Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short

Endura Hummvee Short

The included Clickfast Mesh Liner features a Men's 200 Series moulded pad in a comfort-wick fabric which transports moisture rapidly to keep the skin dry. This compact pad is 9mm maximum thickness with antibacterial finish and dimpled structure to improve comfort on pressure points making it ideal for short to medium length rides of 1-2hrs.
Overall rating:
4.626 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(273 reviews) 272
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 273 reviews
5 Stars
187
4 Stars
74
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
264 out of 273(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short
Review 1 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

Posted22 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wanted to get a robust, heard wearing of "trail style" shorts with places to put stuff (maps, phones, money, keys etc.) that would also be comfortable enough to wear almost every day for a 20 mile commute. However, it's often hard to know whether something is going to be worth the money and fit the bill without personal experience; your own or from other users. These were recommended by a friend that does a great deal of cycling (off-road and commuting) and has two pairs and loves them. I had also read very positive reviews about them on-line.
These are an excellent bit of kit; very pleased with them. As a lot of other people seemed to advise, I went for the XL size (I'm nornally a 32 - 34" waist) and they fit extremely well and are very comforatble, even after 2 or 3 constant hours in the saddle and in a variety of weather conditions. The inner shorts are pretty good as well; the click fastening is great and works well and I have found the level of support and padding to be well above average.
The material of both the outer and inner shorts appears to be very durable. The external material is very hard wearing and clearly designed to put up with a lot of of use/abuse. It manages to vent (aided by the two zipped vents on either side) and wick moisture away well as well as being robust. The inner shorts feel substantial and hold shape and support well. There's a lot of short for the money but they are surprisingly lightweight.
There has clearly been a great deal of thought put into the design of the product as a whole. The pockets and fastenings (a mixture of zips and Velcro) are good quality are in the right place and sit well with things in them and don't seem to get in the way of you actually riding the bike. The large map pockets on rear of the shorts the are great and are a good mixture of being secure whilst allowing easy access to the contents.
Overall, a very good pair of trail shorts, that can be used as everyday cycling shorts. Good support; hardwearing, well designed; decent price for the quality. Can't really ask for much more.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart37
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great piece of kit.

Posted03 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very practical
These shorts do exactly what you want, shed water, dry quickly, comfortable, zip-up pockets for cash as well as being tough and well manufactured.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kojak
from Suffolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These just WORK!

Posted23 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm pretty new to cycling so put a lot of faith in the real user experiences on the Evans web site. I looked around a lot before settling on these shorts, largely because of the positive customer reviews here.
Not disappointed at all - these are great shorts (if shorts can ever be truly 'great').
The fit is just right - I got the XL on the advice I read hear and I am normally a 34-36" waist, depending on the retailer. The quality is very good indeed - don't fret about the comments in other reviews regarding the belt or fastenings - they work perfectly well.
It sounds ridiculous, but the numerous pockets are all in EXACTLY the right places and are EXACTLY the right shape and dimensions. Clearly someone has put a lot of effort into getting this right. Where a velcro fastening is best, they use it. Where a zip is more appropriate, that's what you get. The two 'rear' large pockets are not at the back or the side - sort of in between, which just works so well if you need to pluck out a map or whatever. Carrying all sorts of stuff (money, phone, cards, map, car key) I can feel none of it when cycling along.
The length is perfect at knee length (I am 5'10"). The inner shorts are OK only. I have a pair of cheap Karrimor cycling shorts from Sports Direct and they offer more padding. However, putting the two together and I have a very comfy ride! The clip-in / clip-out system is very very good indeed and works very well.
Overall, believe the hype in the reviews and you won't be disappointed at all.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jabjab
from Crawley
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tough as nails & great value for money!

Posted12 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are looking for a very hard wearing short that is perfect for riding those rugged trails then look no further than the Hummvee baggy shorts by Endura.
When i purchased these i was looking for a well made, bullet proof short to ride on the bike that would also not make me look out of place popping to the shops or walking the dog. It has numerous pockets to stash all your everyday items such as a phone, keys wallet as well as riding essentials like, gels bars and maps. Even with bulging pockets i put my faith in the zips and stitching and the quality has not let me down.
The designers have obviously done their research and have put ample ventilation in all the right areas which make these an ideal summer-time investment.
The fit is very comfortable, especially when used alongside the padded removable inner shorts which helps to cut down on the dreaded 'numb-bum' syndrome.
It is no surprise that these shorts are so popular as they combine everything that you need from this type of clothing.... and at this great price it is a 'must-have' investment.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steveos
St Albans
 
Please wait while more information about Steveos is loaded.
Additional information about Steveos could not be loaded.
Spot on
Posted 19 March 2011
Thanks for a great review- I bought these off the back of it and you were spot on. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Yankee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Versatile and well made

Posted18 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've had these for about 6 weeks, and have so far only used them for commuting, though I'm not sure I'll ever use them to MTB. I bought them for the pockets and slight degree of water resistance. I wear a size 36 trouser, and got an XL. I also tried on the the L, and it was a very tight fit. The chamois is decent for the price. These are very heavy both in weight and warmth. These are definitely worth the extra £10-20 you might pay over cheaper shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Thedb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great short but stupid sizing

Posted17 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: sizing
I am a 34/36 waist yet I had to get an xxl. The sizing on these is a joke so make sure you go up at least one size.... And if you have big quad muscles go up 2!!!
Stupid sizing aside these are a cracking pair of shorts with the addition of a decent padded liner that can be used in other endura shorts using the fast click system.
These are the perfect length/cut so as to be baggy and unrestrictuve without flapping around and being annoying. So far they have kept me dry in some fairly wet muddy rides and have washed up as good as new every time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
LicRD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shorts

Posted13 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable. Go for a size up from your normal size.
These are great on the bike but can also be worn, without the liner as normal shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
AdeDHXC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top quality as you expect from Endura

Posted06 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought these to replace a old pair of Hummvee shorts. Loads of people saying go a size larger. I found them to be a perfect fit Ordered large as I'm size 36 and the fit is perfect. Really like the camo design and the fact they come with a pair of inners makes them even more value for money. Great product and really fast delivery from Evans cycles.. Thanks for a pleasant on-line shopping experience. One happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TWINS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

BRILLIANT

Posted05 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
THIS IS NOT A NEW PRODUCT FOR MY HUSBAND AND SON, THEY LOVE BIKING AND ARE REALLY PLEASED WITH THE COMFORT AND LOOK OF THESE SHORTS, THEY HAVE NUMEROUS PAIRS IN DIFFERENT COLOURS. THIS PAIR IS FOR MY SON FOR CHRISTMAS I AM SURE HE WILL BE VERY HAPPY WITH THEM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Norris007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Shorts - just order a size up

Posted19 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Really good shorts, robust and comfy. I would just suggest ordering a size up as I am a 34-36 waste, and having ordered the XL, had to return them for the XXL. As always, seamless returns service though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
srp1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Good shorts, detachable inner padding

Posted12 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good shorts, nicely padded. A bit heavier than my Fox shorts but good for what I bought them for which is winter riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Rusty73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An extra layer

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Endura Hummvee Short bought these for an extra layer during the winter months of cycling and also will be great in the summer to with the zip up mesh vents. Really impressed with the amount of pockets, also the Teflon coating keeps me dry on damp day
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Exminer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

Everything I hoped the shorts would be

Posted01 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Having recently transferred from a soft riding hybrid to a fully fledged road bike I was a little apprehensive about the ride comfort. I needn't have been because the moulded pad does everything it should to absorb the worst of the road imperfections, the shorts themselves have copious pockets and the waist and leg opening adjusters mean you can set them up to suit your precise requirements.
An excellent buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Danny567
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great alternative to Lycra

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
For those less willing to adorn themselves head to toe in skin tight Lycra ludicrousness then these do the job admirably. Comfortable and practical- particularly like the deep pockets at the rear which mean you can put larger, heavier items in them and you do not even notice they are there while riding. I am a 32-34 waist and large is the perfect fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Zaiemk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Well Specced Shorts

Posted24 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got these shorts as I feel 'unconfortable' wearing lycra on its own. Theyre great over my liner shorts or tights. I use the for road cycling/commuting.
Good detailing - pockets, vents, and reflectives.
Glad they changed the button from rivet to a traditional one, so it doesnt pop open randomly.
I've come down from a 36" waist to a 34" waist and had been wondering best fit - I've got a pair of 3/4 Humvees in a Large, but they feel too big now.
I opted for the Medium - whilst slightly snug around the waist the legs are quite baggy. There are adjustment straps but the legs are still too wide on the tightest setting for me. As a result I dont adjust them.
The price is reasonale considering that you get a very decent liner short included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JimR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Comfortable, practical, hard wearing and washable.

Posted16 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The detachable liner is excellent and makes the shorts extremely flexible. You can remove the liner and wear them over long cycling tights and still have plenty of pockets. The pockets are great - plenty of room for phone, multitool and a spare tube. They are easy to clean and dry quickly. I really can't find a fault with this shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
GDAS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great features and value

Posted11 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
bought a pair in olive to add to my existing black, great shorts for the money and I think the liner is very comfortable. I would say they come up small - I find I need Large whereas I'm a 32-34 waist and would normally consider myself Medium.
My older black ones have a popper to secure the waist, which has an unfortunate habit of bursting undone; with the new ones I see that Endura have sensibly replaced the popper with a button, it works much better.
I suspect there may be better looking shorts out there but at this price, with a liner and great range of pockets, I'm very happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Busmanjohn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good spec shorts

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
bought these as i wore out my old ones and I'm not big on lycra The pad fits well and is very comfy with plenty of pockets, three with zips and two vents but can still get a little warm. The material is water proof to deal with light showers which was a pleasant surprise.They do come up on the small side of things but all in all a good pair of shorts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RewPea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it is what it says it is

Posted03 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
As the advert goes... it does what it says on the tin. The padded inner short is easily removed allowing you to wear padded shorts of your choice. The outer short is comfortable, good pockets and vents and looks more relaxed than those lycra alternatives. all in all, well worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roadie64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So good I bought it twice!

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought a pair of these shorts a couple of years ago and despite taking some pretty heavy wear they are still going strong. My brother is cycling across Central America next month and having used these on similar trips I know they are ideal so they proved a very welcome birthday present.
There are plenty of pockets - all strategically placed so as not to interfere with your pedal action. The removable liners mean you can rotate these when touring without feeling dirty!
A really well designed and durable piece of cycle wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>