Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short

Endura Hummvee Short

The included Clickfast Mesh Liner features a Men's 200 Series moulded pad in a comfort-wick fabric which transports moisture rapidly to keep the skin dry. This compact pad is 9mm maximum thickness with antibacterial finish and dimpled structure to improve comfort on pressure points making it ideal for short to medium length rides of 1-2hrs.
Overall rating:
4.626 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(281 reviews) 280
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 281 reviews
5 Stars
193
4 Stars
75
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
272 out of 281Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 117 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short
Review 1 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

Posted22 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wanted to get a robust, heard wearing of "trail style" shorts with places to put stuff (maps, phones, money, keys etc.) that would also be comfortable enough to wear almost every day for a 20 mile commute. However, it's often hard to know whether something is going to be worth the money and fit the bill without personal experience; your own or from other users. These were recommended by a friend that does a great deal of cycling (off-road and commuting) and has two pairs and loves them. I had also read very positive reviews about them on-line.
These are an excellent bit of kit; very pleased with them. As a lot of other people seemed to advise, I went for the XL size (I'm nornally a 32 - 34" waist) and they fit extremely well and are very comforatble, even after 2 or 3 constant hours in the saddle and in a variety of weather conditions. The inner shorts are pretty good as well; the click fastening is great and works well and I have found the level of support and padding to be well above average.
The material of both the outer and inner shorts appears to be very durable. The external material is very hard wearing and clearly designed to put up with a lot of of use/abuse. It manages to vent (aided by the two zipped vents on either side) and wick moisture away well as well as being robust. The inner shorts feel substantial and hold shape and support well. There's a lot of short for the money but they are surprisingly lightweight.
There has clearly been a great deal of thought put into the design of the product as a whole. The pockets and fastenings (a mixture of zips and Velcro) are good quality are in the right place and sit well with things in them and don't seem to get in the way of you actually riding the bike. The large map pockets on rear of the shorts the are great and are a good mixture of being secure whilst allowing easy access to the contents.
Overall, a very good pair of trail shorts, that can be used as everyday cycling shorts. Good support; hardwearing, well designed; decent price for the quality. Can't really ask for much more.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart37
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great piece of kit.

Posted03 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very practical
These shorts do exactly what you want, shed water, dry quickly, comfortable, zip-up pockets for cash as well as being tough and well manufactured.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kojak
from Suffolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These just WORK!

Posted23 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm pretty new to cycling so put a lot of faith in the real user experiences on the Evans web site. I looked around a lot before settling on these shorts, largely because of the positive customer reviews here.
Not disappointed at all - these are great shorts (if shorts can ever be truly 'great').
The fit is just right - I got the XL on the advice I read hear and I am normally a 34-36" waist, depending on the retailer. The quality is very good indeed - don't fret about the comments in other reviews regarding the belt or fastenings - they work perfectly well.
It sounds ridiculous, but the numerous pockets are all in EXACTLY the right places and are EXACTLY the right shape and dimensions. Clearly someone has put a lot of effort into getting this right. Where a velcro fastening is best, they use it. Where a zip is more appropriate, that's what you get. The two 'rear' large pockets are not at the back or the side - sort of in between, which just works so well if you need to pluck out a map or whatever. Carrying all sorts of stuff (money, phone, cards, map, car key) I can feel none of it when cycling along.
The length is perfect at knee length (I am 5'10"). The inner shorts are OK only. I have a pair of cheap Karrimor cycling shorts from Sports Direct and they offer more padding. However, putting the two together and I have a very comfy ride! The clip-in / clip-out system is very very good indeed and works very well.
Overall, believe the hype in the reviews and you won't be disappointed at all.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jabjab
from Crawley
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tough as nails & great value for money!

Posted12 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are looking for a very hard wearing short that is perfect for riding those rugged trails then look no further than the Hummvee baggy shorts by Endura.
When i purchased these i was looking for a well made, bullet proof short to ride on the bike that would also not make me look out of place popping to the shops or walking the dog. It has numerous pockets to stash all your everyday items such as a phone, keys wallet as well as riding essentials like, gels bars and maps. Even with bulging pockets i put my faith in the zips and stitching and the quality has not let me down.
The designers have obviously done their research and have put ample ventilation in all the right areas which make these an ideal summer-time investment.
The fit is very comfortable, especially when used alongside the padded removable inner shorts which helps to cut down on the dreaded 'numb-bum' syndrome.
It is no surprise that these shorts are so popular as they combine everything that you need from this type of clothing.... and at this great price it is a 'must-have' investment.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steveos
St Albans
 
Please wait while more information about Steveos is loaded.
Additional information about Steveos could not be loaded.
Spot on
Posted 19 March 2011
Thanks for a great review- I bought these off the back of it and you were spot on. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tamxs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Good for the price

Posted20 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Good for riding with loads of pockets
Could do with better padding but I like the removable liner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Excellent product

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable and look good I'd wholly recommend them to anyone looking for a good value pair of shorts for mountain biking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Bwynne
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So far so good

Posted06 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've only been wearing them about twice a week for the last few weeks but, to date, they feel spot on.
I particularly like having the two separate pairs of shorts which enables further options dependent upon how cold it is!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Micha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Good quality

Posted03 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good shorts lots of pockets very well made and at a good price as you also get padded inner short go size up though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
MBRNewbie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great MTB shorts

Posted22 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great looking shorts. Haven't actually used them in anger yet but so far I'm impressed. If you are like me and not sure whether to get them or not......trust me.....you won't be disappointed.
Loads of room at the knee if you want to use with armour.
Word of warning......as other reviews have mentioned.....they come up quite small......I am 6ft....14.5 st....34" waist (normally). According to the endura size chart I should be a medium but I went for large instead. The shorts fit great but the liner is a tad on the tight side. I'm not too fussed as I have gel shorts for underneath anyway. I am trying to lose weight so happy that I will probably grow into then. If I was staying at my current weight I would probably swap for XL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MBRNewbie
UK
 
Please wait while more information about MBRNewbie is loaded.
Additional information about MBRNewbie could not be loaded.
UPDATE
Posted 23 January 2015
I got these home from the office and tried them again with my knee armour and gel shorts.....they did feel a bit on the tight side when my legs were bent. I have ordered the XL aswell and will send back the one I don't want.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
theboymorris
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

comfortable, with lots of pocket space.

Posted21 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
the liner is super comfortable, and the shorts have plenty of useful pockets to keep all your bits in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
mcah
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Lovely but come out quite small

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: sizing on small side
Bought for my husband for Xmas but, despite being a solid size 34 in everything he's ever worn, they were just on the uncomfortable size. The inner pad was just too tight and he returned them to a shop and bought a different pair (they didnt have the bigger size in stock).
So my advice is consider buying a size up. Otherwise very good shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Theutternutter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What a great product !

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
So far well made,well fitting and very stylish. Will be buying another pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Yankee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Versatile and well made

Posted18 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've had these for about 6 weeks, and have so far only used them for commuting, though I'm not sure I'll ever use them to MTB. I bought them for the pockets and slight degree of water resistance. I wear a size 36 trouser, and got an XL. I also tried on the the L, and it was a very tight fit. The chamois is decent for the price. These are very heavy both in weight and warmth. These are definitely worth the extra £10-20 you might pay over cheaper shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Thedb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great short but stupid sizing

Posted17 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: sizing
I am a 34/36 waist yet I had to get an xxl. The sizing on these is a joke so make sure you go up at least one size.... And if you have big quad muscles go up 2!!!
Stupid sizing aside these are a cracking pair of shorts with the addition of a decent padded liner that can be used in other endura shorts using the fast click system.
These are the perfect length/cut so as to be baggy and unrestrictuve without flapping around and being annoying. So far they have kept me dry in some fairly wet muddy rides and have washed up as good as new every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
LicRD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shorts

Posted13 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable. Go for a size up from your normal size.
These are great on the bike but can also be worn, without the liner as normal shorts.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
AdeDHXC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality as you expect from Endura

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought these to replace a old pair of Hummvee shorts. Loads of people saying go a size larger. I found them to be a perfect fit Ordered large as I'm size 36 and the fit is perfect. Really like the camo design and the fact they come with a pair of inners makes them even more value for money. Great product and really fast delivery from Evans cycles.. Thanks for a pleasant on-line shopping experience. One happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TWINS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

BRILLIANT

Posted05 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
THIS IS NOT A NEW PRODUCT FOR MY HUSBAND AND SON, THEY LOVE BIKING AND ARE REALLY PLEASED WITH THE COMFORT AND LOOK OF THESE SHORTS, THEY HAVE NUMEROUS PAIRS IN DIFFERENT COLOURS. THIS PAIR IS FOR MY SON FOR CHRISTMAS I AM SURE HE WILL BE VERY HAPPY WITH THEM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Norris007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Shorts - just order a size up

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Really good shorts, robust and comfy. I would just suggest ordering a size up as I am a 34-36 waste, and having ordered the XL, had to return them for the XXL. As always, seamless returns service though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
srp1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good shorts, detachable inner padding

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good shorts, nicely padded. A bit heavier than my Fox shorts but good for what I bought them for which is winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Rusty73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An extra layer

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Endura Hummvee Short bought these for an extra layer during the winter months of cycling and also will be great in the summer to with the zip up mesh vents. Really impressed with the amount of pockets, also the Teflon coating keeps me dry on damp day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>