Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts

Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts

These comfortable shorts are targeted at cyclists who ride less frequently but still want maximum comfort and a great fit.
Overall rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
54 out of 56Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Guildford
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Shorts

Posted20 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I did the London - Brighton Charity Bike Ride in these yesterday with a standard Rockhopper saddle.
Great level of comfort. Especially when my rear used to hurt after only a 20mile bike ride in the same saddle.
Great product and great value for money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Karol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Great shorts

Posted02 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This are great shorts for short and medium rides, fits very well and feel nice against body, padding is good and comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Benny109
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic short.

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Nice shorts got mine half price in the sale, just doing short rides of about two hours at the moment and they've felt nice and comfortable can't see any issues doing more miles. Mine were a size large which fit me fine I'm usually about 34 waist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very comfortable to wear and the quality is superb

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
the price was affordable and very comfortable to wear. the quality of the fabric is far excellent to others. and the precision of cutting and fitting is very precise to its size. I was very happy and delighted to own this product, satisfaction as a buyer was perfect. very durable and comfy to the weather outside wearing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
sally15
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This product was better than expected!!

Posted30 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this item as a gift for my partner who is a keen cyclist who is quite particular with his cycling wear, when he received this he was very happy the fit was perfect and the quality is very high.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RodClive
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Does exactly what it says it does

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Well made, great fit, good pad and excellent value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
CycleAlex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfort and performance

Posted04 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These shorts are a step up from my normal wear, and the improved performance is noticeable. They fit well, don't have uncomfortable elastic leg grippers, and the padding is well designed. Even more attractive at the sale price I paid.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ChrisH1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality product at a good price

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: takes a few rides to get used too
Good quality short and looks good on so does the business. Took me a few rides to get used to the new pad on the shorts but all good after being broken in and washed a few times.
Cracking value for £29.99
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Ernesider
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value

Posted03 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these as pull-on shorts for Turbo Cycling, but they have done quite a lot of road hours, sometimes exceeding the stated two hour limit and still comfortable. I am 5' 10" 36" waist 168lbs with fairly well developed thighs and the XL is a very good fit. At sale price of £30 they are exceptional value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fred1975
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shorts and good value

Posted07 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Nice shorts and good value. Fit well and nice pad.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Tricross
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good buy

Posted06 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Found my 'normal' size of medium (32") waist was to tight so recommend trying before you buy. Exchanged with no problem. Nice fit, warm with good padding. Thought they were good value with the 20% off offer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
philu
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
size medium. I'm 34 inch waist, most comfortable shorts ive found for the price. cheaper shorts do not seem to have as comfortable insert.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dobuy
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top shorts

Posted03 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Gore seem to make some of the best shorts, these are no exception, really comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woodsington
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Comfortably fitting, well made shorts.

Posted18 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
These shorts are a good quality pair if you prefer waist shorts to bib. The padding is comfortable and fits well, as does the lycra itself. They also stand up to fairly frequent, heavy use - I've used these in both fairly long sportives - 90k+ - and shorter daily rides, washing them daily. I would recommend some form of chamois cream, however, as with all shorts they have a tendency to rub. All that being said, if you are looking to ride seriously I would recommend investing in some bib shorts for increased fit and comfort - and trying them on in a shop first as well. It can make a big difference!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serse
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Excellent fit and comfort

Posted29 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This was the first time that I had purchased a pair of padded shorts and I had no idea how comfortable they would be until I rode in them for the first time.
They were so comfortable compared with undershorts I'd had before that I went to Evans the following day and bought a second pair. One to wear and one in the wash.
I'd recommend prospective purchasers to try these shorts on before buying since Gore's sizing is odd. I'm an ectomorph but I ended up buying the large size.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaptCarbon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great shorts at a decent price

Posted10 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my third pair of these shorts. Have only had to replace since losing a lot of weight! Excellent quality from Gore as usual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dodger1
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wore out quickly

Posted01 June 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Shorts wore out very quickly. Wore through after only c. 200 miles of riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sa7Tn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Lovely shorts

Posted28 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, limited colour choice
Like them a lot. I bought small size but still if its too cold i manage to put base layer pants under. Padding is just right and they dont roll down either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eurotrash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Road

Posted28 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Size 32/33 waist, bought large, fits well. Have used a number of times this year with the recent warm weather, both on commutes and longer weekend rides. Very comfortable padding (feels like gel but I see no mention of it), sometimes feels a little slippery on the saddle. When buying the shorts I tried on these and Gore's Power shorts which were more expensive but I liked the feel of these best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Contest Shorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAP1
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Shorts

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These shorts are very supportive and comfortable. Excellent quality and should be bought in your regular size for best fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>