Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard

SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard

Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Review 1 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FoDJez22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent bit of kit

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
No longer do I get plastered in crud on my commute to work through the Forest of Dean on pot holed lanes, some of which are so wet they should be classed as water courses.
Dead easy to fit and lots great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pacee

very good

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
this front mudguard is simple to fit and very effective. very pleased with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ste81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

A good mudguard

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this to replace my previous ineffective mudguard (made by a different brand) which attached to the frame. This one fairly easily attaches to the steering column and as such moves round when you turn.
It does a good job of keeping the mud off me. My shoes and ankles still get sprayed when I go through large puddles at speed, but a lightweight mudguard like this is never going to catch everything. Everything from my shins upwards was kept perfectly dry, though I'm yet to tackle extreme mud with it.
Once the fittings are in place you can attach and detach this mudguard from the bike in a matter of seconds. I just keep mine on all the time, but I suppose for transportation you might want to take it off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ManInLycra

Works well

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Comes with multiple attachments making it easy to fit. Its lightweight and works well, keeping me relatively mud free as I cycle in the British winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FinnishBiker
Country:Finland

Excellent mudguard

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Best mudguards I have ever had on my mountain bike. I'm not going to be wet although its raining. If You have MTB, I strongly recommended this item!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WelshJon
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Very easy to fit to a bike and does the job it is designed for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rallsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This has saved me from drowning...

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I cannot praise this product highly enough. I have a mountain bike (with front suspension) with semi road tyres for the daily commute to work and occasional use off road at the weekends. I'd previously bought a set of crud catchers (rear = excellent, front = pointless). Without a front mudguard, I almost drowned when travelling downhill at speed in the rain. The amount of water coming off the front tyre was like being sprayed in the face with a hosepipe (to say it was like waterboarding would be inaccurate because I've never been exposed to that kind of treatment). I was on the verge of buying goggles and a face mask but this has saved my life.
As the other reviewers have said - it's really easy to fit (easier than the instructions suggest), looks neat (mudguards on a mountain bike can be a bit...well, not so masculine) and more than does the job.
Great Product!
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
weere
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

the best?

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
If you ride a folding 26 inch wheel off road bike, then this is one of the better mudguards available
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poppies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Birmingham

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Just what I was looking for easy to fit, once I worked out how to keep nut in place until clamped down. Looks good on bike and is nice and stable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
exmoorfred
from Exmoor / West Somerset
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says.

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, does the job
Simple to fit and does what it is supposed to do at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
davehar166
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

ok but coverage isnt great

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not much protection for feet
for the price its not a bad mudguard but the coverage isnt great, most of you stays dry and clean but your feet and shins get completely soaked and muddy, apart from that after 3500 miles of riding in all conditions its still going strong and working fine (hasnt come off and quick release still works). the quick release is such a good idea, you press a button and slide it out, you can even leave the mudguard attatchment in place as it isnt really visable :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trampkiz
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

satisfied

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I experienced quick delivery, mint condition goods -- all in all, a solid buy. recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pipsey
from maidstone kent
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good choice

PostedApril 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
very good does the job,stylish to look at very easy to install an to take off an on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RichardJ
from South Warwickshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SKS Front Mudguard

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Recommended to me by a friend; always a plus.
Fits well, no rattle over the rough stuff. Very easy to put on and take off.
Robust design. Good value and quick delivery from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nico
from Commuter
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does its job OK, quite light.
A bit difficult to align properly with the wheel, but otherwise easy to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
davwfld
from Wakey
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought to replace like for like, matched with Xtra Dry Rear gives a bit of a 'Trials Bike' look . Previous guard disappeared during a long cobbled downhill single track. Was hanging on for grim death at the time and didn't notice. Surprised I was still on the bike never mind the mudguard. It had been on about two years, you come across mud all year so given up taking it off, even though only takes a second to un clip, and seen lots of previous rough stuff. Given my experience I suppose the weak point must be the plug into the fork head base, but blame my self for getting a bit blaze & not checking the fit for ages. Happy to replace with the same and with a tiny bit of attention this should last the bike out.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rickiom
from Isle of Man
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Was in desperate need of a front mudguard and this has done the job. recommend to anyone and was a bargin in the Evans Cycles clearance and delivery was here in record time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
daveh166
from lancashire
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good for the price

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
looks good, stops most of the mud, fitting isnt very secure (mud guard seems to wabble around a bit), comes a bit loose after harsh long riding. not the easiest thing to fit. but for the price it is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
YorkshireRider
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Confusing

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: poor instructions
Took far too long to install as the instructions were too confusing. The back of the packet had one set of instructions, and there was another set in with the parts - which was slightly different. Eventually I installed it but the angle isn't perfect but I was so glad it had been done that I have left it with its jaunty angle!
That said it works and hasn't fallen off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS Shockboard Front Mudguard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bammy62
from East Lancashire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

What it says on the tin

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I've had one of these before, so that's as good a review as I can give
Easy to fit and does the job expected
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>