Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel

M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel

Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
39 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Review 1 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
linsey53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

A good replacement wheel

Posted14 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A slightly better wheel than the original Specialized. Bicycle runs much better now.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kevin28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

M:Wheel - Shimano Deore Hub/Mavic A319 Rim

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Can't report a lot as I have not used them yet.
Well packaged by Evans Cycles.
A strong, lightweight touring wheel, complete with quick release skewer, but does no include rim tape.
The Mavic A319 rims supplied no longer feature the internal wear indicator.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YabbaDabbaDoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all round touring or city wheel & hub.

Posted02 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, great if you don't care about flash looks !, silver vers is cheaper than the flashier blk one., strong touring & city wheel
Cons: plain'ish looking in silver
Well made and sturdy touring 700c wheel.
Good quality Mavic rim & Deore hub with skewer included.
Double wall rim with eyeleted spoke holes. (don't forget to buy a quality rim tape, such as Velox to apply before installing your tyre!)
Strong standard DT Swiss spokes and 32 of them, so this wheel can take the weight of rider & panniers if required.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaulZXZ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

sturdy and free-running.

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Fitted with no problems to my Thorn tourer to replace one worn to paper thinness. Seems a sturdy wheel with good bearings that somehow made the ride more positive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OSB7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent match

Posted08 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not as light as others
My back wheel had a bad knock as I was avoiding a car, and I was looking for a wheel sturdy enough to cope with London roads and also hold up under some long-distance runs without being too heavy. This fits the bill perfectly, highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wavygravy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good workhorse wheel

Posted20 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
Had this for a couple of months now and use it for daily commuting so it takes a beating from potholes, lopsided panniers, postman hops and the like and has stayed as near to true as you could expect from a rear wheel. Free hub seems of decent quality too.
I've got a 700c x 25 tyre on here but would recommend a 28 or 32 as a better fit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RDavill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good Commuter Wheel

Posted26 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
After 12 month of everyday commuting my rear wheel was declared broken by a member of Evenas staff .
The same member of staff recommend this wheel as a sturdy and well priced replacement for my old wheel. after a few rides this week it has proven to be a good buy, with more spokes for strength and good build quality it is a good match for a commuter bike. The low price also makes it a good buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
d4veh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

well built sturdy wheel

Posted19 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
went for this wheel after recommendations from in store staff. It has more spokes than my previous wheel making it more robust, and comes with the security of a quality brand in Mavic.
I use it for commuting and carry a pannier rack and bag on the back, so needing something that wouldn't buckle under the weight. This seems to be doing the job well.
Very pleased so far, and looks great on my bike too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
davidhi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Big improvement

Posted16 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Have only had the wheel for a couple of weeks, but the ride is a big improvement on the basic wheel that came with the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chulleman

Solid wheel

Posted20 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Its a good quality wheel that looks nice. The wheel is true and strong as required to handle pot holes in London.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jp1979
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

good value

Posted06 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, safe
I bought this wheel when my previous one was declared knackered by a shop mechanic.
I chose this wheel because it was the cheapest of those that were still decent and it seems very robust.
To be fair, I give the wheel a lot of abuse as I weigh pretty much 20 stone and cycle for over an hour day over generally pot-holed london roads.
With this wheel I feel confident that it is solid, although it is a little heavier and slower than what I had before.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nfc153
from Midlands
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Basic, solid wheel

Posted20 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I've used this combo before - Deore hub and Mavic rim - on road and mountain bikes. It's not the lightest but it is strong enough to stay true with a big rider plus load over rough going. Basic, reliable choice.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Landcrab
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Tired of buckled wheels - read on

Posted04 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I had my rear wheel 'trued' 3 times before I gave up on the 32 spoke piece of rubbish my bike originally came with. Save yourself the trouble and get one of these the first time your rear wheel buckles. I have a hybrid I ride every day to work and through winter - if you do the same you wont regret getting one of these. A good ride that leaves you confident and not constantly scanning the road for anything that looks a bit like a pot hole. After all - we are not all 60kg and ride on pot hole free roads.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for M:Wheel Deore/Mavic A319 Rear wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
midders
from West Sussex
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does exactly what it says on the tin

Posted03 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value, Good quality, strong
Cons: Heavy
Excellent build quality and branded components give this wheel great strength and durability. It may be heavier than some of the more expensive options, but I think the improved strength is well worth a little extra weight.
I bought this wheel as a replacement for a Mavic A221 rim with an older Shimano hub and similar spoke configuration; it had lasted 10 years of moderate use and only needed replacing because someone vandalised it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.