Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road

This guard will fit 20-28mm tyres.
Overall rating:
4.352 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
96 out of 108Would you recommend this product to a friend?89%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
91 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Review 1 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It was bought:Nottingham

Not as indestructible as claimed

Posted01 February 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Had one pair which cracked in half after 6 months (replaced on warranty by Evans). Front fits great but rear is absolute nightmare to avoid rubbing on the tyre. Even hadvevans try to fit it but it was no good. Ditched in favour of dome clip on race blades by SKS which are much better
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent but a riddle to fit

Posted24 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great
Cons: fitting
Fantastic mudguards with no rattles or rubbing you find with others. I don't know if its me but I found these a fiddle not fit. Took over 1hr with a few expletives!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Excellent

Posted21 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: long installation and heavy modifications
Good product. Looks and feels solid. It took me about two hours to install it on Fuji sportif 1.1 2015. I had to use p-clamps on the front and back due to disc brakes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good mudguards

Posted16 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Smart-looking mudguards, keeps the dirt from the road off you and the bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Cambridge

Nice looking

Posted09 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The team at Cambridge fitted these to my new Hoy bike, and they look the part
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Not bad guards

Posted09 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
First down side installation instructions are rubbish even online video not fully supportive. Second need improving when comes to bike with disc brakes. Could be easier to adjust not everyone has tools to cut metal. Otherwise look good once fitted properly and do the job well to protect from dirt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

These are the ideal mudguards for damp roads!

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fiddly to fit
These impress me. A little awkward to fit but once they are fitted they are such a good fit over the wheels that they really do make a vast difference. I don't mind getting wet with rain but sometimes on country lanes I don't want to be wet with the muck off the roads from farm vehicles. These pretty much stop me getting wet and manky from road water, I just have to persuade everyone else to use mudguards so I don't get sprayed from their wet wheels!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cambridge

Good quality mudguards

Posted17 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: no mudflap
Good quality product as you would expect from SKS and they were fitted to a 2015 Cannondale Synapse Disc without too much trouble
Only downside is these don't have a rear mud-flap, which i had to purchase separately from a competitor for an additional £4, although a front mud-flap is provided. For a product like this you would expect both mud-flaps to be included.
This is the only reason i have knocked a star off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not a bad fit but very fiddly to get correct

Posted11 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
very well made and a good solid feel to the mudguards.once on they feel solid compared to the band on mudguards that are purpose made for race bikes..however these required some drilling and cutting to get under the front brake caliper as the hanger does not allow enough clearance..overall once fitted they are better then the clip on ones I have bought before but very awkward to get to fit correctly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Waste of money

Posted09 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: don't fit
This was the second set of mudguards sent by Evans to fit my road bike with disc brakes, the second set that didn't fit as Evans did not check where the disc brake was situated on the frame!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pretty mudguards

Posted15 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good looking guards which match my silver frame (bike that is)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It was bought:Online

Very Solid but fitting hardwork

Posted01 October 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: hard to fit
Found fitting insturctions very poor but some good videos on net.
Trimming stays hard work for an incompentent mechanic; took two trips to B&Q to buy cutting tools, ending up spending more on tools than i did on actual guards :(
Once fitted excellent..
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent functionality, but slightly odd colour

Posted18 September 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
All three of my bicycles have various SKS mudguards fitted on - they are simply great. This particular model (I think it's just the latest offering) was a bit of a disappointment though - although SKS call them black, they are rather light-ish brown/bronze in colour (one other pair of black mudguards I have are somewhat similar, but much, much darker). They didn't match my red/black Flyer, so I had to return these and get a pair of SKS Bluemels instead (in blackest black). This said, if you're not that bothered (or actually like the colour), these mudguards are superb.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great guard

Posted09 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Quality doesn't get better than this for the price. A good fit and easy to adjust.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Strong well-made mudguards

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
These mud guards are easy to fit with a good set of fixings to enable fitting to various bike designs. They seem strong and are easily adjusted to neatly fit the bike, and work well once fitted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nothing new about these, just refined.

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Nice bits, like the quick release for the front mudguard, ought to be mandatory.
Plastic bridge for the rear mudguard a bit bulky with clearance problems, which was overcome when reverted to the traditional and brittle steel one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Did not fit a mudguard enabled bike

Posted04 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: required file to fite at the front
Bought these for my new Genesis Equilibrium "mudguard enabled" bike with long drop brakes and 28C tyres. However, Evans were unable to fit due to unsufficient clearance on the front mudguard. Required liberal use of a file to achieve a fit though quality of the product was good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Convential Mudguards

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These mudguards were fitted by Evans Cycles in Chelmsford, Essex for a new Fuji Sportif road bike with disc brakes.
I have had to remove the mudguards as I had a race coming up, and have found that the brackets holding the mudguards on have been cut too short, so this causes the gap between the tyre and mudguard to be a very minimum. This can lead to the mudguard rubbing against the tyre, which then does not leave a large enough gap for debris to be removed which may stick to the wheel when riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Good mudguards / very fiddly to fit

Posted01 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: fiddly to fit
This is a well made solid product. Does the job well once fitted.
The spokes are really difficult to fit in into the plastic junction with the gromit screws to tighten.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Mudguards - Narrow Road
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good looking and keep your feet dry

Posted29 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed these for my Boardman Team and although a little time comsuming to fit, they look good and work well. Needed to bend the front stay around the disc brake but this was not too difficult. Once fitted there was much less water sprayed up from the front wheel and keeps the back bag cleaner. Well worth fitting during the winter months
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>