Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre

Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre

Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Review 1 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EuroVelo6

Best Purchase Ever

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Have done over 2000 miles on these and are still the best tyres I have ever bought! Great for any road condition, including wet roads and at 100psi have a really low rolling resistance.
And most importantly - NO PUNCTURES! Miraculous some would say...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Singh20

Great tyres for commuting

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: hard to fit
Nice set of slicks I used to make my MTB more suitable for commuting. They look good and they do the job but I found them hard to fit - this might have been down to a lack of skill on my part though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boult
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for British roads

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
I came across these tyres a few years back as a student in London - I'll be honest, I thought they looked cool too! Duly fitted them to my mountain bike.
Having fitted them - wow! Very sticky giving high levels of grip. Only 'issue' is that the grip soon disappears in wet weather on smooth sections of road (excessive overbanding by our friends in the highways departments) and especially wet grids.
They are resistant to damage and punctures and, because they take a very high pressure the rolling resistance is very low making them fast too.
Having moved out of the city, I now find they are ideal on country roads and lanes - much better I find, than trying to use a road bike with all the pot holes and general road degradation of the last 20 years.
Not having ANY tread does make them a little tricky in muddy environments (canal towpaths etc).
I'm now on my 3rd set.
**you DO need matching inner tubes - normal mountain bike tubes will not fit inside these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thurstan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great road tyres for a MTB

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Got these for longer road trips with my Hardrock and they make a great difference. No probs with these at all !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazer99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a difference they've made

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Replacing the knobblies on my mountain bike with these have made a massive difference to my cycle training. All my riding is on road and I'm finding I can get up hills easily that I struggled with before. Quite a revelation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy35
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Slick but grippy, MTB on road tyres.

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I purchased these as my bike (hardtail MTB) came standard with big knobbly tyres and I cycle more on the road than off it so wanted to make things easier for myself.
They are fatter than the tyres you'd see on a road or CX bike but still really improve my "on road" experience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rob98
from county durham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fatboy tyres

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just fitted these to my mtb and they made a massive difference to the road performance I have used them offroad as well the only real problem being the obvious lack of grip in wet conditions so far Ive not suffered any punctures so would definitely recommend them
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Puncturemagnet
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Full-fat road fun for your MTB...

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Tread carefully off-road though as the slick nature of this super-smoothy means you'll be on your backside should you get too adventurous.
I stumbled upon these fab hoops a month or so ago and thank goodness I did.
I ran Schwalbe MP through the summer last year and though bomb-proof I fancied something easier rolling.
I certainly got what I wanted when I fitted the Fat Boys. On tarmac they are sensational, faster speeds for less input is exactly what I was after.
Be warned though, wander off the safety of the asphalt, onto wet grass, leaves or heaven forbid, mud and things soon take a turn for the upside down.
Stay on the tarmac and they're great.
I've covered a hundred and fifty miles on them so far on road and cycle tracks and had one puncture. They'll run happily at 75psi though much better at the recommended 100. Good to know for roadside repairs when a track pump is not an option. Tyre removal and replacement is very easy.
Overall I'm very happy with my purchase and gladly recommend the Fat Boy ATB tyre if you're sticking to tarmac and non-muddy cycle tracks. If you're going off-road then give them a very wide berth and go for something with a tread.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andyh7
from Leicestershire village
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fatboy slicks

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Have used these tyres for years on my commuter/winter roadbike rigid MTB: light weight and low-LOW rolling resistance if you run them at the recommended 100 psi.
They can pick-up shards of glass and sharp grit, so a periodic check with a sharp tip to prise them out will stop the glass working it's way through to the carcass and ruining your afternoon. A 2-3 year old tyre shows lots of nicks and slashes from Leicester's Great Central Way.
Only had one slow flat in several years- sharp bottle glass on a cyclepath.
Keep them for the asphalt though, as they are intended- not for grass, definitely not for wet grass- and as for mud- well it depends if you like to lay-around in it.
Superb road slick.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclesteve01
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great tyre - Buy some!

PostedJune 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These tyres are fantastic if you want to turn your MTB into a commuting / distance hack. But if like me you don't always want to be on the road they are surprisingly versatile.
I've used these for a long time now. I originally had my first set in 2003 and covered thousands and thousands of miles. I bought these as my side walls were finally failing after 8 years of hard graft.
So far I've only clocked up around 250 miles on this new set. And so far had no punctures. I think it is a bit too soon to comment as to whether the "flak jacket" is better than my old set but so far it seems to be working very well.
These are slick tyres and should be run at high pressures. I normally run mine between 80 - 100psi. They are comfortable and very grippy on the roads.
In the wet they are very good too. Plenty of grip and water doesn't really splash off them too much. As they are thin (1.25") you don't need to worry about aquaplaning in the wet but too much lean into a bend in standing water could have you off…
Also, being slick means there is no tread which means if you hit dog mess it washes off very easily.
I've used my tyres on roads, dirt tracks, a little bit of downhill (when I couldn't be bothered to go the long way around! :) ). All of which they cope with as well if not better than you would expect from a slick but their home is the road.
The only surfaces which I've found they don't like are gravel/small loose stones and soft sand. Ice was fun on the last set as it was like being on a Turbo Trainer. I suspect these will be the same too.
Overall, these are good tyres, very good grip, good puncture resistance, they wear slowly and last for ages, great for doing distance attack and they are reasonably cheap.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
zenis81
london, tottenham
 
Please wait while more information about zenis81 is loaded.
Additional information about zenis81 could not be loaded.
a great choice of tyres
Posted September 26, 2011
these are the best tyres ever, i have them on my MTB for two years now and to be honest they served me very well, the grip in these tyres it's amazing, probably until now i did around 5700 km ( 3541 miles) and belive it or not never had a puncture on them, the price went up now, coz before i bought them for 16.99£, but still they are worth it
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monkfish
from Surrey
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres

PostedJune 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Very pleased with these, transformed my ageing hardtail into a smooth rolling road goer. Only done few miles but can already feel the lower rolling resistance, great grip too (in the dry anyway)
Saw some reviews stating these were a tight fit, i found the opposite to be true, put them on and took them off again without tyre levers easily.
Recomended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lucasrider
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Speeded up commute

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This tyre has speeded up the commute considerably but they are a nightmare to get on the rims therefore roadside punctures can be a big issue. But good price and look goo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
econofan
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

smooth running and good value

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I use my MTB for road cycling. Have tried a variety of slick tyres. Thees are a really good size - they give you confidence at speed. The puncture protection is also excellent. There is no tread at all, so they might be more suited for summer rather than winter cycling. Excelent value for money however
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
coota
from manchester
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good tyre

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
like everyone else said bit tight to get on but it is do-able
good convert to using mtb on road without writing off the dirt trails altogether.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SpoonerN
from St.Albans
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Top tyres for commuting. Very fast and stick to the roads nicely on hot days. Little dicey in the rain, but that's part of the fun isnt' it?? Have tried many different tyres for my daily MTB commuter and always gone back to these year in year out. I'm not going to experiment with any other tyres from now on as these ones are so superior to the rest.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lazyboy
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

a fat boy's tyre

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, least resistance tyre out there
Cons: terrible grip offroad ;-)
Utterly terrifying on a downhill off-road section on the North downs... but diddnt get any punctures getting there on a flint rock surface, so perhaps their flack jacket puncture resistance schpeel is correct!
So Useless off road tyres however getting there was a blast, my gears all felt too short and I managed to knock off 15 minutes on an hourly commute, without trying...
Perfect way to speed up a mountain bike really really impressed with these tyres and will buy again - just make sure you get the correct inner tubes as well as a pump that can inflate to 6+ bar - 90 psi
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shaunK
from North east
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fats boys

PostedAugust 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
Fat boys make the bike faster, but are very slim and you feel every bump or dint on the road. For me the most disappointing thing is they make the bike look unattractive, so I've put Fastracks back on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wifi213
from manchester east lancs
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

fatboys

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, speed
Cons: can be hard to fit
as a road tyre i think the fatboys are great fast rolling and they stick to the floor you need to becareful in the rain as you can slide on some surefaces but overall i love them only done 400 miles on them so far and cant wait to do more. only had 4 puncture 2 were from getting the tyre on as they can be tight and the other 2 were by large glass bits left on the road. i will bye more of these tyres when i need them i love em
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Parsnips
from Oxford
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Specialized Fat boy ATB tyre

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
Ordered and arrived just in time for the London to Brighton. Very quick tyres that turn one bike into two in a matter of minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Fat Boy ATB Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magickiss3
from Isle of Wight
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best tyre around for fast MTB riding on road

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, be surprised with waht these can do
This is my second set which I have fitted on my new MTB for commuting and training. Replacing off road tyres with these completely changes the feeling of the bikek. Although slick will work on hard track. Original set about 4yrs old still on my old MTB used by my son. Well worth the money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>