: required file to fite at the front
Bought these for my new Genesis Equilibrium "mudguard enabled" bike with long drop brakes and 28C tyres. However, Evans were unable to fit due to unsufficient clearance on the front mudguard. Required liberal use of a file to achieve a fit though quality of the product was good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Convential Mudguards

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These mudguards were fitted by Evans Cycles in Chelmsford, Essex for a new Fuji Sportif road bike with disc brakes.
I have had to remove the mudguards as I had a race coming up, and have found that the brackets holding the mudguards on have been cut too short, so this causes the gap between the tyre and mudguard to be a very minimum. This can lead to the mudguard rubbing against the tyre, which then does not leave a large enough gap for debris to be removed which may stick to the wheel when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Good mudguards / very fiddly to fit

Posted01 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: fiddly to fit
This is a well made solid product. Does the job well once fitted.
The spokes are really difficult to fit in into the plastic junction with the gromit screws to tighten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good looking and keep your feet dry

Posted29 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed these for my Boardman Team and although a little time comsuming to fit, they look good and work well. Needed to bend the front stay around the disc brake but this was not too difficult. Once fitted there was much less water sprayed up from the front wheel and keeps the back bag cleaner. Well worth fitting during the winter months
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

practical quality

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Time consuming but not a hard fit on a boardman hybrid with discs.Rear rack lower spacers meant straight fit on rear and just one stay to bend on front to clear caliper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Good, rattle free, lightweight guards

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fitted these to my new Cannondale Synapse 8 Sora for winter riding protection. They are well made and strong, and quite easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Would be great....

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: difficult sizing / fitting
These mud guards are great quality, lightweight and the have already saved my lower limbs from being pretty wet (when paired with overshoes).
I have a 2008 spec sirrus and this is the first set of full guards I have had. The bike is running with 700x28 gatorskins which should be fine. Front wheel is fine but the back is really awkward, particularly because of the clamp derailleur on the seat tube. The clearance is really squeezed here and it has an impact, the wheel can spin unobstructed 'without load' but when riding the bike the tyre rubs the guard. Might try to cut a piece out, very annoying though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Lightweight and great coverage

Posted21 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for my wife's Cannondale Synapse. They fit really well, lightweight and provide excellent protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

The Best

Posted08 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
SKS Chromoplastics are the best mudguards on the market in my opinion. I have put them on several bikes and never had an issue.
Another thing worth mentioning is that I have fitted these to two bikes (one hybrid and one CX) that have disc brakes. You have to bend the metal V-stays around the disc calipers but it's not hard to do. I just used a pair of pliers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and sturdy

Posted03 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: dont fit a giant anyroad
Great mudguards but I had to return them as they do not fit my Giant Anyroad. I have a pair on my Ridgeback and they have proved very effective and robust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Tried and tested

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these for a 60yr old bike I have re-built. Easy to fit and look fantastic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Sturdy and effective

Posted20 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Product is secure to frame and does not jiggle about as seen on other bicycles.
Light enough for the casual rider as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
They keep spray under control and I don't get a muddy line down my back like I did without them. It took me a while to adjust them properly but they now fit well and don't rattle so it was worth the effort. If I have to replace them, in the future, I think it will be a lot easier having already done it once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works a treat and looks good

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Really impressed with these mud guards. Work as you would expect and keep spray down to a minimum. Evans priced matched with Wiggle and fitted them also. Great service from the cheltenham branch will be doing more shopping with these guys.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and excellent at protecting the rider

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I had Evans fit these to a new Croix to Fer I bought from them. They are of good quality and provide excellent protection from rain being sprayed up from the tyres. It is fairly easy to knock the guards so that they slightly rub on the tyres but it is also easy enough to get them back in line so that this is eliminated.
IMO these are good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Top knotch mudguards.

Posted14 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
A Top quality set of front and rear guards , good design with the benifit of plyable stays making fine adjustment easier , robust, light, no rattles a must for winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fiddly to fit but worth the effort. Don't rattle.

Posted30 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: poor instructions
Fiddly to fit and not helped by instructions which are very poor. Allow a couple of hours to fathom it all out, fit, cut stays and adjust. Spend the time and you can achieve a very neat, close fitting mudguard. Particularly pleased that they don't rattle over poor roads, - you won't notice they are there apart from not getting the back of your jersey dirty and keeping your butt dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>