Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts

Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts

These comfortable shorts are targeted at cyclists who ride less frequently but still want maximum comfort and a great fit.
Overall rating:
4.468 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
45 out of 47(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Shorts

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I did the London - Brighton Charity Bike Ride in these yesterday with a standard Rockhopper saddle.
Great level of comfort. Especially when my rear used to hurt after only a 20mile bike ride in the same saddle.
Great product and great value for money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Tricross
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good buy

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Found my 'normal' size of medium (32") waist was to tight so recommend trying before you buy. Exchanged with no problem. Nice fit, warm with good padding. Thought they were good value with the 20% off offer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
philu
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
size medium. I'm 34 inch waist, most comfortable shorts ive found for the price. cheaper shorts do not seem to have as comfortable insert.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dobuy
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top shorts

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Gore seem to make some of the best shorts, these are no exception, really comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woodsington
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Comfortably fitting, well made shorts.

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These shorts are a good quality pair if you prefer waist shorts to bib. The padding is comfortable and fits well, as does the lycra itself. They also stand up to fairly frequent, heavy use - I've used these in both fairly long sportives - 90k+ - and shorter daily rides, washing them daily. I would recommend some form of chamois cream, however, as with all shorts they have a tendency to rub. All that being said, if you are looking to ride seriously I would recommend investing in some bib shorts for increased fit and comfort - and trying them on in a shop first as well. It can make a big difference!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serse
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Excellent fit and comfort

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This was the first time that I had purchased a pair of padded shorts and I had no idea how comfortable they would be until I rode in them for the first time.
They were so comfortable compared with undershorts I'd had before that I went to Evans the following day and bought a second pair. One to wear and one in the wash.
I'd recommend prospective purchasers to try these shorts on before buying since Gore's sizing is odd. I'm an ectomorph but I ended up buying the large size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptCarbon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great shorts at a decent price

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my third pair of these shorts. Have only had to replace since losing a lot of weight! Excellent quality from Gore as usual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dodger1
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wore out quickly

PostedJune 1, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Shorts wore out very quickly. Wore through after only c. 200 miles of riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sa7Tn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lovely shorts

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, limited colour choice
Like them a lot. I bought small size but still if its too cold i manage to put base layer pants under. Padding is just right and they dont roll down either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eurotrash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Size 32/33 waist, bought large, fits well. Have used a number of times this year with the recent warm weather, both on commutes and longer weekend rides. Very comfortable padding (feels like gel but I see no mention of it), sometimes feels a little slippery on the saddle. When buying the shorts I tried on these and Gore's Power shorts which were more expensive but I liked the feel of these best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAP1
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Shorts

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These shorts are very supportive and comfortable. Excellent quality and should be bought in your regular size for best fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kad7374
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit and very comfortable !

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent pair of short, great fit and the padding is better than my previous pair. Would recommend (34" waist - size large)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
frogstarfighter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Product

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very comfortable shorts, waist 33", size large fits well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bbenny38
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good comfortable shorts, suitable for hours riding

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
The padding in these shorts help increase the time in the saddle over the cheaper rivals. A good fit, they are worth the the extra cost in my opinion, especially as on sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PTF1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

excellent shorts for the price

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Very comfortable and provide decent padding even on 50+ mile rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
COwers

Good but not AMAZING

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These shorts are a solid purchase.
A bit lacking in stitch quality but do the job nicely.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RodM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it does what it is supposed to

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I bought these shorts specifically to do the C2C cycle ride over 4 days. I don't think I would have managed without.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shogsbro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable shorts

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I have two pairs of these shorts, and find them very comfortable. One pair developed a running seam, but Evans replaced these without quibbles. Great product, and excellent after sales service/support!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forester
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gore quality at reasonable price

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good starter shorts
If you're riding a Summer Sportive or charity ride, most people will be in cycling shorts, and even if you are not Wiggins you won't look too outlandish in these good quality shorts. The XL fitted me at 38"waist and the padded insert is generous and comfortable and the thigh grips also work well. If you have a crisis of confidence you can always wear them under trousers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
26MileRunner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First purchase of a pair of 'comedy pants'

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These were my first pair of 'comedy pants' I've ever purchased and after putting them on and looking in the mirror I thought 'OMG'. Wearing them in anger for riding was a new experience, they fit like a glove and after a short while you forget you are wearing them. The seat area makes riding in the saddle for long periods comfortable and the legs don't ride up at all. I'll be buying a couple more pairs of these and thoroughly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>