Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Tempo Undershorts

Altura Tempo Undershorts

Overall rating:
4.156 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
71 out of 77(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Review 1 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MavericksGhost
from Ashford, Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Undershorts

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
An excellent product, comfortable to the point where I don't even know I have them on. The "tight fit" is good, adding to the level of comfort in their use.
In terms of working as a warm set of undershorts that is undeniable. Even on days when the temperature is below zero, like very recently, these shorts keep your lower abdomen and upper thighs warm and comfortable.
The extra padding in the crotch area is wonderful and adds to the comfort when riding.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ridingrix
from LONDON

Superb

PostedMay 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am not one for the Lycra but wanted padded cycling shorts these altura tempo under shorts do what it says on the tin
I have used these now for 3 weeks and clocked up about 300 miles with no real problems.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Used the sizing chart which worked well.
Arrived promptly.
Accurate and good description and exactly what I wanted.
Basically a pair of boxer shorts with anti-bacterial padding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robsreview
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Very nice

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very happy with these indeed.
I am a size 36" waist and they do not try to cut you in half.
Very comfortable and soft to the touch.
I did not overheat or cook down-under.
Padding does the trick for which i am extremely grateful.
30 Miles without them had me moving very carefully the next day, with these on i knew i had done 30 miles but without the scorch marks.....
Would i buy again... Yes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fungster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Padding and placement of not the best!

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having another pair of Altura undershort which I like I thought I'd give these a try. They are decent quality however the padding is very light and the placement should be further to the rear and slightly larger. These will probably be fine for a 30 minute commute but that's about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Ahmed32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, BUT!!!

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
After 2 weeks of use, I can say they are very comfortable and made my every cycling even more enjoyable . BUT the quality is not that good especially the sewing. It teared apart from the waist in less than 2 days of use. However, I would still recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Markyt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Commuter padding

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not suitable for long rides on road bike
I use these as commuting undershorts on days when I'm not lycra clad. They are comfortable and well fitting- I bought a large which is what I wear in my day-to-day dress. I usually go up a size for cycling, but no need here.
I would not wear these for weekend or other long rides as they are not padded enough, but for short rides and commutes they are great, and discreet so not to be noticed when off the bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
donba
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not that good

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
these are a bit like pants (and i mean underpants not cycling pants) with some padding. the material is very soft, a bit too soft actually for cycling liners. the padding is very basic but adequate. the legs are very short and tend to ride up while on the bike. all in all pretty disappointed, i bought Polaris liner shorts in the past that were similarly priced but a lot better quality wise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plumbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

good fit, very comfortable.

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
These under shorts are a great fit very comfortable when riding and allow you to ware different types of shorts. I have found them more comfortable than the mesh type found in other shorts and will be buying more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Sharpmeister
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice product, worthwhile addition

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have a 32" waist and ordered large. They fit OK although medium would have probably fitted better. The shorts are comfortable and hardly noticeable when worn under my bib shorts and the extra padding makes a big difference when in the saddle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peterjw
Country:Australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable choice for times when lycra not needed

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these to wear under normal shorts and mtb shorts with a liner which are not particularly comfortable. Under the latter I have used them on rides up to 70km and they feel quite comfortable. Unlike lycra knicks the legs do tend to ride up a bit but the soft fabric still feels OK. They aren't as comfortable as lycra knicks but still perform well for the purpose for which they are designed - leisure riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Malo56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good fit

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I was doubtful as to how these would be next to my skin but after my 52 mile ride I found them comfortable and very good to get on with. Good quality and I am pleased overall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SR2014
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Comfortable and well fitting

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
These are the first pair of padded shorts I have ever worn and I wanted undershorts that could be worn under 'normal' shorts or trousers. In terms of comfort they are very good and proved comfortable during a 40 mile ride. They kept in place throughout and I can recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BeeBop
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good price, design could be better

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive, poor styling
These were a good price as padded undershorts go, but the styling could be better. The waist band is high enough to make an old man used to hitching his trousers under his armpits happy, and although the padding is good it doesn't sit as well as it could so you do feel nappy nostalgia when riding with them on.
Nevertheless, they are a good price, convenient and machine washable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
lee3524
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shorts but not as much padding as others

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not enough padding
Nice comfy shorts but compared to the padded shorts that come with the altura baggy shorts for example there is no contest. These are more like a boxer short with a bit of padding.
Still does the job but not as much protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Ginger801
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shorts!

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very comfortable and fit under the outer baggy shorts. They connect via a couple of loops to the baggy shorts making a good combination.
They were great value at the sale price.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nickdav
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Fit for purpose

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very comfortable for touring and long days in the saddle. Easily washable. Flexible addition or replacement to padded shorts or bib.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Capester82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

60 miles free from pain

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, no vpl
I bought these for the 2014 L2B ride as an amateur cyclist, knowing full well I needed to take precautions to reduce the risk of "injury".
The fit of the padding when leant forward meant padding was a little bit biased to the back requiring "adjustments" on the go but essentially the padding was where it needed to pad!
The morning after only my leg muscles hurt, I owe the lack of shorts injury 100% to the padded shorts.
I would recommend these if you wish to ride in footy shorts and not lycra shorts as I did quite successfully.
I give these a 9/10 rating and wont cycle distances again without them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Ronis
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A very practical and useful item.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, quick drying
Sometimes when riding my touring bike, I like to ride 'non-lycra' i.e. in a casual top and wearing casual shorts. The problem then is discomfort from my B17 saddle. However, these Altura undershorts have cured that problem. They are superb, soft, comfortable and well padded. They wash well and are very quick drying. All in all, a great product and well recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Tempo Undershorts
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
and2804
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

WORTHWHILE BUY

PostedJune 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
IF YOU WANT SOME PADDING TO WEAR UNDER NORMAL EVERYDAY SHORTS OR AS SECOND PAIR UNDER CYCLE SHORTS THESE DO THE JOB WELL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>