Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short

Endura Hummvee Short

The included Clickfast Mesh Liner features a Men's 200 Series moulded pad in a comfort-wick fabric which transports moisture rapidly to keep the skin dry. This compact pad is 9mm maximum thickness with antibacterial finish and dimpled structure to improve comfort on pressure points making it ideal for short to medium length rides of 1-2hrs.
Overall rating:
4.622 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(299 reviews) 298
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 299 reviews
5 Stars
204
4 Stars
81
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
289 out of 299Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 118 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short
Review 1 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

Posted22 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wanted to get a robust, heard wearing of "trail style" shorts with places to put stuff (maps, phones, money, keys etc.) that would also be comfortable enough to wear almost every day for a 20 mile commute. However, it's often hard to know whether something is going to be worth the money and fit the bill without personal experience; your own or from other users. These were recommended by a friend that does a great deal of cycling (off-road and commuting) and has two pairs and loves them. I had also read very positive reviews about them on-line.
These are an excellent bit of kit; very pleased with them. As a lot of other people seemed to advise, I went for the XL size (I'm nornally a 32 - 34" waist) and they fit extremely well and are very comforatble, even after 2 or 3 constant hours in the saddle and in a variety of weather conditions. The inner shorts are pretty good as well; the click fastening is great and works well and I have found the level of support and padding to be well above average.
The material of both the outer and inner shorts appears to be very durable. The external material is very hard wearing and clearly designed to put up with a lot of of use/abuse. It manages to vent (aided by the two zipped vents on either side) and wick moisture away well as well as being robust. The inner shorts feel substantial and hold shape and support well. There's a lot of short for the money but they are surprisingly lightweight.
There has clearly been a great deal of thought put into the design of the product as a whole. The pockets and fastenings (a mixture of zips and Velcro) are good quality are in the right place and sit well with things in them and don't seem to get in the way of you actually riding the bike. The large map pockets on rear of the shorts the are great and are a good mixture of being secure whilst allowing easy access to the contents.
Overall, a very good pair of trail shorts, that can be used as everyday cycling shorts. Good support; hardwearing, well designed; decent price for the quality. Can't really ask for much more.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart37
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great piece of kit.

Posted03 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very practical
These shorts do exactly what you want, shed water, dry quickly, comfortable, zip-up pockets for cash as well as being tough and well manufactured.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kojak
from Suffolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These just WORK!

Posted23 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm pretty new to cycling so put a lot of faith in the real user experiences on the Evans web site. I looked around a lot before settling on these shorts, largely because of the positive customer reviews here.
Not disappointed at all - these are great shorts (if shorts can ever be truly 'great').
The fit is just right - I got the XL on the advice I read hear and I am normally a 34-36" waist, depending on the retailer. The quality is very good indeed - don't fret about the comments in other reviews regarding the belt or fastenings - they work perfectly well.
It sounds ridiculous, but the numerous pockets are all in EXACTLY the right places and are EXACTLY the right shape and dimensions. Clearly someone has put a lot of effort into getting this right. Where a velcro fastening is best, they use it. Where a zip is more appropriate, that's what you get. The two 'rear' large pockets are not at the back or the side - sort of in between, which just works so well if you need to pluck out a map or whatever. Carrying all sorts of stuff (money, phone, cards, map, car key) I can feel none of it when cycling along.
The length is perfect at knee length (I am 5'10"). The inner shorts are OK only. I have a pair of cheap Karrimor cycling shorts from Sports Direct and they offer more padding. However, putting the two together and I have a very comfy ride! The clip-in / clip-out system is very very good indeed and works very well.
Overall, believe the hype in the reviews and you won't be disappointed at all.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jabjab
from Crawley
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tough as nails & great value for money!

Posted12 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are looking for a very hard wearing short that is perfect for riding those rugged trails then look no further than the Hummvee baggy shorts by Endura.
When i purchased these i was looking for a well made, bullet proof short to ride on the bike that would also not make me look out of place popping to the shops or walking the dog. It has numerous pockets to stash all your everyday items such as a phone, keys wallet as well as riding essentials like, gels bars and maps. Even with bulging pockets i put my faith in the zips and stitching and the quality has not let me down.
The designers have obviously done their research and have put ample ventilation in all the right areas which make these an ideal summer-time investment.
The fit is very comfortable, especially when used alongside the padded removable inner shorts which helps to cut down on the dreaded 'numb-bum' syndrome.
It is no surprise that these shorts are so popular as they combine everything that you need from this type of clothing.... and at this great price it is a 'must-have' investment.
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steveos
St Albans
 
Please wait while more information about Steveos is loaded.
Additional information about Steveos could not be loaded.
Spot on
Posted 19 March 2011
Thanks for a great review- I bought these off the back of it and you were spot on. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
719rpl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality shorts

Posted20 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I wanted a pair of casual cycling shorts, with lots of pockets & separate padded inner-short, these fulfil the requirement perfectly. They're comfy on the bike, can carry keys, money, cards etc. and wear them off the bike and not look to much like a 'cyclist' when walking around the shops.
Will also use them four summer touring as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
ROADRUNNER51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

JUST THE JOB

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
VERY GOOD SHORTS, USEFUL DECENT SIZE POCKETS,TOUGH MATERIAL. BUY A SIZE BIGGER (THEY COME UP SMALL) HENCE 4 STARS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
12345Archie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and dry.

Posted18 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
6 hours in the Scottish rain with no discomfort. Worth the money!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
dante671
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great For Commuting

Posted15 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Use these regularly for my commuting as I prefer not to be on the train in full lycra after cycling to the train station.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Comfy, and easy to clean.

Posted11 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Brought for the commute to work (20 mile of towpath usually covered in mud). Much comfier than my previous cheap shorts, dry quickly so I can brush the mud off before i leave the office in the evening.
Plenty of pocket space although most of my stuff ends up attached to the bike in various bags when commuting but handy for wallet/keys/other valuables if you need to get off the bike to buy a coffee or beer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Steve1955
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and comfortable

Posted02 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent shorts loads of vents and pockets very comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GPPablo
It was bought:Chiswick

Comfortable and well design

Posted01 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
easy to remove the underpants and can be worn with a different ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
NTVincent
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spot on.

Posted27 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Inexperienced cyclist and first real investment in shorts and I have not been disappointed. Well worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
BruceyBonus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I needed

Posted26 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
As a lapsed touring cyclist coming back after a 10 year break, I wanted a pair of proper cycling shorts which were comfortable, didn't break the bank, and had plenty of pockets. Having read some other reviews saying that these came up a little on the small side I went a size larger than normal and they come in just about right on that basis. As I am coming back to cycling I have nothing else to compare them against but I am very happy with this purchase. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Marmaduke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Fantastic hard-wearing, practical shorts

Posted20 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Spent hours in the saddle with these shorts and haven't got a bad word to say about them. Very well put together and thought out pair of shorts.
Click-fast lining solves all those problems of undershorts riding up or baggy shorts sliding down slippery lycra. Great padding in the liner.
Outer short is well thought out; breathable materials used where needed, and a tougher, more waterproof, layer used around the rear of the short to keep out trail splash. Tough-as-nails construction!
Pockets. The hype doesn't disappoint! Everything exactly where you want it down to the last zipped/velcro-ed/vented pocket on the thing - it does the lot!
Compared against a couple of other shorts instore and nothing compared on features and pure value - and to get the liner included almost comes as a thrown-in bonus! Functional shorts that look good to boot!
Bought in Macclesfield store (unlisted on store list).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SamanthaM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Flexible, functional and stylish

Posted17 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, flexible, functional
This is the third pair of Endura Hummvee Shorts that my husband has owned - so that really speaks for itself.
Great for casual cycling. The hidden cycling shorts also means that style is not compromised with functionality.
As the inner shorts are detachable the shorts are really flexible: The outer shorts make great shorts for walking around the Coast path or scrambling over the Moors or Fells: Lightweight, breathable and the pockets are big enough to hold a standard OS map!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andyda789
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Excellent versatility

Posted16 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
These shorts are very robust, flexible, have washed well and are a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
greg72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

May seem slightly expensive, but well worth it

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, not too baggy
Cons: Expensive
Really glad I bought these shorts. I had tried on some similar Altura Ascent shorts elsewhere but the medium was too big and no small available. Recommended these by Evans staff. I usually take medium and these are perfect, just a snug fit. They are tagged as 'baggy' shorts but they are not too baggy at all and just above the knee. Great selection of pockets if needed and vents. The padded inner liner is great and is detachable and therefore can be washed separately. They may seem a bit expensive but are well worth it, especially if discounted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Malcybabe
It was bought:Kendal

Comfortable, good fit with useful pockets

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Just tried them out and over a 30 mile road bike ride I am impressed with how comfortable these shorts are. The padded undershort seemed a bit thin at first but proved very good in practice.
Plenty of useful pockets for storing keys, money and phone.
From this first ride out definitely recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Gnar1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Good quality shorts
Liner v comfortable
Can t comment on durability as yet as only had them two weeks
If you're a 32 waist get a large!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DesmoBob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

More than just shorts

Posted13 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Good quality product; inner short in Lycra with outer loose fit with belt and pockets for phone, keys and change. Good product, I'm happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>