Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Continental Travel Contact Tyre

Continental Travel Contact Tyre

Overall rating:
4.548 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
30 out of 31(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hasbasdad
from Norwich
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These tyres are great value, I've just replaced two that have done over 5,000 miles and were still going strong. I changed them because they had started to puncture more regularly. When new, the puncture protection is pretty good (but they are not perfect and flints still get through from time-to-time). They grip well and roll pretty smoothly as well. Replacement tyres came with free inner tubes, which was an unexpected bonus!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bella
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Woking

Good Quality Tyres

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought these as a replacement for old heavy hybrid tyres. Good grip on and off road, slicker than original tyres but no grip difference on canal path or wet roads. Very pleased good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dado68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Excellent tyre

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I have bought those tyres for London to Brighton bike ride and they were excellent. I have changed my original tyres on Scott Sportster 30 for those and bike is much faster now than before. Still have enough grip for some off road action. I would definitely recommend those tyres.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dublin16
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Streamline, solid and good traction for commuting

PostedApril 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, puncture protection
Good tyres for commuting on mixed quality surfaces and wet/dry conditions. Low noise level, free flowing with the added advantage of good protect from punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ollie47
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
i have been using these tyres for a while now and they are way more grippy than they appear the side knobs definitely contribute to cornering grip and also bite into soft surfaces. they have worked on mud, wet grass and snowy roads without any real concerns; remembering to slow down and corner gently on snow :-)
i love em
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Micliff14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great buy

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, stable, fast for its type
I bought this tyre for more stability but was surprised how faster and easier to handle the bike was after fitting a pair of these. Can't comment on the durability as I haven't had them very long but on the basis of what I've seen so far would definitely recommend to someone looking for this type of tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MAST
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres for all conditions

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These tyres are a great solution for all conditions. They have low rolling resistance, good puncture proofing, good grip on the shoulders and are hard wearing. At the price they sell for they're a league apart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SDCR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Puncture resistance has been a big plus.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Switched to these from a set of Specialized Nimbus Armadillos after getting frequent punctures during my daily commute. Have now gone from two punctures a week to none in the past month and a half. Found them easy to fit and comfortable on the rooted cycle path to work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easyrider3000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great commuting-touring tyre but short life

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
This is probably my 6th pair of travel contacts. There is no other tyre in the market which combines speed on the road, good grip off road and puncture protection as well as the condi travel contact. The only big downside for me is that after one year ( irrelevant to mileage) they start to disintegrate even though there is still plenty of tread left. Punctures start to become more frequent and the side walls start to come apart and bulge. So if you are happy to replace your tyres every year travel contacts are the best you can get!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boodlepip

PostedJune 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The Travel Contact is the best choice for touring riders or commuters who ride on and off road and who’s priority requirement is puncture protection. This tyre features Continental puncture protection technology from bead to bead – tough Duraskin external fabric on the sidewall which protects the casing from sharp objects, and our polyamide/Kevlar belt under the tread.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MaNdrews
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Adds at least 5kph to my ride!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I had the tyres sent to me here in Singapore from the UK and they were still half the price of the local shops (which don't have a good range of tyres anyway). I bought them for an upcoming charity ride from Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. As I will be doing the ride on my mountain bike I needed some faster tyres for the trip and elected to go for the Continentals. So far I have noticed the extra speed on the road adding at least 5kph to my normal pace. They seem tough and so far I've had no flats. I will reserve a 5 star judgment until I return from the ride next week.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigJim60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

What a difference

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Originally my Scott P1 came fitted with continental double fighters part from going round and round they only seemed good at picking up punctures
I swapped them out for chunkier armadillo great for off road but hard work and stamina building on Tarmac
Decided to go back to conti's for more road time,what a difference in effort against speed and very rewarding
I am only just over 100km into these so cannot comment much on the pro's and cons
Looking at possibly going one step further to the sport contact to tackle the London to Brighton in June
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MickOD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres for commuting

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Am on 2nd set of these tyres, I have had only 3 punctures in 2 years of using, aprox 7000 miles, which when commuting is very important, on rough tracks the grip is reasonable except when very muddy. Would highly recommend for hybrid commuting bikes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
david36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent free rolling tyre

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these on recommendation of just about everyone on the net! Too soon to tell whether puncture protection is as good as claimed , but they certainly are comfortable and free rolling on canal paths etc, and speedy enough on the road if youre not aiming to win the TDF. Altogether very pleased- and the price from Evans was the best I could find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ACall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Tyre with free inner tube

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, free inner tube
Great Tyre with free inner tube, got to replace 38c but be warned that 1 less on width makes big difference. Still using Evans advised me to run smaller tyre at the back.
Inner tube is thin valve type.
Comes with one year puncture free riding guarantee.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boltpixie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

A good quality tyre

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have always liked the continental brand so when I decided to replace the stock tyres on my Specialized hybrid, they were the preferred choice. They are a good alround tyre for both Tarmac and off-road with the added benefit of a one year puncture protection guarantee. They are light enough and roll with little resistance. And at less than £20 on offer, good value in comparison to the opposition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clairebear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good all-round tyre

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had started to get lots of punctured and was please with this replacement only scott sportster. Good traction on tracks and smooth enough for roads Came with spare inner tube which was a bonus
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bogrunner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres and free inners

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for new tyres for my hybrid since the original ones were getting a bit thin. I wanted something that rolls well, but also had the grab needed to get through the occasional muddy bit when off-road. These tyres have a wide slick with mud grabbing knobs on the sides that stay out of the way until needed. I worried that the extra puncture protection might make these tyres rather stiff, but the ride is very smooth and the roll is excellent with no drag hum. And when I occasionally go off road, the traction is there to get me through the inevitable soft spots you find. Happy to have the extra puncture protection since I go on long rides and don't usually carry a repair kit. The free inner tubes were a very nice touch and make these tyres a bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
noddir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No more punctures

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, no punctures
I live in the country, lots of flail mowing and lots of punctures in my previous tyres. Changed to Conti travel contact and haven't had a single puncture since. Low rolling resistance too. Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Continental Travel Contact Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
doctorfrank
from England
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Spent a while deciding which tyres cos I did'nt want to pay the earth but also wanted a good tyre,arrived really quick,innertube included which was a bonus ,fitted them really easily and after one jaunt all ok
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>