Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short

Endura Hummvee Short

The included Clickfast Mesh Liner features a Men's 200 Series moulded pad in a comfort-wick fabric which transports moisture rapidly to keep the skin dry. This compact pad is 9mm maximum thickness with antibacterial finish and dimpled structure to improve comfort on pressure points making it ideal for short to medium length rides of 1-2hrs.
Overall rating:
4.614 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(251 reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 251 reviews
5 Stars
170
4 Stars
69
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
242 out of 251(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Hummvee Short
Review 1 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MartiW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent piece of kit!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I wanted to get a robust, heard wearing of "trail style" shorts with places to put stuff (maps, phones, money, keys etc.) that would also be comfortable enough to wear almost every day for a 20 mile commute. However, it's often hard to know whether something is going to be worth the money and fit the bill without personal experience; your own or from other users. These were recommended by a friend that does a great deal of cycling (off-road and commuting) and has two pairs and loves them. I had also read very positive reviews about them on-line.
These are an excellent bit of kit; very pleased with them. As a lot of other people seemed to advise, I went for the XL size (I'm nornally a 32 - 34" waist) and they fit extremely well and are very comforatble, even after 2 or 3 constant hours in the saddle and in a variety of weather conditions. The inner shorts are pretty good as well; the click fastening is great and works well and I have found the level of support and padding to be well above average.
The material of both the outer and inner shorts appears to be very durable. The external material is very hard wearing and clearly designed to put up with a lot of of use/abuse. It manages to vent (aided by the two zipped vents on either side) and wick moisture away well as well as being robust. The inner shorts feel substantial and hold shape and support well. There's a lot of short for the money but they are surprisingly lightweight.
There has clearly been a great deal of thought put into the design of the product as a whole. The pockets and fastenings (a mixture of zips and Velcro) are good quality are in the right place and sit well with things in them and don't seem to get in the way of you actually riding the bike. The large map pockets on rear of the shorts the are great and are a good mixture of being secure whilst allowing easy access to the contents.
Overall, a very good pair of trail shorts, that can be used as everyday cycling shorts. Good support; hardwearing, well designed; decent price for the quality. Can't really ask for much more.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart37
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great piece of kit.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, very practical
These shorts do exactly what you want, shed water, dry quickly, comfortable, zip-up pockets for cash as well as being tough and well manufactured.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kojak
from Suffolk
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These just WORK!

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm pretty new to cycling so put a lot of faith in the real user experiences on the Evans web site. I looked around a lot before settling on these shorts, largely because of the positive customer reviews here.
Not disappointed at all - these are great shorts (if shorts can ever be truly 'great').
The fit is just right - I got the XL on the advice I read hear and I am normally a 34-36" waist, depending on the retailer. The quality is very good indeed - don't fret about the comments in other reviews regarding the belt or fastenings - they work perfectly well.
It sounds ridiculous, but the numerous pockets are all in EXACTLY the right places and are EXACTLY the right shape and dimensions. Clearly someone has put a lot of effort into getting this right. Where a velcro fastening is best, they use it. Where a zip is more appropriate, that's what you get. The two 'rear' large pockets are not at the back or the side - sort of in between, which just works so well if you need to pluck out a map or whatever. Carrying all sorts of stuff (money, phone, cards, map, car key) I can feel none of it when cycling along.
The length is perfect at knee length (I am 5'10"). The inner shorts are OK only. I have a pair of cheap Karrimor cycling shorts from Sports Direct and they offer more padding. However, putting the two together and I have a very comfy ride! The clip-in / clip-out system is very very good indeed and works very well.
Overall, believe the hype in the reviews and you won't be disappointed at all.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jabjab
from Crawley
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tough as nails & great value for money!

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
If you are looking for a very hard wearing short that is perfect for riding those rugged trails then look no further than the Hummvee baggy shorts by Endura.
When i purchased these i was looking for a well made, bullet proof short to ride on the bike that would also not make me look out of place popping to the shops or walking the dog. It has numerous pockets to stash all your everyday items such as a phone, keys wallet as well as riding essentials like, gels bars and maps. Even with bulging pockets i put my faith in the zips and stitching and the quality has not let me down.
The designers have obviously done their research and have put ample ventilation in all the right areas which make these an ideal summer-time investment.
The fit is very comfortable, especially when used alongside the padded removable inner shorts which helps to cut down on the dreaded 'numb-bum' syndrome.
It is no surprise that these shorts are so popular as they combine everything that you need from this type of clothing.... and at this great price it is a 'must-have' investment.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Steveos
St Albans
 
Please wait while more information about Steveos is loaded.
Additional information about Steveos could not be loaded.
Spot on
Posted March 19, 2011
Thanks for a great review- I bought these off the back of it and you were spot on. Cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdf1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Excellent cycle short

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got these about 3 weeks ago and have worn them about 4 times a week to cycle a 40 mile round trip to work and back.
I went for size medium which fit well, I've got a 31 inch waist and am 5ft 8in, if my waist was any bigger I would definitely go for large, so they are probably smaller than most makes.
The shorts are great, I went for the olive colour which looks great, very comfortable and after a few uses the material softens up a bit. They are shower proof, but only for a short period, when they do get wet they dry off very quickly tho. Lots of zip pockets, and the system to hold the inner short in place is excellent, 4 sets of 3 poppers. I can't think of any reason not to recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crosstrailer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

My son definitely recommends them!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is the second pair of these shorts that I've bought for my son. He was not keen just to wear lycra shorts, so the fact that these have a lycra liner inside an outer pair of shorts fitted the bill. They have a number of pockets, and two zipped vents. Getting a teenager to wear anything practical is a bit of a coup, so I think these are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
PDinny
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Not bad, but expected more for the money

PostedAugust 11, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
These are the first padded shorts I've ever bought. The circumference around the thighs is too small, I find them restrictive and not very comfortable after a long ride.
I'm slightly disappointed by the market in general, if I paid >£30 for a pair of running shorts, I'd get amazing comfort and utility. But it seems that cycling shorts seem to cost >£50 and yet they're not that great in the overall scheme of things. Feels like I'm better off buying a £20 of normal shorts that are comfortable and a gel seat cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ash101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shorts - some quality concerns

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Unfortunately the first two pairs delivered had manufacturing faults but Evans (Chillfactor) were great in resolving these issues and arranging repalcements. The shorts a great fit and really comfortable to wear - the fact that they come with clickfast undershorts makes them good value - hence my decision to stay with them after the initial problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ivanvilla
Country:Italy
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shorts

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is now the third pair of Endura shorts I've bought.
Can't fault them in any way.
The padded liner is confortable enough for long rides (3-4 hours), sits where it needs to be and is very durable, the oldest pair i have has been going for more than 1.5 years of almost everyday use and the padding is still good, the inner short is starting to show some wear but overall I'm quite happy with them.
The shorts themselves are well made and confortable. The material is quite tough and the stitching is well made, nothing has come undone...
Plenty of pockets that you can actually use whitout being unconfortable, like some other brands....
Ventilation is good: you can close/open the vents with the zips as you prefer and overall the shorts feel light and breathable.
Sizing is perfect, just take a look at the size chart and you are good to go.
For me you can't get anything better especially at this price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matticool
Country:United Kingdom

Great value

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Great value shorts, with detachable lining. These feel like they will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cheapchips
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made. Heavy and a little tight.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
These are well made with several good pockets. Found the fit boarderline too tight around the crotch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
daviduk

Excellent!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Good product, very happy with it! I end up buying two shorts. It works great under rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonSouthernboy
Country:USA
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top marks !

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I like the endura clothing line very much and would recomend them to anyone looking for good long lasting clothing. I find it better to buy a size up. The shorts have the removable liner which is better than the firefly shorts but it took no time at all to cut out the liner in the firefly shorts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wiltmur
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

good well placed pockets

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Endura ble shorts should give lasting wear for my occassional rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
SW14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect shorts!

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Best pair of shorts out there! So comfy! Right number of pockets! Secure! Just Perfect! Love them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
edkars
Country:Holland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value for money

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It's my first baggy, and I quite like it. It looks good and feels comfortable to wear. The size of the baggy is normal. The liner is pretty tight, specially around the legs. The quality of the material and the stitches is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Baggo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Highly recommend

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Used these on a couple of 50 mile rides, one hot and sunny the other cloudy and cool. On both rides found these shorts extremely comfortable to ride in, padding was excellent and comfortable right to the end. Easy to remove padded liner to wash. All in all highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
freebie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

perfect fit and comfortable

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
very comfortable with the right amount of padding, very good for leisure riding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
JD1882
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Good value shorts

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
For the price these are really good value, comfortable shorts with excellent features, particularly the well sited pockets. I wasn't convinced about the quality of the liner and poppers though, hence only 4 stars. In terms of sizing they perhaps come up a little small. I am 65kg with a 31" waist and 32" inside leg. The medium fits me just right but if you've a bigger waist I would go one size up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura Hummvee Short
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mickcr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfortable good quality shorts that look great with plenty of pockets with zips too..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>