Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Inner Tubes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube

Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube

Overall rating:
3.913 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
18 out of 23(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Review 1 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MagicMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight but fragile

PostedApril 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
These tubes are definitely as light as claimed and do feel like they are more supple than standard butyl tubes, rolling really nicely inside my race tyres. This does seem to come at a cost as both of my tubes punctured within the first 100km. I'm not prone to punctures and check my tyre pressures before every ride so was surprised they were quite so fragile but maybe that's the compromise you accept when running low weight tubes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DanMc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Reliable, decent price

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Decent, reliable inner tube. Fits well, never had any problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BikeIsMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Got a puncture... needed one of these!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Realised the spare tube I had was the wrong size so headed into Evans and picked up this Specialized tube. Good quality, pre-talced which makes easier to fit. Have ridden about 200 miles on it so far and no issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FarmFace
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Decent quality inner tube

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought this to carry as a spare during my daily commute. Had to wait a few weeks to use it, but when it was needed it did the job perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JL77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great tube

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Expensive
The valve having a smooth section makes it easy to remove pump when at required psi
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pinchflats
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Valve split in two. Will never use again

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Tried a couple of these instead of Schwalbe. Light and nicely packaged for convenience. However, during inflation the first one split at the valve - not the valve/tube interface, but the metal valve body itself. Basically, the top 3/4 of the valve just blew off - leaving the bottom 1/4 still attached to the tyre. Pretty much a clean break at a single thread of the valve. I was using a minipump at the time, so the stresses of that may have contributed to it. However I have never even heard of this type of failure happening before, let alone experience it, and I will not be using this product again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
JDrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

unreliable

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Inflated rear tyre to 110psi - 2nd ride tube popped on flat smooth surface. When i removed for replacement it had a 4in split along the seam next to valve. I weigh about 154 lbs ! - front still has the other one in - inflation 90psi fingers crossed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bart2906
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great upgrade to wheels

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These are a great way to reduce the weight of your wheels. The ride is comfortable and they are easy to install.
I was worried about the comments of popping/tearing/punctures etc but I think those can be discounted to the usual problems such as installing the tube incorrectly(pinches or twisted tube). I was also worried about comments about these tubes going flat quicker. It's marginally quicker than normal tubes, but because I check my tyre pressure every 2/3 days, it's absolutely no problem.
I'm really glad I decided to try these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
rodsquad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light but fragile

PostedMarch 10, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: built to very fine tolerances
These inners are lighter than regular inners for sure but one of my inners exploded as it approached 100 PSI when pumping up for the first time. Seriously dissapointed in that. was looking for the lightest option available but in future I will stick with weight overhead for sake of strength and reliability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
selv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

POWDERED HANDS

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Im sure this is a better product than the experience i had with this innertube.It blew up on my first inflation probabaly because i did not fit it in the wheel properly and the screen in valve seem to bend quite easily but specialized do make good stuff so i will make allowance for this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Metus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tube that gives a great ride.

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, non-removable valve
Cons: Expensive
My pump, a screw on Lezyne road drive, has a tendency to unscrew the valve on other inner-tubes I've tried. This tube however doesn't have a removable valve, which for me is a must. The tube feels great, comes pre-talc'd and on the one puncture I've had -glass inside the tyre- went down nice and slowly so I was able to make it home. What more can you ask for from an inner-tube.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shandyman1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great inner tubes, good quality and reliable

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Purchased several tubes I have used these tubes for several years now.
They are lightweight, reliable in use and very fairly priced.
Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
amc654
from Huddersfield
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: lack of durability
Far too prone to punctures on these. The lighter weight and lower rolling resistance actually is noticeable, but I went through these way too quickly as compared to standard thickness tubes.
Really like the valve (not just its length, but also its interface w/ the pump valve) -- much better than Conti's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Multibikes
from London / Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Misleading image...

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, great customer service
Cons: image isn't product
The image for the product isn't correct, I received a 700c inner tube which is what the description mentions, rather than the 26" long valve inner tube that is in the image.
So my own fault for not paying enough attention after having my brain numbed looking through the huge variety of tubes.
Thankfully My local store swapped it with no problem for a tube that worked.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
charliebah
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tube

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great value when purchased at the offer price. The tubes look and feel high quality, they come pre-talced which helps fitting, and the long valve clears aero-profile rims with enough room to attach the pump - this has been a problem for me with standard tubes even on my Planet X model B wheels. The diameter of these is 18-24, bear that in mind when mathcing with a tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nickskibuy
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Excellent tubes at a competitive price. If only the roads weren't full of winter debris that causes them to puncture in the first place!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyWilliams
from North London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

They never let me down

PostedOctober 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I always choose these as they are great value for money, last for ages and pump up really well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazza2
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great tyres anyway but the deal Evans offered brought the tyres well under £3 each.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kman

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to handle and inflate, decent quality and longevity, good value tube
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Turbo 48mm Long Valve Inner Tube
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Darkphoenix
from Beckenham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Not bad does what it says on the tin if you get my meaning.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>