Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short

Endura Hummvee Short

The included Clickfast Mesh Liner features a Men's 200 Series moulded pad in a comfort-wick fabric which transports moisture rapidly to keep the skin dry. This compact pad is 9mm maximum thickness with antibacterial finish and dimpled structure to improve comfort on pressure points making it ideal for short to medium length rides of 1-2hrs.
Overall rating:
4.604 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(207 reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 207 reviews
5 Stars
139
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
199 out of 207(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short
Review 1 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wanted to get a robust, heard wearing of "trail style" shorts with places to put stuff (maps, phones, money, keys etc.) that would also be comfortable enough to wear almost every day for a 20 mile commute. However, it's often hard to know whether something is going to be worth the money and fit the bill without personal experience; your own or from other users. These were recommended by a friend that does a great deal of cycling (off-road and commuting) and has two pairs and loves them. I had also read very positive reviews about them on-line.
These are an excellent bit of kit; very pleased with them. As a lot of other people seemed to advise, I went for the XL size (I'm nornally a 32 - 34" waist) and they fit extremely well and are very comforatble, even after 2 or 3 constant hours in the saddle and in a variety of weather conditions. The inner shorts are pretty good as well; the click fastening is great and works well and I have found the level of support and padding to be well above average.
The material of both the outer and inner shorts appears to be very durable. The external material is very hard wearing and clearly designed to put up with a lot of of use/abuse. It manages to vent (aided by the two zipped vents on either side) and wick moisture away well as well as being robust. The inner shorts feel substantial and hold shape and support well. There's a lot of short for the money but they are surprisingly lightweight.
There has clearly been a great deal of thought put into the design of the product as a whole. The pockets and fastenings (a mixture of zips and Velcro) are good quality are in the right place and sit well with things in them and don't seem to get in the way of you actually riding the bike. The large map pockets on rear of the shorts the are great and are a good mixture of being secure whilst allowing easy access to the contents.
Overall, a very good pair of trail shorts, that can be used as everyday cycling shorts. Good support; hardwearing, well designed; decent price for the quality. Can't really ask for much more.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart37
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great piece of kit.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very practical
These shorts do exactly what you want, shed water, dry quickly, comfortable, zip-up pockets for cash as well as being tough and well manufactured.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kojak
from Suffolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These just WORK!

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm pretty new to cycling so put a lot of faith in the real user experiences on the Evans web site. I looked around a lot before settling on these shorts, largely because of the positive customer reviews here.
Not disappointed at all - these are great shorts (if shorts can ever be truly 'great').
The fit is just right - I got the XL on the advice I read hear and I am normally a 34-36" waist, depending on the retailer. The quality is very good indeed - don't fret about the comments in other reviews regarding the belt or fastenings - they work perfectly well.
It sounds ridiculous, but the numerous pockets are all in EXACTLY the right places and are EXACTLY the right shape and dimensions. Clearly someone has put a lot of effort into getting this right. Where a velcro fastening is best, they use it. Where a zip is more appropriate, that's what you get. The two 'rear' large pockets are not at the back or the side - sort of in between, which just works so well if you need to pluck out a map or whatever. Carrying all sorts of stuff (money, phone, cards, map, car key) I can feel none of it when cycling along.
The length is perfect at knee length (I am 5'10"). The inner shorts are OK only. I have a pair of cheap Karrimor cycling shorts from Sports Direct and they offer more padding. However, putting the two together and I have a very comfy ride! The clip-in / clip-out system is very very good indeed and works very well.
Overall, believe the hype in the reviews and you won't be disappointed at all.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jabjab
from Crawley
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tough as nails & great value for money!

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are looking for a very hard wearing short that is perfect for riding those rugged trails then look no further than the Hummvee baggy shorts by Endura.
When i purchased these i was looking for a well made, bullet proof short to ride on the bike that would also not make me look out of place popping to the shops or walking the dog. It has numerous pockets to stash all your everyday items such as a phone, keys wallet as well as riding essentials like, gels bars and maps. Even with bulging pockets i put my faith in the zips and stitching and the quality has not let me down.
The designers have obviously done their research and have put ample ventilation in all the right areas which make these an ideal summer-time investment.
The fit is very comfortable, especially when used alongside the padded removable inner shorts which helps to cut down on the dreaded 'numb-bum' syndrome.
It is no surprise that these shorts are so popular as they combine everything that you need from this type of clothing.... and at this great price it is a 'must-have' investment.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steveos
St Albans
 
Please wait while more information about Steveos is loaded.
Additional information about Steveos could not be loaded.
Spot on
Posted March 19, 2011
Thanks for a great review- I bought these off the back of it and you were spot on. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GennerExcel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shorts perfect, Mesh liner too small

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have had a pair of these for a couple of years now in the large size and they have performed very well, and I wanted a slightly smaller fit so I bought the mediums.
The shorts fit perfectly and look better, and feel better than the large ones, unfortunately the mesh liner in the medium is too small, so I will probably buy a separate liner in large. I am 5' 11", 11 stone 7lb and have a 30" waist so medium usually fits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Bradders217
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality shorts

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These shorts are excellent. They are well made, comfortable and great for cycling in. They have plenty of pockets for wallet, phone, gels etc and the lining easily comes out to wash them. They look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stomper

Great fit & good with kneepads

PostedApril 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good hard wearing shorts and work well with kneepads
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PeeGee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Good sizing and comfort.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
I bought a second pair of these padded briefs for a cycle trip to Paris.
Good comfort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve0808
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hummvee shorts

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent fit and allows good movement.
Lots of pockets
Great value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spbmssen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and sturdy

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I'v only worn them a couple of times, and once used the liner on its own under some track-suit trousers. Very comfortable each time, including a > 30 mile ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Dexter79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Love them, comfy and excellent quality

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am really happy with these shorts and would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
James335J
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Endura quality and Endura fit!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Like everything bearing the Endura name, these are good quality shorts that look set to last for years! These are my second pair so I know that's true. The old popper stud top button was a bit of an issue if you put on a few pounds, so the change to a proper button and hole is an improvement. That was basically my only gripe with he old pair, Loads of storage, map, and phone pockets, and a key hook. You can velcro the legs to make them a more snug fit if you like, and they seem to work in all weathers. The clickfast liner is great. I don't click mine in, so it makes it easier when I'm caught short! The waterproofing on the back has proved adequate in all but the worst conditions. Just one thing, and I can't emphasise this enough, if you are buying these online go up a size! The Endura sizing chart is worse than useless! I'm a 33 inch waist. The large is a perfect fit, but, the medium is a bit tight on the liner and that top button came under a lot of strain. This only seems to be a problem with the shorts, because my jerseys and jackets seem to fit as they should.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Anonymous
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality product fron endura

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These are a great short for the money
Its great that they come with a padded liner too,
However i found the padding a little hard on some of the longer rides.
This is the second pair i have bought and they are very hard wearing, which is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
studuck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Great product. Excellent fit. Very comfortable to ride in.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
biker9
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Cycle shorts

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great quality, comfortable fit and handy pockets. like them so much I had to buy another pair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
shaynefra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent shorts

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good fit
Very happy with these shorts. They fit well and are very comfortable. Good buy and will be buying a second pair soon.
Highly recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dyce01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Good value

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value shorts, comfy inner short with decent padding , I bought the size bigger as recommended in the reviews and they fit perfect 5'10 34in waist bought a large
Will be wearing the outer shorts on their own as they look good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Brewster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

My new favourite

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
They have a great feel to them, very comfortable and a good fit. The 'click in' feature for the two layers is brilliant, really stops the top layer from wandering off (historically in a Southern direction...)
Loads of pockets for all my essentials, overall a success and they look the part too. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
DC108
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Hummvee Shorts

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Bought these as a present however the normal size I wear was a little too small. Managed to exchange for the next size up and they are very comfortable and practical shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyMtb1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

My second pair.

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I'm a 34" waist and have the XL which fit fine. Good pockets and from previous experience very durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>