Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Defender FX Front

Topeak Defender FX Front

Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
9 out of 15(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Defender FX Front
Review 1 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJA1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Nottingham

Easy to take off bike, brilliant quality.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to take the two guards off the front wheel when locking bike up and easy to fix onto bike to begin with. Had a crud protector last so this is much, much better in comparison! No mud flicked off the front of the wheel and no disruption to cables on the bike frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DesignateTurian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Looks well constructed...isn't

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: looks good
Cons: Poor quality
I purchased both the front and rear Topeak Defender guards for my hybrid bike from Evans in Cardiff back in November 2013 and feel that I can give my honest opinion of how they work and whether you should invest in a set. The short answer, no.
The guards were fitted as part of my new purchase and seemed to be sturdy. The fore guard is designed to work with suspension forks and so has a male upright which fits into recess under the fork instead of a clip. By tightening the mechanism, 3 bars are pushed out to hold the guard in place.
My first ride on the bike ended abruptly not 50 meters from my front door when the guard fell out and onto the road, much to the annoyance of Monday morning rush hour traffic. Now, i'm a careful individual, I checked the sturdiness of the guard before leaving so I am not quite sure how it disconnected.
It must be highlighted that this was not an isolated incident and has happened a few more times. Yet the process for reattaching the guard is simple enough so I carry a multitool with me. Thus it's a case of popping the front wheel off, replacing and tightening the screw, replacing the wheel and off we go, 2 minutes tops. When this keeps happening it's annoying!
In regards to the mud guard's ability there is nothing to write home about. They stop the mud from transferring to your face, what else can I say?
In summary - it's a capable mud guard with an annoying flaw. Other reviews have mentioned that it won't withstand MTB trials...it doesn't handle roads well either. Vote with your wallets, choose a different guard.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Evans Cycles 10 / 10: Topeak Defender 0 out of 10

PostedDecember 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, bad brittle plastic mounts
Topeak Defender:
Looks good, fits well
Strength is dreadful, didn't even reach the car after collecting bike from shop.
I caught the front of guard with my sleeve pulling it upwards and it snapped off.
Returned to shop & staff at Evans Cycles (Manchester National Cycling Centre branch) immediately removed the broken bits, supplied the better (& more expensive M1 model), returned to the car with bike & same happened.
I suspect not just a bad item, but a very poor design!
Granted should not have caught it with my sleeve, but hey!, this is a MTB and its going to get a whole lot more abuse than that.
Topeak: Get your act together & redesign your kit!
Evans Cycles (at National Cycling Centre, Manchester): Thanks for your help, give Topeak some stick, they desire a royal rollicking.
(NOTE: Full detail given here in the hppe Topeak get to see as they need to fix this for the sake of others).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
truckle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent product

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Takes a little time to fit exactly right but have been using for a while now and does the job well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
2468
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Didn't suit my MTB.

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Bought as a set for a hardtail MTB. Rear guard's great. This front one wasn't compatible / didn't fit around the bike's cantilever breaks. Seems good quality though. Evans exchanged it straight away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dirtytreker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit.

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
This product was easy to fit to my mountain blke and easy to remove, controls all that crud that flicks up into your eyes and most of it off your legs. Good value for money. Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
climberboymatt
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits easily

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: don't fit all forks
Check your front forks before buying these- fitted my rockshox tora SL (a couple of years old) but not my wife's tora 302s (?). Make sure the metal between the hole and front of fork is less than 2cm. Wish I could draw a sketch for you! But they're great on my bike!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Js2004

Good product, although not cheap

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good product well made and easy to install. Does exactly what it says on the tin. An allen Key would have been handy to fit however I had one, so this is no issue.
The guards are removable via a quick release system which was quite a surprise - either this is new and innovative or its been too long since I bought a new one!
Very happy with purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
drcycle
from Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedMay 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Flimsy but effective.
Inexpensive but front mud guard snaps all too easily.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zx6man
from Wakefield
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

To Peak Defender

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this to stop the splash up from the fron tyre. Works a treat and fitted to my Carrera MTB with ease. I trimmed my crud catcher to accomodate the behind the wheel bit now I am totally free of splatter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Fender but don't know about quick release

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
This product attaches to the inside of the fork and stays secure by a screw (similar to fisher screw) that opens up the more you tighten. Once tightened within the inside of the fork, it did not seem to move out again which is great but it does have some play to the sides (yet this comes in handy for adjusting if you hit the fender by mistake). Now the fenders themselves attach to the central bit and while a breeze to remove and re-attach, don't know how long this will last. The part that the main fender attaches is looks a bit flimsy. Yet the fender itself is lightweight and sylish and surely does the job. Also its very adjustable. If you do not remove it and reattach it often, definitely highly recommended
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hanczka
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Great product easy to fit...........................
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Squirrel
from West Yorkshire
Age:18-24
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Buy

PostedJune 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value
Cons: problems
This is now my third in two years, will take knocks and does the job it's sussposed to brilliantly even when the spray or dirt gets heavy. It does the job it's meant to 100%!!!
The main problem is the way you fit it to the bike, this the only reason why i've had so many! Unless you use cable ties or something other than the standard fitting it just falls off all the time!
The two previous mud guards have come off when riding the bike on and off road... i've now learnt my lesson and have used cable ties to hold the mudguard on, to summarise it's now the best mud guard i've had!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
LadyGresley
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedMarch 6, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: front bracket too easily broken
I love the design of these mudguards, but I've now broken two of them. The front bracket is just far too flimsy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Defender FX Front
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Robday
from Leeds
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Let down by flimsy front bracket

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to install
Cons: flimsy bracket
Looks great on my mountain bike and stops crud covering your face. However the bracket holding the front piece is very flimsy and broke off. I mainly ride on roads and light off road so was surprised how easily the plastic bracket broke.
However the back piece of the bracket is sturdy and the back piece of the guard does a reasonable job without the front piece.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.