Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard

SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
32 out of 35(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Review 1 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thesoares
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Easy to use and does the job!

Posted09 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is not the most pleasant looking thing to attach to the back of your bike, but there's nothing worse than riding on a wet day and arriving with a wet backside! This mudgaurd kept my rear end completely dry and it slips off very easily for when the weather clears up and you want to go more streamline. Likewise, popping it back on as easy you like. Just what I was looking for.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SuperShik0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Easy to use

Posted09 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is the best mudguard you can find for that price. You can take it off whenever you want (for a sunny day) and it does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LouisLondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great price - Easy to use - Works a treat

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the best mudguard you can find at such a cheap price, allowing you to detach it whenever you want, also making it easy to clean.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
VVC2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

Well designed. Good value.

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard does exactly what it says on the tin.
Since attaching it to my road bike, I no longer get any spray off the back wheel. Useful for when cycling to work.
I opted to go for this mudguard rather than getting a jacket with a 'bum flap', so that I can wear any jacket and avoid getting sprayed.
It's easy to attach, and stays in place most of the time. I've kicked it to the side a few times while mounting the bike, but it's easy to swing it into place. You may have to tighten the clamp that attaches to your seat pole every few months, but that's no different from any other minor adjustment you might have to make to your bike periodically.
Solid product. Happy customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tapio1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Its ok but not brilliant

Posted06 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It is ok but the ergonomics of it is a bit missing. You have to set it quite high near to the seat to avoid it being too close or touching the tyre. This is in consideration of the seat bar level raised quite high.
But it is great because you can take it off when you need to without any tools or stress. Seconds to take it off. It also covers a wider range.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kogi1321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

simples

Posted11 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
put it on a full susser
works fine
keeps the majority of the mud off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlynn23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it says on the tin!

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to fit and remove
Great mudguard, really fast to fit and remove when not needed, is wide enough to stop all spray up the back, is lightweight and looks good.
The only semi negative thing i have to say about it is that due to its width it would look better on a mountain bike than a road bike, but it still looks ok on my road bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Baljet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Handy in a pinch

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: needs adjusting
I bought this to chuck onto my bike for my 15 minute commute to work and for this it's perfect.
If I leave it on it ends up resting on the wheel, but for short rides a quick readjustment before the off is ideal.
In better weather you just leave it at home!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NunzioC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Keeps the muck off my back

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It is very easy to install, doesn't look dorky, and works as advertised. I did have to tighten the hex bolt initially, to keep it from gradually "drooping" and coming into contact with the rear tire.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
wheelz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good but flawed

Posted23 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: rubs on tyre
The mudguard would not stay in the position i wanted it and even rubbed on the tyre no matter much it was tightened. I have since replaced a standard nut with a locking nut and seems ok.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
summerdolly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap, effective, light, a great product

Posted31 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
what else do you need from a mudguard? also some reviews have suggested it is ugly, i disagree, i think it looks good on my bmc alpenchallenge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
gerryspiteri
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

oh well

Posted24 August 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, keeps rubbing on back wheel
not bad but keeps rubbing on my back wheel .ok if you have a high seat post and no rear lights
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
deJ1234
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use. Keeps me dry.

Posted02 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
This guard goes on very easily, stays in place, and importantly has kept me dry through the wetter rides.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyPandyWoo
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps your bum dry

Posted13 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to attach/detach
Cons: Unattractive
This is easy to clip on and off, and light-weight - which is what I needed for my fold-up bike. It doesn't look very stylish, but it keeps your bum dry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wb55
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Pefect clip-on feature.

Posted07 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I hate Mudguards which you need an allen key to get off - it's so pointless. If you want ride in the summer and it's a bit wet you've got to get your allen key out and it's boring.....
This just clips on and off and wont get stolen when you lock your bike up in London.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
postie
from newcastle
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted28 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
quick and easy to fit looks great bought again had on old bike well worth it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
OomaPalomar
from Devon
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too fragile

Posted01 May 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
It did its job fine for four rides, then I clipped it with my heel while mounting the bike and it snapped clean off.
I would have expected it to be a little more robust than that.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fujifixed
from Manchester
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says!

Posted08 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Keeps you dry and clean. Reasonably lightweight. Can be attached and removed very quickly.
Not much more you could ask for the price, although not the best looking mudguard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZedV
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just the job

Posted07 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Needed a simple mudguard for my wife's bike. Simple and effective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Xtra Dry Rear Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trek15
from York
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Ok

Posted05 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Stops most of the road spray, but not all as expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>