Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre

Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre

Overall rating:
4.756 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
44 out of 45(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Review 1 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FastArk
from East Coast Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Schwalbe me....

PostedApril 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These tyres are the go. I in the final preparation stages for my trip down the east coast of Australia from Cairns to Sydney. I had been riding dirt and road on hybrid tyres and bought a pair of Schwalbe Marathon Plus for the trip. I trained so much I wore the hybrid tyres out so I had no option but to put on the Schwalbe's. Fast and furious watch out. I found myself overtaking cars in built up area's. So far I would have clocked up close to 500kms and no punctures. I am no small bloke but these tyres have helped me overcome my fear of overloading my bike and my body. They handle high pressure, FOD roadsides, and my 110kgs plus panniers. Will have to try their dirt tyres when I get back from my trip....
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
driver180
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good Commute tyre.

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable
Pro's - no punctures as yet and easy to fit.
Con's - Heavy, don't roll as well as other smooth tyres with protection and the worst thing for me is they are a nightmare when its damp or wet.
However - these have a very high level of protection so if punctures have been an issue for you then these are great. As for the wet weather yes they take some getting used to because of the hard compound rubber, just slow up a bit for the corners.
All in all they should last a while so the price is fare.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
balmainboy
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tyres if you're fed up of punctures

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, puncture proof
I've exclusively used Schwalbe Marathon Plus tyres on my bike for the past four years. I commute to work every day and cover 130km or more every week. In four years I've never had a puncture.
Highly recommended if you're fed up of changing tyres and patching inner tubes in the rain, getting late for work in the process.
The only drwaback of these is that they are not the best for cornering. As long as you're commuting that shouldn't be a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
allStar
Country:Turkey
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable tire

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Doing over 2000 KM on my MTB never punctured and looks great.
BTW thanks to fast shipping to Turkey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikerManTR

very nice

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
price / performance is very good.
Shipping to Turkey is very fast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
highwayrider
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good long wearing tyres

PostedJune 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I would always recommend these tyres as long wearing and suitable for most terrains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrewD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Have these on my hybrid and had no issues, so got the wife some for her mountain bike.
Not the easiest tyres to fit, but hopefully you never have to take them off (certainly no punctures in 1000+ miles on the hybrid).
Make the ride a little harder than the old knobbly tyres, but she goes much faster on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
javieruve
Country:Spain
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Strong and comfortable marathon plus 26x1.35

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: dificult to put in
I was afraid because I had read reviews about the weight of marathon plus. However, although it has been very difficult to put (a broken tool), once in place, it rolls very easy and light. I hope to avoid punctures next months!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
punctured
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

where have you been all my life

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
As someone who seems to be able to puncture a tyre by looking at them, I needed tyres that would stand up to my commute to work. No fun fixing a puncture at 1am.
After reading all the positive reviews of these tyres I decided these might be the tyres for me. I have the 26/1.35 tyres and on the first ride to work could not believe the difference in performance. They roll better than any tyre I have had. I did not have much trouble fitting them, I managed this without the use of tyre levers, (A pair of toe straps is perfect for this job, watch the online video for fitting these).
After two weeks on these tyres I heard glass crunching under them on the works carpark Aaaaaargh but not a puncture or any sign of glass stuck in them. The reflective sidewalls are a very good feature at night. They need to be pumped to a high pressure and this shows every bump in the road, but would I recommend them Oooooooooooh yes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dovla
Country:Serbia and Montenegro
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Great tires, friend of mine is riding around the world with them, first puncture after 15000 km! No so heavy either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rudders
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hard wearing

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I commute half on road and half on a gravel tow path. Never had a puncture and handles really well on all surfaces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drguray

its great

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
i bought a pair of marathon plus tyres. they are so good because i used 1000 km my bike with these tyres and they are ok no puncture
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GMcEwing
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Marathon Plus 26 x 1.35 inch

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have used the Marathons on 700c rims as touring tyres. The 26 by 1.35 inch Marathon Plus is a 34 mm wide tyre when mounted on a 17mm wide rim. The tyre mass was about 635 grams (slightly less than the Schwalbe spec). The small increase in mass when compared with the Marathon tyre, may be a favourable compromise for touring cyclists
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Selocan
Country:Turkey
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
You're never gonna regret . İt is fun and safe to ride with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
duffer52
Country:Canada
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

heavy and slow

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Heavy and slower than most but bullet proof and long lasting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trevski
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seem pretty bomb proof

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I purchased these because I'm in the process of building up a mountain bike for loaded touring. I was apprehensive about the difficulty people have reported with fitting, but after watching a video tutorial on fitting these tyres, they went on quite easily - no tyre levers required.
So far no punctures, and I have deliberately NOT avoided broken bottles and doublegees (nuisance prickle plant in Oz) - but I've only done 250km so far. Having said that, these tyres are going to last for ages. After 250km, they still have the moulding swarf (is that the right word?) around the centre of the tread.
Also, I must give 10 out of 10 to Evans on the delivery. I placed the order on Friday, and they arrived in West Oz on Monday - how good is that?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skybluescooby
from Stockton on Tees
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice tyre

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, puncture proof reliability
Cons: road holding
got these on recommendation from other cyclists. Managed to save £10 through evans price promise as well.
Tyres themselves are a bit tight to fit but do offer fantastic puncture protection as I did the C2C 2 weeks agon without any trouble at all and have since done a few local rides over most terrain and objects.
My only concern is that they do not give me confidence to grip the road when turning sharp corners as i found out at the weekend as i tried to negotiate a slight bend at 42mph only for the tyres to slide.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uygar
from ISTANBUL
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exceeded My Expectation

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
New tyres helped me incease my performance with my bike. It is much better than I had expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
docwallis
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Puncture Proof

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, no need to repair a puncture on a wet cold night
Cons: Heavy
This is my fifth set of Marathon Plus tyres for my four bikes and I haven't had a puncture of any sort. The extra set was needed as a result of vandalism to the side walls of both tyres when it was 'parked'. However, I saved the tears as they were already over three years old.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 26" SmartGuard Commuter Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stusidle

As tyres go...

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
So far so good. Excellent grip as I was expecting. They look pretty good too, especially as I have a silver bike so they match.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>