Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

This guard will fit 20-28mm tyres.
Overall rating:
4.392 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
67 out of 74(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 129 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ivan07
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

look great at do a good job

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for full lenth mudguards and these have been recommended and fitted by Evanscycles staff. They look great and do a good job of keepeng my feet and my back from muddy splashes as well as protecting essential parts of my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flatcap
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Fiddly to fit

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: fiddly
My advice would be to ask the shop to fit them, but generally good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KalamityKen

Replacement Mudguards

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Bought these to replace the previous SKS items which unexpectedly broke after some varied use on my Hybrid. Not the last word in the fashion stakes but do a good job of keeping mud & dirt away from components and the rider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NODO

extremely difficult to fit

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: very difficult to fit
Well made with adequate fittings but took me over 2 hours to fit due to small complicated connections. impossible to force the connections to allow enough thread for the small nuts as fingers then in position where nut needed to be to thread. Extremely frustrating and surely unnecessary!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikesl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good mudguards

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These fit my Pinnacle Dolomite 4 perfectly. They look and feel good quality. The black and stainless steel of the guards and stays actually enhance the appearance of the bike.
They also keep the rain water and muck off very well !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rakpa98
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Sks mudguard

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install and look great and durable........
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SiBorg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good quality mudgauards

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
These are good quality mudguards and do an effective job in keeping road surface water off the lower cycle frame and also prevents a wet lower back and bottom and consequential dirt staining of clothes. They are a little tricky to fit and may require some trimming of the stays, so careful reading of the instructions is advised before commencing the fitting. Once fitted they look good and are fit for purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mecael
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Basic Mudguards - Do the job

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I mainly commute so there isn't much mud on the roads but it also hasn't rained much so I expect this to get worse.
Not the best looking but will do the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taffmister
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, but a bit fiddly to fit

PostedJune 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: difficult to fit
Even though other reviews had stated easy to fit, it would have been better if two people fitted them. In the end it's just patience and 3 hands that are required. The product itself is fantastic, really lightweight and protects you and the bike from mud and excess water. They also look good on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zippyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good tyre coverage

PostedMay 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I got these fitted to my new bike and they have kept me dry ever since. I did have to trim the front guard a little as it was too wide for my liking and occasionally when cornering I have occasionally got my foot caught on the front guard but overall I am very happy with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Placidpete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Perfect fit narrow profile mudguards

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, close fit
Great mudguards! The fit is nice and close to the tyre but easy to adjust for even clearance round the wheel. Twin stays mean they don't vibrate on rough roads and are a solid fixing. These replaced single stay mudguards that bounced around then broke in two after a couple of months. The new ones are a far superior design with great quality materials.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LancashireSteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Excellent product

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I have tried other brands but these are by far the most sturdy and keep you dry. They were also fitted free by my local store which was a great bonus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Nice looking and quite light

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
They look quite good though would benefit from an end cap on the front mudguard like their larger cousins enjoy. Aside from that they do a good job and look quite nice and are easy to fit.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gingerbloke
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Keep my backside and your face clean.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Take a little while to set up, but now in place, rigid and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
staff2096
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent finished product. Fitting is difficult.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: tricky to fit
Fitting could be summarised by 'Keep calm and carry on'. SKS don't seem to have woken up to the fitting of AK brakes the standard these days rather than through bolt. On a close clearance like my Dave Yates - Audax bike with short reach AK brakes the front brake bridge has to go in front of the fork. So it needs careful bending to get maximum clearance but not foul the headset. Rear fitting is much much easier. The plastic stay clips are also hard to fit but neat when on and have more adjustment than it first appears. Make sure you have a good sharp saw blade handy to cut the stays to length.
End result is a nice rigid pair of mudguards no rattles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SammyM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

look good, but not a 5 minute job to fit

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Fitted these to my Sirrus comp, look great when eventually fitted , but really awkward job to get a good fit.
I was fortunate enough to have an angle grinder to cut the stays to length my hacksaw blades would not touch them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

This is a well engineered quality product

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought a set of SKS mudguards to spruce up my 30 year old Dawes Super Galaxy tourer in preparation for its retirement to southern Spain. The SKS come with quality stainless, fully adjustable, fittings that make for a perfect fit. My bike hasn't been so happy since I first rode it new, and now looks dazzling in the Spanish sun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Trixicle

alright but a bit annoying to fit right

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Takes a long time to fit right so they don't rub on the wheel. They need adjusting quite regularly. They do provide mud protection though and are a cheaper option.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mickey99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Very pleased with my purchase

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Had to replace a broken rear mudguard. These were a perfect fit and easy to fit. The instructions were very clear and concise
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easyrider64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fit for purpose.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Does exactly what it says on the tin, and is excellent value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>