Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker

Endura Thermolite Bibknicker

Ideal for cold weather cycling, Thermolite uses hollow-core fibre technology to create an insulating layer of warm air. The result is a lightweight, warm fabric with superior moisture vapour transport properties that doesnt get heavy even when wet. The Thermolite quality developed by Endura has the added benefit of a High Performance Repel Teflon fabric protector finish. The updated Men's 600 Series Italian stretch pad features Continuously Variable Profile (CVP) technology and is sculpted from a single block of foam, with gel inserts for extra comfort. A TRS perforated foam dermis layer is positioned under the face for improved blood-flow and wicking especially on longer rides (4 hours and more). Super-soft fast-wicking microfibre face fabric with permanent antibacterial finish. Front mesh panel improves air circulation and anatomic 3D shape.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Review 1 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
scarletpimp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great fit

PostedApril 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Really glad that I purchased this bib. It has made a significant improvement to the comfort of my ride in comparison to that of my cycle shorts! Unfortunately the Endura lettering on the legs has started to peel, but this is probably down to me washing them at 40 degrees instead of 30!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Calfendish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect Fit

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I'm 5'7" and quite stocky with chunky legs, so I usually have trouble getting shorts and tights to fit.
Full length tights are always too long for me, but these are perfect for the winter with long socks.
The XL size fits my calves comfortably without being too tight.
The front zip makes it much easier to go to the loo!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Berry23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Good value

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
worn these once so far and highly recommend them, the pad provided plenty of comfort and were warm, perhaps to warm, should have worn bib shorts. I own several endura items and all are well made and are good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rayvon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Impressed

PostedMay 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
After going with all the cheaper versions and wanting to do the longer rides, opted for these and don't regret it. Just completed my first 50 miler and I can still feel my backside. Comfort is were it counts to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TRJP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful, good value, bit of kit.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
Good weight of material, offering enough warmth for chillier days. Pity about the ENORMOUS Endura logo though.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Al13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money, good fit.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These 3/4 bib tights are just right for spring/autumn, or our present summer weather.
Very good value, confortable and seem to be hardwearing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nivag
from Yaarkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Quality material, flawed design and practicality

PostedDecember 13, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Whilst these three - quarter length bib tights from Endura certainly tick the boxes for me on the comfort front, with a lovely soft, fleecy inner which is both breathable and water repellent on the outside, and a high quality (if bulky) chamois insert, flat seams throughout, unfortunately I can’t see what conditions they’re really suitable for.
They are certainly warm - I have worn them in near - freezing conditions and they have kept my working muscles more than cosy, and the bib upper, which is made from the same soft material, extends high enough front and back to prevent cold spots between tights and top. A fly might be a useful addition to reduce the contortions required when you have to respond to a call of nature, however! The problem I have is that the tights are so warm that they can only comfortably be worn in very cold weather, and since three - quarter length legs finish at your calf, you inevitably have a band of exposed skin between overshoes and tights, making them unsuitable for long rides. If you’re somebody who feels the cold, these might be a good choice for you for the shoulder seasons of Spring and Autumn, but for me these would only be useful within a limited, particular temperature range.
On the design front, as already mentioned, the fabric is soft and comfortable, with a reasonable amount of stretch and the bib portion is well shaped and comfortable, with a broad yoke. At the bottom of the legs, the band of silicon gripper is well attached, but is not adjustable, and may not therefore suit riders with particularly large, or skinny calves. Finally, there is only one reflective logo on the tights - a circle on the rear of the right calf. On tights at this price point, this styling point is somewhat baffling.
Overall, it’s a great shame that these tights should be of such limited practical use, as the fabric and chamois are certainly comfortable. It would have been nice if Endura had been able to take the best features from these tights and the full - length Thermolite Pro Bib Tights (see other review), because ultimately they fall short of real usability and I would not in good faith be able to recommend them to others.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brisew
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps out winter chills.

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I chose the 3/4 length for autumn and spring riding because I have fairly short legs - 'longs' tend to be too long and it gets too cold for shorts. Endura are slightly heavier than other makes of Bib knickers, so can be used down to about 5˚ C with no chilling effect. Very well made and an excellent fit for me. Check the sizings carefully, they vary from make to make.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CJS84
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Warmer winter riding!

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
A must now that winter has set in, soft and warm the merino wool lining makes for a comfortable fit over the shoulders and across the stomach. I wasn't convinced by the bib at first but based on in-store advice and wear they are very comfortable. Worn beneath a base layer and under some baggy shorts the only problem I have with them is that they really need a "fly" of some sort for when nature calls!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
konatc
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

an improvement but still falls short

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: poor fit
+ve Bought a second pair of these tights as the first set have been fantastic and the new pad with its cut-outs and different materials is really comfortable. The
-ve the leg grippers are nowhere near tight enough causing the leg to rise up during riding. The Endura decal is starting to split already making the tights look tatty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
stefan
Kopenhagen
 
Please wait while more information about stefan is loaded.
Additional information about stefan could not be loaded.
Keeping you warm but poor fit
Posted June 29, 2011
I am using these bibs in Denmark in early summer in temperatures around 12-15 Degrees Celsius. The bibs are definitely warm and I like the fact that your torso is protected from cold wind.
However, for some reason the chamois padding does not fit very well and the outside material tends to be on the slippery side. This can be annoying on a long ride.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wilddxb
from dubai, UAE
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

3/4

PostedSeptember 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Unattractive
nice bib for winter
its thermollite but it doesn't have goo looking
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
moondrops
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent comfortable shorts

PostedJune 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
I bought these for the hour-each-way commute to work both to cope with the morning and evening chill on the hills and because I'd always thought 3/4 length shorts looked rather stylish. On both counts they've been great. The Thermolite fabric and upper section of the bib have kept me really warm and comfortable, and they look good too. I haven't had any problems with the legs riding up - the elasticated gel bands on the leg cuffs still stay firmly in place after 6 weeks of use and several washes, and the seams all seem solidly made. A really good buy.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
superchels
from Berkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Great for the winter.

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Fantastic product, semi water proof, very warm relatively comfortable although the padding tends to slip round a little.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
supervalue07
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Usual Endura Quality

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I'm sad to say that this is another disappointing purchase from the overrated Endura range. They are warm enough for riding down to about 8c and are comfortable enough. Unfortunately the leg gripper on the right leg is nowhere near tight enough and the tights ride up after you have put your foot down a couple of times. Presumably because of the water-repellant finish you can't wash them with fabric conditioner but they can be machine-washed at 40c. Watch out for the sizing as I had to get a 'L' whereas I'm normally a 'M'.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Thermolite Bibknicker
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stereojet
from The North
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good shorts

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good value, Good quality
These are up to Endura's usual high standards. Very comfortable and the fit is good. The pad is quite bulky around the sit bones but there's lots of ventilation so it doesn't get sweaty down there. Good reflectives too.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
roughrider
Surrey
 
Please wait while more information about roughrider is loaded.
Additional information about roughrider could not be loaded.
Versatile and comfy - great fit
Posted June 7, 2011
Have used these for winterrides with/without leg warmers (with on sub zero/frosty days) and also on daily commutes as there is still a chill in the air some mornings even in June - regular shorts would expose my knee joints to the cold. Lower calves don't seem to feel the cold unless absolutely freezing in which case I use either leg warners or Ron Hill Bikesters with them
Fit really well - most makes I am XL - but these are snug but not restrictive in size L for my 36 inch + waist, 43 inch chest , 5ft 10 inch height.
For nature calls I have found enough stretch in them if you hunch forward and are desperate enough. No loss of elasticity in the bib.
I have no poblem with the grippers, they grip my calves just fine. Needed to experiment with positioning the grippers at the right height to ensure the seat pad was settled in place - otherwise OK
They have been washed many times and still look fresh every time - no sign of wear or shrinkage.
Considering an extra pair once I have topped up my Summer wardrobe
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)