Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard

SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.205 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
40 out of 44Would you recommend this product to a friend?91%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Review 1 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Easy to use and does the job!

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is not the most pleasant looking thing to attach to the back of your bike, but there's nothing worse than riding on a wet day and arriving with a wet backside! This mudgaurd kept my rear end completely dry and it slips off very easily for when the weather clears up and you want to go more streamline. Likewise, popping it back on as easy you like. Just what I was looking for.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

the best removable mudguard

Posted25 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is my second SKS Xtra Dry mudguard. The first one lasted 10 years of regular use before the rubber wore out on the catch meaning it slipped to the side and didn't stay above the wheel. They last years, are easy to remove and keep your rear dry, what more could you want from a mudguard?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Does the job, easily knocked out of place

Posted28 December 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
Adjustable in angle ypu desire which is helpful but the attachment to the bike itself is never going to be tight enough to stay in place when riding for fun. Easily knocked and whacked out of line
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good fit and fairly easy to fit

Posted04 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
nice rigid fit ; quite easy to adjust as the nylon strap can be tightened by hand and the angle adjusted with one allen key bolt . the nut is held in position by the bracket . so well designed and quality materials used
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great mudguard

Posted11 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, fits seat post well, stable when riding
This does exactly what it says, and what works well to keep backside dry! The quick release clip is great, making it very easy to transfer between bikes quickly. Good quality item in every respect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Jersey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted29 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Great guard for my racing bike. Lightweight and easy to clip on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very quick to fix

Posted21 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I had this fitted when I bought a new caadx tiagra. Much better than the old crud catcher I was used to which you had to remove the seat to attach. Works well at stopping you get a mud splattered back
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

great job done

Posted19 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
adjustable & also whips off and on quickly and easily so isn't a bind to use for when you want to keep from getting mucky,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dry read

Posted31 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This has the be the most effective but not offensively large rear guards I've used. It's on my hybrid at the moment but will be using it on my other bikes as it has a easy quick release leaver to remove it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No longer do I have a muddy butt

Posted30 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Fits fine, fed up with breaking off adjustable mudguards so hope this is worth a try. Fits easy enough and hope to use it on two bikes. Time will tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Easy to use

Posted09 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is the best mudguard you can find for that price. You can take it off whenever you want (for a sunny day) and it does the job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great price - Easy to use - Works a treat

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the best mudguard you can find at such a cheap price, allowing you to detach it whenever you want, also making it easy to clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Well designed. Good value.

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard does exactly what it says on the tin.
Since attaching it to my road bike, I no longer get any spray off the back wheel. Useful for when cycling to work.
I opted to go for this mudguard rather than getting a jacket with a 'bum flap', so that I can wear any jacket and avoid getting sprayed.
It's easy to attach, and stays in place most of the time. I've kicked it to the side a few times while mounting the bike, but it's easy to swing it into place. You may have to tighten the clamp that attaches to your seat pole every few months, but that's no different from any other minor adjustment you might have to make to your bike periodically.
Solid product. Happy customer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Its ok but not brilliant

Posted06 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It is ok but the ergonomics of it is a bit missing. You have to set it quite high near to the seat to avoid it being too close or touching the tyre. This is in consideration of the seat bar level raised quite high.
But it is great because you can take it off when you need to without any tools or stress. Seconds to take it off. It also covers a wider range.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

simples

Posted11 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
put it on a full susser
works fine
keeps the majority of the mud off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it says on the tin!

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit and remove
Great mudguard, really fast to fit and remove when not needed, is wide enough to stop all spray up the back, is lightweight and looks good.
The only semi negative thing i have to say about it is that due to its width it would look better on a mountain bike than a road bike, but it still looks ok on my road bike.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy in a pinch

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: needs adjusting
I bought this to chuck onto my bike for my 15 minute commute to work and for this it's perfect.
If I leave it on it ends up resting on the wheel, but for short rides a quick readjustment before the off is ideal.
In better weather you just leave it at home!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Keeps the muck off my back

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It is very easy to install, doesn't look dorky, and works as advertised. I did have to tighten the hex bolt initially, to keep it from gradually "drooping" and coming into contact with the rear tire.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good but flawed

Posted23 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: rubs on tyre
The mudguard would not stay in the position i wanted it and even rubbed on the tyre no matter much it was tightened. I have since replaced a standard nut with a locking nut and seems ok.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap, effective, light, a great product

Posted31 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
what else do you need from a mudguard? also some reviews have suggested it is ugly, i disagree, i think it looks good on my bmc alpenchallenge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>