Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short

Endura Hummvee Short

The included Clickfast Mesh Liner features a Men's 200 Series moulded pad in a comfort-wick fabric which transports moisture rapidly to keep the skin dry. This compact pad is 9mm maximum thickness with antibacterial finish and dimpled structure to improve comfort on pressure points making it ideal for short to medium length rides of 1-2hrs.
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(262 reviews) 261
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 262 reviews
5 Stars
178
4 Stars
72
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
253 out of 262(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 112 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short
Review 1 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wanted to get a robust, heard wearing of "trail style" shorts with places to put stuff (maps, phones, money, keys etc.) that would also be comfortable enough to wear almost every day for a 20 mile commute. However, it's often hard to know whether something is going to be worth the money and fit the bill without personal experience; your own or from other users. These were recommended by a friend that does a great deal of cycling (off-road and commuting) and has two pairs and loves them. I had also read very positive reviews about them on-line.
These are an excellent bit of kit; very pleased with them. As a lot of other people seemed to advise, I went for the XL size (I'm nornally a 32 - 34" waist) and they fit extremely well and are very comforatble, even after 2 or 3 constant hours in the saddle and in a variety of weather conditions. The inner shorts are pretty good as well; the click fastening is great and works well and I have found the level of support and padding to be well above average.
The material of both the outer and inner shorts appears to be very durable. The external material is very hard wearing and clearly designed to put up with a lot of of use/abuse. It manages to vent (aided by the two zipped vents on either side) and wick moisture away well as well as being robust. The inner shorts feel substantial and hold shape and support well. There's a lot of short for the money but they are surprisingly lightweight.
There has clearly been a great deal of thought put into the design of the product as a whole. The pockets and fastenings (a mixture of zips and Velcro) are good quality are in the right place and sit well with things in them and don't seem to get in the way of you actually riding the bike. The large map pockets on rear of the shorts the are great and are a good mixture of being secure whilst allowing easy access to the contents.
Overall, a very good pair of trail shorts, that can be used as everyday cycling shorts. Good support; hardwearing, well designed; decent price for the quality. Can't really ask for much more.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart37
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great piece of kit.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very practical
These shorts do exactly what you want, shed water, dry quickly, comfortable, zip-up pockets for cash as well as being tough and well manufactured.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kojak
from Suffolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These just WORK!

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm pretty new to cycling so put a lot of faith in the real user experiences on the Evans web site. I looked around a lot before settling on these shorts, largely because of the positive customer reviews here.
Not disappointed at all - these are great shorts (if shorts can ever be truly 'great').
The fit is just right - I got the XL on the advice I read hear and I am normally a 34-36" waist, depending on the retailer. The quality is very good indeed - don't fret about the comments in other reviews regarding the belt or fastenings - they work perfectly well.
It sounds ridiculous, but the numerous pockets are all in EXACTLY the right places and are EXACTLY the right shape and dimensions. Clearly someone has put a lot of effort into getting this right. Where a velcro fastening is best, they use it. Where a zip is more appropriate, that's what you get. The two 'rear' large pockets are not at the back or the side - sort of in between, which just works so well if you need to pluck out a map or whatever. Carrying all sorts of stuff (money, phone, cards, map, car key) I can feel none of it when cycling along.
The length is perfect at knee length (I am 5'10"). The inner shorts are OK only. I have a pair of cheap Karrimor cycling shorts from Sports Direct and they offer more padding. However, putting the two together and I have a very comfy ride! The clip-in / clip-out system is very very good indeed and works very well.
Overall, believe the hype in the reviews and you won't be disappointed at all.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jabjab
from Crawley
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tough as nails & great value for money!

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are looking for a very hard wearing short that is perfect for riding those rugged trails then look no further than the Hummvee baggy shorts by Endura.
When i purchased these i was looking for a well made, bullet proof short to ride on the bike that would also not make me look out of place popping to the shops or walking the dog. It has numerous pockets to stash all your everyday items such as a phone, keys wallet as well as riding essentials like, gels bars and maps. Even with bulging pockets i put my faith in the zips and stitching and the quality has not let me down.
The designers have obviously done their research and have put ample ventilation in all the right areas which make these an ideal summer-time investment.
The fit is very comfortable, especially when used alongside the padded removable inner shorts which helps to cut down on the dreaded 'numb-bum' syndrome.
It is no surprise that these shorts are so popular as they combine everything that you need from this type of clothing.... and at this great price it is a 'must-have' investment.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steveos
St Albans
 
Please wait while more information about Steveos is loaded.
Additional information about Steveos could not be loaded.
Spot on
Posted March 19, 2011
Thanks for a great review- I bought these off the back of it and you were spot on. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JimR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Comfortable, practical, hard wearing and washable.

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The detachable liner is excellent and makes the shorts extremely flexible. You can remove the liner and wear them over long cycling tights and still have plenty of pockets. The pockets are great - plenty of room for phone, multitool and a spare tube. They are easy to clean and dry quickly. I really can't find a fault with this shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
GDAS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great features and value

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
bought a pair in olive to add to my existing black, great shorts for the money and I think the liner is very comfortable. I would say they come up small - I find I need Large whereas I'm a 32-34 waist and would normally consider myself Medium.
My older black ones have a popper to secure the waist, which has an unfortunate habit of bursting undone; with the new ones I see that Endura have sensibly replaced the popper with a button, it works much better.
I suspect there may be better looking shorts out there but at this price, with a liner and great range of pockets, I'm very happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Busmanjohn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good spec shorts

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
bought these as i wore out my old ones and I'm not big on lycra The pad fits well and is very comfy with plenty of pockets, three with zips and two vents but can still get a little warm. The material is water proof to deal with light showers which was a pleasant surprise.They do come up on the small side of things but all in all a good pair of shorts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RewPea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it is what it says it is

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
As the advert goes... it does what it says on the tin. The padded inner short is easily removed allowing you to wear padded shorts of your choice. The outer short is comfortable, good pockets and vents and looks more relaxed than those lycra alternatives. all in all, well worth the investment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roadie64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

So good I bought it twice!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought a pair of these shorts a couple of years ago and despite taking some pretty heavy wear they are still going strong. My brother is cycling across Central America next month and having used these on similar trips I know they are ideal so they proved a very welcome birthday present.
There are plenty of pockets - all strategically placed so as not to interfere with your pedal action. The removable liners mean you can rotate these when touring without feeling dirty!
A really well designed and durable piece of cycle wear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jase5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Great fit and comfortable

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very comfortable, good pockets and hard wearing, fell off my bike and no rips!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveGB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Fantastic shorts!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
When buying, beware of the size, make sure they are reasonably loose, the elastic waist will stretch to fit a much bigger person.
Once you do get the right size, they are fantastic!
The DWR coating sheds water (when they are new), they are loose fitting to allow articulation, and the padding is ample to protect your nads. The detachable padded inners are a good touch.
Plenty of pockets for stuff, like maps, phones and tools too!
The product is triple stitched in critical places, making them nice and robust.
Price wise - you get what you pay for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
SinglespeedPete
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Great shorts for my daily commute 20 km each way. Plenty of useful pocket space, comfortable and fast drying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Sebb11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shorts but sizing is ridiculous.

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: small sizes
I normally wear 32 waist trousers, and even measured my waist before ordering these and it was indeed around 32 inches. To be on the safe size I ordered a M, claimed by Endura to fit a 33-35in waist, but even these are too small. The waist band does stretch but I would definitely be more comfortable with the next size up- when riding after a big meal I have resorted to leaving the button undone. This is a shame as the ludicrous sizing has taken away from the excellent quality, comfort and features of these shorts. The styling is great, the lining is very comfortable and the plethora of pockets give great storage options (the zipped side pockets even seem to be more waterproof than the pockets of my waterproof.) Would definitely recommend, just buy 2 sizes larger than normal!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paulart25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfy shorts....my second pair! secure pockets and looks good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ilrm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive but good shorts

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Loads of pockets, well made, smart in a sporting kind of way, I have worn these as casual wear as much as for biking. Prices is a bit much frankly but that seems to go with the territory
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdf1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Excellent cycle short

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got these about 3 weeks ago and have worn them about 4 times a week to cycle a 40 mile round trip to work and back.
I went for size medium which fit well, I've got a 31 inch waist and am 5ft 8in, if my waist was any bigger I would definitely go for large, so they are probably smaller than most makes.
The shorts are great, I went for the olive colour which looks great, very comfortable and after a few uses the material softens up a bit. They are shower proof, but only for a short period, when they do get wet they dry off very quickly tho. Lots of zip pockets, and the system to hold the inner short in place is excellent, 4 sets of 3 poppers. I can't think of any reason not to recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crosstrailer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My son definitely recommends them!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is the second pair of these shorts that I've bought for my son. He was not keen just to wear lycra shorts, so the fact that these have a lycra liner inside an outer pair of shorts fitted the bill. They have a number of pockets, and two zipped vents. Getting a teenager to wear anything practical is a bit of a coup, so I think these are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
PDinny
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Not bad, but expected more for the money

PostedAugust 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
These are the first padded shorts I've ever bought. The circumference around the thighs is too small, I find them restrictive and not very comfortable after a long ride.
I'm slightly disappointed by the market in general, if I paid >£30 for a pair of running shorts, I'd get amazing comfort and utility. But it seems that cycling shorts seem to cost >£50 and yet they're not that great in the overall scheme of things. Feels like I'm better off buying a £20 of normal shorts that are comfortable and a gel seat cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ash101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shorts - some quality concerns

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Unfortunately the first two pairs delivered had manufacturing faults but Evans (Chillfactor) were great in resolving these issues and arranging repalcements. The shorts a great fit and really comfortable to wear - the fact that they come with clickfast undershorts makes them good value - hence my decision to stay with them after the initial problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ivanvilla
Country:Italy
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shorts

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is now the third pair of Endura shorts I've bought.
Can't fault them in any way.
The padded liner is confortable enough for long rides (3-4 hours), sits where it needs to be and is very durable, the oldest pair i have has been going for more than 1.5 years of almost everyday use and the padding is still good, the inner short is starting to show some wear but overall I'm quite happy with them.
The shorts themselves are well made and confortable. The material is quite tough and the stitching is well made, nothing has come undone...
Plenty of pockets that you can actually use whitout being unconfortable, like some other brands....
Ventilation is good: you can close/open the vents with the zips as you prefer and overall the shorts feel light and breathable.
Sizing is perfect, just take a look at the size chart and you are good to go.
For me you can't get anything better especially at this price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>