Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender RX Rear

Topeak Defender RX Rear

Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
21 out of 25(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Review 1 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality and a bargain!

PostedMay 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a good looking mudguard, lightweight and really good value!
Most importantly it keeps the mud off your back!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlackFord
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak RX rear

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Decent rear mudguard, I got it on offer from Evans so good value for money. The connector is a little fiddly and if you're not careful it can snap if over-tightened which is why it doesn't get 5 stars. Has an add-on piece which suits my 29er mtb to catch that extra bit of mud. Well styled too so looks good on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2468
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Does it's job

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought for hardtail MTB. Front & back 'ends' of guard (grey bits in picture) are removable. Just as well, because the seat post angle/position meant it would otherwise have snagged - so a good design. The fixture to the seat post is basically a ratchet tightened strap. I was dubious, but other makes in the shop looked similar. It took a couple of attempts to master (pinched fingers) but has held the guard in position since. It's not been harshly tested yet, but on straightforward commutes has been 100% satisfactory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bwldozer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Item broke within 2 days

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Very poor item, item broke within 2 days of buying teh item
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dwain12Win
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

It does its job!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
A basic mud guard that does its job. Without being to costly or ugly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricardo46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Defender mudguard

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought for my sons Cube mountain bike. Easy to fit and looks great as the front mudguard is the same make & style. Good price & service once again from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucas18
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Another good product from Topeak.

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought couple of them so far and i'm satisfied. Not perfect on strictly downhill rides but xc and commute do it's job right. Definitely practical and good looking mudguard. If the price were cheaper it would be good value for money too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
paul673
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what its supposed to

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
quite easy to fit and adjustable angles mean you can position it to match the profile of the wheel (I fitted it on a full suspension Kona). Time will tell how durable it is though.......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ego77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too big

PostedJune 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
this item was to big for my liking. To big for my road bike. I returned on the spot.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJ69
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, strong, effective rear MTB mudguard.

PostedJune 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, better than all other guards available
This rear MTB guard is chunky, strong and easy to fit/remove repeatedly without tools - ideal for those who feel that riding on a dry, sunny Autumn day looks better without guards but who also want protection that takes seconds to fit on those rainy and muddy days. A clever nylon strap and twisting cam closure mechanism mean that it will fit any seatpost tightly and well, with no reference to the instructions needed. I have found that the mechanism is strong and should last for years of on/off fitting - ideal for the British weather. Wider, longer and a smarter design than the competition are offering; the Topeak Defender Rear guard and its front fitting brother are the perfect way to keep the mud and water off your back, out of your face and stay dry and clean on even the filthiest rides you can construct. Highly recommended; 10/10 product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andybear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nicely made, easy fit

PostedApril 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value, well made and a nice simple attachment system. Good value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JezBing

Easy fit

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great design simple to fit and quality-great item-really pleasing and very clever fitment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Js2004

Good quality but strange fitting mechanism!

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The fitting mechanism is interesting. It doesnt hold the unit in place as much as I would like.
It comprises of a nylon strap and a barrel that winds it around, with a clamp. It was very easy to fit - although I accidentally pulled the nylon out which took a while to get back in.
It is kind of secure, but it can move from side to side if you move it with your hand.
I was happy with the fitments of this guard though and the adjustability when fitted - which is more than it looks in the picture. It also comes with an optional rear tip which is a nice touch. Overall a great rear mudguard if you can figure out how to stop it moving from side to side.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simperingwreck
from Cambridgeshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good rear mudguard

PostedApril 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not really removeable
Very pleased with the Topeak Defender and so far it has done what it said it would and kept the mud off my back. Fitting was very straightforward, although if you have a pannier rack you'll need to removeit first. Getting the attachment in the right place was a little fiddly, but nothing too difficult. Howevr, I don't think this product is as removeable as suggested - it would be a real faff to take it on and off regularly. Having said that, there's no real need to remove it - it's discreet, lightweight and good value for money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Somerset
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good buy

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The mudguard is strong and doesnt move out of place when offroad, which is a good thing as it tends to be very muddy. However, I thought that it was hard to attatch to the seat post.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FlyingFletch
from Derby
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A great purchase but be careful when 1st fitting

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, loads of adjustment
Cons: poor quality fixing device
I chose this rear mudguard when I bought my first mountain bike in 2006.
It's wide and long enough to give you great protection from wet surfaces and mud. It does it's job and keeps my back dry. It looks great on the bike and is very light. It adjusts to loads of angles. I find that mine stops in one place when I'm out riding, the only time it moves is when I accidently kick it getting on and off the bike.
It is a bit fiddly at first when fitting to the bike for the first time. But once you have done that, whip your seat post off to slide and clip it on and off in a few seconds. Just a word of caution now, the adjuster to fix it to the seat post is made up of plastic parts. ONLY tighten untill the mudguard feels firm enough that it won't move unless pushed. DON'T adjust it to be super tight as you will probably shear the plastic cog when doing so, and when that happens, it's broke for good! Yeh, I did that. I'm not impressed by how easily you can brake it. That's the only bad side, I bought another one straight away though, I now know the design limit! I hope this helps you too.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sylish, Fender good, fixer not that great

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bad engineering
To attack the fender its a breeze since all you have to do is tighten a belt around the seat post. to tighten you release this wheel thing. Yet I found that once you release the wheel thing, the whole belt can come off and you have to stay refitting it. Already twice the best came loose from this wheel. So while the fender itself is light weight, sylish and good quality the fixer itself really needs some more thought. If only it has a normal bog standard and then with this great fender shape and materials. An idea gone wrong for the fixer I'm afraid
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bammy62
from East Lancashire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: poor fitting
This was fiddly to fasten to bike tightly enough to stop it moving laterally at every bump. However once fastened it's superb - looks good and no wet behind!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jimmyb17
from West Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does the job

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Product is fine but not outstanding. Quick release works OK and useful if like me you only want to use when really necessary. Similar problem to every other seat post mount in that there is always too much lateral movement, oh for a guard with some stays !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
joecool
from london
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

brillant

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
It's great to use with any bikes and stop the spray from coming up as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>