Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts

Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CalB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought this to enable me to cycle to work in a variety of weathers. This is my mid calf to mid chest layer, which covers the otherwise ignored midriff which easily gets cold since all other layers meet there! So I combine my Gore 3/4 Bib with other layers depending on the temperature. It's working well, and I can now use other layers to give all weather cycling comfort.
It also has a good saddle area comfort pad which is staying put excellently.
Good online service from Evans - no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
MagicMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made, really comfortable

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These bib knickers are really comfortable and it's surprising how much warmer they are than shorts - ideal for Spring and Autumn rides. My legs are more Hoy than Wiggins which makes them a neat fit so it might be worth thinking about going up a size if you're not a shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Naldo
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Could only call them average.

PostedApril 5, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: good pad
Cons: Unattractive, too light
I have these in the short version and really like them. The 3/4 just didn't sit right on my skinny calf's, so returned them for alternative. They are well made, with a very nice pad that's just the right thickness and position for long cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Juan56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good quality ( usual gore standard )

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent quality and feel , great for cooler rides in spring and autumn
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NielsDK

Good value & quality

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Does the job, and protect your knees from the early autumn cold. Seems to be good quality, since they already have been involved in a crash, which did not rip the fabric. Fits true to sigeguide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DJamis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

very comfy

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I'm new I cycling and these were my first 3/4 and bibs, the bib is brilliant, you don't realise how much your shorts move until they don't , I would never buy another pair of regular shorts again, these shorts are good quality and a very good fit on me personally, I'm 6.1" and slim and take a XL so they fit my shoulders properly, I'd defiantly buy another pair
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
battlepig
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
only worn them once up to now and it was maybe a little warm at the time but they felt very comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adam85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Good comfort and quality

PostedJune 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very happy with these shorts. Comfortable to wear in cool-warm weather, padding stays in place and the quality feels good.
Good value for the use I've got out of these so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thomas1912
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect fit

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Very good fit, comfortable.
I use these bibs when cycling at temperatures around 15 degrees and they provide good protection for the knees.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Helenita
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice fit and quality

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Nice fit and comfortable, quality product from Gore
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jim111
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Lightweight 3/4 bibs

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Usual Gore quality, at their 'budget' end. Plenty of stretch so easy to put on and adjust, and to pull front down to allow toilet stops. Pad seems comfortable enough and not too baulky. As usual with Gore, consider one size up compared to other brands.
Only caution I would add is to make sure the seam which twists down the back of the leg is positioned centrally where it passes the back of the knee - the tendon on the inside of my knee was rubbed a bit raw after first ride but twisting the leg material slightly should solve.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gnarlylondon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All round reliable performance

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are my second pair of Gore Bibshorts, so I can testify to the quality of them. The length comes down to mid-calf which is perfect for autumn going on to winter for me. The main positive for these are that they keep your knees warm, which is an important factor if you ride a lot even when it is cold, to keep your knees pain free.
The shammy is a decent sponge type which is good enough for most rides (I can comfortably do 60+ miles without any discomfort), although I think this depends on your body shape/weight.
Very minimal design, which goes with anything. Good stitching, leg grippers, and overall quality feel. Great value for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kimbo50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product.

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
First pair off 3/4 length shorts. Well padded. That pesky saddle seemed to disappear. Bib style stops any breezes to any gap at the back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mustTRImore
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very pleased - good value, padding & comfort

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These bib shorts are in summary......great! I am really pleased with the fit, the padding the overall comfort - they were also very good value when compared to some of the gore tex kit available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
martinwelsh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great comfort

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have only done about 50miles so far in these but they are exactly what i wanted. Good fit, comfortable, padding is good for longish rides. Well priced as well i thought .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wotnochad
from Amersham Bucks
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bibtastic

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
so comforable ....wish i had got them before buying expensive shorts. Area around waist is free from several layers to tuck-in. Low cut at the front too so no issues with the call of nature !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
AlameerM
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Positive:
- 3/4 ideal for who not feel comfortable riding with exposed knee.
-Light , Ideal for summer time.
Negative:
Badded not really comfortable for long ride, even 18 miles.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Michael14
from Durham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Bib Tights for March to October

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great quality from a brand you can trust. Very comfortable and seem like they will last.
Too thin for our winter unless worn as base layer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Babs
from Lt
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great product as all from Gore

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
Being an entry model in Gore line-up does not compromise quality and comfort.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Contest 3/4 Bib Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boff
from Suffolk
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not a bad purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: need better padding
Good all round pair of 3/4 tights, cut low on the front and back they maintain a good temperature though beyond late autumn they are very cool. Brillient under a thin pair of full length tights as they keep the upper legs and kness at just the right temp. The onyl gripe is the padded insert is very thin for longer rides.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.