Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender RX Rear

Topeak Defender RX Rear

Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
23 out of 30(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Review 1 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Player13
Country:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality and a bargain!

Posted31 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a good looking mudguard, lightweight and really good value!
Most importantly it keeps the mud off your back!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bini14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it should do

Posted10 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Keeps the mud away just as it needs to do. Easy to install!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dunc123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Attachment too flimsy

Posted06 November 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Bit fiddly to fit initially, and after a while it started to slide down the seat post.
Tried to tighten it, only a tiny bit, and the lever snapped off, with only a small amount of pressure.
Looks good, but unfortunately it is not fit for purpose!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ant56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Plastic closing lever rubbish

Posted15 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
The plastic closing lever isn't strong enough.It broke at the hinge when closing lever to secure mudguard to seatpost.Maybe too much force used but the lever should be a lot more robust,should be made of metal not plastic I reckon.Fitted it using cable ties after removing strap mechanism.Mudguard works well it's just the rubbish clamping lever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Martin72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Not fit for purpose

Posted16 August 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this rear and front mudguard when purchasing my Pinnacle Cobalt Two 2014 Hybrid Bike and they were fitted by the Evans team. The front guard fastens using the forks and this keeps it in place. The rear though fastens using a strap which wraps around the seat stem. First time out the road the guard slipped down and rubbed against the wheel. A repositioning and tightening stopped this from happening next time out and had no further problems on the road until I went off road. As I pushed pass bushes etc the mud guard would be pushed out off position and then failed to do its' job. This happened many times on the ride.
A friend has recommended some emmery cloth under the strapping to prevent the mudguard from being pushed round. If this manages to keep it in place then my review would be less harsh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
arober11
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits in min's, but obscures rear lights

Posted31 July 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: lack of adjustment, obscures rear lights, not that effective
Screwing the 3 pieces of the guard together and attaching the assembly to the saddle stem, via the integrated rachet strap, only took a few min's, but unfortunately the guard offers no means to adjust the distance it extends from the saddle stem (you can adjust the angle but not the length of the guards own stem). So you end up with the guard mounted at approx 40 degrees, from the horizontal, obscuring any stem mounted rear lights, and leaving approximately a 20cm gap to the wheel, reducing it's effectiveness, and also in a position that I've found results in the guard being kicked out of alignment every over time I dismount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlackFord
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak RX rear

Posted29 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Decent rear mudguard, I got it on offer from Evans so good value for money. The connector is a little fiddly and if you're not careful it can snap if over-tightened which is why it doesn't get 5 stars. Has an add-on piece which suits my 29er mtb to catch that extra bit of mud. Well styled too so looks good on the bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2468
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Does it's job

Posted20 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought for hardtail MTB. Front & back 'ends' of guard (grey bits in picture) are removable. Just as well, because the seat post angle/position meant it would otherwise have snagged - so a good design. The fixture to the seat post is basically a ratchet tightened strap. I was dubious, but other makes in the shop looked similar. It took a couple of attempts to master (pinched fingers) but has held the guard in position since. It's not been harshly tested yet, but on straightforward commutes has been 100% satisfactory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bwldozer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Item broke within 2 days

Posted02 September 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Very poor item, item broke within 2 days of buying teh item
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dwain12Win
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

It does its job!

Posted21 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
A basic mud guard that does its job. Without being to costly or ugly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricardo46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Defender mudguard

Posted08 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought for my sons Cube mountain bike. Easy to fit and looks great as the front mudguard is the same make & style. Good price & service once again from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucas18
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Another good product from Topeak.

Posted10 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I bought couple of them so far and i'm satisfied. Not perfect on strictly downhill rides but xc and commute do it's job right. Definitely practical and good looking mudguard. If the price were cheaper it would be good value for money too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
paul673
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

does what its supposed to

Posted05 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
quite easy to fit and adjustable angles mean you can position it to match the profile of the wheel (I fitted it on a full suspension Kona). Time will tell how durable it is though.......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
ego77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too big

Posted14 June 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
this item was to big for my liking. To big for my road bike. I returned on the spot.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJ69
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, strong, effective rear MTB mudguard.

Posted06 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, better than all other guards available
This rear MTB guard is chunky, strong and easy to fit/remove repeatedly without tools - ideal for those who feel that riding on a dry, sunny Autumn day looks better without guards but who also want protection that takes seconds to fit on those rainy and muddy days. A clever nylon strap and twisting cam closure mechanism mean that it will fit any seatpost tightly and well, with no reference to the instructions needed. I have found that the mechanism is strong and should last for years of on/off fitting - ideal for the British weather. Wider, longer and a smarter design than the competition are offering; the Topeak Defender Rear guard and its front fitting brother are the perfect way to keep the mud and water off your back, out of your face and stay dry and clean on even the filthiest rides you can construct. Highly recommended; 10/10 product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andybear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nicely made, easy fit

Posted23 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value, well made and a nice simple attachment system. Good value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JezBing

Easy fit

Posted22 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great design simple to fit and quality-great item-really pleasing and very clever fitment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Js2004

Good quality but strange fitting mechanism!

Posted09 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The fitting mechanism is interesting. It doesnt hold the unit in place as much as I would like.
It comprises of a nylon strap and a barrel that winds it around, with a clamp. It was very easy to fit - although I accidentally pulled the nylon out which took a while to get back in.
It is kind of secure, but it can move from side to side if you move it with your hand.
I was happy with the fitments of this guard though and the adjustability when fitted - which is more than it looks in the picture. It also comes with an optional rear tip which is a nice touch. Overall a great rear mudguard if you can figure out how to stop it moving from side to side.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
simperingwreck
from Cambridgeshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good rear mudguard

Posted01 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not really removeable
Very pleased with the Topeak Defender and so far it has done what it said it would and kept the mud off my back. Fitting was very straightforward, although if you have a pannier rack you'll need to removeit first. Getting the attachment in the right place was a little fiddly, but nothing too difficult. Howevr, I don't think this product is as removeable as suggested - it would be a real faff to take it on and off regularly. Having said that, there's no real need to remove it - it's discreet, lightweight and good value for money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Topeak Defender RX Rear
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Somerset
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good buy

Posted08 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The mudguard is strong and doesnt move out of place when offroad, which is a good thing as it tends to be very muddy. However, I thought that it was hard to attatch to the seat post.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>